DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 06/06/2024 is entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2024 IDS Considered have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, recite a) “… the PACF values ” (line 4) appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear whether it refers back to “a PACF Value” . For examination purpose, the examiner will use own interpretation as best understood by the examiner.
recite b) “… the PACF ” (line 12) appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear whether it refers back to “ The PACF Values” or phase alignment correction factors (PACFs) ( Line 3). . For examination purpose, the examiner will use own interpretation as best understood by the examiner.
recite c) “… the PACF ” (line 12) appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear whether it refers back to “ The PACF Values” or phase alignment correction factors (PACFs) ( Line 3). . For examination purpose, the examiner will use own interpretation as best understood by the examiner.
Regarding claim 2, recite a) “… the PACF ” (line 2) appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear whether it refers back to “ The PACF Values” or phase alignment correction factors (PACFs) ( Line 3 in claim 1). . For examination purpose, the examiner will use own interpretation as best understood by the examiner.
Regarding claim 13, recite a) “… the method 1000 ” (line 3) appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear whether it refers back to anything. It should be “the method”.. For examination purpose, the examiner will use own interpretation as best understood by the examiner.
All Dependent claims which depend on the above rejected independent claims are also interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for their respective independent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVYDOV et al. (US 20130194943 A1; hereinafter as “DAVYDOV”; provided in IDS) in view of FAN5545 et al. (US 20180375545 A1; hereinafter as “FAN5545”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to DAVYDOV unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 1, DAVYDOV teaches, a method in a first access point (see fig. 1: eNB ) of transmitting a signal, the method comprising, for each of a plurality of User Equipments (UEs) (see fig. 1: UE ([0053]); aforesaid transmits a signs to UE through first cooperating point and second cooperating point as show in Fig. 1 (element 105 from first cooperating point and second cooperating point to UE)):
obtaining multiple phase alignment correction factors (PACFs) for different access point (==first cooperating point and second cooperating point) the first access point (==eNB) ) belonging to multiple access point (=eNB with both first cooperating point and second cooperating point) the PACF values differing for the different access point (aforesaid eNB receives/obtains/extract “relative phase information” from first cooperating point 104A and second cooperating point 104B ; eNB receives “relative phase information” (==PACFs value in claim ) between first cooperating point and second cooperating point : [0053]; NOTE: indicated relative phase information are different from different cooperating points; “ the eNB 102 may configure the first and second cooperating points to generate signals for a coherent joint transmission 105 (FIG. 1) that is a beamformed transmission based on the 2TX PMI and the 4TX PMI provided by the UE 106”: [0059]; Crosse/Missed information will be address by another reference below);
determining the PACF for the UE based on the access point associated with the UE ( “eNB 102 may extract the relative phase information between the first and second cooperating points 104A and 104B from the reported multi-node PMI. The coherent joint transmission 105 may be a CoMP transmission in which the signals from the first and second cooperating points 104A and 104B are received substantially in-phase (coherently) by the UE 106.”: [0014]; “ ] Referring back to FIG. 1, in some embodiments, the eNB 102 may configure at least a first cooperating point 104A and a second cooperating point 104B to jointly transmit a multi-node CSI-RS in predetermined resource elements of a resource block, and receive CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The CSI reports may include a PMI indicating the relative phase information between the first and second cooperating points based on the multi-node CSI-RS. The eNB 102 may also configure at least the first and second cooperating points for a coherent joint transmission to the UE 106 based at least on the relative phase information.”: [0060]) ; and
transmitting a respective first signal to the UE, the first signal being phase adjusted using the PACF determined for the UE (“eNB 102 may also configure at least the first and second cooperating points for a coherent joint transmission to the UE 106 based at least on the relative phase information. The multi-node CSI-RS transmitted by each of the cooperating points 104A and 104B may be distinguishable. The eNB 102 may be configured to indicate to the UE 106 to restrict the CSI reports for the multi-node CSI-RS to a PMI of rank-1. The first and second cooperating points 104A and 104B may be associated with different cells having different cell IDs, and the multi-node CSI-RS transmitted by each of the cooperating points 104A and 104B is independent of the cell IDs.”:[0060]; NOTE: At least one first or second cooperating points adjusts the phase relative to another).
