DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 44 and 69, the claims recite “switching to cell on the fly operation.” However, “cell on the fly operation” is not a commonly used term in the art and it is therefore unclear what the scope of such “cell on the fly operation” is intended to entail. For instance, it is unclear how a user equipment (UE) switching to cell on the fly operation is or is not different from a UE switching to function as other commonly used terms in the art such as a relay, a base station, an access point, a sidelink device, etc. Applicant’s specification uses the term “cell on the fly” extensively, and it is unclear how such a term should be interpreted in light of Applicant’s specification. Claims 44 and 69 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “cell on the fly operation” as potentially being the same as a UE switching to function as other commonly used terms in the art such as a relay, a base station, an access point, a sidelink device, etc. Regarding claim 48, the claim recites “the PCI, PSS, SSS, and SI,” which lack antecedent basis and are therefore unclear. It is therefore unclear what “the PCI, PSS, SSS, and SI” are intended to require. Claim 48 is thus indefinite. Regarding claim 52, the claim recites “the cell on the fly configuration,” which lacks antecedent basis. It is therefore unclear what “the cell on the fly configuration” is intended to require. Claim 52 is thus indefinite. Regarding claim 56, the claim recites “receiving an indication to apply a configuration provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a TRP on the fly.” However, “a TRP on the fly” is not a commonly used term in the art and it is therefore unclear what the scope of operating “a TRP on the fly” is intended to entail. For instance, it is unclear how a user equipment (UE) operating a TRP on the fly is or is not different from a UE switching to function as other commonly used terms in the art such as a relay, a base station, an access point, a sidelink device, etc. Applicant’s specification uses the terms “cell on the fly” and “TRP on the fly” extensively, and it is unclear how operating as “a TRP on the fly” should be interpreted in light of Applicant’s specification. Claim 56 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret operating as “a TRP on the fly” as potentially being the same as a UE switching to function as other commonly used terms in the art such as a relay, a base station, an access point, a sidelink device, etc. Regarding claim 57, the claim recites “operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP.” However, the claim does not provide any detail regarding what “operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” entails. It is therefore unclear what “operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” is intended to require. For instance, it is unclear if “operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” is intended to limit the quantity of downlink control information that may be transmitted, or if “operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” is intended to require some other unstated functionality. Claim 57 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” as not requiring any particular DCI transmission configuration because no particular DCI transmission configuration is explicitly recited. Regarding claim 59, the claim recites “operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP.” However, the claim does not provide any detail regarding what “operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” entails. It is therefore unclear what “operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” is intended to require. For instance, it is unclear if “operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” is intended to limit the quantity of downlink control information that may be transmitted, or if “operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” is intended to require some other unstated functionality. Claim 59 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) multi-TRP” as not requiring any particular DCI transmission configuration because no particular DCI transmission configuration is explicitly recited. Regarding claim 66, the claim recites “transmitting an indication to the UE to apply a configuration provided by the network node for the UE to become a cell on the fly.” However, “a cell on the fly” is not a commonly used term in the art and it is therefore unclear what the scope of becoming “a cell on the fly” is intended to entail. For instance, it is unclear how a user equipment (UE) becoming a cell on the fly is or is not different from a UE switching to function as other commonly used terms in the art such as a relay, a base station, an access point, a sidelink device, etc. Applicant’s specification uses the term “cell on the fly” extensively, and it is unclear how such a term should be interpreted in light of Applicant’s specification. Claim 66 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret becoming “a cell on the fly” as potentially being the same as a UE switching to function as other commonly used terms in the art such as a relay, a base station, an access point, a sidelink device, etc. Regarding claims 45-55, 57-65, 67-68, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 44-46, 48-49, 52-56, 61, 64-65, and 69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasukawa et al. (US 2018/0115362, provided by Applicant, Yasukawa hereinafter). Regarding claims 44 and 69, Yasukawa teaches a method and a coordinator user equipment, UE (Relay candidate user equipment (UE); Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080]-[0082]), comprising: processing circuitry (The UE may be comprised of a processor; Yasukawa; Fig. 19; [0180]); and memory coupled with the processing circuitry (The UE may be comprised of memory coupled with the processor; Yasukawa; Fig. 19; [0180]), wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the UE