Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/09/2026 was entered. Upon entry of the instant amendment, claims 1, 10, 13 and 14 were amended, and claim 7 was canceled without prejudice or disclaimer to any subject matter therein. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 8-15 are pending and under consideration. Support for the amendments can be found throughout the specification, claims, and figures as originally filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 04/06/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira '736 (JP 2018-058736 A) in view of Fukuda et al. (JP 2018-145081 A) and Nobuaki et al. (JP 2003-212691 A).
With regard to claim 1, Akira '736 discloses a crystal growth method comprising controlling an induction coil to move downward with respect to a crucible in a process of growing a crystal by using a pulling method. Specifically, Akira '736 discloses a CZ-type oxide single-crystal growth method in which a seed crystal is contacted with a melt and pulled to form a shoulder portion 161 and straight-body portion 162. Akira '736 discloses induction coil 80 around the crucible/thermal structure and a control unit 130 controlling the drive motor 92 so that the induction coil 80 is moved downward during crystal growth. (Akira '736, paras. [0012]-[0014], [0023], [0031]-[0035], [0041]-[0044], Figs. 1, 3, and 4.) Akira '736 further discloses that, after the shoulder portion is formed, induction coil 80 is gradually lowered during growth of the straight-body portion. (Akira '736, paras. [0044], [0049]-[0050].)
Akira '736 fails to expressly disclose that the induction coil moves with an acceleration after the crystal enters the equal-diameter stage, that the moving speed tends to continuously increase during the entire moving process, and that the moving speed is 0.001 mm/h to 0.1 mm/h. Akira '736 instead discloses 0.5 mm/h to 1 mm/h. (Akira '736, paras. [0036], [0049].)
Fukuda discloses a vertically movable heating coil in a high-frequency induction-heated CZ apparatus and teaches lowering the heating coil to maintain supercooling as the liquid surface descends, with a preferred lowering speed of 0.1 mm/h or more. (Fukuda, paras. [0011]-[0012], [0019].)
Nobuaki discloses control-pattern data, servo motor feedback, constant or time-changing speed values, target positions, and target-position sections that allow speed to be increased, decreased, or held constant. (Nobuaki, paras. [0045]-[0048], [0056]-[0058].)
In view of the utility, to maintain supercooling/thermal stability as the melt/interface position changes and to reduce crystal defects, voids, and cracks, it would have been obvious to modify Akira '736 to use Fukuda's 0.1 mm/h slow coil-lowering endpoint and Nobuaki 's programmable servo motion profile for accelerating and continuously increasing coil movement. The endpoint 0.1 mm/h is within the claimed range, and applying a programmable speed profile to a known coil drive is a predictable use of known servo-control technology for its ordinary purpose.
With regard to claim 2, Akira '736 modified recites that the induction coil moves downward with respect to the crucible with variable acceleration during the entire moving process. Akira '736 as modified above teaches the downward coil movement after shoulder formation and the amended speed endpoint through Fukuda.
Akira '736 does not expressly disclose variable acceleration during the entire moving process.
Nobuaki teaches that moving speeds may be provided as speed-value data at each time when the speed needs to change over time, and teaches target-position control where moving speed is increased or decreased depending on deviation from the target position. (Nobuaki, paras. [0048], [0056]-[0058].)
In view of the utility, to create smooth controlled motion and to maintain stable melt convection and temperature gradients during crystal growth, it would have been obvious to implement the Akira/Fukuda coil lowering with Nobuaki 's time-varying speed profile. A speed profile that changes over time inherently produces variable acceleration as the speed command changes.
With regard to claim 3, Akira '736 modified recites that the induction coil moves downward with respect to the crucible with a constant acceleration during the entire moving process. Akira '736 as modified above teaches the downward coil movement after shoulder formation and the amended speed endpoint through Fukuda.
Akira '736 does not expressly disclose constant acceleration during the entire moving process.
Nobuaki teaches servo-controlled motion using control-pattern data and speed commands, and teaches that movement speeds can be set as constant values or time-varying values. (Nobuaki, paras. [0045]-[0048].)
In view of the utility, to avoid abrupt thermal shock while moving the coil from an initial position to a desired lower position, it would have been obvious to use a constant acceleration ramp as one known servo-motion profile within Nobuaki 's programmable control framework. Constant acceleration is a predictable profile choice for transitioning from one speed to another smoothly.
With regard to claim 4, Akira '736 modified recites that the distance or time for which the induction coil moves is divided into a plurality of target sections in advance; when a target section is reached, the induction coil is controlled to move at a constant speed corresponding to that section; each target section corresponds to a different speed; and a later target section has a greater speed than an earlier target section. Akira '736 as modified above teaches the downward coil movement after shoulder formation, and Fukuda teaches the slow endpoint speed.
