Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 06/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2024 and 08/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
4. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites A battery cell weld inspection method using the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). Such a claim is directed to neither a “process” nor a “machine,” but rather embraces or overlaps two different statutory classes of invention. MPEP § 2173.05(p).
Claims 12- 14 are rejected under 35 U./S.C. 112 (b) due to their dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claims 1, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, A battery cell weld inspection apparatus comprising (figures 1-12, paragraph [0011]): a plate configured to allow a battery cell cassette having a plurality of battery cells disposed therein to be mounted thereon (cell support 230, 320, 420, 520 as shown in figures 2-5); an orthogonal robot (element 620, figure 6, paragraph [0062]) configured to move above the battery cell cassette fixed to the plate figure 6, paragraph [0062]); mark a defective battery cell among the plurality of battery
cells ([0051] Defect selection unit 190 may select some defective secondary battery cells among the plurality of secondary battery cells and may transfer non-defective secondary battery cells to cell loader 117 of cell supply and retrieval unit 110. In some examples, defect selection unit 190 may include a cell transferer 192 and a magazine set 194 including a plurality of magazines #1, #2,..., #k (k is a natural number). Each of the plurality of magazines #1, #2,..., #k of magazine set 194 may store one or more secondary battery cells. Cell transferer 192 may identify each of the plurality of secondary battery cells that have passed through the inspection unit 130, 140, 150, 160, 170 and 180 and may select some defective secondary battery cells among the identified plurality of secondary battery cells. Cell transferer 192 may transfer the selected secondary battery cells to a corresponding magazine of magazine set 194 and store them. In some examples, cell transferer 192 may identify the type of a defect of a secondary battery cell and may transfer the secondary battery cell to a predetermined magazine corresponding to the type of the defect.
A specific embodiment of defect selection unit 190 will be described in more detail with reference to FIG. 11. [0054] data processing unit 124 may determine whether a secondary battery cell is defective based on the data measured from thickness measurement unit 130, OCV/IR measurement unit 142, insulation voltage measurement unit 144 and insulation resistance measurement unit 146 of electrical characteristic measurement unit 140, mass measurement unit 170 and tab inspection unit 180. In this example, cell transferer 192 may identify a secondary battery cell and may determine whether the identified secondary battery cell is defective by obtaining a defect determination result made by data processing unit 124. [0056] As described above, inspection system 100 according to the present disclosure can perform various inspections, print inspection data and discharge defective cells in line and can adjust the throughput depending on operation cycle. Therefore, inspection system 100 can improve the inspection efficiency of secondary batteries); and an alignment unit configured to align a position of the battery cell cassette such that the battery cell cassette is disposed in an operation zone of the orthogonal robot (figure 6, paragraph [0062]).
Huh et al does not explicitly teach a laser pointer coupled to the orthogonal robot, the laser pointer being configured to mark a defective battery cell.
Huh et al further teaches, (data printer 600 may include a main body 610, an orthogonal robot 620, a marking controller 630 and a multi-head marking printer 640. Main body 610 may include a frame capable of supporting the other components 620 to 640 of data printer 600. Orthogonal robot 620 may move multi-head marking printer 640 under the control of marking controller 630. Marking controller 630 may control an operation of orthogonal robot 620 and an operation of multi-head marking printer 640, and may be provided in a non-illustrated frame or fixed element (paragraph [0062]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser pointer in place of a data printer.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be marked by the laser pointer instead of a printer marker as taught by Huh et al (paragraph [0051], [054], [0062]).
The method of marking the defective battery cell either by printing or laser marking does not change or impact the functionality of the battery.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Huh et al further teaches, further comprising: a lift configured to adjust a height of the plate, wherein the lift is located under the plate (as shown in figure 2, paragraph [0057] and applicable to figure 6).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the battery cell cassette comprises four corner portions, each of which is formed as a result of two side surfaces being joined to each other, and wherein the alignment unit aligns the battery cell cassette while moving so as to be closer to or farther away from the four corner portions (figure 8 and 9, paragraphs [0064]-[0067]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the plate comprises a coupling portion configured to fix a position of the battery cell cassette (figure 8 and 9, paragraphs [0064]-[0067]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Huh et al further teaches, further comprising; a count display unit configured to display a number of defective battery cells including the defective battery cell (paragraph [0051])
Regarding dependent claim 8, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Huh et al further teaches, further comprising; a manual inspector configured to enable an operator to manually inspect a weld of the defective battery cell marked by the laser pointer (paragraph [0059], figure 3).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 8.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the manual inspector comprises: a push-pull jig configured to pull a wire of the weld of the defective battery cell; and an alarm unit configured to generate an alarm when a force with which the push-pull jig pulls the wire reaches a set level (paragraph [0059], figure 3).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 7.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the number displayed on the count display unit is decreased whenever an operator checks the weld of the defective battery cell marked by the laser pointer (paragraph [0051]).
