DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 16th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 9, & 14-15 are amended. Claims 33-37 are new. Claims 3, 5, 13, & 17-32 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14-16, & 33-37 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1 & 9, applicant argues that Shelton teaches the generation of a path to avoid a critical structure and fails to teach or suggest to “determine a size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected including the tumor while avoiding the at least one vital structure” where a three-dimensional model of a resection tool is generated based on this size and shape, as Shelton is direct to how a surgical tool is used during a procedure and fails to relate in any manner to identifying a vital structure in a patient before determining a size and shape of a tissue mass to be resected including the tumor while avoiding the at least one vital structure. In response to applicant's arguments above, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The Choi reference discloses the method and apparatus for obtaining images of a tumor within a patient ([0027]-[0030], & [0038-[0039]), determining a size and shape of the tumor, determining a margin around the tumor, determining a size and shape of a tissue mass (comprising the tumor and margin) to be resected including the tumor based on the images ([0030]-[0034], [0043], & [0045]-[0051]), generating a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass based on the size and shape of the tissue mass ([0037], [0052], & [0074]), and providing for three-dimension manufacture of the resection tool ([0037] & [0052]). Although the Choi reference does not disclose the identifying at least one vital structure proximate the tumor in the images and the determining the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure, the Shelton reference teaches a system for identifying critical structures to avoid via imaging ([0182], [0189], [0190], & [0411]; Figure 32B—elements 4205, 4206, 4207, 4208) and determining a resection path to remove a tumor or region of tissue that avoids the critical structures ([0411]; Figures 32B—element 4209). The examiner is not bodily incorporating the features of the Shelton reference into the structure of the Choi reference, rather the examiner is relying on the Shelton reference to provide a teaching that it is known in the art to identify critical structures and modify the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected based on the identified critical structures; by modifying the determination of the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected and the generation of the three-dimensional model of the resection tool for resecting the tissue be based on the size and shape of the tissue mass, as disclosed by Choi, to include the avoidance of the critical structures for resecting tissue, as taught by Shelton, would allow for the system to prevent inadvertent damage to critical structures thus minimize the risk of harm resulting from the surgical procedure ([0189]).
Regarding dependent claim 7 and new independent claim 33, applicant argues that there is no teaching or suggestion within Choi that a surface of the cervical area is determined for use as a guide that the resection tool engages, much less generating a resection tool that is based on use of the one or more surfaces of the at least one anatomic landmark for use as the guide. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a guide that the resection tool engages”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993); the claim nor the specification recite a special definition for “a guide” nor that the resection tool must engage the guide, as argued; under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “guide” (e.g. “a mark, tab, or the like, to catch the eye and thus provide quick reference”, as defined by dictionary.com), the examiner is considering the curved surface of the cervical area to be a guide as the tissue mass to be resected is within the cervical area ([0059] & [0061]) and therefore it is the examiner position that the surface of the cervical area would be capable of providing a reference/guide to resect the tumor mass located therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (previously presented-US 20230289966 A1), hereinafter “Choi”.
Regarding claim 33, Choi discloses an apparatus ([0026]; Figure 1—element 100) comprising processing circuitry and at least one memory including computer program code ([0064]-[0067] & [0085]; Figure 5—elements 320 & 330), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the processing circuitry, cause the apparatus to at least: obtain images of a tumor within a patient ([0027]-[0030], & [0038]-[0039]; Figure 1—element 110; Figure 2—element 210; the analysis apparatus 130/140 receives the image from image generation device 110); identify at least one anatomic landmark in the images of the tumor within the patient, wherein the at least one anatomic landmark is proximate the tumor; and determine one or more surfaces of the at least one anatomic landmark for use as a guide for resecting a tissue mass ([0059] & [0063]; the learning model may generate a 3D form from a 2D image, and may extract design information in consideration of a curved surface of the cervical area; the examiner is considering the cervical area to the anatomic landmark and the curved surface of the cervical area to be the one or more surfaces of the anatomic landmark, as the tissue mass to be resected is within the cervical area it is the examiners position that the curved surface of the cervical area would be capable as being used as a guide (e.g. a reference point) for resecting the tissue mass), determine a size and shape of the tumor ([0031]-[0033], & [0043]; Figure 1—elements 130/140; Figure 2—element 240; the analysis apparatus 130/140 detects the lesion area from the image including the position, size, shape and the like of the lesion); determine a margin around the tumor; determine a size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected including the tumor based on the images, wherein the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected comprises the tumor and the margin ([0030]-[0034], & [0045]-[0051]; Figure 1—elements 130/140; Figure 2—elements 250 & 260; the analysis apparatus 130/140 determines margin area 250 and calculates excision area information 260 based on the lesion area 240 and margin area 250); generate a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected based on the size and shape of the tissue mass and based on the one or more surfaces of the at least one anatomic landmark that the resection tool engages and uses as the guide ([0037], [0052], [0063], & [0074]; the excision area information includes model information that may be input to a 3D printer, the model information means a model source for outputting the excision tool in the 3D; the learning model may generate a 3D form from a 2D image, and may extract design information in consideration of a curved surface of the cervical area); and provide for three-dimensional manufacture of the resection tool ([0037] & [0052]; Figure 1—element 160; the analysis apparatus 130/140 may transmit design information to a 3D printer 160 for printing the surgical tool according to the excision area information).
