Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1) in view of Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1) and Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1).
With regards to claims 1 and 18, Li discloses mobile radiation inspection apparatus 200, [0007] comprising: a vehicle body 201 configured to provide support; a traveling mechanism 100 mounted on the vehicle body 201 to drive the vehicle body 201 to travel [037] – [0039];
a boom assembly 200 mounted on the vehicle body 201, the boom assembly 200 being configured to switch between an inspection state and a transportation state, wherein in case that the boom assembly 200 is in the transportation state, the boom assembly 200 is retracted and carried by the vehicle body [0043] (i.e., the first and second detection arms 202, 203 constitute a retractable and folding detection arm); and
in case that the boom assembly 200 is in the inspection state, the boom assembly 200 is deployed and forms an inspection channel together with the vehicle body 201; and
a first imaging device comprising a first ray source and a first ray detector both mounted on the boom assembly, wherein the first ray detector cooperates with the first ray source to detect a ray emitted by the first ray source;
a second imaging device 112 comprising a second ray source and a second ray detector, wherein one of the second ray source and the second ray detector is mounted on the vehicle body, and the other one of the second ray source and the second ray detector is mounted on the boom assembly [0054];
the second ray source is positioned on a side surface of the inspection channel; and the second ray detector cooperates with the second ray source to detect a ray emitted by the second ray source.
Li t teaches a pair is split, wherein the source on vehicle body and detector on detection arm 202. Notice how a pair of sensors 111, 112, comprising a first sensor 111 and a second sensor 112, are provided on the following mechanism 100. As shown in FIGS. 1a and 1b, the first sensor 111 and the second sensor 112 are located at two sides of the detection arm 202, 203, respectively, during inspection of the inspected object. Sensors 111 and 112 for distance are also taught [0047] [0054] [0055] [0067] (Figures 1 – 3).
Li fails to expressly disclose the first imaging device has both a source and a detector mounted on the boom assembly with source positioned at the top of the inspect channel. Notice that sifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device is generally considered an obvious design choice. Additionally, the particular placement of an element was held to be obvious. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975).
Mastronardi relates to inspection with top-down imaging (Abstract). In FIG. 3A, a mobile platform 10 has a source 306 of penetrating radiation disposed on a deployable member, designated generally by numeral 302. Deployable member 302, which may also be referred to as a "boom," may be rotated about axis 304 from a forward-facing position suitable for road transport to the sideward-facing position shown to the right, such that source 306 is positioned over vehicle 102 (or other inspected object) during the course of inspection operations (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
Agrawal relates generally to a self-contained mobile inspection system and improved methods and systems thereon [0002]. Agrawal discloses deployment scanning hardware including detector deployment and boom deployment. Agrawal teaches that a detector array is deployed and placed in substantially vertical position; a boom is shown in a rest position on top of a trailer and pivoted about a vertical axis so the boom can rise and rotate during deployment (Figures 6, 7, 9A and 9B) [0068] [0069].
In view of the utility, to improve on the mobile inspection systems by including a rapidly deployable, and capable of scanning a wide variety of receptacles cost-effectively and accurately on uneven surfaces structure of systems, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Mastronardi and Agrawal.
With regards to claim 2, Li provides a defined source detector geometry across a scanning channel [0007]. As shown in FIGS. 1a, 1b, 2 and 3, the following mechanism 100 and the mobile vehicle body 201 may be configured to be a rail type of following mechanism and a rail type of mobile vehicle body, respectively, moving on rails 301, 302 parallel to each other by means of wheels 105, 205 [0068] [0069].
Li fails to expressly disclose exactly that the first ray source and the first ray detector of the first imaging device jointly form a first plane, and the second ray source and the second ray detector of the second imaging device jointly form a second plane; and the first plane is parallel to the second plane.
