DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 16, 18 – 19, 24, and 28 are pending in this application. Applicant’s preliminary amendment, submitted December 30, 2024, is entered, wherein claims 3 – 11, 24, and 28 are amended and claims 17, 20 – 23, 25- 27, and 29 – 36 are canceled.
Claims 1 – 16, 18 – 19, 24, and 28 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The application is a national stage application of PCT/US2022/081043, filed December 6, 2022, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/265,022, filed December 6, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2024 and 01/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 – 12, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 11, and 18, lines 3 – 10, lines 4 – 5, and lines 8 – 9, respectively, “,” should be inserted immediately after each structure.
Claim 1, line 11, “--” should be removed.
Claims 8 – 11, line 1, “A mesoporous” should read “The mesoporous” for the consistency of the claims.
Claim 9 recites “A mesoporous polymeric material of claim 1…through an ether bond”. This claim is written without a period at the end.
Claim 12 recites “The mesoporous polymeric material of claim 11,…of 1:1 to 4:1”. This claim is written without a period at the end.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 – 5 recites limitations for R1 and R2 by listing two substituent identities, but the claim does not clearly specify how those substituents are assigned to R1 and R2. For example, claim 3 recites that R1 and R2 are methyl and -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3. It is unclear whether the claim require one of R1 and R2 to be methyl and the other of R1 and R2 to be -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3, or whether the claim is intended to recite a Markush-type alternative in which either substituent may be assigned to either R1 or R2. Similarly, claims 4 – 5 recite two substituent identities for R1 and R2, but do not clearly indicate whether both recited substituent moieties must be present, whether one substituent is assigned specifically to R1 and the other specifically to R2, or whether either substituent may be assigned to either R1 or R2. As a result, the metes and bounds of claims 3 – 5 are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 9, 11 – 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling et al. (WO2020/167375A1) in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892).
Helbling et al. disclose a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a plurality of cyclodextrins with a plurality of crosslinks comprising formula (I) (para. [0008]):
,
wherein A may be an aryl moiety; L is -O- or -S-; and
is a point of attachment to the plurality of the cyclodextrin carbon atoms (para. [0044]). In some embodiments, A is phenyl (para. [0047]). Thus, Helbling et al. teach a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a network of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks, wherein the crosslink comprises an unsubstituted or substituted aryl, including phenyl, wherein the unsubstituted or substituted aryl, including phenyl, is connected to cyclodextrin through a linking group L, wherein L may be -O- or -S-, which correspond to the limitations of claims 1 – 2, 8 – 9, and 19. In particular, Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked through formula (I), including structures in which an aryl group A is connected to cyclodextrin through a linking group L, wherein L may be -O- or -S-. Helbling et al. teach that the cyclodextrin polymeric materials (P-CDPs) is comprised of insoluble polymers of β-cyclodextrin (β-CD) (para. [0041]), which corresponds to the limitation of claim 7. Helbling et al. further teach a method of purifying a fluid sample comprising one or more pollutants, the method comprising contacting the fluid sample with the mesoporous polymeric material, whereby at least 50 wt.% of the total amount of the one or more pollutants in the fluid sample is adsorbed by the mesoporous polymeric material (para. [0010]). In some embodiments, the pollutant is anionic micropollutants, wherein the anionic micropollutant is perfluorinated alkyl compound (PFAS), wherein the PFAS is perfluorobutanoic acid (para. [0129]; [0133]). The disclosure of Helbling et al. teaches the limitations of claims 13 – 16. Helbling et al. further teach methods of making porous polymeric materials. Helbling et al. disclose that the P-CDPs of the present disclosure comprise cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked with a suitable crosslinking agent that provides a porous, relatively high surface area polymeric material (para. [0125]). Helbling et al. then teach a method of making a porous polymeric material comprising contacting a cyclodextrin with a crosslinking agent, such as aryl or heteroaryl compound or salt thereof, wherein the crosslinking agent has groups that can react with cyclodextrin to form covalent bonds, such as aryl ether bonds (para. [0126]). Thus, Helbling et al. teach that the cyclodextrin polymer network is formed by reacting cyclodextrin with an aryl or heteroaryl crosslinking agent having reactive groups capable of forming covalent linkages, such as aryl ether bonds, to cyclodextrin.
However, Helbling et al. do not explicitly teach the claimed vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent having an intervening methylene between the cyclodextrin heteroatom and the aryl group a shown below:
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
or
.
Helbling et al. do not explicitly teach the vinyl derived polymer backbone portion attached to A as shown in claim 1 by the carbon-carbon unit bearing R1 and R2 and wavy bonds indicating continuation of the polymer network. Helbling et al. do not teach that the mesoporous polymeric material contains R3 that is a hydrogen. Helbling et al. do not teach that the mesoporous polymeric material is prepared from a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer comprising the structures recited in claim 11 and comonomer of formula
.
Helbling et al. do not teach the comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer in a ratio of 1:1 to 4:1.
Bowen et al. disclose the synthesis of polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives (Title) and teach β-CD derivatives containing polymerizable groups attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages. Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups may homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates (Abstract). Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative. The synthesis disclosed specifically uses vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups in the synthesis of the β-CD derivatives (page 4, Right Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. also report that the synthesis produced cyclodextrin monomers containing up to approximately seven combined vinylbenzyl groups plus 6-hexanoate groups covalently attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages to the various β-CD molecules. Therefore, there would remain 21 hydroxyl groups minus the number replaced by the copolymerizable and ligand groups on the various family members (page 6, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Bowen et al. teach preparing functionalized β-cyclodextrin monomers by introducing vinylbenzyl polymerizable groups onto β-cyclodextrin through hydrolytically stable ether linkages and Bowen et al. teach a functionalized β-CD monomer having vinylbenzyl ether substituents, corresponding to a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2 structure. Upon polymerization of the vinyl group, such a vinylbenzyl substituent would form a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2- polymer backbone structure. Moreover, the teaching that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups copolymerize with methacrylates teaches the claimed comonomer because methacrylates include compounds having the formula:
.