Regarding claim 34, Choi discloses all of the limitations of claim 33, as described above.
Choi further discloses wherein the three-dimensional manufacture of the resection tool comprises three-dimensional additive manufacture of the resection tool ([0037]; Figure 1—element 160; 3D printing is a known additive manufacturing method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14-16, & 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Shelton et al. (previously presented-US 20210196425 A1), hereinafter “Shelton”.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an apparatus ([0026]; Figure 1—element 100) comprising processing circuitry and at least one memory including computer program code ([0064]-[0067] & [0085]; Figure 5—elements 320 & 330), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the processing circuitry, cause the apparatus to at least: obtain images of a tumor within a patient ([0027]-[0030], & [0038]-[0039]; Figure 1—element 110; Figure 2—element 210; the analysis apparatus 130/140 receives the image from image generation device 110); determine a size and shape of the tumor ([0031]-[0033], & [0043]; Figure 1—elements 130/140; Figure 2—element 240; the analysis apparatus 130/140 detects the lesion area from the image including the position, size, shape and the like of the lesion); determine a margin around the tumor; determine a size and shape of a tissue mass to be resected including the tumor based on the images, wherein the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected comprises the tumor and the margin ([0030]-[0034], & [0045]-[0051]; Figure 1—elements 130/140; Figure 2—elements 250 & 260; the analysis apparatus 130/140 determines margin area 250 and calculates excision area information 260 based on the lesion area 240 and margin area 250); generate a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected based on the size and shape of the tissue mass determined to avoid at least one vital structure ([0037], [0052], [0063], [0074], & [0091]; the excision area information includes model information that may be input to a 3D printer, the model information means a model source for outputting the excision tool in the 3D; the excision area information is in the form of design area information that is transmitted to a 3D printer so that the printer manufactures the tool based on the excision area information; it is the examiners position that the customized model of the resection tool would be capable of avoiding a vital structure during resection as the tool is customized to the patient and tumor); and provide for three-dimensional manufacture of the resection tool ([0037] & [0052]; Figure 1—element 160; the analysis apparatus 130/140 may transmit design information to a 3D printer 160 for printing the surgical tool according to the excision area information).
Choi does not disclose the apparatus to identify the at least one vital structure proximate the tumor in the images of the tumor within the patient; determine the size and shape of a tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure based on the images.
Shelton teaches an apparatus configured to determine a size and shape of a tumor and tissue mass to be resected; identify at least one vital structure proximate the tumor in the images of the tumor within the patient; determine the size and shape of a tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure based on the images ([0190], [0222], [0411], [0458]; the system is configured to identify critical structures and facilitate the avoidance of the critical structures; the resection paths can be determined by the visualization system such that certain critical structures are avoided).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the determination of the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected and the generation the three-dimensional model of the resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected based on the size and shape of the tissue mass, as disclosed by Choi, to include the identification of at least one vital structure proximate the tumor in the images of the tumor within the patient, the determination of the size and shape of a tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure based on the images, as taught by Shelton, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward systems for planning tumor resection. As disclosed by Choi, the technology enables patient-customized surgery by designing an excision tool suitable for an excision area and provides for a customized excision tool suitable for a shape lesion ([0007] & [0091]). As disclosed by Shelton, the control circuit may be configured to identify critical structures to avoid during resection so as to prevent inadvertent damage thereto and thus minimize the risk of harm resulting from the surgical procedure ([0189], [0411], [0412], & [0552]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the determination of the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected and the generation the three-dimensional model of the resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected based on the size and shape of the tissue mass, as disclosed by Choi, to include the identification of at least one vital structure proximate the tumor in the images of the tumor within the patient, the determination of the size and shape of a tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure based on the images, the avoidance of the at least one vital structure, as taught by Shelton, as such a modification would allow for the apparatus to identify critical structure to avoid during resection so as to prevent inadvertent damage thereto and thus minimize the risk of harm resulting from the surgical procedure.
