DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the cooling frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear whether applicant refers “the cooling frame of claim 13” to “the diffusion cooling frame”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US 2009/0201622A1). Regarding claim 10, Brown discloses (figures 3-5) a diffuser cooling frame comprising a body (56) having one or more fluid inlets (64a) and one or more fluid outlets (64b), wherein the body defines an opening (73); the one or more fluid inlets are in fluid communication with the one or more fluid outlets via one or more fluid lumens (58a,58b); and the one or more fluid lumens form one or more fluid passageways (58a,58b) around an outer perimeter of the body of the cooling frame. Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses (figure 4) that the one or more fluid lumens (58) comprise a first fluid lumens (58b) that extends about substantially all of an outer periphery of the opening (73); and a second fluid lumen (58a) that extends about substantially all of the outer periphery of the opening (73), wherein the second fluid lumen (58a) is disposed radially inward of the first fluid lumen (58b). Regarding claim 12, Brown discloses(figure 4) that the one or more fluid inlets (64a) and one or more fluid outlets (64b) are positioned on an upper surface of the cooling frame. Regarding claims 13 and 14, applicant is claiming a diffuser cooling frame. Therefore, limitation that the diffuser cooling frame is coupled with a diffuser or the diffuser cooling frame bonded to a diffuser via indium bonding, is just an intended use of the diffuser cooling frame. The diffuser that is coupled with the diffuser cooling frame is not part of the claimed diffuser cooling frame but an external device that can be cooled by the diffuser cooling frame. Brown discloses a cooling frame that has all of the limitations of the diffuser cooling frame as claimed. The Brown’s diffuser cooling frame has an upper surface and a lower surface that is capable of bonding by any mean such as indium bonding to a diffuser or any heat source that the diffuser cooling frame is intended to cool. For example, if applicant is claiming a table laptop and the table laptop is placed on a table. The table is not part of the table laptop. Any prior art’s laptop that discloses all the structural limitations of the table laptop would anticipate that table laptop.
Regarding claim 16, Brown discloses (paragraph 29) that the body (56) of the cooling frame, the one or more fluid lumens (58) or both are constructed from an aluminum alloy.
Claims 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burn Mark (US 20100064717). Regarding claim 10, Burn Mark discloses (figure 2) a diffuser cooling frame comprising a body (12) having one or more fluid inlets (64) and one or more fluid outlets (66), wherein the body defines an opening (opening contains diffuser 40 ); the one or more fluid inlets are in fluid communication with the one or more fluid outlets via one or more fluid lumens (14); and the one or more fluid lumens form one or more fluid passageways (for refrigerant 64 to flows through) around an outer perimeter of the body of the cooling frame. Regarding claim 12, Burn Mark further discloses (figure 2) that the one or more fluid inlets (64) and one or more fluid outlets (66) are positioned on an upper surface of the cooling frame (the top flow path 14 with broken arrow shown, has an inlet and outlet located on the top portion of the cooling frame 2, which has an outer surface considered to be top surface). Regarding claims 13 and 14, applicant is claiming a diffuser cooling frame. Therefore, limitation that the diffuser cooling frame is coupled with a diffuser or the diffuser cooling frame bonded to a diffuser via indium bonding, is just an intended use of the diffuser cooling frame. The diffuser that is coupled with the diffuser cooling frame is not part of the claimed diffuser cooling frame but an external device that can be cooled by the diffuser cooling frame. Brown discloses all of the claimed limitations of the diffuser cooling frame. The Burn Mark’s diffuser cooling frame has an outer surface that is capable of bonding by any mean such as indium bonding to a diffuser or any heat source that the diffuser cooling frame is intended to cool. For example, if applicant is claiming a table laptop and the table laptop is placed on a table. The table is not part of the table laptop. Any prior art’s laptop that discloses all the structural limitations of the table laptop would anticipate that table laptop.
Regarding claim 15, Burn Mark further discloses (figure 2) that the cooling frame (12) comprises two or more fluid lumens (14) that each connect one of the fluid inlets to a respective one of the fluid outlets (64,66), wherein a first fluid path defined by a first fluid lumen (upper 14) of the two or more fluid lumens extends clockwise around the body of the cooling frame, and a second fluid path (lower than the upper 14) defined by a second fluid lumen of the two or more fluid lumens extends counter-clockwise around the body of the cooling frame. Regarding the term “clockwise” and “counter-clockwise”, an upper fluid path is considered to extend clockwise from outlet (66) to inlet (64) and a second fluid path (below the upper fluid path) is considered to extend counter clockwise from inlet (64) to outlet (66). The examiner must interpret the limitation as broadly as it reasonably allows. Therefore, the examiner does not interpret the “clockwise” and “counter-clockwise” as directions of the fluid flow, but a physical path which has two end points. The fluid flow path can be clockwise if traced from point 66 to point 64 or counter-clockwise if traced from point 64 to point 66 as shown in figure 2.
Regarding claim 16, Burn Mark discloses (paragraph 84) that the body (12) of the cooling frame, the one or more fluid lumens (14) or both are constructed from an aluminum alloy.
.Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rule (US 20050274499A1) discloses a container with temperature regulator.
Hongo (US 2002/0046807A1) discloses a plasma process apparatus.
Kushch et al. (US 6,213,757B1) discloses a matrix combustion.
Matsugi et al. (US 5,667,758A) discloses a processing vessel.
Jordan et al. (US 5,150,831) discloses a reactor vessel.
Engelhardt Rolf (US 4,556,104A) discloses a heat exchanger.
C. K. Mader (US 2,823,652) discloses a helical coil heater.
Yang et al. (US 20140311411A1) discloses a showerhead having cooling system.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763