Akira '736 does not expressly disclose dividing the coil movement into target sections with different constant speeds.
Nobuaki teaches target position sections having upper and lower limits for each time in the movement direction, and teaches that when the moving component is within the target section, the moving speed may be kept constant. Nobuaki also teaches that speed values can be set by time when speed must change, and that moving speed may be increased when the current position deviates from target position. (Nobuaki, paras. [0048], [0056]-[0058], Fig. 7.)
In view of the utility, to stabilize the control of a slowly moving coil while still allowing the thermal field to follow the descending melt/interface, it would have been obvious to divide the coil travel into target sections and command different constant speeds in those sections using Nobuaki 's target-section and speed-profile control. Selecting greater later-section speeds would predictably compensate for later-stage changes in melt level, crystal position, and thermal demand during long straight-body growth.
With regard to claim 5, Akira '736 modified recites that the distance or time for which the induction coil moves is divided into target sections, and when a target section is reached, the induction coil is controlled to move with a uniform acceleration corresponding to the target section, wherein each target section corresponds to a different acceleration. Akira '736 as modified above teaches the coil movement and
Fukuda teaches the slow speed endpoint and Nobuaki teaches target-position sections, speed-value data, acceleration or deceleration when outside a target section, and constant speed when inside the target section. (Nobuaki, paras. [0048], [0056]-[0058].)
In view of the utility, to smoothly transition between different slow coil speeds while avoiding sudden thermal-field changes, it would have been obvious to use Nobuaki 's target-section control to apply uniform acceleration values for respective sections. A uniform acceleration per section is a predictable servo implementation of section-by-section speed control.
With regard to claim 6, Akira '736 modified recites that a later target section has a corresponding acceleration greater than that of an earlier target section. Akira '736 as modified above teaches the downward coil movement, Fukuda teaches the slow speed endpoint, and Nobuaki teaches speed and target-position profiles in which moving speed is increased or decreased based on position deviation, with a greater distance from the target position producing a greater increase or decrease in moving speed. (Nobuaki, para. [0057].)
In view of the utility, to maintain thermal-field tracking as crystal growth progresses and the interface/liquid surface continues to change, it would have been obvious to provide a later section with a greater acceleration where a faster correction or greater speed increase is desired. This is a predictable use of Nobuaki 's servo control and target-section profile logic.
Claim(s) 8 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira '736 (JP 2018-058736 A) in view of Fukuda et al. (JP 2018-145081 A) and Nobuaki et al. (JP 2003-212691 A) and further in view of Ding et al. (CN 110195254 A).
With regard to claim 8, Akira '736 modified recites that a position of the liquid surface of the raw material melt with respect to the bottom of the crucible when the induction coil begins to move is set as an initial position of the liquid surface, that acceleration of the induction coil is set according to the initial liquid-surface position, and that the higher the initial liquid-surface position is, the greater the acceleration is. Akira '736 teaches that induction coil movement is controlled in connection with the lowering solid-liquid interface during pulling growth. (Akira '736, paras. [0035], [0044], [0049]-[0050].)
Fukuda teaches that the liquid surface descends during crystal growth and coil lowering is used to maintain supercooling. (Fukuda, para. [0011].)
Nobuaki teaches that the initial liquid surface position can be estimated from initial melt depth and crucible size, and teaches control-pattern data including initial positions and moving speeds for thermal components. (Nobuaki, paras. [0048]-[0050].)
Ding teaches movable induction-coil heat-field control and regulating the heat distribution between the crucible and after-heater by changing the induction coil position. (Ding, paras. [0007], [0012], [0026], [0037]-[0038].)
Akira '736 does not expressly disclose setting acceleration according to the initial liquid-surface position, or the specific rule that a higher initial liquid surface gives greater acceleration. However, the art teaches that coil position and movement are used because melt/interface position changes during pulling growth. In view of the utility, to make the coil reach the needed thermal-field position over the available growth interval when the starting liquid-surface position differs, it would have been obvious to set a greater acceleration for a higher initial liquid surface and a smaller acceleration for a lower initial liquid surface. This is a predictable calibration of the known position-dependent coil-movement control taught by Akira '736, Fukuda, Nobuaki, and Ding.
With regard to claim 9, Akira '736 modified recites that acceleration of the induction coil is set according to the distance between the top of the induction coil and the liquid surface when the induction coil begins to move, and that the greater the distance is, the smaller the acceleration is. Akira '736 teaches coordinating induction coil position with the solid-liquid interface and teaches that too much coil movement or wrong movement can cause sudden melt-temperature change and adversely affect crystal growth. (Akira '736, paras. [0035]-[0037].)
Fukuda teaches that the coil is moved downward because the liquid surface descends and affects liquid-surface temperature. (Fukuda, para. [0011].)
