DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the support surface is configured to contact the lateral side of the stacked electrode assembly with the tape interposed therebetween”. It is unclear what is being claimed as if the tape is interposed therebetween, the support surface of the support part of the taping device cannot contact with the lateral side of the stacked electrode assembly”.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1 and recites “a pair of vacuum adsorption parts and a pair of gripper parts are provided” in lines 3-4, while claim 1 recites “a vacuum adsorption part” and “a gripper part” in lines 6-9. It is unclear if “a pair of vacuum adsorption parts and a pair of gripper parts are provided” recited in claim 4 is the same as or different from “a vacuum adsorption part” and “a gripper part” recited in claim 1.
Claim 5 depends on claim 4 and recites “the vacuum adsorption part” in line 3 and “the gripper part” in line 5, while claim 4 recites “a pair of vacuum adsorption parts and a pair of gripper parts” in lines 3-4. It is unclear what exactly “the vacuum adsorption part” and “the gripper part” being referred to in claim 5 as there are a pair of vacuum adsorption parts and a pair of gripper parts recited in claim 4.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the stacked electrode body" in lines 3-4 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 also recites “the surface of the stacked electrode body” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 depends on claim 14 and recites “a pair of gripper parts is provided” in line 3, while claim 14 recites “a gripper part” in line 7. It is unclear if “a pair of gripper parts” recited in claim 15 is the same as or different from “a gripper part” recited in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20120069905, Cite No.1 of Foreign Patent Documents in IDS 6/4/2024, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a taping device (see figs. 3-10) for a stacked electrode assembly comprising:
a support part (210, figs. 3-10) provided to couple a central portion of a tape (40, figs. 3-10) to be attached to the stacked electrode assembly (10, figs. 1-10), wherein the support part (210, figs. 3-10) is configured to accommodate the central portion of the tape (40) extending along a first direction (or vertical direction, see figs. 3-10);
a vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having suction holes h, fig. 3, [0029] and 0039]) configured to adsorb and fix to the tape (40, see figs. 7-9);
a gripper part (110, 120, figs. 3-10) configured to fix the tape (40) by gripping an end of the tape (40, figs. 4-10); and
a taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) provided to attach the tape (40) to an upper surface and a lower surface of the stacked electrode assembly (10, figs. 9-10) by moving along the upper and lower surfaces of the stacked electrode assembly from an upper portion and a lower portion of the support part (210, see figs. 7-10), wherein the stacked electrode assembly (10) includes a lateral side (see figs. 1-10).
Kim et al. describe the adhesive tape is adhered to the electrode assembly ([0037]) and not attached to the taping device (see figs. 3-10). As such, the vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having suction holes h) disclosed by Kim et al. is configured to adsorb and fix a non-pressure-sensitive adhesive side of the tape.
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 1 above, and teaches the support part (210) includes a support surface extending in the first direction (e.g. vertical) and being configured to support the tape (40, figs. 3-10), and wherein the vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having suction holes h) includes a vacuum adsorption surface (or surface having holes h) being coplanar with the support surface (see figs. 3-8) and extending along the first direction (e.g. vertical direction, see figs. 3-8).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 2 above, and teaches the support surface of the support part (210) is configured to contact the tape (40) with the lateral side of the stacked electrode assembly (10, see figs. 9-10) and the tape (40) is interposed between the support surface of the support part (210) and the lateral side of the stacked electrode assembly (10, see figs. 5-10).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 1 above, and teaches a pair of vacuum adsorption parts (220/230 having suction holes h, fig. 3) and the a pair of gripper parts (110 and 120) are provided (see figs. 3-10), where each of the pairs of vacuum adsorption parts (h) are symmetrically with respect to spaced apart from each other in the first direction with the support part (210) disposed therebetween (see figs. 3-10), wherein each of the pair of gripper parts (110 and 120) are symmetrically spaced apart from each other in the first direction (see figs. 3-4) with the support part (210) disposed therebetween (see figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 4 above, and teaches the support part (210) and the vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having suction holes h) are integrally formed in to define an E shape (see figs. 3-10), and wherein the gripper part (110/120) and the taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) are provided to be movable along a second direction (e.g. horizontal direction) with respect to the support part (210) and the vacuum adsorption part (h, see figs. 3-10), and wherein the second direction (e.g. horizontal direction) is transverse to the first direction (e.g. vertical direction).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 1 above, and teaches the gripper part (110/120) is moveable from an initial position to an attachment position so as to tensioning the tape (40, see figs. 3-10).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 6 above, and teaches the gripper part (110/120) is configured to deform an upper portion and a lower portion and the lower portion of the tape (40) from a vertical shape extending along the first direction to an oblique line shape (see figs. 9-10) with respect to the support part (210) while moving to the attachment position (see figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 6 above, and teaches the gripper part (110/120) is configured to release the end of the tape (40) after moving to the attachment position (see fig. 8-9)