This corresponds to the comonomer formula of claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is alkyl. Bowen et al. therefore teach the vinylbenzyl type functionalized cyclodextrin monomer relevant to claim 1 and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer teaches relevant to claim 11. Bowen et al. further teach that the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives are used in monomer/comonomer formulations. Bowen et la. state that monomers and comonomers should have sufficient solubility in water and that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization (page 1, Right Col., para. 2; page 2, Left Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. teach that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high crosslink density and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure (page 2, Left Col., para. 1; Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Bowen et al. teach that polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives may be formulated with comonomers, and that the comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material of Helbling et al. by using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives in view of Bowen et al. because Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric materials useful for adsorption and purification of fluid samples. However, Helbling et al. do not explicitly teach the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent having an intervening methylene between the cyclodextrin heteroatom and the aryl group, nor the vinyl-derived polymer backbone portion attached to the aryl group as recited in claim 1. Bowen et al. supply that missing teaching by disclosing both synthesis and polymerization capability of polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups. Bowen et al. teach that vinyl benzyl chloride is used to provide the polymerizable groups and further teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Thus, Bowen et al. provide a known synthesis route for preparing a vinylbenzyl-functionalized β-cyclodextrin monomer and a known route for incorporating that monomer into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone through vinyl polymerization/copolymerization. Based on the cyclodextrin containing mesoporous polymer material of Helbling et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the known polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. in the mesoporous polymeric material of Helbling et al. because Bowen et al. provide an alternative, predictable way to incorporate cyclodextrin moieties into a polymer network through vinylbenzyl polymerization while retaining the cyclodextrin moieties using in Helbling et al. for adsorption or purification. Although Bowen et al. do not explicitly teach that the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives form a mesoporous polymeric material , Helbling et al teach the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material framework. Thus, Bowen et al. is relied upon for the polymerizable vinylbenzyl β-cyclodextrin monomer, while Helbling et al. is relied upon for the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymer network. The modification would have been predictable because Bowen et al. explicitly teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been expected the vinyl group in the functionalized β-cyclodextrin of Bowen et al. to polymerize into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. When used as an alternative cyclodextrin-containing monomer/building block in the mesoporous polymer forming system of Helbling et al., the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. would have predictably provided a cyclodextrin-containing crosslinked polymeric material, with mesoporosity supplied by the polymer network design of Helbling et al. The proposed modification would have been consistent with the adsorption/purification purpose of Helbling et al. because the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. would still provide cyclodextrin moieties within the polymeric network. Thus the modification would change the manner in which the cyclodextrin moieties are incorporated into the polymer, while retaining the cyclodextrin host structures used for adsorption. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Helbling et al. teach that cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric materials are useful for adsorption/purification, while Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates. The combination would therefore have predictably yielded a cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material having cyclodextrin moieties linked through vinylbenzyl groups to a carbon-carbon polymer backbone, while retaining the mesoporous polymeric material framework taught by Helbling et al.
It would also have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the modified polymeric material for purifying a fluid sample as recited in claim 13 because Helbling et al. already teach using cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric materials for purification and pollutant adsorption. Using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. would merely provide an alternative polymer architecture that still contains cyclodextrin moieties. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the modified cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material to remain useful for the same purification purpose as taught by Helbling et al.
Regarding the structures of the mesoporous polymeric material recited in claim 1, Helbling et al. teach a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a network of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks. Helbling et al. further teach formula (I), wherein A may be aryl or heteroaryl and L may be -O- or -S-, thereby teaching cyclodextrin moieties connected to aryl/heteroaryl groups through ether or thioether linkages. However, Helbling et al. do not explicitly teach the vinylbenzyl type portion of claim 1, including an intervening methylene between the cyclodextrin heteroatom and the aryl group and a vinyl-derived polymer-backbone portion attached to the aryl group. Bowen et al. teach this feature by disclosing β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, corresponding to β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2, which upon polymerization provide β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2-polymer backbone. With respect to claim 4, Bowen et al. teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups copolymerize with methacrylates, which encompasses methyl methacrylate. Methyl methacrylate has the structure:
,
wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OCH3, which corresponds to the claimed R1/R2 selection recited in claim 4. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Bowen et al. teach that β-cyclodextrin contains hydroxyl groups and that, after derivatization, hydroxyl groups remain on the β-cyclodextrin molecules. The presence of hydroxyl groups corresponds to R3 being hydrogen. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the limitation of claim 6.
Regarding claims 8 – 9, Helbling et al. teach that L in formula (I) may be -O- or -S-. When L is -S-, the aryl/heteroaryl group A is connected to the cyclodextrin through a thioether linkage, corresponding to claim 8. When L is -O-, the aryl/heteroaryl group A is connected to the cyclodextrin through an ether linkage, corresponding to claim 9.
With respect to claim 11, Bowen et al. teach polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups. Bowen et al. specifically use vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups and report cyclodextrin monomers containing vinylbenzyl group covalently attached by hydrolytically stable ether linkages to β-cyclodextrin. Bowen et al. therefore teach a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer. Bowen et al. further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Methacrylate comonomers have the formula:
,
wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is an alkyl, which corresponds to the claimed comonomer recited in claim 11. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the claim 11 limitations requiring a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer.
Regarding claim 12, although Bowen et la. do not explicitly teach the claimed comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio of 1:1 to 4:1 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer to obtain the desired cross-linked cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material. Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, and further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Bowen et al. further teach that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization, that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high cross-link density, and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure. Thus, Bowen et al. recognized that the monomer/comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer. The relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer would therefore have been a result-effective variable affecting the polymer formulation and cross-linked copolymer structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio through routine experimentation to obtain a cyclodextrin-containing copolymer having the desired balance of polymer network formation and cyclodextrin content. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing vinylbenzyl-functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives and further teach that such derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates, and Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material useful for adsorption/purification. Accordingly, selecting a comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio within 1:1 to 4:1 would have been an obvious optimization of known copolymer-forming components to obtain the desired cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling et al. (WO2020/167375A1) in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 9, 11 – 16, and 19 above, and further in view of Tian et al. (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2011, Vol. 87, Issue 3, page 1956 – 1962, PTO-892) and Yang et al. (Polymer International, 2019, Vol. 68, Issue 4, page 805 – 811).
The combined teachings of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. do not teach the specific R1/R2 selection recited in claim 3, wherein the R1 and R2 are methyl and -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3.
