DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 11-20 now depend on claim 1. Since, functionally, only device claims are present in claims 1-20, (i.e. claims 11-20 are treated as device claims instead of method claims as they are all dependent on the device of claim 1) Examiner rescinds the requirement for restriction, as Applicant has elected the device for prosecution.
Examiner further notes that, if the Applicant make independent method claims in future prosecution, they will be treated under an election by original presentation, and will be withdrawn. (See MPEP 821.03)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheng et al. (US 20200194624 A1, hereinafter Sheng)
With regards to claim 1, Sheng discloses a micro-light emitting diode (uLED) device (FIG. 12) comprising:
a plurality of micro-light emitting diodes (uLEDs), each of the uLEDs comprising:
a pixel; (epitaxial layered structure 4)
an N-contact (N electrode 51) in contact with the pixel and having an N-contact top surface;
a P-contact (P second electrode 52) in contact with the pixel and having a P-contact top surface;
an N-contact test pad (extension electrode 511 connected to N electrode 51) on the N-contact top surface and having an N-contact test pad surface; and
a P-contact test pad (extension electrode 521 connected to P electrode 52) on the P-contact top surface and having a P-contact test pad surface; and
a primary release layer (insulating protective layer 7) positioned between all of the N-contacts and P-contacts of the uLEDs. (See FIG. 12)
With regards to claim 2, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1, wherein a first surface area of the N- contact test pad surface is larger than a second surface area of the N-contact top surface and a third surface area of the P-contact test pad surface is larger than a fourth surface area of the P-contact top surface. (see FIG. 12, where a surface of electrodes 511 and 521 facing away from the contacts 51 and 52 are larger than the surfaces facing towards the contacts 51 and 52)
With regards to claim 7, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1, wherein each of the N-contacts and the P- contacts comprise one or more of: aluminum (AI), nickel (Ni), titanium (Ti), gold (Au), platinum (Pt), and palladium (Pd). (Paragraph [0052]: “The first and second electrodes 51, 52 may be made of a material such as Au/AuZn/Au.”)
With regards to claim 9, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1 further comprising a device substrate (growth substrate 1, see FIG. 12) that supports the pixel.
With regards to claim 10, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 9, wherein the device substrate comprises:
a material selected from the group consisting of: a sapphire, silicon carbide, and Ill- nitride. (paragraph [0022]: “the growth substrate 1 is made of a gallium arsenide (GaAs) -based material, but is not limited thereto. Other materials such as gallium phosphide (GaP)-based material and indium phosphide (InP)-based material may also be used to make the growth substrate 1.”)
With regards to claims 11-20, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1.
It should be noted that the limitations of claims 11-20 are being interpreted as a product by process, and will not be given patentable weight. (See MPEP 2113 I.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (US 20200194624 A1, hereinafter Sheng)
With regards to claim 8, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1.
However, Sheng does not explicitly teach wherein each of the N-contact test pad and the P-contact test pad comprises one or more of: copper (Cu), aluminum (AI), nickel (Ni), titanium (Ti), titanium-tungsten (TiW), silver (Ag), gold (Au),platinum (Pt), and palladium (Pd).
It should be noted that Sheng does teach the electrodes 51 and 52 comprise gold. (Paragraph [0052]: “The first and second electrodes 51, 52 may be made of a material such as Au/AuZn/Au.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sheng to have gold contact pads, as gold is merely one of a limited number of well-known conductors to be substituted for predictable results, namely conduction.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et al. (US 20200194624 A1, hereinafter Sheng) in view of Wei et al. (WO 2021196817, hereinafter Sheng)
With regards to claim 3, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1.
However, Sheng does not explicitly teach wherein the primary release layer comprises a photoresist material.
Wei teaches using a photoresist in a passivation layer 3 (See abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sheng to have a photoresist as recited in Wei, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that using photoresist/resin is merely one of a limited number of well-known insulators to be substituted for predictable results, namely insulation.
With regards to claim 4, Sheng in view of Wei teaches uLED device of claim 3.
While Sheng in view of Wei does not explicitly teach wherein the photoresist material comprises polydimethylglutarimide (PMGI) and/or a cyclopentanone-based polymer, it should be noted that Wei teaches using a photoresist, where the above materials are some of a limited number of well-known photoresists that can be substituted to obtain predictable results, namely insulation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sheng in view of Wei to have a specific photoresist as recited above.
With regards to claim 5, Sheng discloses the uLED device of claim 1.
Wei further teaches further comprising a secondary release layer covering all of the N-contact test pads and the P-contact test pads. (passivation layer 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sheng to have the passivation layer as recited in Wei, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that using the passivation layer 5 helps further protect the LED device.
With regards to claim 6, Sheng in view of Wei teaches uLED device of claim 5.
While Sheng in view of Wei does not explicitly teach wherein the secondary release layer comprises a photoresist material, it should be noted that Wei teaches using a photoresist, where the above materials are some of a limited number of well-known photoresists that can be substituted to obtain predictable results, namely insulation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sheng in view of Wei to have a photoresist as recited above.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that using photoresist/resin is merely one of a limited number of well-known insulators to be substituted for predictable results, namely insulation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210249558 A1 – uLED device
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812