Mastrpmardi discloses adding a second source geometry form above including multi-projection configuration. Notice that arrangements of elements in particular planes to be parallel is an obviousness “analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because one “can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ. Mastrpmardi does teach for particular inspection operations, module 146 is deployed such that transmission detector 106 is parallel to the ground, while remaining coupled to conveyance 110 (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
FIG. 3B discloses a deployable member 310 may deploy by rotation along path 312 about a horizontal axis 313 parallel to the direction of motion of the mobile platform while what else is taught is that separate, large-area detectors are deployed adjacent to the beam plane on the x-ray source side of the scanned object, and with their active surfaces oriented toward the scanned object (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
In view of the utility, to improve on the mobile inspection systems by including a rapidly deployable, and capable of scanning a wide variety of receptacles cost-effectively and accurately on uneven surfaces structure of systems that can make possible the acquisition of images using detectors in a wide variety of positions due to the flexibility based on its design, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Mastronardi.
With regards to claim 3, Li discloses the claimed inventio according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that the first imaging device and the second imaging device are independent of each other and are separately controlled.
Mastronardi teaches, see FIG. 3B, a deployable member 310 may deploy by rotation along path 312 about a horizontal axis 313 parallel to the direction of motion of the mobile platform. Detector signals from each detector active during scanning by downward-directed source 306 and sideward directed source 30 (shown in FIG. 1) are processed by controller 126 to provide scatter images. Source 306 and source 30 may be operated in a temporally interleaved manner so as to provide for respective downward-directed and sideward-directed scatter images without cross-talk interference between the sources, thus independent of each other and separately controlled (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
In view of the utility, to prevent signals from one source/signal from bleeding into or interfering with another, ensuring cleaner, more accurate measurements, reducing false positives, improving signal-to-noise ratio, and preventing data corruption in optical, electronic optical systems, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Mastronardi.
Claim(s) 4 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1) and Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1) in view of Morton (CN 104170051 A).
With regards to claim 4, Li discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose a third imaging device comprising a third ray source and a third ray detector mounted on the boom assembly or the vehicle body, wherein the third ray detector cooperates with the third ray source to detect a ray emitted by the third ray source; and the third ray source is positioned on a side surface of the inspection channel.
Morton relates to X-ray imaging system field of security scanning, and more particularly, to a kind of advantageously combining transmission and backscatter imaging of multiple view X-ray scanning system or may include alternatives arrangements, for example, the detector array including a transmission detector located between two backscatter detectors, wherein the detector is placed in a single plane facing the object to be scanned, and the transmission detector has a smaller exposed surface area than each backscatter detector (Abstract) [0004] [0036].
Morton also teaches Figure 4 is a multi-view X-ray imaging system 400 integrating the configurations of Figures 1 to 3 in order to create a more dynamic imaging system [0075]. Lastly, Morton teaches that there is virtually no limit to the number of views that can be collected in system 400, wherein a plurality of detectors may be used, one example included twelve, and the detectors are irradiated by no more than one main X-ray beam at any given time [0075] - [0080].
In view of the utility, to expand the viewing capabilities of the imaging system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Morton.
With regards to claim 5, Li discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that the first ray source and the first ray detector of the first imaging device jointly form a first plane, the second ray source and the second ray detector of the second imaging device jointly form a second plane, and the third ray source and the third ray detector of the third imaging device jointly form a third plane, where the first plane, the second plane and the third plane are parallel to each other.
Mastronardi teaches, see FIG. 3B, a deployable member 310 may deploy by rotation along path 312 about a horizontal axis 313 parallel to the direction of motion of the mobile platform. Detector signals from each detector active during scanning by downward-directed source 306 and sideward directed source 30 (shown in FIG. 1) are processed by controller 126 to provide scatter images. Source 306 and source 30 may be operated in a temporally interleaved manner so as to provide for respective downward-directed and sideward-directed scatter images without cross-talk interference between the sources, thus independent of each other and separately controlled (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
Mastrpmardi discloses adding a second source geometry form above including multi-projection configuration. Notice that arrangements of elements in particular planes to be parallel is an obviousness “analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because one “can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ. Mastrpmardi does teach for particular inspection operations, module 146 is deployed such that transmission detector 106 is parallel to the ground, while remaining coupled to conveyance 110 (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
FIG. 3B discloses a deployable member 310 may deploy by rotation along path 312 about a horizontal axis 313 parallel to the direction of motion of the mobile platform while what else is taught is that separate, large-area detectors are deployed adjacent to the beam plane on the x-ray source side of the scanned object, and with their active surfaces oriented toward the scanned object (Abstract) [0038] – [0042].