to: transmit an indication to a base station that the coordinator UE is capable of being a cell on the fly (As can be seen in at least step S102 of Fig. 11, the UE may transmit relay capability information to an eNB (i.e., a base station); Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080]-[0082]); transmit load measurement information in a message to the base station (As can be seen in at least step S105 of Fig. 11, the UE may transmit a measurement report (i.e., load measurement information) to the base station; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0083]-[0087]); switch to cell on the fly operation based on the load measurement information (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising switching to cell on the fly operation based on the load measurement information; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]); establish a backhaul link to the base station (The UE may establish a backhaul link to the base station; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0053]-[0054], [0077], [0084]-[0086], [0141]-[0142]); and operate as a cell for other UEs (The relay UE may operate as a relay for other UEs, which may be interpreted as operating as a cell for other UEs; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0066]-[0068], [0074]-[0075], [0085]-[0088]). Regarding claim 45, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches switching to cell on the fly operation based on the load measurement information comprises switching to the cell on the fly operation responsive to receiving an indication to apply a configuration provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a cell on the fly (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated/configured as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising switching to the cell on the fly operation responsive to receiving an indication to apply a configuration provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a cell on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]). Regarding claim 46, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches receiving a configuration from the base station for operating as a cell on the fly (Activation/configuration as a relay candidate may comprise receiving a configuration from the base station; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]). Regarding claim 48, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches operating as a cell for other UEs comprises broadcasting the PCI, PSS, SSS, and SI towards other UEs in the vicinity of the coordinator UE (The UE activated as a relay may broadcast PSSS/SSSS and PSBCH. The PSBCH may also include ID information, which may be interpreted as a PCI; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0092]-[0095], [0098]-[0099], [0106]). Regarding claim 49, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches allocating resources to at least one UE connected to the coordinator UE (Resources may be allocated for D2D communication between the relay UE and other UEs. Resources may thus be interpreted as being allocated to at least one UE connected to the coordinator UE; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098], [0105]-[0106]). Regarding claim 52, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches receiving, from the base station, a signal to inactivate or release the cell on the fly configuration (A relay UE may receive a signal from the eNB that deactivates the UE as a relay; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088], [0146]); responsive to receiving a signal to inactivate the cell on the fly, storing the cell on the fly configuration for later activation (Deactivation of the relay is not described as requiring deleting any configuration information. The UE may thus be interpreted as storing configuration information for relay transmission (i.e., the cell on the fly configuration) for later activation; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088], [0146]). Regarding claim 53, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches activating a timer when being activated to operate as a cell on the fly (A timer is described as potentially being used for relay activation. The UE may thus be interpreted as activating a timer when being activated to operate as a cell on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088]); responsive to the timer expiring, switching back to UE operation (A timer is described as potentially being used for relay activation. The UE may thus be interpreted switching back to UE operation responsive to the timer expiring; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088]). Regarding claim 54, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches the coordinator UE operating as a cell on the fly is configured to provide services to UEs for at least one of: certain carriers or cells; to utilize certain shared or control resources; specific services; certain priority traffic; a certain spectrum; a certain network slice; and a certain bandwidth part (BWP) (The UE activated as a relay may be configured with broadcast information such as D2D system band, frame number, resource configuration information and the like for out-of-coverage operation. Relay initialization may also include receiving resource information from the eNB. The UE activated as a relay may also be configured to transmit PSSS/SSSS and PSBCH. Additionally, the UE may be configured with configuration information of a resource pool for transmitting control information for D2D relay. The UE may thus be interpreted as being configured to provide services to UEs for at least one of: certain carriers or cells; to utilize certain shared or control resources; specific services; certain priority traffic; a certain spectrum; a certain network slice; and a certain bandwidth part (BWP); Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098]-[0099], [0105]-[0106]). Regarding claim 55, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 44. Yasukawa