Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2025 and 08/12/2024 was being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (JP 2018058736 A) in view of NOBUAKI et al. (JP 2003212691 A).
With regards to claim 1, Akira discloses a crystal growth method, comprising:
controlling an induction coil to move downwards with respect to a crucible in a process of growing a crystal by using a pulling method [0047] – [0049], wherein:
the induction coil moves (i.e., with a drive motor 92) as its forming and during growth [0044], [0049] – [0050], and while a moving the induction coil during the entire moving process of the induction coil [0030] – [0036].
Akira fails to expressly disclose the coil moves with an acceleration after the crystal enters an equal-diameter stage and where this movement tends to continuously increase
NOBUAKI discloses a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals [0001] [0002]. More importantly, NOBUAKI specifically teaches controlling movement of a furnace hating component using servo/motor controller with defined acceleration /deceleration and speed patterns [0053] – [0059], [0071].
In view of the utility, to create smooth acceleration to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI.
With regards to claim 2, Akira discloses the induction coil moves downwards with respect to the crucible acceleration during the entire moving process of the induction coil [0031] – [0036], [0047], but fails to expressly disclose a variable acceleration.
NOBUAKI discloses a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals [0001] [0002]. Akira further teaches variable acceleration/deceleration (i.e., over time), as part of servo motion profiles for component position [0053], [0054], [0057]- [0062].
In view of the utility, to create smooth acceleration to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI.
With regards to claim 3, Akira discloses the induction coil moves downwards with respect to the crucible acceleration during the entire moving process of the induction coil [0031] – [0036], [0047], but fails the induction coil moves downwards with respect to the crucible with a constant acceleration during the entire moving process.
NOBUAKI discloses a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals [0001] [0002]. NOBUAKI further teaches constant-acceleration segments within standard motion profiles for servo-driven movement [0052] – [0059].
In view of the utility, to create smooth constant movement to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI.
With regards to claim 4, Akira discloses the invention according to claim 1, and fails to expressly disclose a distance or time for which the induction coil moves with respect to the crucible is divided into a plurality of target sections in advance, and when the distance or time for which the induction coil moves with respect to the crucible reaches a target section, the induction coil is controlled to move at a constant speed corresponding to each of the target sections, wherein each of the target sections corresponds to a different speed, and a target section arranged later has a corresponding speed greater than that of a target section arranged earlier.
NOBUAKI discloses a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals [0001] [0002]. NOBUAKI further teaches movement control based on pre-set pattern data/sections where different speeds (and/or accelerations) are commanded at different stages of the movement and increasing speed as staged commands [0056] – [0059].
In view of the utility, to create smooth constant movement to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI.
With regards to claim 5, Akira discloses the claimed invention according to claim 2, but fails to expressly disclose that a distance or time for which the induction coil moves with respect to the crucible is divided into a plurality of target sections in advance, and when the distance or time for which the induction coil moves with respect to the crucible reaches a target section, the induction coil is controlled to move with an uniform acceleration at the acceleration corresponding to the target section, wherein each of the target sections corresponds to a different acceleration.
NOBUAKI discloses a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals [0001] [0002]. NOBUAKI further teaches that acceleration values can be set per stage/segment of motion pattern data [0057] – [0059]. See various modified examples of the control mode of the single crystal manufacturing apparatus 50 will be explained below [0057] – [0062].
With regards to claim 6, Akira discloses the target section arranged later has a corresponding acceleration greater than that of the target section arranged earlier.
NOBUAKI discloses a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals [0001] [0002]. NOBUAKI further teaches allowing increasing acceleration values in later segments per profile. Notice how speed is controlled and descending and ascending speed is optional [0026], [0027], [0057] – [0059].
In view of the utility, to create smooth constant movement to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI.
With regards to claim 7, Akira discloses the induction coil moves with respect to the crucible at speeds between 0.55mm/ to 1 mm/h, when the pulling of the crystal begins, the induction coil 80 moves downward from its initial position. The control of the lifting and lowering operation can be achieved by the control unit 130 controlling the rotation operation of the drive motor 92. This lowering operation may involve gradually lowering the induction coil 80 at a speed of 0.5 mm/h to 1 mm/h, for example, and lowering it a total of 20 mm to 75 mm during crystal growth, although this depends on the type of single crystal [0035] – [0037], [0049], [0050].