Moron discloses detector array including a transmission detector located between two backscatter detectors, wherein the detector is placed in a single plane facing the object to be scanned, and the transmission detector has a smaller exposed surface area than each backscatter detector, in addition to independent data individually coordinating data acquisition between each component directed by controller 1215 (Abstract) [0004] [0036] [0075] - [0080], [0098].
In view of the utility, to expand the viewing capabilities of the imaging system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Morton.
With regards to claim 6, see the rejections of claims 2, 3, 5 and 6, as there are multiple teachings for independent, separate control with multiple devices.
Claim(s) 7 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1) and Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1) in view of Fan et al. (EP 3715838 A1) and Morton et al. (US Patent 9,052,403 B2), hereinafter Morton 403’.
With regards to claim 7, Li discloses a retractable folding detector arm with a horizontal first arm and vertical second are rotatable and folded for transport [0007] [0023] [0043] [0058].
Li fails to expressly disclose a first boom mounted on the vehicle body in a liftable manner; or the first boom being configured to be telescopic, and the first boom comprising an extended state and a retracted state; a second boom mounted on the first boom; and a third boom rotatably mounted on the second boom; wherein in case that the boom assembly is in the transportation state, the first boom is retracted, the second boom and the first boom are jointly rotated to a position where the second boom is parallel to the vehicle body and are positioned at a top of the vehicle body, the third boom is rotated to a position parallel to the second boom, and the third boom is positioned between the second boom and the vehicle body; and in case that the boom assembly is in the inspection state, the first boom stretches out of the top of the vehicle body, the second boom and the first boom are rotated together relative to the vehicle body, and the third boom is rotated to a position perpendicular to the second boom and is parallel to the first boom; and the first boom, the second boom, the third boom and a side surface of the vehicle body jointly form the inspection channel.
Notice that the large claim generally claims specific multi-boom/muti-section deployment kinematics using multiple arms/booms with rotation and retraction to a compact transport pose atop/in the vehicle body. Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, while generally, the particular placement of an element was held to be obvious. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 – and in re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975).
Agrawal teaches boom main body, outer arm and telescopic arm along with configurations with arms in parallel alignment (at least in transport) and perpendicular alignment (at the least inspection) [0022] [0025] [0065] [0099] (Claims 21 – 25).
Fan vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system (Figures 1 – 3) being able to move with flexibility, and is conducive to detecting the object to be detected anytime and anywhere, thereby having strong adaptability (Abstract).
Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 schematically show the structure of the vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system of the present embodiment. As shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, the vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes a vehicle 1, a scanning device 2 and an accelerator cabin 3. The vehicle 1 has maneuvering capacity and can move on its own to carry the scanning device 2 and the accelerator cabin 3 to reach a destination [0023] – [0024], [0040], [0047]
Morton 403’ relates towards a portable inspection system for generating an image representation of target objects using a radiation source, comprising a mobile vehicle; a detector array physically attached to a single, movable boom having a proximal end and a distal end and at least one source of radiation wherein the radiation source is fixedly attached to the proximal end of the boom and adjustable to a desired scanning height. The image is generated by introducing target objects between the radiation source and the detector array, thereby exposing objects to radiation and subsequently detecting the radiation. The boom can be unfolded from a first stowed configuration to a second deployed and operational configuration (Col. 8, Lines 26 – 42).
Morton 403’ discloses in FIG. 2a the adaptability of the booms/arms when fully deployed. The boom comprises three sections: vertical support 201a (connected to an X-ray source 201d), horizontal boom 202a, and vertical boom 203a. See all the configuration and adaptations of the mobile inspection system in Figures 1 to 32c.