further teaches the coordinator UE operating as a cell on the fly is configured to provide services to UEs comprising at least one of: data transmission over physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); data transmission over physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); control information transmission over (PUSCH); control information transmission over physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); control information transmission over physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) transmission; radio resource control (RRC) information transmission; data transmission over sidelink (SL) shared channel; control information transmission over SL shared channel; and control information transmission over SL control channel (The UE activated as a relay may be configured with broadcast information such as D2D system band, frame number, resource configuration information and the like for out-of-coverage operation. Relay initialization may also include receiving resource information from the eNB. The UE activated as a relay may also be configured to transmit PSSS/SSSS and PSBCH. Additionally, the UE may be configured with configuration information of a resource pool for transmitting control information for D2D relay. The UE may thus be interpreted as being configured to provide services to UEs for at least one of: data transmission over physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);data transmission over physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH);control information transmission over (PUSCH);control information transmission over physical uplink control channel (PUCCH);control information transmission over physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) transmission; radio resource control (RRC) information transmission; data transmission over sidelink (SL) shared channel; control information transmission over SL shared channel; and control information transmission over SL control channel; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098]-[0099], [0105]-[0106]). Regarding claim 56, Yasukawa teaches a method in a coordinator user equipment (UE) in a network (Relay candidate user equipment (UE); Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080]-[0082]), the method comprising: transmitting an indication to a base station that the coordinator UE is capable of being a transmission and reception point (TRP) on the fly (As can be seen in at least step S102 of Fig. 11, the UE may transmit relay capability information to an eNB (i.e., a base station), which may be interpreted as comprising transmitting an indication to a base station that the coordinator UE is capable of being a transmission and reception point (TRP) on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080]-[0082]); transmitting load measurement information in a message to the base station (As can be seen in at least step S105 of Fig. 11, the UE may transmit a measurement report (i.e., load measurement information) to the base station; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0083]-[0087]); receiving an indication to apply a configuration provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a TRP on the fly (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated/configured as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising receiving an indication to apply a configuration provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a TRP on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]); switching to operate as a TRP on the fly operation based on the configuration (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising switching to operate as a TRP on the fly operation based on the configuration; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]); and establishing a backhaul link to the base station (The UE may establish a backhaul link to the base station; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0053]-[0054], [0077], [0084]-[0086], [0141]-[0142]). Regarding claim 61, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 56. Yasukawa further teaches allocating resources to at least one UE connected to the coordinator UE (Resources may be allocated for D2D communication between the relay UE and other UEs. Resources may thus be interpreted as being allocated to at least one UE connected to the coordinator UE; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098], [0105]-[0106]). Regarding claim 64, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 56. Yasukawa further teaches receiving, from the base station, a signal to inactivate or release the TRP on the fly configuration (A relay UE may receive a signal from the eNB that deactivates the UE as a relay; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088], [0146]); responsive to receiving a signal to inactivate the TRP on the fly, storing the TRP on the fly configuration for later activation (Deactivation of the relay is not described as requiring deleting any configuration information. The UE may thus be interpreted as storing configuration information for relay transmission (i.e., the TRP on the fly configuration) for later activation; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088], [0146]). Regarding claim 65, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 56. Yasukawa further teaches activating a timer when being activated to operate as a TRP on the fly (A timer is described as potentially being used for relay activation. The UE may thus be interpreted as activating a timer when being activated to operate as a cell on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088]); responsive to the timer expiring, switching back to UE operation (A timer is described as potentially being used for relay activation. The UE may thus be interpreted switching back to UE operation responsive to the timer expiring; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0087]-[0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47, 