Tian et al. disclose synthesis and flocculation property in dye solutions of β-cyclodextrin-acrylic acid-[2-(acryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethyl ammonium chloride copolymer (Title). Tian et al. teach that a cationic copolymer, poly (β-CD-AA-DMC) is synthesized via free radial copolymerization of acrylic acid (AA) esterified β-CD (β-CD-AA), and a cationic monomer [2-(acryloyloxy)ethyl]trimethyl ammonium chloride (DMC) (Abstract). Tian et al. further disclose the schematic structure of the cationic copolymer containing β-CD (page 1958, Figure 1):
,
which shows β-CD incorporated into a copolymer containing quaternary ammonium ester side chains having the -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3 group. Tian et al. further teach that a cationic monomer of DMC is adopted to charge the β-CD containing copolymer (page 1956, Right Col., para. 2) and that electrostatic adsorption played a more important role in flocculation of dyes than bridging of the polymer (Abstract). Thus, Tian et al. teach using a quaternary ammonium ester vinyl monomer with a β-cyclodextrin-containing monomer to form a cationic β-CD-containing copolymer. The DMC monomer of Tian et al. includes the -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3 substituent, which corresponds to the cationic ester substituent recited in claim 3.
Yang et al. disclose a cost-effective crosslinked β-cyclodextrin polymer for the rapid and efficient removal of micropollutants from wastewater (Title). Yang et al. teach that organic micropollutants, such as plastic components, dyes and pesticide intermediates, have caused serious pollution problems in the water environment (page 805, Left Col., para. 1). Yang et al. tach that β-CD-based materials are adsorbents for the removal of organic micropollutants, and that β-CD has shown a great potential in the adsorptive removal of organic micropollutants from wastewaters (page 805, Left Col., para. 2). Yang et al. further teach a novel, cost-effective and water-insoluble crosslinked β-cyclodextrin polymer for the efficient removal of various organic micropollutants from wastewaters (Abstract). Yang et al. also disclose evaluating removal of various other organic micropollutants, including plastic components and dye intermediates, and specifically teach that HDABRd is widely used as an important organic raw material and intermediate of many dyes (page 809, Right Col., para. 2). Thus, Yang et al. teach that dye-related compounds and organic micropollutants are recognized wastewater contaminants removable using β-cyclodextrin polymer purification materials.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the polymeric material of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. by selecting a cationic quaternary ammonium ester comonomer, as suggested by Tian et al. because Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl ether functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives copolymerize with methacrylates, thereby suggesting use of methacrylate-type comonomers in preparing the cyclodextrin-containing polymer and Tian et al. teach a β-cyclodextrin-containing cationic copolymer prepared by free radical copolymerization of acrylic acid-esterified β-CD and the cationic monomer DMC. Tian et al. further teach that DMC is adopted to charge the β-CD-containing copolymer, and that electrostatic adsorption plays an important role in flocculation of anionic dyes. Yang et al. further support the motivation to apply the cationic β-cyclodextrin copolymer teaching of Tian et al. to the micropollutant-purification system of Helbling et al. because Yang et al. teach that organic micropollutants in wastewater include dye-related compounds and that β-cyclodextrin polymers are useful for removing organic micropollutants from wastewater. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate a quaternary ammonium ester comonomer into the β-cyclodextrin polymer of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. to provide cationic functionality for interaction with anionic contaminants because Helbling et al. teach purification of fluids containing anionic micropollutants, Tian et al. teach that cationic β-CD-containing copolymers are useful for removal of anionic dyes through electrostatic adsorption, and Yang et al. teach that organic micropollutants in wastewater include dye-related compounds and that β-cyclodextrin polymers are useful for removing organic micropollutants from wastewater. The modification would have predictably provided positive charge in the β-CD-containing polymer, thereby providing interaction with anionic contaminants. Although Tian et al. teach the acrylate DMC monomer, Tian et al. teach the desirability of the -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3 quaternary ammonium ester functionality in a β-CD-containing copolymer. Bowen et al. teach copolymerization with methacrylates. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use the corresponding methacrylate quaternary ammonium ester comonomer recited in claim 3, wherein one of R1 and R2 is methyl and -C(=O)OCH2CH2N+(CH3)3 because it would provide the same cationic quaternary ammonium functionality in a methacrylate comonomer compatible with the methacrylate copolymerization teaching of Bowen et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach that the vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivative copolymerizes with methacrylates and Tian et al. teach that β-CD-containing copolymers incorporating quaternary ammonium ester vinyl monomers may be synthesized by free radical copolymerization and used for removal of anionic dyes. Thus, the combination would have predictably yielded a cationic β-cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material having the cationic ester comonomer substituent recited in claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling et al. (WO2020/167375A1) in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 9, 11 – 16, and 19 above, and further in view of Glöckner (Macromolecular Chemistry and Physics, 2000, Vol. 201, Issue 17, page 2455 – 2457, PTO-892).
The combined teachings of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. do not teach the specific R1/R2 selection recited in claim 3, wherein the R1 and R2 are hydrogen and phenyl.
Glöckner discloses free radical polymerization of methylated β-cyclodextrin complexes of methyl methacrylate and styrene (Title). Glöckner teaches that methylated β-cyclodextrin (Me-β-CD) is used to complex the hydrophobic monomers methyl methacrylate or styrene yielding the water-soluble 1:1 host/guest complexes methyl methacrylate/Me-β-CD and styrene/Me-β-CD, respectively. Glöckner further teaches that the included monomers are polymerized in water by a free-radical mechanism and that polymerization of hydrophobic monomers can be carried out successfully in aqueous medium using CD as the hydrophilic host component (Abstract; page 2457, Left Col., para. 5; Right Col., para. 1). Styrene has the structure of CH2=CH-phenyl and, after polymerization, provides a vinyl-derived polymer backbone unit corresponding to the claim 5 R1/R2 selection wherein R1 and R2 is hydrogen and phenyl.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use styrene as the comonomer in preparing the cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. because Bowen et al. teach vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives having polymerizable vinylbenzyl ether groups. Because the vinylbenzyl group is a styrene/vinyl aromatic polymerizable group, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized styrene as a structurally compatible vinyl aromatic comonomer for copolymerization with vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin monomer of Bowen et al. Glöckner provides further support for selecting styrene by teaching free radical polymerization of methylated β-cyclodextrin complexes of methyl methacrylate and styrene and by teaching that methylated β-cyclodextrin is used to complex methyl methacrylate or styrene to form water-soluble host/guest complexes. Glöckner further teaches that the included monomers are polymerized in water by a free radical mechanism and concludes that polymerization of hydrophobic monomers can be carried out successfully in aqueous medium using CD as the hydrophilic host component. Styrene has the structure of CH2=CH-phenyl. Upon free radical polymerization with the vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin monomer of Bowen et al., styrene would provide a vinyl-derived polymer backbone unit in which one of R1 and R2 is hydrogen and the other is phenyl, corresponding to the limitation of claim 5. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups of the β-cyclodextrin derivative are polymerizable and Glöckner teaches that styrene may be polymerized in a β-cyclodextrin-related free radical polymerization system. Thus, using styrene as an alternative vinyl aromatic comonomer would have predictably formed a styrene carbon-carbon polymer backbone while retaining the cyclodextrin-containing polymer framework taught by Helbling et al. and Bowen et al.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling et al. (WO2020/167375A1) in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 9, 11 – 16, and 19 above, and further in view of Dichtel et al. (WO2016/172118A1).