Regarding claim 2, Choi in view of Shelton disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Choi further discloses wherein the three-dimensional manufacture of the resection tool comprises three-dimensional additive manufacture of the resection tool ([0037]; Figure 1—element 160; 3D printing is a known additive manufacturing method).
Regarding claim 4, Choi in view of Shelton disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Choi does not disclose wherein causing the apparatus to determine the margin around the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to: identify types of tissue around the tumor; and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor.
Shelton further teaches an apparatus configured to determine a size and shape of the tumor, and determine a margin around the tumor ([0183], [0449], & [0552]); wherein causing the apparatus to determine the margin around the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to: identify types of tissue around the tumor; and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor ([0552], [0561], & [0563]-[0564]; Figure 13B—elements 2332 & 2330; the resection margin 2330 can be determined and adjusted based on a variety of characteristics of the anatomical structure (e.g. critical structures other than the subject tissue, a quality of the tissue surrounding the subject tissue, and type of tissue)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the determination of the margin around the tumor, as disclosed by Choi, to include the apparatus configured to identify types of tissue around the tumor, and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor, as taught by Shelton, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward systems for determining resection margins around a tumor. As disclosed by Shelton, the control circuit may be configured to identify critical structures (e.g. damaged surrounding tissue), within the anatomical structure and adjust the resection margin based on the critical structures that are identified so as to account for both the subject tissue and the surrounding damaged tissue which facilitates a more efficient recovery for the patient ([0563]-[0566]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the determination of the margin around the tumor, as disclosed by Choi, to include the apparatus configured to identify types of tissue around the tumor, and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor, as taught by Shelton, as such a modification would allow for the apparatus to identify damaged tissue near the tumor that could hinder the anatomical structure’s ability to recover during a surgical procedure and determine a resection margin that accounts for the damaged tissue such that the tumor and the damaged tissue can be removed from the anatomical structure, thereby facilitating a more efficient recovery for the patient.
Regarding claim 6, Choi in view of Shelton disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Choi in view of Shelton disclose the at least one vital structure (as described in the above rejection of claim 1).
Choi further discloses wherein causing the apparatus to generate a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected comprises causing the apparatus to generate a three-dimensional model of the resection tool with a shape that avoids at least one vital structure during resection (claim 6) ([0037], [0063], [0091]; the excision area information is in the form of design area information that is transmitted to a 3D printer so that the printer manufactures the tool based on the excision area information; it is the examiners position that the customized model of the resection tool would be capable of avoiding a vital structure during resection as the tool is customized to the patient and tumor).
Regarding claim 7, Choi in view of Shelton disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Choi further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: identify at least one anatomic landmark in the images of the tumor within the patient, wherein the at least one anatomic landmark is proximate the tumor; and determine one or more surfaces of the at least one anatomic landmark for use as a guide for resecting the tissue mass, wherein causing the apparatus to generate a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected based on the size and shape of the tissue mass further comprises causing the apparatus to generate a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected based on the one or more surfaces of the at least one anatomic landmark for use as the guide ([0063]; the learning model may generate a 3D form from a 2D image, and may extract design information in consideration of a curved surface of the cervical area; the examiner is considering the cervical area to the anatomic landmark and the curved surface of the cervical area to be the one or more surfaces of the anatomic landmark, as the tissue mass to be resected is within the cervical area it is the examiners position that the curved surface of the cervical area would be capable as being used as a guide (e.g. a reference point) for resecting the tissue mass).
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Shelton disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Choi further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: generate a three-dimensional model of the tissue mass to be resected, wherein causing the apparatus to generate the three-dimensional model of the resection tool for resecting the tissue mass of tissue to be resected comprises causing the apparatus to generate the three-dimensional model of the resection tool based, at least in part, on the three-dimensional model of the tissue mass to be resected ([0058], [0060], [0062]-[0063], [0082], & [0083]; Figure 4; an output image may be generated which displays the excision area and the margin area surround the lesion area; the analysis apparatus may generate the tool design information in consideration of the 3D image of the excision area).
Regarding method claims 9, 11, & 14, the combination of these claims are rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claim 1, since the operation of the prior art uses the same or substantially the same system and method.
Regarding method claim 10, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claim 2, since the operation of the prior art uses the same or substantially the same system and method.
Regarding method claim 12, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claim 4, since the operation of the prior art uses the same or substantially the same system and method.