50-51, and 62-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa et al. (US 2018/0115362, provided by Applicant, Yasukawa hereinafter) in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0347338, provided by Applicant, Chen hereinafter). Regarding claim 47, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 46. Yasukawa further teaches the configuration comprises frequency allocation, what system information (SI) to transmit, random access channel (RACH) configuration, power settings, bandwidth and carrier frequency, Physical Cell ID (PCI), primary synchronization signal (PSS), and secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and security parameters (The UE activated as a relay may be configured with broadcast information such as D2D system band, frame number, resource configuration information and the like for out-of-coverage operation. Relay initialization may also include receiving resource information from the eNB. The UE activated as a relay may also be configured to transmit PSSS/SSSS and PSBCH. The PSBCH may also include ID information, which may be interpreted as a PCI. Also, the control information for D2D relay and/or PSBCH may include a security related parameter such as a security key and the like. Additionally, the UE may be configured with configuration information of a resource pool for transmitting control information for D2D relay. Furthermore, as can be seen in at least steps S501-S502, the UE may transmit a notification to a remote UE comprising configuration information for resources that the remote UE may use to transmit a relay request. Such a relay request may be interpreted as a random access request and thus such resources may be interpreted as a random access channel configuration; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098]-[0099], [0105]-[0106], [0139]). However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose the configuration comprises power settings. Chen teaches the configuration comprises power settings (Relay configuration may include remaining power level threshold information, which may be interpreted as a configuration that comprises power settings; Chen; [0612]-[0613], [0853], [0861], [0865]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen regarding relay configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing relay configuration based on the needs of UE(s) seeking relay communication as well as based on available power levels (Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0612]-[0613], [0844]-[0847], [0853], [0861], [0865]). Regarding claim 50, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 49. However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose allocating resources to the at least one UE comprises: requesting approval from the base station to allocate the resources to the at least one UE; and allocating the resources responsive to receiving approval from the base station. Chen teaches allocating resources to the at least one UE comprises: requesting approval from the base station to allocate the resources to the at least one UE (As can be seen in at least Fig. 15, a UE may transmit D2D relay-related information including information regarding UE(s) seeking D2D relay. The UE may then receive D2D relay configuration based on the D2D relay-related information. Such a process may be interpreted as comprising requesting approval from the base station to allocate the resources to the at least one UE; Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0844]-[0847]); and allocating the resources responsive to receiving approval from the base station (As can be seen in at least Fig. 15, a UE may transmit D2D relay-related information including information regarding UE(s) seeking D2D relay. The UE may then receive D2D relay configuration based on the D2D relay-related information. The UE may then operate as a relay for other UEs. Such a process may be interpreted as comprising allocating the resources responsive to receiving approval from the base station; Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0844]-[0847]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen regarding relay configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing relay configuration based on the needs of UE(s) seeking relay communication as well as based on available power levels (Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0612]-[0613], [0844]-[0847], [0853], [0861], [0865]). Regarding claim 51, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 49. However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose allocating resources to the at least one UE further comprises informing the base station of the allocation of resources to the at least one UE. Chen teaches allocating resources to the at least one UE further comprises informing the base station of the allocation of resources to the at least one UE (As can be seen in at least Fig. 15, a UE may transmit D2D relay-related information including information regarding UE(s) seeking D2D relay. The UE may then receive D2D relay configuration based on the D2D relay-related information. Such a process may be interpreted as comprising allocating resources to the at least one UE further comprises informing the base station of the allocation of resources to the at least one UE; Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0844]-[0847]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen regarding relay configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing relay configuration based on the needs of UE(s) seeking relay communication as well as based on available power levels (Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0612]-[0613], [0844]-[0847], [0853], [0861], [0865]). Regarding claim 62, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 61. However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose allocating resources to the at least one UE comprises: requesting approval from the base station to allocate the resources