The combined teachings of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. do not teach that the mesoporous polymeric material has a BET surface area greater than 200 m2g-1.
Dichtel et al. teach porous cyclodextrin polymeric materials and explicitly teach that the porous polymeric material is mesoporous (page 3, line 7). Dichtel et al. further teaches that the porous polymeric material has a BET surface area of 50 m2/g to 2000 m2/g (page 3, lines 7 – 8). Thus, Dichtel et al. teach a mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material having a BET surface area range that includes values greater than 200 m2/g as recited in claim 10. Furthermore, Dichtel et al. teach that porous cyclodextrin polymeric materials are useful for adsorption of pollutants from fluid samples (page 3, lines 15 – 19).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. with a BET surface area greater than 200 m2/g in view of Dichtel et al. because Dichtel et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing porous polymeric materials and further teach that the porous polymeric material is mesoporous and the porous polymeric material has a BET surface area of 50 m2/g to 2000 m2/g. Thus, Dichtel et al. teach a mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material having a BET surface area range that includes values greater than 200 m2/g. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a BET surface area greater than 200 m2/g because Dichtel et al. teach that the porous cyclodextrin polymeric materials are useful for adsorption of pollutants from fluid samples and BET surface area is a known property associated with accessible porous surface for adsorption. Selecting a value greater than 200 m2/g from the disclosed 50 – 2000 m2/g BET range would have been a routine selection of a surface area value suitable for porous adsorbent materials. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Dichtel et al. explicitly teach mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric materials having BET surface areas within a range that includes values above 200 m2/g. Therefore, applying that known BET surface area to the cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material of Helbling et al. and Bowen et al. would have predictably provided a mesoporous polymeric material having the BET surface area recited in claim 10.
Claims 18, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helbling et al. (WO2020/167375A1) in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892) and further in view of Tian et al. (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2011, Vol. 87, Issue 3, page 1956 – 1962, PTO-892).
Helbling et al. teach post-synthetically modified cyclodextrin polymeric materials and methods of making and using same (Title). Helbling et al. disclose that the present disclosure provides a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a plurality of cyclodextrins with a plurality of crosslinks comprising formula (I) (para. [0008]):
,
wherein A may be an aryl moiety; L is -O- or -S-; and
is a point of attachment to the plurality of the cyclodextrin carbon atoms (para. [0044]). Helbling et al. also teach that a plurality of cyclodextrins comprising the mesoporous polymeric material of the present disclosure have a plurality of crosslinks of formula (Ia) (para. [0008]):
.
Thus, Helbling et al. teach a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a network of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks, wherein the crosslink comprises an unsubstituted or substituted aryl, wherein the unsubstituted or substituted aryl is connected to cyclodextrin through a linking group L, wherein L may be -O- or -S-, corresponding to ether and thioether linkages. In various embodiments, the cyclodextrin moieties comprise β-cyclodextrin and that the porous polymeric material is mesoporous. Thus, the disclosure corresponds to the limitation of claim 24. Helbling et al. further teach that the P-CDPs are comprised of insoluble polymers of cyclodextrin, which is an inexpensive, sustainably produced macrocycle of glucose (para. [0041]; [0044]). Helbling et al. also teach methods of making porous polymeric materials. Helbling et al. teach that the P-CDPs comprise cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked with a suitable crosslinking agent that provides a porous, relatively high surface area polymeric material (para. [0125]). Helbling et al. also teach a method of making a porous polymeric material comprising contacting a cyclodextrin with a crosslinking agent, such as an aryl or heteroaryl compound or salt thereof, wherein the crosslinking agent has groups that can react with cyclodextrin to form covalent bonds, such as aryl ether bonds (para. [0126]). Thus, Helbling et al. teach that cyclodextrin polymer network is formed by reacting cyclodextrin with an aryl or heteroaryl crosslinking agent having reactive groups capable of forming covalent linkages, such as aryl ether bonds, to cyclodextrin.
However, Helbling et al. do not teach the method of claim 18 in which the mesoporous polymeric material is prepared by contacting a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer with a comonomer in the presence of a free radical initiator. Helbling et al. do not explicitly teach using a vinylbenzyl functionalized cyclodextrin monomer that copolymerizes with a methacrylate comonomer. Helbling et al. also do not explicitly teach the claimed comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio of claim 28.
Bowen et al. disclose the synthesis of polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives (Title) and teach β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing polymerizable groups attached by hydrolytically-stable ether linkages. Bowen et al. teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates (Abstract). Bowen et al. disclose using vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups in the synthesis of β-cyclodextrin derivatives (page 4, Right Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. further teach that the synthesis produced cyclodextrin monomers containing up to approximately seven combined vinylbenzyl groups plus 6-hexanoate groups covalently attached by hydrolytically stable ether linkages to the various β-cyclodextrin molecules (page 6, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives by introducing vinylbenzyl polymerizable groups onto β-cyclodextrin through hydrolytically stable ether linkages and Bowen et la. teach a functionalized β-cyclodextrin monomer having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and further teach copolymerization with methacrylates, corresponding to the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and comonomer/copolymerization aspects of claim 18. Bowen et al. further teach monomer/comonomer formulation considerations. Bowen et al. state that monomers and comonomers should have sufficient solubility in water (page 1, Right Col., para. 1) and that diluent comonomers of the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization. Bowen et al. also teach that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high cross-link density and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure (page 2, Left Col., para. 1 – 2).