While DAVYDOV teaches, “obtaining multiple phase alignment correction factors (PACFs) for different access point” ;
DAVYDOV does not expressively disclose:
…. PACFs for different access point groups, the first access point belonging to multiple …… groups, the PACF values differing for …. groups
determining an access point group associated with the UE from the plurality of access point groups, the first access point being in each of the access point groups;
FAN5545, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
…. PACFs for different access point groups (UE sends feedback reports to eNB through coordinated multipoint (CoMP)groups based on the phase different between pairs of downlink PSRS transmitted by gNB and other base stations of the coordinated multipoint (CoMP)group : [0082]; base station uses the phase compensation or phase correction value (==PACFs value ) to adjust communications by the base stations in the CoMP group (==Access Point Groups).: [abstract]; “ downlink PSRS are transmitted from multiple base stations in a CoMP group to a UE. In this approach, uplink PSRS are also transmitted from UEs to base stations of the CoMP group. Based on the received downlink PSRS, a UE can compute optimal co-phasing terms between pairs of base stations in the CoMP group from the downlink channel point of view of the UE”: [0087]; NOTE: Phase correction value for CoMP Group),
the first access point (==eNB in Fig. 1) belonging to multiple …… groups (aforesaid eNB belongs to multiple CoMP groups as shown in Fig. 1),
the PACF values differing for …. Groups ( determining a phase correction value based on a timing difference calculated from a difference between an uplink slope value calculated by a gNB and a feedback downlink slope value calculated by a UE from DL PSRS, and also based on a phase difference between a wideband co-phasing value calculated by the gNB and a feedback wideband co-phasing value calculated by the UE. For example, based on CSI-RS transmitted from the base stations in a CoMP group, a UE may compute optimal wideband co-phasing terms between the pairs of base stations in the CoMP group from the downlink channel point of view. In some aspects, computing the optimal wideband co-phasing terms may include computing co-phasing terms for each tone of a plurality of tones over a whole spectrum band. : [0076]);
determining an access point group associated with the UE from the plurality of access point groups, the first access point being in each of the access point groups (“determining a phase correction value based on a timing difference calculated from a difference between an uplink slope value calculated by a gNB and a feedback downlink slope value calculated by a UE from DL PSRS, and also based on a phase difference between a wideband co-phasing value calculated by the gNB and a feedback wideband co-phasing value calculated by the UE. For example, based on CSI-RS transmitted from the base stations in a CoMP group, a UE may compute optimal wideband co-phasing terms between the pairs of base stations in the CoMP group from the downlink channel point of view. In some aspects, computing the optimal wideband co-phasing terms may include computing co-phasing terms for each tone of a plurality of tones over a whole spectrum band. ”: [0076]; “ base station determines a phase correction value to apply to communications by the base stations in the CoMP group. The phase correction value may be based on the timing difference calculated from the difference in the calculated uplink slope value and the reported downlink slope value, and may also be based on the difference between the computed wideband uplink co-phasing value and the reported wideband downlink co-phasing value. For example, gNB 105, under control of controller/processor 240, can determine the phase correction value by computing the timing difference according to block 503, and by comparing and computing the difference between the wideband uplink co-phasing value computed by the base station and the wideband downlink co-phasing value received in the feedback report. That correction value may be used among the base stations of the CoMP group to adjust communications accordingly, such as by adjusting the phase and timing at wireless radios 700a-t.”: [0087]; “ The gNB may then apply a phase correction value to the base stations in the CoMP group. The phase correction value may be based on the timing difference calculated from the difference between uplink slope value calculated by the gNB and the downlink slope value received in the feedback from the UE, and may also be based on the phase difference calculated using equation 8.”: [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of DAVYDOV to include the above recited limitations as taught by FAN5545. The suggestion/motivation would be reducing interference degrade performance on both the downlink and uplink in wireless communication: (FAN5545; [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, DAVYDOV teaches,
a method in a network node (==eNB : [0060]) of causing an access point (==first cooperating point) to transmit a signal (eNB transmit a signal to UE through first cooperating point or second cooperating point as shown in fig. 1), the method comprising:
the first access point obtaining multiple phase alignment correction factors (PACFs) for different access point (==first cooperating point and second cooperating point) the PACF values differing for the different access point (aforesaid eNB receives/obtains/extract “relative phase information” from first cooperating point 104A and second cooperating point 104B ; eNB receives “relative phase information” (==PACFs value in claim ) between first cooperating point and second cooperating point : [0053]; NOTE: indicated relative phase information are different from different cooperating points; “ the eNB 102 may configure the first and second cooperating points to generate signals for a coherent joint transmission 105 (FIG. 1) that is a beamformed transmission based on the 2TX PMI and the 4TX PMI provided by the UE 106”: [0059]; Crosse/Missed information will be address by another reference below); and
for each of the at least one first access points, causing the first access point to transmit a respective first signal to at least one User Equipment (UE) associated with a first access point of the plurality of access point cooperating point and from second cooperating point to UE: [0053], [0060]),
the first access point including the first access point, and
wherein the first signal is phase adjusted using a respective PACF for the first access point based on the first access point group of the plurality of access point groups.