Nobuaki teaches target-position control in which speed is increased or decreased depending on position deviation, and the amount of speed adjustment can be based on distance from a target position. (Nobuaki, para. [0057].)
Ding teaches that changing coil position changes heat distribution between the crucible and after-heater to reduce temperature nonuniformity and cracking. (Ding, paras. [0012], [0026], [0037]-[0038], [0055].)
Akira '736 does not expressly disclose the exact inverse rule that greater distance gives smaller acceleration.
In view of the utility, to avoid sudden thermal-field changes when the initial coil-to-liquid-surface distance is relatively large, it would have been obvious to use a smaller acceleration for larger starting distances. The reason is supplied by Akira '736 itself, which warns that excessive distance/movement conditions can lead to sudden melt-temperature changes and adverse crystal growth effects, and by Ding/Fukuda, which teach using coil position to manage the heat field.
Claim(s) 10 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira '736 (JP 2018-058736 A) in view of Fukuda et al. (JP 2018-145081 A), Nobuaki et al. (JP 2003-212691 A), Akira ‘555 (JP 2020-066555 A) and Ding et al. (CN 110195254 A).
With regard to claim 10, Akira '736 discloses a device for crystal growth comprising a growth furnace/chamber with a cavity, a crucible provided in the cavity for holding crystal raw material/melt, an induction coil around the crucible/thermal structure, and an induction coil drive mechanism connected to the induction coil to move the coil downward with respect to the crucible during crystal growth. Akira '736 discloses the chamber, crucible 10, after-heater 40, insulation/refractory structure, induction coil 80, control unit 130, coil support 91, drive motor 92, worm gear 93, and ball screw 94. (Akira '736, paras. [0013]-[0014], [0018], [0023], [0031]-[0035], Figs. 1 and 3.)
Akira '736 teaches moving the induction coil downward during straight-body growth after shoulder formation. (Akira '736, paras. [0044], [0049]-[0050], Fig. 4.)
Akira '736 fails to teach the amended claim-10 speed range of 0.001 mm/h to 0.1 mm/h and fails to expressly teach that the coil drive mechanism causes acceleration and a continuously increasing speed during the entire moving process.
Akira '736 teaches 0.5 mm/h to 1 mm/h. (Akira '736, paras. [0036], [0049].)
Fukuda teaches a vertically movable heating coil and the 0.1 mm/h endpoint. (Fukuda, paras. [0011]-[0012], [0019].)
Nobuaki teaches servo-controlled speed/position profiles for changing speed over time, target-position sections, acceleration/deceleration, and constant-speed segments. (Nobuaki, paras. [0048], [0056]-[0058].)
In view of the utility, to maintain supercooling and a stable temperature gradient while reducing cracking/void defects, it would have been obvious to configure Akira '736's coil drive mechanism to move the induction coil according to Fukuda's slow speed endpoint and Nobuaki 's programmable motion profile.
With regard to claim 11, Akira '736 modified recites that the induction coil drive mechanism comprises a holder, a micro motion platform, and a motion mechanism; that the holder is below the induction coil and connects the induction coil to the micro motion platform through an opening at the bottom of the growth furnace; that the platform is below the growth furnace; and that the motion mechanism drives the platform, holder, and connected induction coil. Akira '736 discloses coil support 91 supporting induction coil 80, drive motor 92, worm gear 93, and ball screw 94 converting motor rotation into vertical coil movement. (Akira '736, paras. [0031]-[0034], Fig. 3.)
Akira '736 further teaches that the control unit controls the rotation of drive motor 92 to perform the lifting/lowering operation. (Akira '736, para. [0035].)
Akira '555 similarly teaches an induction coil lifting mechanism 100 connected to induction coil 20 and a control means 130 controlling the induction coil lifting mechanism. (Akira '555, paras. [0019], [0026]-[0027], [0032], Fig. 1.)
Akira '736 does not use the exact words “micro motion platform.” However, its coil support, motor, worm gear, ball screw, and moving nut/support structure provide the claimed holder/platform/motion mechanism functions because they support the coil, convert motor motion into vertical movement, and drive the coil up and down.
In view of the utility, to provide precise low-speed movement of the induction coil at the amended 0.001-0.1 mm/h range, it would have been obvious to implement Akira '736's coil support and drive as a micro-motion platform driven by a motorized motion mechanism. Nobuaki reinforces the ordinary use of servo motors, position sensors, and control-pattern data for precise movement of crystal-growth thermal components. (Nobuaki, paras. [0045]-[0048].)
With regard to claim 12, Akira '736 modified recites that the motion mechanism is connected to the micro motion platform by a transmission mechanism. Akira '736 discloses drive motor 92, worm gear 93, and ball screw 94. The worm gear and ball screw convert motor rotation into vertical motion of the coil support and induction coil. (Akira '736, paras. [0031], [0034], Fig. 3.)
