DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications dated 06/13/2024.
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Acknowledges
2. Receipt is acknowledged of the following items from the Applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 06/04/2024. The references cited on the PTOL 1449 form have been considered.
Applicant is requested to cite any relevant prior art if being aware on form PTO-1449 in accordance with the guidelines set for in M.P.E.P. 609.
Foreign Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 11 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “The method according to claim 1, further comprising optically inspecting.”
The claim is indefinite because it is not clear what is optically inspected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herrault et al. (US 10,600,739)
Regarding claim 1, Herrault discloses a method for manufacturing a system in package having several layers, the method comprising for each current layer:
realizing a dielectric substrate 102 by an additive manufacturing technique (see fig. 1, and col. 2, line 40 – col. 3, line 17), the substrate 102 comprising a receiving surface, the receiving surface comprising receiving zones configured to receive electronic components 107, 108;
depositing an adhesive (such as µm-bumps 105, 106, or under-bump layers for bonding dies 107, 108 to the substrate 102, see fig. 1; see also col. 10, lines 25-46) in the receiving zones;
depositing electronic components 107, 108 in the corresponding receiving zones;
depositing interconnecting elements 103 between the electronic components 107, 108;
creating at least one interconnection 109 with an adjacent layer;
encapsulating the current layer with filler material (encapsulating the dies 107, 108and upper surface of the substrate 102), the filler material forming an outer surface; and
preparing the outer surface to receive the next layer (attached to balls 109).
Regarding claim 2, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said realizing comprises realizing a polymerization of the dielectric substrate 102. See col. 2, line 64 – col. 3, line 17; col. 10, lines 47-64.
Regarding claim 3, Herrault discloses the method according to claim1, wherein the additive manufacturing technique comprises a stereolithography technique or a molten wire deposition technique. See col. 2, lines 64 – col. 3, line 3.
Regarding claim 4, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein said depositing an adhesive is performed by an endless screw or by a time pressure dispensing system. See col. 2, line 40 – col. 3, line 17; col. 10, lines 25-46.
Regarding claim 5, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said depositing electronic components 107, 108 is performed by a deposition head.
Regarding claim 6, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising polymerizing the adhesive after said depositing electronic components and before said depositing interconnecting elements. See col. 10, lines 25-46.
Regarding claim 7, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said depositing interconnecting elements 103 comprises depositing conductive wires or a conductive ink between the electronic components. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 8, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said creating comprises depositing a conductive adhesive or a plastic loaded with conductive particles. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 9, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said encapsulating comprises filling a volume delimited by the dielectric substrate with the filler material. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 10, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein said preparing comprises implementing a stripping technique. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 12, Herrault discloses the manufacturing installation for a system in a multi-layer package, the installation comprising a plurality of modules implementing the method according to claim 1. See col. 1, line 26-41.
Regarding claim 13, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein said realizing comprises realizing a photopolymerization of the dielectric substrate. See col. 2,l ine 64 – col. 3, line 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
10. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrault et al. (US 10,600,739) in view of Lin et al. (US 2021/0366889).
Regarding claim 14, Herrault discloses the method according to claim 5 comprising all claimed limitations, as discussed above, except for wherein said depositing electronic components 107, 108 further comprises placing heat sinks bonded to the electronic components.
Lin discloses a method comprising depositing electronic components 120a, 120b on a substrate INT or 150 (see fig. 7), wherein said depositing electronic components 120a, 120b further comprises placing heat sinks 190 bonded to the electronic components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Herrault to further comprise placing heat sink(s) bonded to the electronic components, as that taught by Lin, in order to provide heat dissipation to the system, thereby to increase the performance of the system.
Conclusion
11. A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire 3 (three) months and 0 (zero) day from the day of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will cause the application to become abandoned (see M.P.E.P 710.02(b)).
A shortened time for reply may be extended up to the maximum six-month period (35 U.S.C. 133). An extension of time fee is normally required to be paid if the reply period is extended. The amount of the fee is dependent upon the length of the extension. Extensions of time are generally not available after an application has been allowed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-1633.
/DAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 August 6, 2026