DAVYDOV does not expressively disclose:
… (PACFs) for different access point groups,
the PACF values differing for the different access point groups,
determining access point groups for a plurality of access points,
wherein at least one first access point of the plurality of access points being in a plurality of the access point groups,
the first access point group including the first access point, and
wherein the first signal is phase adjusted using a respective PACF for the first access point based on the first access point group of the plurality of access point groups.
FAN5545, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
… (PACFs) for different access point groups (UE sends feedback reports to eNB through coordinated multipoint (CoMP) groups based on the phase different between pairs of downlink PSRS transmitted by gNB and other base stations of the coordinated multipoint (CoMP)group : [0082]),
the PACF values differing for the different access point groups ( determining a phase correction value based on a timing difference calculated from a difference between an uplink slope value calculated by a gNB and a feedback downlink slope value calculated by a UE from DL PSRS, and also based on a phase difference between a wideband co-phasing value calculated by the gNB and a feedback wideband co-phasing value calculated by the UE. For example, based on CSI-RS transmitted from the base stations in a CoMP group, a UE may compute optimal wideband co-phasing terms between the pairs of base stations in the CoMP group from the downlink channel point of view. In some aspects, computing the optimal wideband co-phasing terms may include computing co-phasing terms for each tone of a plurality of tones over a whole spectrum band. : [0076]),
determining access point groups for a plurality of access points, wherein at least one first access point of the plurality of access points being in a plurality of the access point groups (“determining a phase correction value based on a timing difference calculated from a difference between an uplink slope value calculated by a gNB and a feedback downlink slope value calculated by a UE from DL PSRS, and also based on a phase difference between a wideband co-phasing value calculated by the gNB and a feedback wideband co-phasing value calculated by the UE. For example, based on CSI-RS transmitted from the base stations in a CoMP group, a UE may compute optimal wideband co-phasing terms between the pairs of base stations in the CoMP group from the downlink channel point of view. In some aspects, computing the optimal wideband co-phasing terms may include computing co-phasing terms for each tone of a plurality of tones over a whole spectrum band. ”: [0076]; “ base station determines a phase correction value to apply to communications by the base stations in the CoMP group. The phase correction value may be based on the timing difference calculated from the difference in the calculated uplink slope value and the reported downlink slope value, and may also be based on the difference between the computed wideband uplink co-phasing value and the reported wideband downlink co-phasing value. For example, gNB 105, under control of controller/processor 240, can determine the phase correction value by computing the timing difference according to block 503, and by comparing and computing the difference between the wideband uplink co-phasing value computed by the base station and the wideband downlink co-phasing value received in the feedback report. That correction value may be used among the base stations of the CoMP group to adjust communications accordingly, such as by adjusting the phase and timing at wireless radios 700a-t.”: [0087]; “ The gNB may then apply a phase correction value to the base stations in the CoMP group. The phase correction value may be based on the timing difference calculated from the difference between uplink slope value calculated by the gNB and the downlink slope value received in the feedback from the UE, and may also be based on the phase difference calculated using equation 8.”: [0109]).
the first access point group including the first access point ( see fig. 1 where eNB is includes with all CoMP group), and
wherein the first signal is phase adjusted using a respective PACF for the first access point based on the first access point group of the plurality of access point groups (“the base station determines a phase correction value to apply to communications by the base stations in the CoMP group. The phase correction value may be based on the timing difference calculated from the difference in the calculated uplink slope value and the reported downlink slope value, and may also be based on the difference between the computed wideband uplink co-phasing value and the reported wideband downlink co-phasing value. For example, gNB 105, under control of controller/processor 240, can determine the phase correction value by computing the timing difference according to block 503, and by comparing and computing the difference between the wideband uplink co-phasing value computed by the base station and the wideband downlink co-phasing value received in the feedback report. That correction value may be used among the base stations of the CoMP group to adjust communications accordingly, such as by adjusting the phase and timing at wireless radios 700a-t.”: [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of DAVYDOV to include the above recited limitations as taught by FAN5545. The suggestion/motivation would be reducing interference degrade performance on both the downlink and uplink in wireless communication: (FAN5545; [0005]).
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 2, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the PACF (==phase correction value )for each UE is determined such that signals transmitted to the UE by access points in the access point group associated with the UE are received at the UE with aligned phases ( phase correction value to apply to CoMP group: [0087]; UE being served by a CoMP group of base stations : [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein determining the PACF based on the access point group associated with at least one of the UEs comprises selecting a PACF associated with an access point group associated with each of at least one of the UEs, wherein the access point group includes the first access point (correction value may be used among the base stations of the CoMP group to adjust communications accordingly, such as by adjusting the phase and timing at wireless radios 700a-t.: [0087]; “ Base station 105a may determine the phase correction value based on the phase difference and the timing difference. Base station 105a would then use the phase correction value to adjust the communications of the base stations in the CoMP group.”: [0111]).