Regarding method claim 15, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claim 7, since the operation of the prior art uses the same or substantially the same system and method.
Regarding method claim 16, the claim is rejected by the same or substantially the same rationale as applied to the rejection of apparatus claim 8, since the operation of the prior art uses the same or substantially the same system and method.
Regarding claim 35, Choi discloses all of the limitations of claim 33, as described above.
Choi does not disclose wherein causing the apparatus to determine the margin around the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to: identify types of tissue around the tumor; and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor.
Shelton teaches an apparatus configured to determine a size and shape of the tumor, and determine a margin around the tumor ([0183], [0449], & [0552]); wherein causing the apparatus to determine the margin around the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to: identify types of tissue around the tumor; and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor ([0552], [0561], & [0563]-[0564]; Figure 13B—elements 2332 & 2330; the resection margin 2330 can be determined and adjusted based on a variety of characteristics of the anatomical structure (e.g. critical structures other than the subject tissue, a quality of the tissue surrounding the subject tissue, and type of tissue)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the determination of the margin around the tumor, as disclosed by Choi, to include the apparatus configured to identify types of tissue around the tumor, and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor, as taught by Shelton, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward systems for determining resection margins around a tumor. As disclosed by Shelton, the control circuit may be configured to identify critical structures (e.g. damaged surrounding tissue), within the anatomical structure and adjust the resection margin based on the critical structures that are identified so as to account for both the subject tissue and the surrounding damaged tissue which facilitates a more efficient recovery for the patient ([0563]-[0566]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the determination of the margin around the tumor, as disclosed by Choi, to include the apparatus configured to identify types of tissue around the tumor, and determine a qualitative margin based, at least in part, on a type of tissue around the tumor, as taught by Shelton, as such a modification would allow for the apparatus to identify damaged tissue near the tumor that could hinder the anatomical structure’s ability to recover during a surgical procedure and determine a resection margin that accounts for the damaged tissue such that the tumor and the damaged tissue can be removed from the anatomical structure, thereby facilitating a more efficient recovery for the patient.
Regarding claims 36 & 37, Choi discloses all of the limitations of claim 33, as described above.
Choi further discloses wherein causing the apparatus to generate a three-dimensional model of a resection tool for resecting the tissue mass to be resected comprises causing the apparatus to generate a three-dimensional model of the resection tool with a shape that avoids the at least one vital structure during resection (claim 37) ([0037], [0063], [0091]; the excision area information is in the form of design area information that is transmitted to a 3D printer so that the printer manufactures the tool based on the excision area information; it is the examiners position that the customized model of the resection tool would be capable of avoiding a vital structure during resection as the tool is customized to the patient and tumor).
Choi does not disclose wherein the apparatus is further caused to: identify the at least one vital structure in the images of the tumor within the patient, wherein the at least one vital structure is proximate the tumor; wherein causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected including the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure (claim 36).
Shelton teaches an apparatus configured to determine a size and shape of the tumor, and determine a margin around the tumor ([0183], [0449], & [0552]); wherein the apparatus is further caused to: identify at least one vital structure in the images of the tumor within the patient, wherein the at least one vital structure is proximate the tumor; wherein causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected including the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure ([0190], [0222], [0411], [0458]; the system is configured to identify critical structures and facilitate the avoidance of the critical structures; the resection paths can be determined by the visualization system such that certain critical structures (e.g. arteries) are avoided).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the determination of the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected, as disclosed by Choi, to include the apparatus configured to identify at least one vital structure in the images of the tumor within the patient, wherein the at least one vital structure is proximate the tumor; wherein causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected including the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure, as taught by Shelton, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward systems for planning tumor resection. As disclosed by Choi, the technology enables patient-customized surgery by designing an excision tool suitable for an excision area and provides for a customized excision tool suitable for a shape lesion ([0007] & [0091]). As disclosed by Shelton, the control circuit may be configured to identify critical structures to avoid during resection so as to prevent inadvertent damage thereto and thus minimize the risk of harm resulting from the surgical procedure ([0189], [0411], [0412], & [0552]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the determination of the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected, as disclosed by Choi, to include the apparatus configured to identify at least one vital structure in the images of the tumor within the patient, wherein the at least one vital structure is proximate the tumor; wherein causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected including the tumor comprises causing the apparatus to determine the size and shape of the tissue mass to be resected while avoiding the at least one vital structure, as taught by Shelton, as such a modification would allow for the apparatus to identify critical structure to avoid during resection so as to prevent inadvertent damage thereto and thus minimize the risk of harm resulting from the surgical procedure.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14-16, & 33-37 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794