to the at least one UE; and allocating the resources responsive to receiving approval from the base station. Chen teaches allocating resources to the at least one UE comprises: requesting approval from the base station to allocate the resources to the at least one UE (As can be seen in at least Fig. 15, a UE may transmit D2D relay-related information including information regarding UE(s) seeking D2D relay. The UE may then receive D2D relay configuration based on the D2D relay-related information. Such a process may be interpreted as comprising requesting approval from the base station to allocate the resources to the at least one UE; Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0844]-[0847]); and allocating the resources responsive to receiving approval from the base station (As can be seen in at least Fig. 15, a UE may transmit D2D relay-related information including information regarding UE(s) seeking D2D relay. The UE may then receive D2D relay configuration based on the D2D relay-related information. The UE may then operate as a relay for other UEs. Such a process may be interpreted as comprising allocating the resources responsive to receiving approval from the base station; Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0844]-[0847]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen regarding relay configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing relay configuration based on the needs of UE(s) seeking relay communication as well as based on available power levels (Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0612]-[0613], [0844]-[0847], [0853], [0861], [0865]). Regarding claim 63, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 61. However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose allocating resources to the at least one UE further comprises informing the base station of the allocation of resources to the at least one UE. Chen teaches allocating resources to the at least one UE further comprises informing the base station of the allocation of resources to the at least one UE (As can be seen in at least Fig. 15, a UE may transmit D2D relay-related information including information regarding UE(s) seeking D2D relay. The UE may then receive D2D relay configuration based on the D2D relay-related information. Such a process may be interpreted as comprising allocating resources to the at least one UE further comprises informing the base station of the allocation of resources to the at least one UE; Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0844]-[0847]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen regarding relay configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing relay configuration based on the needs of UE(s) seeking relay communication as well as based on available power levels (Chen; Figs. 14-15; [0612]-[0613], [0844]-[0847], [0853], [0861], [0865]).
Claim(s) 57-60 and 66-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa et al. (US 2018/0115362, provided by Applicant, Yasukawa hereinafter) in view of Tsuda (US 2019/0342773, provided by Applicant). Regarding claim 57, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 56. Yasukawa further teaches operating as a single downlink control information (DCI) TRP responsive to the configuration provided by the base station configuring the coordinator UE to operate as a single DCI multi-TRP point (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated/configured as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising receiving an indication to apply a configuration (e.g., at least a single downlink control information) provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a TRP on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]). However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose operating as a multi-TRP. Tsuda teaches operating as a multi-TRP (As can be seen in at least Figs. 10-11, devices may have more than one antenna (e.g., a MIMO antenna) and may thus be interpreted as operating at a multi-TRP; Tsuda; Figs. 10-11; [0294]-[0295], [0304]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Tsuda regarding base station configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing flexible traffic offloading in a cell (Tsuda; [0007]-[0011]). Regarding claim 58, Yasukawa and Tsuda teach the limitations of claim 57. Yasukawa further teaches operating as a single DCI multi-TRP point comprises providing scheduling for data transmission to UEs under coverage of the coordinator UE (Resources may be allocated for D2D communication between the relay UE and other UEs. Scheduling for data transmission may thus be interpreted as being provided to UEs under the coverage of the coordinator UE; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098], [0105]-[0106]). Regarding claim 59, Yasukawa teaches the limitations of claim 56. Yasukawa further teaches operating as a multi-downlink control information (DCI) TRP responsive to the configuration provided by the base station configuring the coordinator UE to operate as a multi-DCI multi-TRP point (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated/configured as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising receiving an indication to apply a configuration (e.g., downlink control information) provided by the base station for the coordinator UE to operate as a TRP on the fly. The UE activated as a relay may be configured with broadcast information such as D2D system band, frame number, resource configuration information and the like for out-of-coverage operation. Relay initialization may also include receiving resource information from the eNB. The UE activated as a relay may also be configured to transmit PSSS/SSSS and PSBCH. The PSBCH may also include ID information, which may be interpreted as a PCI. Also, the control information for D2D relay and/or PSBCH may include a security related parameter such as a security key and the like. The UE operating as a TRP on the fly may thus