Akira '555 similarly teaches that an induction coil lifting mechanism may convert the rotation of a drive motor into a vertical driving force using a worm gear, a ball screw, or the like. (Akira '555, paras. [0027], Fig. 1.)
In view of the utility, to accurately translate motor rotation into a precise slow vertical movement of the coil, it would have been obvious to use the worm gear/ball screw transmission taught by Akira '736 and Akira '555 as the claimed transmission mechanism connecting the motion mechanism to the moving platform/support.
With regard to claim 13, Akira '736 modified recites that the device further comprises a heat-preservation furnace chamber provided within the growth furnace cavity, the crucible is provided within the heat-preservation furnace chamber, and the induction coil surrounds the exterior of the heat-preservation furnace chamber. Akira '736 discloses a crucible 10, after-heater 40, reflector 30, heat insulating materials 50 and 51, refractory material 60 covering the crucible region, and induction coil 80 outside the refractory/thermal structure. (Akira '736, paras. [0013]-[0014], [0017]-[0018], Figs. 1 and 3.)
Akira '555 similarly discloses a refractory/heat-preservation structure 40 surrounding the crucible/after-heater region and an induction coil 20 arranged outside the refractory material. (Akira '555, paras. [0019], [0024]-[0027], Fig. 1.)
Ding also teaches a growth chamber made of heat-preservation material, with a crucible inside the chamber and an induction coil surrounding the exterior of the chamber. (Ding, paras. [0007], [0032]-[0037], Fig. 1.)
Akira '736 teaches the substance of the heat-preservation furnace chamber but may not use applicant's exact phrase.
In view of the utility, to maintain a controlled thermal field around the crucible while allowing the induction coil to heat through the heat-preservation chamber wall, it would have been obvious to use the heat-preservation chamber configuration taught by Akira '736, Akira '555, and Ding.
Claim(s) 14 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira '736 (JP 2018-058736 A) in view of Fukuda et al. (JP 2018-145081 A), Nobuaki et al. (JP 2003-212691 A) and further in view of Gautier et al. (CN 102834735 A).
With regard to claim 14, Akira '736 discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to recites a radiation detector comprising a substrate, a scintillator provided on the substrate, and a light detector for detecting scintillation light emitted from the scintillator due to irradiation by radiation, wherein the scintillator is obtained by cutting and grinding a crystal produced by the crystal-growth method.
The Akira '736/Fukuda/ Nobuaki combination teaches the claim-1 crystal-growth method.
Gautier teaches a radiation detector using a single-crystal scintillator to detect ionizing radiation such as X-rays, gamma rays, and particles, where the scintillator converts incident radiation to light and a photosensitive receiver such as a photomultiplier converts that light into an electrical signal. (Gautier, paras. [0001]-[0003].)
Gautier Fig. 1 shows a scintillator crystal assembled with a photomultiplier, with one face serving as the radiation-sensitive face and another face coupled to the photomultiplier. (Gautier, paras. [0029]-[0031], Fig. 1.)
Gautier further teaches that the crystal may be machined, ground, and polished before being incorporated into the detector. (Gautier, paras. [0017], [0021]-[0023].)
Gautier does not expressly state that the crystal is produced by Akira '736's specific growth method. However, the base combination supplies that grown crystal.
In view of the utility, to provide a radiation detector using a high-quality scintillator body obtained from a grown crystal, it would have been obvious to cut and grind the crystal produced by the claim-1 growth method and provide it as the scintillator on the detector support/coupling surface taught by Gautier.
With regard to claim 15, Akira '736 teaches the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose a method of producing a scintillator for a radiation detector comprising: obtaining a crystal blank, wherein the crystal blank is obtained according to the crystal-growth method; cutting, wherein a portion of the crystal blank having a uniform diameter is selected and cut to form one or more crystals having desired shapes; and grinding, wherein the one or more crystals obtained in the cutting step are ground and polished to obtain the scintillator body for the radiation detector.
The Akira '736/Fukuda/ Nobuaki combination teaches growing the crystal by the claim-1 method and forming a straight-body/equal-diameter portion after shoulder formation. (Akira '736, paras. [0041]-[0044], [0049]-[0050]; Fukuda, para. [0022].)
Gautier teaches machining/cutting crystal material, grinding, and polishing surfaces, including using abrasives and diamond powder, and then incorporating the resulting scintillator crystal into a detector with a photosensitive receiver. (Gautier, paras. [0017], [0021]-[0023], [0029]-[0031], Fig. 1.)
In view of the utility, to produce a usable scintillator body from the uniform-diameter portion of a high-quality grown crystal and integrate it into a radiation detector, it would have been obvious to select the straight-body portion produced by the base growth method, cut it into desired shapes, and grind/polish it according to Gautier's scintillator preparation teachings.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884