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 1 above, and teaches the taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) comprises a moving block (620 or 630) moveable along the support part (210, figs. 3-10) in a second direction (e.g. horizontal direction) being transverse to the first direction (e.g. vertical direction); and a pressurizing member (312 or 322) provided to apply a pressure to the tape (40) while moving along the second direction so as to attached the tape (40) to the stacked electrode assembly (10) , wherein the moving block (620 or 630) is configured to move the pressurizing member (312 or 322).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 11 above, and teaches the taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) comprises a support bar (310/410 or 320/420) interposed between the moving block (620 or 630) and the pressurizing member (312 or 322), and wherein the pressurizing member (312 and 322) is a roller provided on the support bar and is rotatable (see figs. 3-10, [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 12 above, and teaches the support bar (410 or 420) is configured to be deformed by the stacked electrode assembly (10, see figs. 3-10), so as to have an elastic restoring force (e.g. spring), wherein the roller (312 or 322) is configured to apply the pressure to the tape (40) extending along the upper and lower surfaces of the stacked electrode assembly (10) by the elastic restoring force (see figs. 3-10).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. discloses a taping device for a stacked electrode assembly (10) comprising:
a support part (210) provided to couple a central portion of a tape (40) to the stacked electrode assembly (10), wherein the central portion of the tape (40) extends along a first direction (or vertical direction);
a vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having vacuum hole h, fig. 3, [0029] and [0039]) configured to adsorb and fix the tape (see figs. 7-9);
a gripper part (110, 120, figs. 3-10) provided to fix the tape (40) by gripping an end of the tape (40, figs. 4-10), wherein the gripper part (110, 120) is moveable from an initial position to an attachment position (see figs. 3-10), so as to tension the tape (40, see figs. 3-10); and
a taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) provided to attach the tape (40) to an upper surface and a lower surface of the stacked electrode assembly (10) by moving along the upper and lower surfaces from an upper portion and a lower portion of the support part (210, see figs. 3-10).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 14 above, and teaches a pair of the gripper parts (110, 120) is provided and are symmetrically spaced apart from each other in a first direction (e.g. vertical direction) with the support part (210) disposed therebetween (see figs. 8-10), and wherein the pair of gripper parts (110/210) and the vacuum adsorption part (h) are provided to fix an upper end and a lower end of the tape (40, see figs. 7-9).
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 15 above, and teaches the vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having suction holes h) is configured to desorb the tape (40) when each of the pair of gripper parts (110/120) moves from the initial position to the attachment position (see figs. 3-10).
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 15 above, and teaches each of the pair of gripper parts (110/120) is configured to release the tape (40) when the taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) attaches the tape (40) to the upper and lower surfaces of the stacked electrode assembly (10, see figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 15 above, and teaches each of the pair of gripper parts (110/120) is configured to deforms the tape (40) while moving to the attachment position (see figs. 8-10), wherein the tape defines an acute angle with respect to the upper and lower surfaces of the stacked electrode assembly (10), so as to define an oblique line shape (see figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. disclose a taping device as in claim 14 above, and teaches the taping mechanism part (310/312/410/620 and 320/322/420/630) comprises a pressurizing member (312 or 322) provided to attach the tape (40) to the stacked electrode assembly (10) by rolling and pressurizing while moving from the initial position to the attachment position (see figs. 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20120069905) as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, in view of Lee et al. (KR 102425021).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 6 above, and teaches the gripper part comprises a gripper surface (see a tip surface) and a gripper bar (see the bar opposite to the tip surface), wherein the gripper surface is configured to accommodate the end of the tape (see figs. 5-10).
Kim et al. does not disclose the gripper bar (or the bar opposite to the gripper surface) is foldable with respect to the gripper surface.
Lee et al. teaches a gripper part (see clamp 25/25’ and 27, figs. 12-13) having a gripper surface (see a tip surface) and a gripper bar (see the bar opposite to the tip surface), and the gripper bar is foldable (or pivoting) with respect to the gripper surface (see fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taping device of Kim et al. by using the gripper part having the gripper bar foldable with respect to the gripper surface as taught by Lee et al., because such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material/device for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 8 above, wherein Kim et al. discloses gripper part (110 or 120) comprises a guide bar (or the bar having the gripper surface) movable along the vacuum adsorption part (220/230 having suction holes h) in a second direction (or horizontal direction) being transverse to the first direction (or vertical direction, see figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. discloses a taping device as in claim 15 above.
Kim et al. does not explicitly show each of the pair of the gripper parts comprises a gripper bar foldable about the tape, so as to fix the tape.
Lee et al. teaches a gripper part (see clamp 25/25’ and 27, figs. 12-13) having a gripper surface (see a tip surface) and a gripper bar (see the bar opposite to the tip surface), and the gripper bar is foldable (or pivoting) about the tape (3a) so as to fix the tape
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taping device of Kim et al. by using gripper parts having the gripper bar foldable as taught by Lee et al., because such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material/device for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
Conclusion
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726