6. Claims 2, 3, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) and in view of Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Huh et al (US 2023/0160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Huh et al further teaches, further comprising: a controller configured to receive position information of a weld of the defective battery cell derived from an internal resistance value of the battery cell cassette (paragraphs [0042]-[0045], [0061]).
Huh et al is silent about a result of measurement using a thermal imaging scanner and to control the orthogonal robot based on the received position information.
Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teaches, (A thermal imaging system for a battery module enclosure that includes first and second battery module enclosure components between which a weld is formed includes a thermal imaging camera that focuses on the first and second battery module enclosure components within a predetermined amount of time after the weld is formed and that acquires a thermal signature. A control module includes an image processing module that receives the thermal signature and that locates a predetermined reference point in the thermal signature. An image comparison module receives the thermal signature and uses the predetermined reference point to compare the thermal signature to a template signature in order to verify structural integrity of the weld. The image comparison module computes a relative measure of deviation of the thermal signature from the template signature and identifies the weld as defective when the relative measure of deviation is greater than a predetermined value (abstract, also see paragraphs [0004]-[0006]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) teaches the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Anantharaman further teaches, wherein the laser pointer radiates a laser beam to a weld of each of a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of the defective battery cell ((paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) teaches, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Please see 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejection above.
Regarding method recitation, please Huh et al (paragraph [0033]).
Regarding the limitations, disposing the battery cell cassette having the plurality of battery cells mounted therein on the plate; aligning the position of the battery cell cassette using the alignment unit; transmitting position information of a weld of the defective battery cell to the orthogonal robot; marking the weld of the defective battery cell using the laser pointer through a movement of the orthogonal robot (please see rejection of claim 1); and pulling the weld of the defective battery cell marked by the laser pointer using a manual inspector for inspection thereof (please see rejection of claims 8 and 9, paragraph [0059], figure 3), wherein the position information of the weld of the defective battery cell is obtained from a result of measurement of an internal resistance of the battery cell cassette and a result of measurement using a thermal imaging scanner performed in advance (please see the rejection of claim 2).
Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teaches, (A thermal imaging system for a battery module enclosure that includes first and second battery module enclosure components between which a weld is formed includes a thermal imaging camera that focuses on the first and second battery module enclosure components within a predetermined amount of time after the weld is formed and that acquires a thermal signature. A control module includes an image processing module that receives the thermal signature and that locates a predetermined reference point in the thermal signature. An image comparison module receives the thermal signature and uses the predetermined reference point to compare the thermal signature to a template signature in order to verify structural integrity of the weld. The image comparison module computes a relative measure of deviation of the thermal signature from the template signature and identifies the weld as defective when the relative measure of deviation is greater than a predetermined value (abstract, also see paragraphs [0004]-[0006]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 11.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein upon completion of a manual inspection of a specific one of a plurality of defective battery cells including the defective battery cell (please see the rejection of claim 2, Huh et al and Anantharaman), a laser beam of the laser pointer marks another defective battery cell (please see the rejection of claim 2, Huh et al and Anantharaman), and wherein, when there is a further defective battery cell after completion of the manual inspection of the other defective battery cell (please see the rejection of claim 2, Huh et al and Anantharaman), the laser beam is radiated to the further defective battery cell and the further defective battery cell is manually inspected (please see the rejection of claim 2, Huh et al and Anantharaman).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 11.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein a number of defective battery cells including the defective battery cell is displayed on a count display unit as figures (please see paragraphs [0051] and [0059]), wherein the number on the count display unit decreases by one whenever a wire of the weld of the defective battery cell is pulled in the(please see paragraphs [0051] and [0059]), and wherein an operator pulls wires of welds of all defective battery cells to inspect the welds until the number displayed on the count display unit reaches zero (please see paragraphs [0051] and [0059]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al and Anantharaman by providing for counting the number of defective cells based on the wire pull of the welded battery cell connection.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification since Huh et al teaches identifying and separating out number of defective cells (paragraph [0051], [0059]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 11.
Huh et al further teaches,, wherein the pulling of the weld using the manual inspector is performed through a process of pulling a wire of the weld of the defective battery cell until the manual inspector generates an alarm (paragraphs [0051], [0059]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 11.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the defective battery cell are on a same side of the defective battery cell (Figure 12, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach, the battery cell weld inspection apparatus according to claim 11.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the alignment unit includes a guide at a lower end, the guide including concave recesses into which corner portions of the battery cell cassette are inserted (figures 8 and 9, paragraphs [0064]-[0067]).
Regarding independent claim 17, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) teaches, A battery cell weld inspection apparatus (figures 1-12, paragraph [0011]) comprising: a plate configured to receive a battery cell cassette having a plurality of battery cells disposed therein (cell support 230, 320, 420, 520 as shown in figures 2-5); a robot (element 620, figure 6, paragraph [0062]); and a controller configured to: receive position information of a defective battery cell derived from an internal resistance value of the battery cell cassette (paragraphs [0042]-[0045], [0061]).