If the distance is less than 20 mm, only a portion of the upper coil is covered by the after-heater, resulting in a small heat retention effect at the upper part. If the length exceeds 75 mm, the speed at which the crystal is grown must be increased, but in this case, the temperature of the melt in the crucible changes suddenly, which adversely affects the crystal growth. Therefore, the distance of the downward movement of the induction coil 80 is preferably 30 mm to 40 mm [0035] – [0037].
In this way, the crystal growth apparatus of this embodiment is equipped with a lifting mechanism 90 that raises and lowers the induction coil 80, thereby performing crystal growth operations with a low temperature difference distribution and preventing defects such as cracks [0035] – [0037], [0049], [0050].
Akira fails to disclose that the speed is greater than or equal to 0.001 mm/h and less than or equal to 0.1 mm/h. Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the claimed speed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to because of what Akira already teaches, which is speed is disclosed as a variable directly tied to defect/crack suppression, basically a result-effective variable optimization to crystal type/size and desired thermal stability for the purpose of improving the crystal growth.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (JP 2018058736 A) and NOBUAKI et al. (JP 2003212691 A) in view of Ding (CN 110195254 A)
With regards to claim 8, Akira modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, and further teaches an acceleration of the induction coil is set according to the initial position of the liquid surface, and the higher the initial position of the liquid surface is, the greater the acceleration is [0057] – [0059], but fails to expressly disclose a position of the liquid surface of the raw material melt of the crystal with respect to a bottom of the crucible when the induction coil begins to move is set as an initial position of the liquid surface.
Ding relates to an improved crystal growth technology, specifically claims a coil suitable for pulling of the movable structure and crystal growth method, belonging to the technical field of crystal growth [0010].
Ding also teaches setting coil motion parameter based on melt level/position relationships [0010] [0037] [0042] [0055].
In view of the utility, to use distance to melt surface for sensor/parameter to control the thermal goal to create smooth the growth process to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira modified to include the teachings such as that taught by Ding.
With regards to claim 9, Akira discloses the coil is positioned relative to the interface/liquid surface and adjusted as that surface drops [0035]. Akira further teaches that rapid change may come with rapid harm along with that a controlled environment in relation to interface position is desired and conventional [0035] [0036] [0044].
Akira fails to expressly disclose an acceleration of the induction coil is set according to the distance between the top of the induction coil and the liquid surface of the raw material melt of the crystal when the induction coil begins to move, and the greater the distance is, the smaller the acceleration is.
Ding relates to an improved crystal growth technology, specifically claims a coil suitable for pulling of the movable structure and crystal growth method, belonging to the technical field of crystal growth [0010].
Ding also teaches setting coil motion parameter based on melt level/position relationships [0010] [0037] [0042] [0055].
In view of the utility, to use distance to melt surface for sensor/parameter to control the thermal goal to create a smooth growth process to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira modified to include the teachings such as that taught by Ding.
Claim(s) 10 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (JP 2018058736 A) in view of NOBUAKI et al. (JP 2003212691 A), Ding (CN 110195254 A) and Akira (JP 2020-066555 A), hereinafter Akira 2.
With regards to claims 10 and 11, Akira discloses a device for crystal growth, comprising:
a growth furnace having a growth furnace cavity within it [0031] – [0033] (Figure 1); a crucible provided within the growth furnace cavity, which can hold a crystal raw material [0031] – [0033] (Figure 1) and that the induction coil moves (i.e., with a drive motor 92) as its forming and during growth [0044], [0049] – [0050], and while a moving the induction coil during the entire moving process of the induction coil [0030] – [0036].
Akira also discloses that the induction coil moves with respect to the crucible at speeds between 0.55mm/ to 1 mm/h, when the pulling of the crystal begins, the induction coil 80 moves downward from its initial position. The control of the lifting and lowering operation can be achieved by the control unit 130 controlling the rotation operation of the drive motor 92. This lowering operation may involve gradually lowering the induction coil 80 at a speed of 0.5 mm/h to 1 mm/h, for example, and lowering it a total of 20 mm to 75 mm during crystal growth, although this depends on the type of single crystal [0035] – [0037], [0049], [0050].