In view of the utility, to expand the viewing capabilities of the imaging system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Fan and Morton 403’.
With regards to claim 8, Li modified discloses claimed invention according to claim 7, but fails to expressly disclose that the first imaging device is mounted on the first boom.
Mastronardi is an inspection system with top-down imaging (Abstract). Mastronardi discloses that the source is on the boom while the detector is deployable on the boom as well [0035] [0041].
Agrawal discloses relates to a mobile radiation inspection apparatus (Abstract).
FIG. 2 depicts one embodiment of a hydraulic lift mounted on a tug-vehicle and the unloading of a radiation source [0060] [0085] - [0091]; moreover, boom 1611 has a proximal end attached to the vehicle and a distal end physically attached to the radiation source [0096] – [0098] (Figures 16 and 17).
In view of the utility, to expand the viewing capabilities of the imaging system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Mastronardi and Agrawal.
With regards to claim 9, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 7, but fails to expressly disclose a first cabin body fixedly mounted on the vehicle body; and a second cabin body rotatably mounted on a tail of the vehicle body; wherein in case that the boom assembly is in the transportation state, the second cabin body is positioned at the tail of the vehicle body; and in case that the boom assembly is in the inspection state, the second cabin body is rotated to the side surface of the vehicle body, and both the second cabin body and the boom assembly are positioned in a width direction of the vehicle body and are positioned on two sides of the vehicle body.
Fan teaches an accelerator cabin 3 (i.e., second cabin body) with a retracting position and counterweigh position, where at least par of cabin is on the side opposite deployed scanning device counterweight. (Figure 3 – 6) [0014] – [0015], [0024] – [0024]-]0034], [0041] – [ 0044], [0048].
Fan provides a specific, predicable counterweigh-arm implementation for maintain lateral stability during deployment, directly addressing and enabling a transportable stow/deploy vehicle system (Figure 2, unfolding process) (Figure 3 – 6) [0014] – [0015], [0024] – [0024]-]0034].
Lastly, Fan teaches as shown in Fig. 8, the vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system in the present embodiment further includes a first limiting component 7 and a second limiting component 8. The accelerator cabin 3 is limited by the first limiting component 7 at the retraction position and is limited by the second limiting component 8 at the counterweight position. The first limiting component 7 or the second limiting component 8 can ensure that the accelerator cabin 3 accurately moves to the retraction position or the counterweight position, thereby improving the position accuracy, and avoiding that the accelerator cabin 3 passes through the retraction position or the counterweight position, resulting in incorrect return, or damage caused by the collision with the vehicle body 11. The accelerator cabin 3 emits rays toward a specific direction at the counterweight position, so that the requirements for the accuracy of the counterweight position are high, and the second limiting component 8 can ensure that the accelerator cabin 3 is accurately located at the predetermined counterweight position, so that the detection accuracy of the vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system is guaranteed [0048] – [0053].
Notice that in re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) Sifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975) The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
In view of the utility, to expand the viewing capabilities of the imaging system including the flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Fan and since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element/parts without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 10, Li discloses modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 9, but rays to expressly disclose the second ray source is mounted in the second cabin body, the second ray detector is mounted on the third boom, and a total weight of the second cabin body and the second ray source is configured to maintain balance with a total weight of the boom assembly, the first imaging device and the second ray detector such that the mobile radiation inspection apparatus remains stable in the width direction of the vehicle body or, the second ray source is mounted on the third boom, the second ray detector is mounted in the second cabin body, and a total weight of the second cabin body and the second ray detector is configured to maintain balance with a total weight of the boom assembly, the first imaging device and the second ray source such that the mobile radiation inspection apparatus remains stable in the width direction of the vehicle body.
Fan teaches maintain balance by torque balancing; turning moment generated by the cabin offsets the turning movement generated by the scanning device to maintain stability [0015] [0025] [0028] [0053] (Figure 3).