Tian et al. teach preparation of a β-cyclodextrin-containing copolymer by free radical copolymerization. Tian et al. state that a cationic copolymer, poly (β-CD-AA-DMC) is synthesized via free radical copolymerization of acrylic acid (AA) esterified β-CD (β-CD-AA) and a cationic monomer DMC (Abstract). Tian et al. further teach that the β-CD derivate containing vinyl group (β-CD-AA) is synthesized from β-Cd and AA and that β-CD-AA is copolymerized with DMC to prepare a cationic flocculant (poly (β-CD-AA-DMC) for color removal. Tian et al. also teach that the copolymerization is carried on in an aqueous solution at 45 ⁰C and initiated by APS and SBS redox initiating system (page 1957, Left Col., para. 3). Thus, Tian et al. teach free radical copolymerization of a functionalized β-cyclodextrin monomer with a comonomer using a free radical initiating system, corresponding to the claim 18 limitation requiring contacting a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer with a comonomer in the presence of a free radical initiator.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material of Helbling using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. and the free radical copolymerization approach of Tian et al. because Helbling et al. teach a mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material framework comprising cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks, but do not explicitly teach the specific free radical monomer/comonomer preparation route recited in claim 18. Bowen et al. supply the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/copolymerization teaching by disclosing an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, and further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates, and Tian et al. further apply the free-radical copolymerization of a functionalized β-CD monomer with a comonomer using an APS/SBS initiating system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. as an alternative cyclodextrin-containing monomer/building block for forming the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymer framework taught by Helbling et al. because Bowen et al. teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates, thereby providing a known route for incorporating β-cyclodextrin into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. One of ordinary skill in the art would further have been motivated to use the free radical copolymerization approach of Tian et al. because Tian et al. show that a functionalized β-CD monomer may be copolymerized with a comonomer in the presence of a free radical initiating system. The modification would have been predictable because Bowen et al. teach polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives capable of homopolymerization and copolymerization and Tian et al. teach free radical copolymerization of a β-CD-containing monomer with a comonomer using APS/SBS. Thus, applying the free radical copolymerization method of Tian et al. to polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. would have predictably produced a cyclodextrin-containing copolymer. The resulting material would still contain cyclodextrin moieties incorporated into a polymeric network, consistent with the cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymer framework taught by Helbling et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates and Tian et al. teach that functionalized β-CD monomers may be copolymerized with comonomers using a free radical initiating system. Accordingly, the combination would have predictably provided the claim 18 method of preparing a cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material by contacting a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer with a comonomer in the presence of a free radical initiator.
Regarding claim 28, although Bowen et la. do not explicitly teach the claimed comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio of 1:1 to 4:1 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer to obtain the desired cross-linked cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material. Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, and further teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Bowen et al. further teach that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization, that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high cross-link density, and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure. Thus, Bowen et al. recognized that the monomer/comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer. The relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer would therefore have been a result-effective variable affecting the polymer formulation and cross-linked copolymer structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio through routine experimentation to obtain a cyclodextrin-containing copolymer having the desired balance of polymer network formation and cyclodextrin content. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives and further teach that such derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates, and Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material useful for adsorption/purification. Accordingly, selecting a comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio within 1:1 to 4:1 would have been an obvious optimization of known copolymer-forming components to obtain the desired cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 2, 6 – 7, 9, and 11 – 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 9624314 in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892).
‘314 claims a mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material comprising one or more cyclodextrins crosslinked with at least an equimolar amount of one or more aryl fluorides, wherein the aryl fluoride is selected from tetrafluoroterephthalonitrile, decafluorobiphenyl, octafluoronaphthalene, and combinations thereof (claim 1). ‘314 claims that the cyclodextrin is selection from α-, β-, γ-cyclodextrin, and combination thereof, wherein the cyclodextrin is β-cyclodextrin (claims 4 – 5). ‘314 further claims a method of purifying a fluid sample comprising one or more pollutants, wherein the method comprises contacting the fluid sample with the mesoporous polymeric material of claim 1, whereby at least 50 wt.% of the total amount of the one or more pollutants in the fluid sample is adsorbed by the mesoporous polymeric material (claim 15). Thus, ‘314 teach a mesoporous polymeric material comprising cyclodextrin, including β-cyclodextrin, crosslinked through aryl-containing crosslinks, and also teach using the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material to purify a fluid sample by adsorbing pollutants.
However, ‘314 do not claim the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent or vinyl-derived polymer backbone structure recited in claim 1. ‘314 do not explicitly recite a functionalized cyclodextrin having a vinylbenzyl ether substituent that polymerizes to form a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. ‘314 does not claim that the mesoporous polymeric material contains R3 that is a hydrogen. ‘314 do not claim that the mesoporous polymeric material is prepared from a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer, as recited in claim 11. In particular, ‘314 do not claim a functionalized cyclodextrin having a vinylbenzyl ether substituent that polymerizes to form a carbon-carbon polymer backbone, nor do they claim copolymerization of such a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer with a methacrylate comonomer. ‘314 does not claim the comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer in a ratio of 1:1 to 4:1.
Bowen et al. disclose the synthesis of polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives (Title) and teach β-CD derivatives containing polymerizable groups attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages. Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups may homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates (Abstract). Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative. The synthesis disclosed specifically uses vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups in the synthesis of the β-CD derivatives (page 4, Right Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. also report that the synthesis produced cyclodextrin monomers containing up to approximately seven combined vinylbenzyl groups plus 6-hexanoate groups covalently attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages to the various β-CD molecules. Therefore, there would remain 21 hydroxyl groups minus the number replaced by the copolymerizable and ligand groups on the various family members (page 6, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives by introducing vinylbenzyl polymerizable groups onto β-cyclodextrin through hydrolytically stable ether linkages and Bowen et al. teach a functionalized β-CD monomer having vinylbenzyl ether substituents, corresponding to a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2 structure. Upon polymerization of the vinyl group, such a vinylbenzyl substituent would form a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2- polymer backbone structure. Moreover, the teaching that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups copolymerize with methacrylates teaches the claimed comonomer because methacrylates include compounds having the formula:
.
This corresponds to the comonomer formula of claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is alkyl. Bowen et al. therefore teach the vinylbenzyl type functionalized cyclodextrin monomer relevant to claim 1 and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer teaches relevant to claim 11. Bowen et al. further teach that the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives are used in monomer/comonomer formulations. Bowen et la. state that monomers and comonomers should have sufficient solubility in water and that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization (page 1, Right Col., para. 2; page 2, Left Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. teach that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high crosslink density and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure (page 2, Left Col., para. 1; Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Bowen et al. teach that polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives may be formulated with comonomers, and that the comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material claimed in ‘314 by using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives in view of Bowen et al. because ‘314 claims a mesoporous polymeric material comprising cyclodextrin, including β-cyclodextrin, crosslinked through aryl-containing crosslinks, and further claims using the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material to purify a fluid sample by adsorbing pollutants. However, ‘314 does not explicitly claim the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent or the vinyl-derived polymer backbone portion recited in claim 1 and the preparation from a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer as recited in claim 11. Bowen et al. supply that missing teaching by disclosing both an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and the polymerization capability of those derivatives. Bowen et al. teach that vinyl benzyl chloride is used to provide the polymerizable groups and further teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Thus, Bowen et al. provide a known way to functionalize β-cyclodextrin with a polymerizable vinylbenzyl group and a known route for incorporating such functionalized cyclodextrin moieties into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. Based on the cyclodextrin containing mesoporous polymer material of ‘314, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the known polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. in the mesoporous polymeric material of ‘314 because Bowen et al. provide an alternative, predictable way to incorporate cyclodextrin moieties into a polymer network through vinylbenzyl polymerization while retaining the cyclodextrin moieties using in ‘314 for adsorption or purification. The modification would have been predictable because Bowen et al. explicitly teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been expected the vinyl group in the functionalized β-cyclodextrin of Bowen et al. to polymerize into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone and to copolymerize with methacrylate comonomers. Accordingly, the combination of ‘314 and Bowen et al. would have rendered obvious the presently claimed mesoporous polymeric material having the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin structure of claim 1 and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer features of claim 11.