Regarding claim 4, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1,wherein the access point group associated with each UE comprises an access point group serving the UE (abstract]).
Regarding claim 5, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1,wherein determining the PACF based on the access point group associated with each UE comprises receiving an indication of the first PACF or an indication of the access point group associated with the first UE from another access point or a central processor ([0069]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 6, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1,comprising receiving a symbol to be transmitted to one of the UEs from another access point or a central processor, and wherein transmitting the respective first signal to the one of the UEs comprises transmitting the symbol to the UE phase adjusted using the PACF determined for the UE (symbol timing drift between base stations and CoMP group: [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1, comprising, for each access point group, performing phase alignment with other access points in the access point group to calculate the PACF for the first access point for the access point group ([0076]).
Regarding claim 9, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 8, comprising forwarding the PACF for each access point group to a central processor (see fig. 8: processor in gNB: [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1,wherein transmitting the respective first signal each UE, wherein the first signal is phase adjusted using the PACF determined for the UE, comprises phase rotating the first signal by the PACF (see fig. 2: “ The one or more antennas utilized by the UE 106 as well as cooperating points 104 may comprise one or more directional or omnidirectional antennas, including, for example, dipole antennas, monopole antennas, patch antennas, loop antennas, microstrip antennas or other types of antennas suitable for transmission of RF signals. In some embodiments, instead of two or more antennas, a single antenna with multiple apertures may be used. In these embodiments, each aperture may be considered a separate antenna. In MIMO embodiments, the antennas may be effectively separated to take advantage of spatial diversity and the different channel characteristics that may result between the antennas of two communication stations. In some MIMO embodiments, the antennas may be separated by up to 1/10 of a wavelength or more. In LTE embodiments, an antenna may refer to an antenna port which may refer to one or more antennas operating together.”: [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches, The method of claim 1,wherein determining the PACF for each UE based on the access point group associated with the UE comprises determining the PACF for the UE based on an identifier of the access point group associated with the UE ((“ Each of the base stations in the CoMP group may transmit downlink PSRS (e.g., CSI-RS).”: [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, DAVYDOV teaches,
The method of claim 12, wherein at least one second access point of the plurality of access points is in a plurality of the access point groups (==second CoMP), and the method 1000 comprises, for each of the at least one second access points, causing the second access point to transmit a respective second signal to at least one User Equipment (UE) associated with a first access point group of the plurality of access point groups (==105 from second coMP to UE in fig. 1), wherein the first access point group includes the first access point, and wherein the first signal is phase adjusted using a respective first phase alignment correction factor (PACF) for the first access point based on the first access point group of the plurality of access point groups (“ apply, by the base station, a phase correction value to communications by the plurality of base stations in the CoMP group, wherein the phase correction value is based on the timing difference and the difference between the wideband uplink co-phasing value and the wideband downlink co-phasing value.”: [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, DAVYDOV teaches,
The method of claim 12, comprising receiving, from each of the plurality of access points, an indication of one or more PACFs for each access point group that includes the access point ([0074]-[0075])
Regarding claim 15, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, DAVYDOV teaches,
The method of claim 12,comprising determining one or more of the access point groups for each of the plurality of access points (CoMP group : [0074]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 16, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, DAVYDOV teaches,
The method of claim 15, comprising sending, to each of the plurality of access points, the one or more groups that include the access point (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches,
The method of claim 12,comprising receiving, from each of the plurality of access points, one or more PACFs for the access point for one or more access point groups that include the access point (phase correction value for group: [0087]).
Regarding claim 18, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches,
The method of claim 12,wherein the first access point group associated with the at least one UE comprises an access point group serving the UE (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches,
The method of claim 12,wherein, for each of the at least one first access points, causing the first access point to transmit the respective first signal to at least one UE associated with a first access point group causes the first access point to transmit the first signal phase rotated by the respective PACF for the first access point for the first group ([0034]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 20, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches,
The method of claim 12,wherein, for each of the at least one first access points, causing the first access point to transmit the respective first signal to at least one UE associated with a first access point group comprises sending, to the first access point, one or more respective symbols to be transmitted to the at least one UE ([0034]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 21, DAVYDOV in view of FAN5545 teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, FAN5545 teaches,
The method of claim 20, comprising sending, to the first access point, the respective PACF to be used when transmitting the one or more respective symbols to the at least one UE ([0034]-[0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO-892.
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411