DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 11, 13, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “wherein the magneto-optical medium comprises thin film magneto-optical crystals,
optionally wherein the sensing device further comprises a protective layer of an insulating polymer or glass film for protecting the thin film magneto-optical crystals: or wherein the magneto-optical crystals are embedded with a polymer or glass fibre for protecting the thin film magneto-optical crystals:
optionally wherein the magneto-optical crystals have a high Verdet constant or low optical adsorption; or
wherein the magneto-optical crystals comprise at least one of barium hexaferrites. terbium gallium garnet, bismuth doped rare earth iron garnet. Na2Ce(Mo04)₂ or CeAlOs.”
With respect to claim 8, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “wherein the electrochemical device generating a magnetic field is a battery comprising a plurality of cells;
wherein the system comprises a plurality of electromagnetic radiation sources, each associated with one of the plurality of cells; and
wherein the system further comprises a plurality of magneto-optical mediums, each associated with one of the plurality of cells:
optionally wherein the system is configured to operate the plurality of electromagnetic radiation sources in series, the sensor is configured to receive polarized electromagnetic radiation which has passed through one of the plurality of magneto-optical mediums from each of the electromagnetic radiation source: or optionally wherein the system further comprises a plurality of sensors associated with the plurality of electromagnetic radiation sources.”
With respect to claim 11, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “wherein the system comprises a control module configured to:
determine a first polarization plane of the emitted electromagnetic radiation, or store a predetermined polarization plane of the emitted electromagnetic radiation;
determine a second polarization plane of the electromagnetic radiation which has passed through the magneto-optical medium;
determine an angle of rotation between the first and second polarization planes; determine a magnetic field strength of the electrochemical device based on the determined angle of rotation; and
determine the current distribution of the electrochemical device based on the determined magnetic field.”
With respect to claim 13, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “wherein the method further comprises:
determining an angle of rotation of a polarization plane of the reflected electromagnetic radiation:
optionally wherein the method further comprises: determining the magnetic field strength of an electrochemical device based on the determined angle of rotation; and determining the current distribution of the electrochemical device based on the determined magnetic field: further optionally, where the method further comprises: repeating the determination of the current distribution of the electrochemical device periodically or for a plurality of positions upon the electrochemical device; and determining a temporal or spatial variation in current distribution information of the electrochemical device:
further optionally wherein emitting the polarized electromagnetic radiation to a magneto-optical medium comprises emitting the electromagnetic radiation from a plurality of fibre optic cables.”
Claim 17 and 19 are objected to due to its dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12, 20, 21, 23-26, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent No. 4,931,635).
With respect to claim 1, Toyama, discloses a system comprising: an electrochemical device generating a magnetic field (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor); and a sensing device comprising:
a magneto-optical medium (col. 5, lines 4-10);
an electromagnetic radiation source configured to emit polarized electromagnetic radiation through the magneto-optical medium (col. 5, lines 7-17); and
a sensor configured to receive polarized electromagnetic radiation which has passed through the magneto-optical medium (col. 5, lines 4-10);
wherein the sensing device is arranged relative to the electrochemical device such that the magnetic field of the electrochemical device passes through the magneto-optical medium (col. 2, lines 35-43).
With respect to claim 2, Toyama discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, where the magneto-optical medium is positioned such that the magnetic field of the electrochemical device interacts with the magneto-optical medium to rotate a polarization plane of the polarized electromagnetic radiation based on a characteristic of the electrochemical device (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
With respect to claim 3, Toyama discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic radiation source is arranged relative to the electrochemical device such that the emitted polarized electromagnetic radiation is parallel to the generated magnetic field of the electrochemical device (col. 2, lines 35-43).
With respect to claim 4, Toyama discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the magneto-optical medium is integral with the electromagnetic radiation source; or wherein the magneto-optical medium is a layer coupled to the electrochemical device (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
With respect to claim 12, Toyama discloses a method of sensing comprising: providing a system including an electrochemical device generating a magnetic field and a sensing device that includes a magneto-optical medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor); an electromagnetic radiation source configured to emit polarized electromagnetic radiation through the magneto-optical medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor), and a sensor configured to receive polarized electromagnetic radiation which has passed through the magneto-optical medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor);
emitting, from the electromagnetic radiation source, a polarized electromagnetic radiation through the magneto-optical medium (col. 5, lines 4-10);
receiving, with the sensor, the polarized electromagnetic radiation which has passed through the magneto-optical medium (col. 2, lines 35-43).
With respect to claim 20, Toyama discloses a sensing device comprising: a magneto-optical medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor);
an electromagnetic radiation source configured to emit polarized electromagnetic radiation through the magneto-optical medium (col. 5, lines 7-17); and
a sensor configured to receive polarized electromagnetic radiation reflected from the electromagnetic radiation source through the magneto-optical medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor),
wherein the electromagnetic radiation source comprises a first plurality of fibre optic cables, or wherein the sensor comprises a second plurality of fibre optic cables (col. 5, lines 7-17).
With respect to claim 21, Toyama discloses a sensing device as claimed in claim 20, further comprising at least one of a reflective layer or a protective medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor);
or optionally wherein the first plurality of fibre optic cables and the second plurality of fibre optic cables are arranged in a mesh or woven array (col. 5, lines 26-33).
With respect to claim 23, Toyama discloses the sensing device of claim 20, wherein at least one of the first or second plurality of fibre optic cables is configured to be embedded inside the electrochemical device (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
With respect to claim 24, Toyama discloses the sensing device of claim 20, wherein the first plurality of fibre optic cables are configured to emit electromagnetic radiation independently over a period of time such that the electromagnetic radiation is incident on the magneto-optical medium in a pattern or series (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor); or
wherein the electromagnetic radiation is emitted from the first plurality of fibre optic cables simultaneously and the first plurality of fibre optic cables are configured to emit a different wavelength of electromagnetic radiation to an adjacent fibre optic cable (col. 5, lines 7-20).
With respect to claim 25, Toyama discloses a sensing device comprising: an electromagnetic radiation source comprising a first plurality of fibre optic cables for emitting polarized electromagnetic radiation (col. 10, lines 30-37); and
a sensor configured to receive polarized electromagnetic radiation, wherein the sensor comprises the magneto-optical medium such that the polarized electromagnetic radiation from the electromagnetic radiation source passes through magneto-optical medium (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
With respect to claim 26, Toyama discloses the sensing device of claim 25, wherein the sensor comprises a second plurality of fibre optic cables (col. 10, lines 30-37); and
wherein the second plurality of fibre optic cables contain the magneto-optical medium; and optionally wherein the at least one fibre optic cable comprises a reflective laver (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
With respect to claim 28, Toyama discloses the sensing device of claim 25, wherein the first plurality of fibre optic cables and the second plurality of fibre optic cables are arranged in a mesh or woven array (col. 10, lines 30-37):
optionally wherein the first plurality of fibre optic cables are configured to emit electromagnetic radiation independently over a period of time (col. 10, lines 30-37): or
wherein the electromagnetic radiation is emitted from the first plurality of fibre optic cables simultaneously and the first plurality of fibre optic cables are configured to emit a different wavelength of electromagnetic radiation to an adjacent fibre optic cable (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
With respect to claim 29, Toyama discloses the sensing device of claim 2836, wherein at least one of the first or second plurality of fibre optic cables are configured to be embedded inside the electrochemical device (col. 6, lines 32-39; the pulse signals are supplied by an E/O (electro-optical) convertor).
Conclusion
/FARHANA A HOQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858