Akira fails to expressly disclose the movements in combination with the induction coil is provided within the growth furnace cavity and surrounding the exterior of the crucible; and an induction coil drive mechanism connected to the induction coil to drive the induction coil to move downwards with respect to the crucible during crystal growth, specifically such that: the induction coil moves with an acceleration after the crystal enters an equal-diameter stage, and a moving speed of the induction coil tends to continuously increase during the entire moving process of the induction coil.
NOBUAKI teaches a method and apparatus for manufacturing single crystals comprising controlling a movement of a heating a component using servo/motor controller with defined acceleration /deceleration and speed patterns and implementing increasing any motion speed via programed motion parameters [0047], [0048], [0054] [0057] – [0062], [0071]. NOBUAKI teaches detailed coil lifting structures including a holder/support frames connect to drive mechanism [0010] [[0037], for example rotary motor and the lifting motor, while setting the rotation speed to 6 rpm and the lifting speed to 0.5 mm/hour and additionally speeds [0065] [0067] [0069] [0073].
Akira 2 relates to a single crystal growth apparatus and a single crystal growth method including using an induction coil lifting mechanism (i.e., moto/drive) connecting to coil to adjust vertical position during growth, for example a downward motion is one direction specifically taught [0019], [0020] – [0024].
Ding relates to an improved crystal growth technology, specifically claims a coil suitable for pulling (at slow speeds) of the movable structure and crystal growth method, belonging to the technical field of crystal growth [0010]. Specifically, Ding teaches setting coil motion parameter based on melt level/position relationships [0010] [0037] [0042] [0055]. Lastly, Ding teaches, see FIG. 1, the related components, a seed crystal 150 provided at the lower end of the pulling shaft 50 and a crystal raw material 160 stored in the crucible 10 crucible 10 and the crucible base 15 are surrounded by a refractory material 40 .A heat insulating material 45 such as zirconia bubbles is filled between the crucible 10 and the crucible base 15 and the refractory material 40 [0019] [0020] [0027] [0032] [0036].
Notice how the crucible shaft 80 is connected to a crucible shaft driving mechanism 90, which moves the crucible shaft 80 up and down. As the crucible shaft 70 moves up and down, the crucible 10, the crucible base 15, and the refractory material 40 also move up and down at the same time. The crucible shaft lifting mechanism 90 may, for example, convert the rotation of a drive motor into a driving force in the vertical direction using a worm gear, a ball screw, or the like, to lift and lower the crucible shaft 80 [0019] [0020] [0027] [0032] [0036].
In view of the utility, to use distance to melt surface for sensor/parameter to control the thermal goal to create a smooth growth process to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI, Akira 2 and Ding.
With regards to claim 12, Akira modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 11, but fails to expressly disclose the motion mechanism is connected to the micro motion platform by a transmission mechanism.
Akira 2 relates to a single crystal growth apparatus and a single crystal growth method including using an induction coil lifting mechanism (i.e., moto/drive) connecting to coil to adjust vertical position during growth, for example a downward motion is one direction specifically taught [0019], [0020] – [0024].
Ding relates to an improved crystal growth technology, specifically claims a coil suitable for pulling of the movable structure and crystal growth method, belonging to the technical field of crystal growth [0010]. Specifically, Ding teaches setting coil motion parameter based on melt level/position relationships [0010] [0037] [0042] [0055].
In view of the utility, to use distance to melt surface for sensor/parameter to control the thermal goal to create a smooth growth process to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI, Akira 2 and Ding.
With regards to claim 13, Akira modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 11, but fails expressly disclose that the device for crystal growth further comprises: a heat-preservation furnace chamber provided within the growth furnace cavity, the crucible is provided within the heat-preservation furnace chamber, and the induction coil surrounds the exterior of the heat-preservation furnace chamber.