It would also have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the modified polymeric material for purifying a fluid sample as recited in claim 13 because ‘314 already claimed using cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric materials for purification and pollutant adsorption. Using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. would merely provide an alternative polymer architecture that still contains cyclodextrin moieties. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the modified cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material to remain useful for the same purification purpose as taught by ‘314.
Regarding the structures of the mesoporous polymeric material recited in claim 1, ‘314 claims a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a network of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks. However, ‘314 do not explicitly claim the vinylbenzyl type portion of claim 1, including an intervening methylene between the cyclodextrin heteroatom and the aryl group and a vinyl-derived polymer-backbone portion attached to the aryl group. Bowen et al. teach this feature by disclosing β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, corresponding to β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2, which upon polymerization provide β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2-polymer backbone.
Regarding claim 6, Bowen et al. teach that β-cyclodextrin contains hydroxyl groups and that, after derivatization, hydroxyl groups remain on the β-cyclodextrin molecules. The presence of hydroxyl groups corresponds to R3 being hydrogen. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the limitation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, ‘314 claim the ether-linked embodiment because ‘314 claims that a mesoporous polymeric material comprising one or more cyclodextrins crosslinked with at least an equimolar amount of one or more aryl fluorides, wherein the aryl fluorides react with cyclodextrin to form aryl ether crosslinks. Thus, ‘314 teach cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked through aryl-containing ether linkages, corresponding to the limitation of claim 9.
With respect to claim 11, Bowen et al. teach polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups. Bowen et al. specifically use vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups and report cyclodextrin monomers containing vinylbenzyl group covalently attached by hydrolytically stable ether linkages to β-cyclodextrin. Bowen et al. therefore teach a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer. Bowen et al. further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Methacrylate comonomers have the formula:
,
wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is an alkyl, which corresponds to the claimed comonomer recited in claim 11. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the claim 11 limitations requiring a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer.
Regarding claim 12, although Bowen et la. do not explicitly teach the claimed comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio of 1:1 to 4:1 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer to obtain the desired cross-linked cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material. Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrins having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Bowen et al. further teach that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization, that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high cross-link density, and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure. Thus, Bowen et al. recognized that the monomer/comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer. The relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer would therefore have been a result-effective variable affecting the polymer formulation and cross-linked copolymer structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio through routine experimentation to obtain a cyclodextrin-containing copolymer having the desired balance of polymer network formation and cyclodextrin content. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates, and Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material useful for adsorption/purification. Accordingly, selecting a comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio within 1:1 to 4:1 would have been an obvious optimization of known copolymer-forming components to obtain the desired cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material.
Claims 1 – 2, 6 – 7, and 9 – 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 13, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 9855545 in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892).
‘545 claims a mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material comprising one or more cyclodextrins crosslinked with at least an equimolar amount of one or more aryl compounds that can react with a cyclodextrin to form an aryl ether bond, wherein the aryl compounds are substituted with 2 or more chloride groups (claim 1). ‘545 claims that the cyclodextrin is selection from α-, β-, γ-cyclodextrin, and combination thereof, wherein the cyclodextrin is β-cyclodextrin (claims 4 – 5). ‘545 further claims that the porous polymeric material has a BET surface area of 50 m2/g to 2000 m2/g (claim 13). ‘545 claims a method of purifying a fluid sample comprising one or more pollutants, wherein the method comprises contacting the fluid sample with the mesoporous polymeric material of claim 1, whereby at least 50 wt.% of the total amount of the one or more pollutants in the fluid sample is adsorbed by the mesoporous polymeric material (claim 19). Thus, ‘545 teach a mesoporous polymeric material comprising cyclodextrin, including β-cyclodextrin, crosslinked through aryl-containing crosslinks, having a BET surface area range that includes values greater than 200 m2/g, and also teach using the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material to purify a fluid sample by adsorbing pollutants.
However, ‘545 do not claim the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent or vinyl-derived polymer backbone structure recited in claim 1. ‘545 do not explicitly recite a functionalized cyclodextrin having a vinylbenzyl ether substituent that polymerizes to form a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. ‘545 does not claim that the mesoporous polymeric material contains R3 that is a hydrogen. ‘545 do not claim that the mesoporous polymeric material is prepared from a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer, as recited in claim 11. In particular, ‘545 do not claim a functionalized cyclodextrin having a vinylbenzyl ether substituent that polymerizes to form a carbon-carbon polymer backbone, nor do they claim copolymerization of such a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer with a methacrylate comonomer. ‘545 does not claim the comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer in a ratio of 1:1 to 4:1.
Bowen et al. disclose the synthesis of polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives (Title) and teach β-CD derivatives containing polymerizable groups attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages. Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups may homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates (Abstract). Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative. The synthesis disclosed specifically uses vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups in the synthesis of the β-CD derivatives (page 4, Right Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. also report that the synthesis produced cyclodextrin monomers containing up to approximately seven combined vinylbenzyl groups plus 6-hexanoate groups covalently attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages to the various β-CD molecules. Therefore, there would remain 21 hydroxyl groups minus the number replaced by the copolymerizable and ligand groups on the various family members (page 6, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives by introducing vinylbenzyl polymerizable groups onto β-cyclodextrin through hydrolytically stable ether linkages and Bowen et al. teach a functionalized β-CD monomer having vinylbenzyl ether substituents, corresponding to a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2 structure. Upon polymerization of the vinyl group, such a vinylbenzyl substituent would form a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2- polymer backbone structure. Moreover, the teaching that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups copolymerize with methacrylates teaches the claimed comonomer because methacrylates include compounds having the formula:
.