be interpreted as operating according to multiple different pieces of downlink control information; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]). However, Yasukawa does not specifically disclose operating as a multi-TRP. Tsuda teaches operating as a multi-TRP (As can be seen in at least Figs. 10-11, devices may have more than one antenna (e.g., a MIMO antenna) and may thus be interpreted as operating at a multi-TRP; Tsuda; Figs. 10-11; [0294]-[0295], [0304]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Tsuda regarding base station configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing flexible traffic offloading in a cell (Tsuda; [0007]-[0011]). Regarding claim 60, Yasukawa and Tsuda teach the limitations of claim 59. Yasukawa further teaches operating as a multi-DCI multi-TRP point comprises: broadcasting primary synchronization signal (PSS) and secondary synchronization signal (SSS) system information (SI) and downlink control information (DCI) to UEs under coverage of the coordinator UE (The UE activated as a relay may broadcast PSSS/SSSS and PSBCH. The PSBCH may also include ID information, which may be interpreted as a PCI; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0092]-[0095], [0098]-[0099], [0106]); and providing scheduling for data transmission to UEs under the coverage of the coordinator UE (Resources may be allocated for D2D communication between the relay UE and other UEs. Scheduling for data transmission may thus be interpreted as being provided to UEs under the coverage of the coordinator UE; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0058], [0088], [0092]-[0095], [0098], [0105]-[0106]). Regarding claim 66, Yasukawa teaches a method in a network node for configuring a user equipment (UE) (eNB for configuring a user equipment (UE); Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080]-[0082]), the method comprising: receiving an indication from a UE that the UE is capable of being a cell on the fly (As can be seen in at least step S102 of Fig. 11, the eNB may receive relay capability information from a UE, which may be interpreted as comprising receiving an indication from a UE that the UE is capable of being a cell on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080]-[0082]); determining that a load in a vicinity of the UE is above a threshold (The eNB may determine that a quality of the link is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold, which may be interpreted as comprising determining that a load in a vicinity of the UE is above a threshold; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0086], [0129], [0141]-[0143], [0149]-[0150]); and transmitting an indication to the UE to apply a configuration provided by the network node for the UE to become a cell on the fly (As can be seen in at least step S106 of Fig. 11, the UE may be activated/configured as a relay candidate based on the measurement report, which may be interpreted as comprising transmitting an indication to the UE to apply a configuration provided by the network node for the UE to become a cell on the fly; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088]). However, although Yasukawa teaches that other UEs may perform communication with the relay UE after activation (Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0085]-[0088], [0143]-[0146]), Yasukawa does not specifically disclose sending a handover command to UEs in the vicinity of the UE to switch to the cell on the fly. Tsuda teaches sending a handover command to UEs in the vicinity of the UE to switch to the cell on the fly (The base station may perform handover of wireless communication devices (e.g., 30A and 30C), which are located near the wireless communication device 30B, to the wireless communication device 30B (operating as a base station). A handover command may thus be interpreted as being sent to UEs in the vicinity of the UE to switch to the cell on the fly; Tsuda; Figs. 3-5; [0167]-[0170], [0180]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Tsuda regarding base station configuration with the teachings as in Yasukawa regarding relay configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by providing flexible traffic offloading in a cell (Tsuda; [0007]-[0011]). Regarding claim 67, Yasukawa and Tsuda teach the limitations of claim 66. Yasukawa further teaches determining that the load in the vicinity is above the threshold comprises receiving a message from the UE that the load is above a threshold (The eNB may receive measurement report(s) (i.e., load measurement information) to the base station and may use such information to determine that a load in a vicinity of the UE is above a threshold. Such a measurement report comprising load information above a threshold may thus be interpreted as a message from the UE that the load is above a threshold; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080], [0083]-[0087], [0129], [0141]-[0143], [0149]-[0150]). Regarding claim 68, Yasukawa and Tsuda teach the limitations of claim 66. Yasukawa further teaches determining that the load in the vicinity is above the threshold comprises: receiving load measurement reports from the UE and other UEs in the vicinity of the UE (The eNB may receive measurement reports from multiple UEs (i.e., the UE and other UEs in the vicinity of the UE) when determining which UE to activate as a relay; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080], [0083]-[0087], [0141]-[0143]); and determining that the load in the vicinity is above the threshold based on the load measurements (The eNB may determine that a quality of the link is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold based on the measurements, which may be interpreted as comprising determining that the load in the vicinity is above the threshold based on the load measurements; Yasukawa; Figs. 2 and 6-16; [0080], [0083]-[0087], [0129], [0141]-[0143], [0149]-[0150]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474