Huh et al is silent about a laser pointer, move the laser pointer over the battery cell cassette and a result of measurement using a thermal imaging scanner; control the robot to move the laser pointer to a position of the defective battery cell based on the received position information; and control the laser pointer to emit a laser beam onto the defective battery cell.
Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teaches, (A thermal imaging system for a battery module enclosure that includes first and second battery module enclosure components between which a weld is formed includes a thermal imaging camera that focuses on the first and second battery module enclosure components within a predetermined amount of time after the weld is formed and that acquires a thermal signature. A control module includes an image processing module that receives the thermal signature and that locates a predetermined reference point in the thermal signature. An image comparison module receives the thermal signature and uses the predetermined reference point to compare the thermal signature to a template signature in order to verify structural integrity of the weld. The image comparison module computes a relative measure of deviation of the thermal signature from the template signature and identifies the weld as defective when the relative measure of deviation is greater than a predetermined value (abstract, also see paragraphs [0004]-[0006]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach the battery cell weld inspector apparatus according to claim 17.
Huh et al further teaches, wherein the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal of the defective battery cell are on a same side of the defective battery cell (Figure 12, paragraph [0035]).
Huh et al is silent about, wherein the laser pointer irradiates the laser beam to a weld of each of a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of the defective battery cell.
Anantharaman further teaches, wherein the laser pointer radiates a laser beam to a weld of each of a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of the defective battery cell ((paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach the battery cell weld inspector apparatus according to claim 17.
Huh et al further teaches, further comprising: a count display unit configured to display a number of defective battery cells including the defective battery cell that are determined to be defective based on the internal resistance value of the battery cell cassette (paragraphs [0042]-[0045], [0061]) and countdown the number after based on each of the defective battery cells being inspected ([0061]).
Huh et al is silent on using the thermal imaging scanner.
Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teaches, (A thermal imaging system for a battery module enclosure that includes first and second battery module enclosure components between which a weld is formed includes a thermal imaging camera that focuses on the first and second battery module enclosure components within a predetermined amount of time after the weld is formed and that acquires a thermal signature. A control module includes an image processing module that receives the thermal signature and that locates a predetermined reference point in the thermal signature. An image comparison module receives the thermal signature and uses the predetermined reference point to compare the thermal signature to a template signature in order to verify structural integrity of the weld. The image comparison module computes a relative measure of deviation of the thermal signature from the template signature and identifies the weld as defective when the relative measure of deviation is greater than a predetermined value (abstract, also see paragraphs [0004]-[0006]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al by providing a laser source and a thermal imaging camera as taught by Anantharaman (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the defective battery cell can be identified through thermal imaging as taught by Anantharaman (paragraph [0022]-[0026], figure 6, [0031]-[0033], [0062]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Huh et al (US 20230160967 A1) and Anantharaman (US 2007/0047796 A1) teach the battery cell weld inspector apparatus according to claim 17.
Huh et al further teaches, further comprising: a push-pull jig configured to pull a wire of a weld of the defective battery cell; and an alarm unit configured to generate an alarm when a force with which the push-pull jig pulls the wire reaches a set level (paragraph [0051], [0059]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Huh et al and Anantharaman by providing for counting the number of defective cells based on the wire pull of the welded battery cell connection.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification since Huh et al teaches identifying and separating out number of defective cells (paragraph [0051], [0059]).
Closest Prior art
7. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Joung et al (US 2022/0357294 A1) teaches, a weld portion inspection method using thermal image sensing, wherein the method includes heating the weld portion using Joule heat; and determining whether the weld portion is defective based on a temperature increase pattern of the weld portion by the heating.
Oh et al (US 2024/0151589 A1) teaches, a welding inspection apparatus including a base unit configured to dispose thereon a battery module, as an object to be inspected, a positive electrode connector and a negative electrode connector connected so as to charge and discharge the battery module, a thermal imaging camera configured to photograph a weld portion of the battery module, and a driving unit configured to move the thermal imaging camera, wherein it is possible to determine whether the weld portion is defective using a nondestructive inspection method.
Choi et al (US 2013/0317639 A1) teaches, A machine such as an industrial robot operates either in a stand-alone or in-production mode to perform a number of tests on a battery object having one of several different assembly levels and packaging geometries. The machine has selectable testing programs that correspond to various combinations of object assembly levels and geometries. The machine performs the tests either by coming into contact with a predetermined location on the conductive material of the object or viewing that location. The test results are analyzed to determining if retesting is necessary. After all of the tests are completed on an object, the tested object is assigned a grade and then sorted by grade. The tested objects may be kept at the machine location or sent on for further processing based on the assigned grade. After the testing is completed on one object, the machine tests the next object to be tested.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/12/2026