DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0018345 A1) in view of Nakai (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0061874 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Park et al. discloses a battery data management apparatus comprising: a controller configured to determine whether a battery is abnormal based on battery data (para 0048, lines 1-13); determine an abnormality level of the battery based on whether the battery is abnormal (para 0055, lines 1-7), and classify and store the battery data in a storages (see storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4), based on the abnormality level of the battery (a battery abnormality determiner 360 shown in Fig. 3); and
a memory comprising the plurality of storages and a temporary storage configured to temporarily store the battery data (para 0135, lines 1-13).
Park et al. does not disclose a plurality of storages.
Nakai discloses a plurality of storages (claim 6, lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park et al. to include plurality of storages as taught by Nakai to determine which power storage module is abnormal (claim 7, lines 1-15).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to store the battery data in any one of the plurality of storages, which corresponds to the abnormality level of the battery (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to, based on priorities of a plurality of storing regions of any one of the plurality of storages, store the battery data in any one of the plurality of storing regions storages (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to, when diagnosing that the battery is in an abnormal state (see Park et al. para 0048, lines 1-13), obtain battery data stored in the temporary storage at a time when the battery is diagnosed as being in the abnormal state (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4), obtain battery data stored in the temporary storage after a specific period, and classify and store the battery data in the plurality of storages (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether the battery corresponds to an abnormal level in descending order of a risk level of the abnormality level (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory stores the battery data at regular intervals in a circular queue of the temporary storage (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the battery data comprises at least any one of voltage, current, temperature, and diagnosis information of the battery (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses an operating method of a battery data management apparatus (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12), the operating method comprising: temporarily storing battery data (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4); determining whether the battery a battery is abnormal (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12), based on the battery data; determining an abnormal level of the battery based on whether the battery is abnormal; and classifying and storing the battery data in a plurality of storages (see element 350 shown in Fig. 3), based on the abnormal level of the battery (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the determining of the abnormal level of the battery based on whether the battery is abnormal comprises storing the battery data in any one of the plurality of storages, which corresponds to the abnormality abnormal level of the battery (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the classifying and the storing of the battery data in the plurality of storages, based on the abnormal level of the battery (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15), comprises, based on priorities of a plurality of storing regions of any one of the plurality of storages, storing the battery data in any one of the plurality of storing regions (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the temporarily storing of the battery data comprises, when diagnosing that the battery is in an abnormal state, obtaining battery data stored in a temporary storage at a time when the battery is diagnosed as being in the abnormal state (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15), obtaining battery data stored in the temporary storage after a specific period, and classifying and storing the battery data in the plurality of storages (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the determining of the abnormal level of the battery based on whether the battery is abnormal comprises determining whether the battery corresponds to an abnormal level in descending order of a risk level of the abnormality-abnormal level (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the temporarily storing of the battery data comprises storing the battery data at regular intervals in a circular queue of a temporary storage (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the battery data management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to control at least one of states or operations of the battery based on the abnormality abnormal level (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, further comprising: controlling at least one of states or operations of the battery based on the abnormality abnormal level (see Park et al. para 0132, lines 1-12).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 12, wherein each risk level corresponds to a different abnormal level among a plurality of abnormal levels (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the abnormal level is one of a plurality of abnormal levels, and wherein the plurality of abnormal levels includes four different abnormality levels (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the abnormal level is one of a plurality of abnormal levels, and wherein a number of the plurality of abnormal levels corresponds to a number of the plurality of storages (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Park et al. and Nakai discloses the operating method of claim 8, wherein the abnormal level is one of a plurality of abnormal levels (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15),
wherein the plurality of abnormality levels comprises:
a first abnormality level indicating that an overvoltage or undervoltage occurs in the battery, the first abnormality level being a highest-risk abnormality level (see Park et al. storage 350 shown in Fig. 3 which includes the battery estimation and battery measurement information; for example a comparison between the battery measurements information and battery estimation obtained during a time window of a predetermined length; para 0082, lines 1-4); and
a second abnormality level being a lower-risk abnormality level than the first abnormality level levels (see Nakai claim 7, lines 1-15).
Conclusion
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858