This corresponds to the comonomer formula of claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is alkyl. Bowen et al. therefore teach the vinylbenzyl type functionalized cyclodextrin monomer relevant to claim 1 and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer teaches relevant to claim 11. Bowen et al. further teach that the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives are used in monomer/comonomer formulations. Bowen et la. state that monomers and comonomers should have sufficient solubility in water and that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization (page 1, Right Col., para. 2; page 2, Left Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. teach that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high crosslink density and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure (page 2, Left Col., para. 1; Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Bowen et al. teach that polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives may be formulated with comonomers, and that the comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material claimed in ‘545 by using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives in view of Bowen et al. because ‘545 claims a mesoporous polymeric material comprising cyclodextrin, including β-cyclodextrin, crosslinked through aryl-containing crosslinks, and further claims using the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material to purify a fluid sample by adsorbing pollutants. However, ‘545 does not explicitly claim the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent or the vinyl-derived polymer backbone portion recited in claim 1 and the preparation from a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer as recited in claim 11. Bowen et al. supply that missing teaching by disclosing both an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and the polymerization capability of those derivatives. Bowen et al. teach that vinyl benzyl chloride is used to provide the polymerizable groups and further teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Thus, Bowen et al. provide a known way to functionalize β-cyclodextrin with a polymerizable vinylbenzyl group and a known route for incorporating such functionalized cyclodextrin moieties into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. Based on the cyclodextrin containing mesoporous polymer material of ‘545, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the known polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. in the mesoporous polymeric material of ‘545 because Bowen et al. provide an alternative, predictable way to incorporate cyclodextrin moieties into a polymer network through vinylbenzyl polymerization while retaining the cyclodextrin moieties using in ‘545 for adsorption or purification. The modification would have been predictable because Bowen et al. explicitly teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been expected the vinyl group in the functionalized β-cyclodextrin of Bowen et al. to polymerize into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone and to copolymerize with methacrylate comonomers. Accordingly, the combination of ’ 545 and Bowen et al. would have rendered obvious the presently claimed mesoporous polymeric material having the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin structure of claim 1 and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer features of claim 11.
It would also have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the modified polymeric material for purifying a fluid sample as recited in claim 13 because ‘545 already claimed using cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric materials for purification and pollutant adsorption. Using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. would merely provide an alternative polymer architecture that still contains cyclodextrin moieties. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the modified cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material to remain useful for the same purification purpose as taught by ‘545.
Regarding the structures of the mesoporous polymeric material recited in claim 1, ‘545 claims a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a network of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks. However, ‘545 do not explicitly claim the vinylbenzyl type portion of claim 1, including an intervening methylene between the cyclodextrin heteroatom and the aryl group and a vinyl-derived polymer-backbone portion attached to the aryl group. Bowen et al. teach this feature by disclosing β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, corresponding to β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2, which upon polymerization provide β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2-polymer backbone.
Regarding claim 6, Bowen et al. teach that β-cyclodextrin contains hydroxyl groups and that, after derivatization, hydroxyl groups remain on the β-cyclodextrin molecules. The presence of hydroxyl groups corresponds to R3 being hydrogen. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the limitation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, ‘545 claim the ether-linked embodiment because ‘545 claims that a mesoporous polymeric material comprising one or more cyclodextrins crosslinked with at least an equimolar amount of one or more aryl compounds that can react with a cyclodextrin to form an aryl ether bond. Thus, ‘545 teach cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked through aryl-containing ether linkages, corresponding to the limitation of claim 9.
With respect to claim 11, Bowen et al. teach polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups. Bowen et al. specifically use vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups and report cyclodextrin monomers containing vinylbenzyl group covalently attached by hydrolytically stable ether linkages to β-cyclodextrin. Bowen et al. therefore teach a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer. Bowen et al. further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Methacrylate comonomers have the formula:
,
wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is an alkyl, which corresponds to the claimed comonomer recited in claim 11. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the claim 11 limitations requiring a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer.
Regarding claim 12, although Bowen et la. do not explicitly teach the claimed comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio of 1:1 to 4:1 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer to obtain the desired cross-linked cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material. Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives having the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Bowen et al. further teach that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization, that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high cross-link density, and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure. Thus, Bowen et al. recognized that the monomer/comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer. The relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer would therefore have been a result-effective variable affecting the polymer formulation and cross-linked copolymer structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio through routine experimentation to obtain a cyclodextrin-containing copolymer having the desired balance of polymer network formation and cyclodextrin content. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates, and Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material useful for adsorption/purification. Accordingly, selecting a comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio within 1:1 to 4:1 would have been an obvious optimization of known copolymer-forming components to obtain the desired cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material.
Claims 1 – 2, 6 – 7, and 9 – 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 – 9, 11 – 14, and 16 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11491460 in view of Bowen et al. (Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2009, Vol. 114, Issue 1, PTO-892).
‘460 claims a mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material comprising a plurality of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by one or more aryl fluoride crosslinkers, wherein X is O or S (claim 1). ‘460 claims that the cyclodextrin is selection from α-, β-, γ-cyclodextrin, and combination thereof, wherein the cyclodextrin is β-cyclodextrin (claims 6 – 7, 11 – 12, and 17). ‘460 further claims that the porous polymeric material has a BET surface area of 50 m2/g to 2000 m2/g (claims 9, 14, and 19). Thus, ‘460 teach a mesoporous polymeric material comprising cyclodextrin moieties, including β-cyclodextrin, crosslinked through aryl fluoride crosslinkers in which X may be O or S, and having a BET surface area range that includes values greater than 200 m2/g.
However, ‘460 do not claim the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin substituent or vinyl-derived polymer backbone structure recited in claim 1. ‘460 do not explicitly recite a functionalized cyclodextrin having a vinylbenzyl ether substituent that polymerizes to form a carbon-carbon polymer backbone. ‘460 does not claim that the mesoporous polymeric material contains R3 that is a hydrogen. ‘460 do not claim that the mesoporous polymeric material is prepared from a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer, as recited in claim 11. In particular, ‘460 do not claim a functionalized cyclodextrin having a vinylbenzyl ether substituent that polymerizes to form a carbon-carbon polymer backbone, nor do they claim copolymerization of such a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer with a methacrylate comonomer. ‘545 does not claim the comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer in a ratio of 1:1 to 4:1.