As shown in Fig. 8, the vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system in the present embodiment further includes a first limiting component 7 and a second limiting component 8. The accelerator cabin 3 is limited by the first limiting component 7 at the retraction position and is limited by the second limiting component 8 at the counterweight position. The first limiting component 7 or the second limiting component 8 can ensure that the accelerator cabin 3 accurately moves to the retraction position or the counterweight position, thereby improving the position accuracy, and avoiding that the accelerator cabin 3 passes through the retraction position or the counterweight position, resulting in incorrect return, or damage caused by the collision with the vehicle body 11. The accelerator cabin 3 emits rays toward a specific direction at the counterweight position, so that the requirements for the accuracy of the counterweight position are high, and the second limiting component 8 can ensure that the accelerator cabin 3 is accurately located at the predetermined counterweight position, so that the detection accuracy of the vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system is guaranteed [0048] – [0053].
In view of the utility, to expand the viewing capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Fan and since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element/parts without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1), Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1) and Fan et al. (EP 3715838 A1) in view Fan et al. (EP3715915 A1), hereinafter Fan2.
With regards to claim 11, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 10 but fails to expressly disclose that one of the second ray source and the second ray detector is arranged in the second cabin body, and the other one of the second ray source and the second ray detector is arranged on the third boom of the boom assembly.
Fan2 disclose a vehicle-mounted radiation inspection system is flexible and high in adaptive capacity. Since the vertical detection arm 3 of the radiation scanning device can still maintain a stable position at the unfolded position, the detection accuracy of the vehicle-mounted [0026] – [0036], [0046] -0049]. Notice that Fan1 shows many arrangements and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
In view of the utility, to expand the capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Fan2 and since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element/parts without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1), Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1), Fan et al. (EP 3715838 A1), Fan et al. (EP3715915 A1), hereinafter Fan2 in view of Morton et al. (US Patent 85036025B2).
With regards to claim 12, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 10, but fails to expressly disclose that at least a side of the second cabin body is configured to be open such that in case that the boom assembly is in the inspection state, the second ray source positioned in the second cabin body is prevented from being blocked and directly radiates to an object.
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
Morton provides a four-sided scanning system for vehicles that uses a combination of backscatter and transmission-based X-ray imaging to achieve material discrimination, wherein the system is designed as a mobile, drive-through system, which can be folded and stowed in a truck and can be conveniently deployed at any place when required (Abstract).
Morton further discloses a slit or opening 121 is provided on first side 106, through which X-rays are emitted. Slit or opening 121 extends substantially up first side 106 to approximately 100% of the height. Morton also teaches that a slit or opening 121 may be covered with a thin coating that is easily transparent to an X-ray, in addition to having a thin coating is comprises of a material such as aluminum or plastic and further provides an environmental shield (Col. 8, Lines 1 – 62).
Notice how FIG. 3a shows a set of hydraulic rams or other suitable mechanisms are used to collapse vertical boom sections 310 and 320 inward using hinges 321 and 322, respectively. Hinges 321 and 322 are positioned, in one embodiment, mid-way up the height of vertical boom sections 310 and 320, respectively. When vertical boom sections 310 and 320 are collapsed inward using hinges 321 and 322, horizontal boom section 305 is "lowered" such that it rests on top of collapsed vertical boom sections 310, 320 (Col. 9, Line 25 to Col. 10, Line 41).
In view of the utility, to expand the capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Morton an and since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element/parts without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 13 -14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1) and Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1), Morton (CN 104170051 A) in view of Grodzins et al. (US Pub. No. 20130343520 A1).
With regards to claim 13, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 4, but fails to expressly disclose the third imaging device is arranged in a first cabin body.
Grodzins teaches systems and methods for inspecting an object with a scanned beam of penetrating radiation. Scattered radiation from the beam is detected, in either a backward or forward direction, as is radiation transmitted through the inspected object. The source of penetrating radiation is concealed within an enclosure of a road-worthy vehicle, and detected with a large-area uncollimated detector similarly concealed within the enclosure (Abstract).
