Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshimatsu (JP 6247169).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimatsu teaches a photodetector comprising: a substrate; a light-receiving unit installed on the substrate, the light-receiving unit converting an input optical signal into an electric signal; at least one of an anode electrode pad electrically connected to an anode of the light- receiving unit; at least one of a cathode electrode pad electrically connected to a cathode of the light- receiving unit; a ground pad provided on each of both sides of the anode electrode pad and the cathode electrode pad; at least one of a second ground pad installed outside the ground pad; and a wiring pattern electrically connects the ground pad and the second ground pad (Figs. 1-2C and [0041] point to an optical receiver circuit 10 (photodetector) comprising a submount 11 (substrate), a photodiode PD2 (light-receiving unit), an anode electrode A_2 connected to a wiring pattern 101_2 (anode electrode pad), a cathode electrode K_2 connected to a wiring pattern 103_2 (cathode electrode pad), wiring patterns 102_2 & 102_3 (ground pad), wiring patterns 102_1 & 102_4 (second ground pad), and a wiring pattern 102_6 (a wiring pattern).).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimatsu teaches a second wiring pattern, the second wiring pattern electrically connecting the ground pad adjacent to the anode electrode pad and the ground pad adjacent to the cathode electrode pad (Figs. 1-2A point to the wiring patterns 102_2 and 102_3.).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimatsu teaches a photodetector, comprising: a substrate; a light-receiving unit installed on the substrate, the light-receiving unit converting an input optical signal into an electric signal; at least one of an anode electrode pad electrically connected to an anode of the light- receiving unit; at least one of a cathode electrode pad electrically connected to a cathode of the light- receiving unit; and a ground pad provided on each of both sides of the anode electrode pad and the cathode electrode pad , wherein a length of the ground pad in a longitudinal direction is twice or more a length of the ground pad in a width direction (Figs. 1-2C and [0041] point to an optical receiver circuit 10 (photodetector) comprising a submount 11 (substrate), a photodiode PD2 (light-receiving unit), an anode electrode A_2 connected to a wiring pattern 101_2 (anode electrode pad), a cathode electrode K_2 connected to a wiring pattern 103_2 (cathode electrode pad), and wiring patterns 102_2 & 102_3 (ground pad).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimatsu (JP 6247169) in further view of Karasawa (PGPub No. 20200335542).
Regarding claim 4, Karasawa teaches wherein the photodetector is any one of a back incident type photodiode, a front incident type photodiode, and an end surface incident type photodiode (Fig. 1 points to a front surface incidence type solid-state photodetector 10 which includes photoelectric converters 11 (photodiodes).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimatsu and Karasawa, such that the photodetector is a front incident type photodiode in order to provide a solid-state photodetector capable of significantly reducing or preventing multiple reflection interference in a surface film that protects a light receiving surface.
Regarding claim 5, Karasawa teaches wherein the photodetector is any one of a back incident type photodiode, a front incident type photodiode, and an end surface incident type photodiode (Fig. 1 points to a front surface incidence type solid-state photodetector 10 which includes photoelectric converters 11 (photodiodes).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimatsu and Karasawa, such that the photodetector is a front incident type photodiode in order to provide a solid-state photodetector capable of significantly reducing or preventing multiple reflection interference in a surface film that protects a light receiving surface.
Regarding claim 6, Karasawa teaches wherein the photodetector is any one of a back incident type photodiode, a front incident type photodiode, and an end surface incident type photodiode (Fig. 1 points to a front surface incidence type solid-state photodetector 10 which includes photoelectric converters 11 (photodiodes).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshimatsu and Karasawa, such that the photodetector is a front incident type photodiode in order to provide a solid-state photodetector capable of significantly reducing or preventing multiple reflection interference in a surface film that protects a light receiving surface.
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899