Bowen et al. disclose the synthesis of polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives (Title) and teach β-CD derivatives containing polymerizable groups attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages. Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups may homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates (Abstract). Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative. The synthesis disclosed. specifically uses vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups in the synthesis of the β-CD derivatives (page 4, Right Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. also report that the synthesis produced cyclodextrin monomers containing up to approximately seven combined vinylbenzyl groups plus 6-hexanoate groups covalently attached by hydrolytically-stable ether-linkages to the various β-CD molecules. Therefore, there would remain 21 hydroxyl groups minus the number replaced by the copolymerizable and ligand groups on the various family members (page 6, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Bowen et al. provide an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives by introducing vinylbenzyl polymerizable groups onto β-cyclodextrin through hydrolytically stable ether linkages and Bowen et al. teach a functionalized β-CD monomer having vinylbenzyl ether substituents, corresponding to a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2 structure. Upon polymerization of the vinyl group, such a vinylbenzyl substituent would form a β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2- polymer backbone structure. Moreover, the teaching that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups copolymerize with methacrylates teaches the claimed comonomer because methacrylates include compounds having the formula:
.
This corresponds to the comonomer formula of claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is alkyl. Bowen et al. therefore teach the vinylbenzyl type functionalized cyclodextrin monomer relevant to claim 1 and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer teaches relevant to claim 11. Bowen et al. further teach that the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives are used in monomer/comonomer formulations. Bowen et la. state that monomers and comonomers should have sufficient solubility in water and that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization (page 1, Right Col., para. 2; page 2, Left Col., para. 1). Bowen et al. teach that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high crosslink density and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure (page 2, Left Col., para. 1; Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Bowen et al. teach that polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives may be formulated with comonomers, and that the comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material claimed in ‘460 by using the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives in view of Bowen et al. because ‘460 claims a mesoporous polymeric material comprising cyclodextrin moieties, including β-cyclodextrin, crosslinked through aryl fluoride crosslinkers in which X may be O or S, and having a BET surface area of 50 m2/g to 2000 m2/g. Bowen et al. supply that missing teaching by disclosing both an actual synthesis route for preparing polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and the polymerization capability of those derivatives. Bowen et al. teach that vinyl benzyl chloride is used to provide the polymerizable groups and further teach that vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Thus, Bowen et al. provide a known way to functionalize β-cyclodextrin with a polymerizable vinylbenzyl group and a known route for copolymerizing such functionalized cyclodextrin monomers with methacrylate comonomers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the known polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivative of Bowen et al. as an alternative cyclodextrin-containing monomer/building block for the mesoporous cyclodextrin polymeric material claimed in ‘460 because Bowen et al. provide an alternative, predictable way to incorporate cyclodextrin moieties into a polymer network through vinylbenzyl polymerization while retaining the cyclodextrin moieties of the claimed mesoporous polymeric material. The modification would have been predictable because Bowen et al. explicitly teach that the vinylbenzyl ether groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been expected the vinyl group in the functionalized β-cyclodextrin of Bowen et al. to polymerize into a carbon-carbon polymer backbone and to copolymerize with methacrylate comonomers. Accordingly, the combination of '460 and Bowen et al. would have rendered obvious the presently claimed mesoporous polymeric material having the vinylbenzyl type cyclodextrin structure of claim 1, the ether linkage of claim 9, the BET surface area of claim 10, and the functionalized cyclodextrin monomer/comonomer features of claim 11.
Regarding the structures of the mesoporous polymeric material recited in claim 1, ‘460 claims a mesoporous polymeric material comprising a network of cyclodextrin moieties crosslinked by a plurality of crosslinks. However, ‘460 do not explicitly claim the vinylbenzyl type portion of claim 1, including an intervening methylene between the cyclodextrin heteroatom and the aryl group and a vinyl-derived polymer-backbone portion attached to the aryl group. Bowen et al. teach this feature by disclosing β-cyclodextrin derivatives having vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups, corresponding to β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH=CH2, which upon polymerization provide β-CD-O-CH2-phenyl-CH-CH2-polymer backbone.
Regarding claim 6, Bowen et al. teach that β-cyclodextrin contains hydroxyl groups and that, after derivatization, hydroxyl groups remain on the β-cyclodextrin molecules. The presence of hydroxyl groups corresponds to R3 being hydrogen. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the limitation of claim 6.
With respect to claim 11, Bowen et al. teach polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives containing vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups. Bowen et al. specifically use vinyl benzyl chloride to provide the polymerizable groups and report cyclodextrin monomers containing vinylbenzyl group covalently attached by hydrolytically stable ether linkages to β-cyclodextrin. Bowen et al. therefore teach a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer. Bowen et al. further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups homopolymerize and copolymerize with methacrylates. Methacrylate comonomers have the formula:
,
wherein R1 is a methyl and R2 is -C(=O)OR4, wherein R4 is an alkyl, which corresponds to the claimed comonomer recited in claim 11. Accordingly, Bowen et al. teach or suggest the claim 11 limitations requiring a functionalized cyclodextrin monomer and a comonomer.
Regarding claim 12, although Bowen et la. do not explicitly teach the claimed comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio of 1:1 to 4:1 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer to obtain the desired cross-linked cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material. Bowen et al. teach an actual synthesis route for preparing the polymerizable β-cyclodextrin derivatives having the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups and further teach that the vinylbenzyl ether polymerizable groups should readily homopolymerize and also copolymerize with methacrylates. Bowen et al. further teach that diluent comonomers for the polymerizable cyclodextrin derivatives should have similar solubility parameters to prevent phase separations during polymerization, that comonomers should be such as to result in a copolymer with high cross-link density, and that the formulation should copolymerize into a densely cross-linked structure. Thus, Bowen et al. recognized that the monomer/comonomer formulation affects phase compatibility, copolymerization, and cross-link density of the resulting polymer. The relative amount of comonomer and functionalized cyclodextrin monomer would therefore have been a result-effective variable affecting the polymer formulation and cross-linked copolymer structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio through routine experimentation to obtain a cyclodextrin-containing copolymer having the desired balance of polymer network formation and cyclodextrin content. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Bowen et al. teach that vinylbenzyl functionalized β-cyclodextrin derivatives are polymerizable and copolymerizable with methacrylates, and Helbling et al. teach cyclodextrin-containing mesoporous polymeric material useful for adsorption/purification. Accordingly, selecting a comonomer to functionalized cyclodextrin monomer ratio within 1:1 to 4:1 would have been an obvious optimization of known copolymer-forming components to obtain the desired cyclodextrin-containing polymeric material.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693