CTNF 18/717,774 CTNF 89658 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is response to the application filed on 06/07/2024. Claims 42-66 are pending and herein considered. Claims 1-41 are cancelled. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on 06/07/2024 . These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner . Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 06/07/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CRR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 42-44, 46-48, 50-51, 53-56, 58-65 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated Yang et al. (U.S 2020/0178299) in view of IEEE: VERMA, LOCHAN et al., "RTS/CTS frames in 11be", doc.: IEEE 802.11-17/xxxxr0, April 2020, 1-17; hereinafter “IEEE-Verma” . For claim 42 : Yang discloses a method of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining, by a wireless communication device, one or more idle bandwidth portions of a wireless channel (see Yang, at least paragraph [0056]-[0057]; a wireless communication device may perform a CCA process for a primary 80 MHz bandwidth channel and a secondary 80 MHz bandwidth channel of a wideband channel to determin e whether a 160 MHz bandwidth portion of the wide bandwidth channel is available or busy) ; estimating, by the wireless communication device, one or more reception conditions at a further wireless communication device (see Yang, at least paragraph [0070]; perform measu rements of the channel based on the sounding packets and subsequently provide feedback to the beamformer based on the measu rements, for example, in the form of a feedback matrix) ; and Yang does not explicitly disclose using a transmission bandwidth in the one or more idle bandwidth portions of the wireless channel, sending, by the wireless communication device, a wireless data transmission to the further wireless communication device, wherein the transmission bandwidth of the wireless data transmission is selectively punctured based on the estimated one or more reception conditions. IEEE-Verma, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Yang fails: Punctured RTS Transmission Rules where: RTS transmitted only on 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle and that yield a valid large-size RU aggregation mode and RTS transmitted on all 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle which may accommodate cases such as CTS is returned on 801160MHz BW, wherein 20MHz puncturing is allowed (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 2-4, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by IEEE-Verma. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks allow for efficiently controlling wireless transmissions depend on idle portion bandwidth. For claims 43 and 55 : In addition to rejection in claims 43 and 55, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose comprising receiving, by the wireless communication device, control information from the further wireless communication device, and wherein said estimating comprises estimating, by the wireless communication device, the one or more reception conditions based on the control information received from the further wireless communication device (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 2-4, 7; RTS transmitted only on 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle and that yield a valid large-size RU aggregation mode and RTS transmitted on all 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle which may accommodate cases such as CTS is returned on 801160MHz BW, wherein 20MHz puncturing is allowed). The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks allow for efficiently controlling wireless transmissions depend on idle portion bandwidth. For claims 44 and 56 : In addition to rejection in claims 44 and 56, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose wherein said receiving comprises: receiving the control information in a Clear To Send (CTS) frame transmitted by the further wireless communication device (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 2-4, 7; RTS transmitted only on 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle) ; or receiving the control information in a trigger message transmitted by the further wireless communication device to trigger the wireless data transmission (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 10; Setting in User Info field of MU-RTS Trigger Frame) . The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks allow for efficiently controlling wireless transmissions depend on idle portion bandwidth. For claims 46 and 58 : In addition to rejection in claims 46 and 58, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose wherein at least a part of the control information is determined individually for each of the one or more idle bandwidth portions (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 5; option 1-2; each of the one or more idle bandwidth portions) . The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks allow for efficiently controlling wireless transmissions depend on idle portion bandwidth. For claims 47 and 59 : In addition to rejection in claims 47 and 59, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose wherein the control information indicates the one or more idle bandwidth portions (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 7; RTS can carry a special User Info field indicating and slide 5, option 1-2; each of the one or more idle bandwidth portions) . The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks allow for efficiently controlling wireless transmissions depend on idle portion bandwidth. For claims 48 and 60 : In addition to rejection in claim 48, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose comprising performing, by the wireless communication device, one or more measurements on the wireless channel, and wherein said estimating comprises estimating the one or more reception conditions based on the one or more measurements (see Yang, at least paragraph [0070]; perform measu rements of the channel based on the sounding packets and subsequently provide feedback to the beamformer based on the measu rements, for example, in the form of a feedback matrix) ; and IEEE-Verma, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Yang fails: Punctured RTS Transmission Rules where: RTS transmitted only on 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle and that yield a valid large-size RU aggregation mode and RTS transmitted on all 20MHz sub channels that have CCA Idle which may accommodate cases such as CTS is returned on 801160MHz BW, wherein 20MHz puncturing is allowed (see IEEE-Verma, at least slides 2-4, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by IEEE-Verma. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks allow for efficiently controlling wireless transmissions depend on idle portion bandwidth. For claim 50 : For claim 50, this claim rejects with similar rational as claim 43. For claims 51 and 61 : In addition to rejection in claims 51 and 61, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose further comprising, based on the estimated one or more reception conditions, adapting, by the wireless communication device: a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) of the wireless data transmission; and/or transmit power of the wireless data transmission (see Yang, at least paragraph [0089]; while in a transmission mode, data obtained from the processor 506 is provided to a coder, which encodes the data to provide encoded bits. The encoded bits are then mapped to points in a modulation constellation (using a selected MCS) to provide modulated symbols) . For claims 53 and 62 : In addition to rejection in claims 53 and 62, Yang- IEEE-Verma further disclose wherein the wireless communication system is based on a Wireless Local Area Network technology according to the IEEE 802.11 standards family (see Yang, at least paragraph [0072]; IEEE 802.11 protocol) . For claim 54 : For claim 54, claim 54 is directed to a method of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system which has similar scope as claim 42. Therefore, claim 54 remains un-patentable for the same reasons. For claim 63 : For claim 63, claim 63 is directed to a wireless communication device for a wireless communication system which has similar scope as claim 42. Therefore, claim 63 remains un-patentable for the same reasons. For claim 64 : For claim 64, claim 64 is directed to a wireless communication device for a wireless communication system which has similar scope as claim 42. Therefore, claim 64 remains un-patentable for the same reasons. For claim 66 : For claim 66, this claim rejects with similar rational as claim 54 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 45, 49 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated Yang et al. (U.S 2020/0178299) in view of IEEE: VERMA, LOCHAN et al., "RTS/CTS frames in 11be", doc.: IEEE 802.11-17/xxxxr0, April 2020, 1-17; hereinafter “IEEE-Verma” further in view of Jo et al. (WO-2011056048-A2) . For claim 45 : In addition to rejection in claim 45, Yang- IEEE-Verma does not explicitly disclose wherein the control information comprises: a Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) estimated by the further wireless communication device; a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio (SINR) estimated by the further wireless communication device; a Signal-to-Interference Ratio (SIR) estimated by the further wireless communication device; or a duration of interference estimated by the further wireless communication device. Jo, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Yang- IEEE-Verma fails: Punctured RTS Transmission Rules where: The SNRs of signals from the macro UEs measured at each micro UE may be expressed as an SNR matrix where The initial information acquisition module 181 may receive control information such as the SNR matrix {/m.sub.,,,} from the micro UEs on micro control channels (see Jo , at least pages 45-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Jo. The motivation for doing this is to provide a system networks will improv e the performance of spectrum sensing, thereby increasing sum throughput. For claims 49 and 57 : For claims 49 and 57, this claim rejects with similar rational as claim 45. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claim 52 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, set forth in this Office action. Conclusion The prior arts made or record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosures. Yang et al. (U.S 2022/0030625), discloses CCA techniques usable to efficiently identify portions of a wide bandwidth channel that are idle. In some aspects, portions of the wide bandwidth channel may be punctured for transmission based on the CCA results. Wand et al. (U.S 2013/0010632), discloses The receiving device estimates channel quality information based on the sounding signal for each sub-channel. The channel quality information includes estimated average SNR and recommended MCS and other channel quality metrics. The receiving device transmits a feedback message to the transmitting device. Frenne et al. (U.S 10,063,304), discloses methods relating to accurate Channel State Information (CSI) measurements for a License Assisted Secondary Cell (LA SCell) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAN-HUONG TRUONG whose telephone number is (571)270-5829. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached at 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov . Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Lan-Huong Truong/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit: 2464 06/12/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/717,774 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464