Akira 2 relates to a single crystal growth apparatus and a single crystal growth method including using an induction coil lifting mechanism (i.e., moto/drive) connecting to coil to adjust vertical position during growth, for example a downward motion is one direction specifically taught [0019], [0020] – [0024]. Akira discloses the furnace internal chamber/thermal insulation structures surrounding the crucible [0020] – [0024]
Ding relates to an improved crystal growth technology, specifically claims a coil suitable for pulling of the movable structure and crystal growth method, belonging to the technical field of crystal growth [0010].
Ding teaches setting coil motion parameter based on melt level/position relationships [0010] [0037] [0042] [0055]. Ding further teaches a heat preservation component and an induction coil are placed sequentially outside the crucible, and the crucible, heat preservation component, and induction coil together form the required temperature field structure [0005] [0065].
In view of the utility, to use distance to melt surface for sensor/parameter to control the thermal goal to create a smooth growth process to help reduce thermal shock and maintain stable melt convection/temperature gradients to avoid defects/cracks as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by NOBUAKI, Akira 2 and Ding.
Claim(s) 14 -15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (JP 2018058736 A), NOBUAKI et al. (JP 2003212691 A) and Ding (CN 110195254 A) in view of Gautier et al. (CN 102834735 A).
With regards to claim 14, Akira modified discloses a crystal growth method of claims 1 – 9 (see rejections of claims 1 – 9 above), but fails to expressly disclose the radiation detector comprising: a substrate; a scintillator provided on the substrate; and a light detector for detecting the scintillation light emitted from the scintillator due to irradiation by radiation, wherein the scintillator is obtained by cutting and grinding a crystal produced by the crystal growth method according to any one of claims 1 to 9.
Gautier relates to crystals incorporated into detectors comprised of a scintillator for detecting radiation, such as X ray and gamma ray and ionizing particles [0001] – [0003]. Gautier discloses cutting, grinding and a predetermined diameter along with the rest of the minor and well-known parameters as claimed. [0015] – [0021].
In view of the utility, positioning and integrating a crystal in photosensitive device while preventing material loss caused by orientation and less methods, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by Gautier.
With regards to claim 15, Akira modified discloses a crystal growth method of claims 1 – 9 (see rejections of claims 1 – 9 above), but Akira fails to expressly disclose
a step of obtaining a crystal blank, wherein the crystal blank is obtained according to the crystal growth method according to claim 1;
a step of cutting, wherein a portion of the crystal blank having a uniform diameter is selected and cut to form one or more crystals having desired shapes; and a step of grinding, wherein the one or more crystals obtained in the step of cutting are ground and polished, thereby obtaining the scintillator body for the radiation detector.
Gautier relates to crystals incorporated into detectors comprised of a scintillator for detecting radiation, such as X ray and gamma ray and ionizing particles [0001] – [0003]. Gautier discloses cutting, grinding and a predetermined diameter along with the rest of the minor and well-known parameters as claimed. [0015] – [0021].
In view of the utility, to can carry out the polishing, positioning and integrating a crystal in photosensitive device while preventing material loss caused by orientation and less methods., it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Akira to include the teachings such as that taught by Gautier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub No. 2006/0253242 A1 to Prebola teaches many parts of the claim’s limitation showing that segmenting motion into intervals is considered a standard implementation approach for motion profiles, as such, the disclosure makes light of the prior art that is prelevant or applicable claimed limitations. Parts of claims 1 -6 and 10 – 12 appear to suggest smoother/controlled motion capabilities while tracking process needs as only obvious routine optimization of result-effective variables with art related predictable workable ranges, see paragraphs [0013] – [0030] & Figures 1 and 6.
Prebola relates to a method for dynamical altering stepper motor velocity profiles based on position detailed by a sensor. Prebola teaches a technique for implementing dynamic S curve stepper motor velocity profiles provides improved performance in controlling the motion of a mass. A method for controlling a moving mass comprises accelerating the moving mass according to a velocity profile, detecting that the moving mass has a specified position, and altering the velocity profile based on the detection of the moving mass having the specified position. The velocity profile is altered by reducing a maximum velocity of the moving mass, if the moving mass has the specified position before a maximum velocity of the velocity profile is achieved.
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884