DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive means” in claim 38.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-31 and 36-37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 23, line 4: the limitation “a conveyor” should be “the conveyor” since the limitation has been previously introduced.
Regarding claim 26, line 2: the limitation “two support members” should be “two of the support members”.
Regarding claim 30, lines 2-3: the limitation “one or more support members” should be “one or more of the plurality of article support members”.
Regarding claim 36, lines 2-3: the limitation “one or more support members” should be “one or more of the plurality of article support members”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-27, 29, 32, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaoka (JP 2016022472).
Regarding claim 23, Yamaoka discloses an apparatus for sorting articles comprising: a conveyor (1) having a plurality of article support members (3), each article support member provided to extend longitudinally parallel to a direction of movement of the conveyor, the support members being provided spaced transversely across the conveyor and being pivotable at a first end about a transverse axis to unload the article from the conveyor (fig 1-4).
Regarding claim 24, Yamaoka also discloses each article support member has a releasable latch (25a-d, 26, 27; paragraph 0016 of translation) at a second end opposite the first end.
Regarding claim 25, Yamaoka also discloses the latch is self-latching (paragraph 0016 of translation).
Regarding claim 26, Yamaoka also discloses the support members are configured such that two support members support one article (device is capable of supporting one article on two support members).
Regarding claim 27, Yamaoka also discloses each support member comprises a first part (3) and a second part (25a-d, 26, 27, 29) pivotably connected to the first part.
Regarding claim 29, Yamaoka also discloses arc limiting means (limited to 55 degrees by cams 32; paragraph 0018) provided on at least one of the conveyor or the support member configured to limit an arc of movement of the support member about the transverse axis.
Regarding claim 32, Yamaoka also discloses a method of sorting articles, the method comprising supporting an article on a plurality of article support members (3) arranged transversely across a conveyor (1), and allowing at least one of the article support members to pivot about a transverse axis to unload an article from the conveyor (fig 1-4).
Regarding claim 33, Yamaoka also discloses unlatching an end of the article support member to allow the article support member to pivot about an opposite end to unload the article (fig 1-4).
Regarding claim 35, Yamaoka also discloses limiting an arc of movement of the support member about the transverse axis (limited to 55 degrees by cams 32; paragraph 0018).
Claims 23-25, 27-29 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horii (JP 59036020).
Regarding claim 23, Horii discloses an apparatus for sorting articles comprising: a conveyor (fig 17) having a plurality of article support members (15), each article support member provided to extend longitudinally parallel to a direction of movement of the conveyor, the support members being provided spaced transversely across the conveyor and being pivotable at a first end about a transverse axis to unload the article from the conveyor (fig 8, 11, 16, 17).
Regarding claim 24, Horii also discloses each article support member has a releasable latch (11; fig 8, 11, 16) at a second end opposite the first end.
Regarding claim 25, Horii also discloses the latch is self-latching (fig 8, 11, 16, 17).
Regarding claim 27, Horii also discloses each support member comprises a first part (5) and a second part (16, fig 14 or 19, fig 16) pivotably connected to the first part.
Regarding claim 28, Horii also discloses the first part is configured to support an article and the second part is configured to allow the first part to be raised for weighing the article (fig 14, 16 and 17).
Regarding claim 29, Horii also discloses arc limiting means (14) provided on at least one of the conveyor or the support member configured to limit an arc of movement of the support member about the transverse axis.
Regarding claim 32, Horii also discloses a method of sorting articles, the method comprising supporting an article on a plurality of article support members (15) arranged transversely across a conveyor (fig 17), and allowing at least one of the article support members to pivot about a transverse axis to unload an article from the conveyor (fig 8, 11, 16, 17).
Regarding claim 33, Horii also discloses unlatching an end of the article support member to allow the article support member to pivot about an opposite end to unload the article (fig 8, 11, 16, 17).
Regarding claim 34, Horii also discloses weighing the article prior to unloading (fig 17).
Regarding claim 35, Horii also discloses limiting an arc of movement of the support member about the transverse axis (via element 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-31 and 36-37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 38-41 are allowed.
Regarding claim 38, Roda (US Patent 3,575,292) is considered the closest prior art and discloses a conveyor loading apparatus for loading articles onto a conveyor (fig 1), the apparatus comprising:
a receiver (4) configured to receive an article;
a drive means (5) configured to:
raise the receiver into a position for receiving an article to be loaded onto the conveyor (fig 1); and
move the article onto a support surface (11,12) of the conveyor.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim 38 is the inclusion of lowering the receiver as the article moves onto the receiver to thereby controllably decelerate the article in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not taught nor fairly suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KRC/Examiner, Art Unit 3651 12/12/2025
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651