In view of the utility, to expand the capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Grodzins.
With regards to claim 14, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 13, but fails to expressly disclose at least a side of the first cabin body is configured to be open such that in case that the boom assembly is in the inspection state, the ray emitted by the third ray source positioned in the first cabin body is prevented from being blocked and directly radiates to an object.
Agrawal disclose a single boom cargo scanning system (Abstract). [0078] FIG. 12 is an exemplary embodiment of the radiation source box 11, showing leveling screws 5, 6, 7 and 8 that can be turned to manipulate the vertical height of the source box 11 and an array of laser pointers 9 built into the collimator 10 to facilitate proper alignment of the radiation beam 12 with the detectors. In one embodiment, optical triangulation method is used for aligning the plane of the radiation beam with a predefined "zero" or "idealized centerline" of the detector system. Such optical triangulation techniques, as known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, use a source of light such as a laser pointer to define the radiation beam path. These laser pointers are directed to impinge on a predefined "zero" of the detectors. The "zero" of the detectors maybe a spot representing the centroid of the detector system or an idealized centerline representing a spatial x-y locus of an ideal fan beam plane intersecting the plane of the detectors substantially orthogonally [0078].
Agrawal further teaches that the spatial position of the laser pointers impinging on the detectors is sensed by an array of photo-electric diodes of the detector system that send the corresponding position signals to a computer housed within the trailer. The computer compares the spatial position of the laser pointers with a predefined "zero" of the detector system and sends correction control signals to the source box through the control cable (attached to the boom) for adjustments till the laser pointers are reasonably lined-up with the detector system [0077] – [0082].
In view of the utility, to expand the capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Agrawal.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1) and Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1) in view of Morton et al. (US Patent 9,052,403 B2)
Morton teaches a compact mobile scanning system, wherein the boom assembly (vertical support sections 201a, 201) are manufactured using a strong material, such as steel, carbon fiber composite, aluminum or metal-composite structures may also be used (Col. 9, Line 62).
Notice that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Li modified to include aluminum, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. One would have been motivated to use aluminum for the purpose of strength and ease of usage.
With regards to claim 15, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that a material of the boom assembly comprises an aluminum alloy or a titanium alloy.
Claim(s) 16 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0192531 S1), Mastronardi (US Pub. No. 2012/0033791 A1), Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0157842 A1) and Morton (CN 104170051 A) in view of Grodzins et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0343520 A1).
With regards to claim 16, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the first imaging device is a backscatter imaging device, the first ray source is a backscatter ray source, and the first ray detector is a backscatter detector; and/or, the second imaging device is a transmission imaging device, the second ray source is a transmission ray source, and the second ray detector is a transmission ray detector.
Regarding the plurality of imagers, sources and the like, see the rejections of claims 4 – 6.
Grodzins teaches systems and methods for inspecting an object with a scanned beam of penetrating radiation. Scattered radiation from the beam is detected, in either a backward or forward direction, as is radiation transmitted through the inspected object. The source of penetrating radiation is concealed within an enclosure of a road-worthy vehicle, and detected with a large-area uncollimated detector similarly concealed within the enclosure (Abstract).
In view of the utility, to expand the capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Grodzins.
With regards to claim 17, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 4, but fails to expressly disclose the third imaging device is a backscatter imaging device, the third ray source is a backscatter ray source, and the third ray detector is a backscatter detector.
Regarding the plurality of imagers, sources and the like, see the rejections of claims 4 – 6.
Grodzins teaches systems and methods for inspecting an object with a scanned beam of penetrating radiation. Scattered radiation from the beam is detected, in either a backward or forward direction, as is radiation transmitted through the inspected object. The source of penetrating radiation is concealed within an enclosure of a road-worthy vehicle, and detected with a large-area uncollimated detector similarly concealed within the enclosure (Abstract).
In view of the utility, to expand the capabilities of the imaging system including giving much needed flexibility of the entire inspection system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Grodzins.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884