DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on August 07, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search/examination burden since a search for the test apparatus will also result in art for the methods of using and manufacturing a test apparatus. This is not found persuasive because art for product inventions do not always include methods for use and testing of said product.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 07, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheng et. al. (US 20200194624 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sheng teaches a test apparatus (Fig 17 unlabeled apparatus, [0017]) for an array of micro-light emitting diode (uLEDs) (Fig 17 unlabeled uLEDs correspond to Fig 15 LED1, [0060]), the test device comprising: a primary release layer (Fig 10 protective layer 7, [0054]) positioned on the array of uLEDs (Fig 10 layers 4xx corresponding to Fig 3 epitaxial layered structure 4, [0054]); an N-contact test pad template (Figs 10 and 15 extension electrode 511, lead wire 56, [0060]) in contact with N-contacts (Fig 10 electrode 51, [0040]) of the uLEDs and an N- contact testing bus (Figs 15 and 17 electrodes 53a, [0060]); and a P-contact test pad template (Figs 10 and 15 extension electrode 521, lead wire 57, [0060]) in contact with P-contacts (Fig 10 electrode 52, [0040]) of the uLEDs and a P- contact testing bus (Figs 15 and 17 electrodes 53b, [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Sheng teaches the N-contacts (Fig 10 electrode 51, [0040]) of the uLEDs (Fig 17 unlabeled uLEDs correspond to Fig 15 LED1, [0060]) are connected in parallel (Fig 17, [0063]) with the N-contact testing bus (Figs 15 and 17 electrodes 53a, [0060]) and/or the P-contacts of the uLEDs (Fig 17 unlabeled uLEDs correspond to Fig 15 LED1, [0060]) are connected in parallel (Fig 17, [0063]) with the P-contact testing bus (Figs 15 and 17 electrodes 53b, [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Sheng teaches an array support (Fig 17 not shown or labeled but there is inherently a substrate/support since the uLEDs are not floating corresponds to Figs 15 growth substrate 1, [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et. al. (US 20200194624 A1), in view of Song (US 20230061915 A1).
Sheng fails to teach the primary release layer comprises a photoresist material.
Regarding the choice of using a photoresist material as the primary release layer, this material would have been obvious to try. Sheng teaches a protective layer formed on and covering the semiconductor LED structure made of inorganic material (Fig 9 protective layer 7, [0054]; made of SiO2, [0044]). Song teaches a passivation layer formed on and covering a semiconductor LED structure (Fig 12a passivation layer 156, [0147] and [0213]). Further, Song teaches the passivation layer may be organic (photoresist material) or inorganic (silica) ([0147]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the desired protection of uLED semiconductor materials would be achieved equally, regardless of which material is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et. al. (US 20200194624 A1), in view of Song (US 20230061915 A1), in further view of Chong (US 20210328121 A1).
Sheng as modified in claim 3 fails to teach the photoresist material comprises polydimethylglutarimide (PMGI) and/or (optional so not considered) a cyclopentanone-based polymer.
Regarding the choice of using polydimethylglutarimide (PMGI) as a photoresist material, this material would have been obvious to try. As stated above, Song teaches a photoresist material could be used as a passivation layer in order to protect the uLED semiconductor materials. Chong teaches PMGI was a photoresist known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention ([0028]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the desired protection of uLED semiconductor materials would be achieved equally, regardless of which photoresist material is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Claims 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng et. al. (US 20200194624 A1), in view of Tsai et. al. (US 20210249558 A1), hereinafter Tsai.
Regarding claim 5, Sheng fails to teach the uLED array comprises a device substrate comprising a material selected from the group consisting of: a sapphire, silicon carbide, and Ill-nitride.
Regarding the choice of using sapphire, silicon carbide, and Ill-nitride as a device substrate, this material would have been obvious to try. Sheng teaches uLED devices substrate is gallium arsenide (GaAs) ([0022]) for growing AlGaInP ([0032]). Tsai teaches the growth substrate for the device is based on the semiconductor material that is grown upon it ([0020]). Further, Tsai teaches GaAs for growing AlGaInP and sapphire for growing AlGaN ([0020]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the semiconductor material desired for the uLED semiconductor materials would enable the fabrication of a uLED array, regardless of which substrate is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Regarding claim 7, Sheng fails to teach each of the N-contact test pad template and the P-contact test pad template comprises one or more of: copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), titanium (Ti), titanium-tungsten (TiW), silver (Ag), gold (Au), platinum (Pt), and palladium (Pd).
Regarding the choice of using one or more of the metals from the list for N/P-contact test pad templates, these materials would have been obvious to try. Sheng teaches P and N contacts made of gold (Au) ([0052]). Tsai teaches a list of the materials of the testing circuit ([0045]). Further, Tsai teaches the materials used for the testing circuit would depend on the user’s requirements ([0045]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the materials used for the contact test pad templates would enable the fabrication of a test circuit, regardless of which material is chosen. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Regarding claims 8-10, Sheng fails to teach testing greater than or equal to a set number of uLEDs at a time.
However, Sheng teaches the distribution for test electrodes may be adjusted according to practical requirements; and micro LEDs can be tested in selected regions ([0062]). Tsai teaches a parallel testing circuit with N LEDs, K rows, and M columns, there being no apparent limit on the number of LEDs, rows, and columns (Fig 4A, [0034]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the test circuits/apparatus of Sheng and Tsai would be capable of testing the numbers of uLEDs at a time as claimed. Further, as the structure of Sheng and Tsai are substantially identical to the structure of the instant invention as claimed, the structure of Sheng or Tsai would be capable of testing the number of uLEDs as claimed. MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Examiner notes that the limitation of “at a time” is being interpreted as “at one time” or “in an instance.” It is known in the art that testing apparatuses perform continuously with minimal stoppages. The claim as written could be interpreted to mean a testing apparatus testing 50 uLEDs on wafer after wafer of uLEDs could achieve that number as well, since after 10,000 continuous wafers, the limitation of 500,000 would be reached.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813