DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The disclosure does not recite that the application claims the benefits of an international application, PCT/EP2022/085103 filed on 12/09/2022. The applicant is reminded to update the continuity data of their invention. Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 15 must be amended to properly claim antecedence to the independent claim, i.e. —The
Claims 17 must be amended to properly claim antecedence to the independent claim, i.e. —The
Claims 18 must be amended to properly claim antecedence to the independent claim, i.e. —The
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0338753 to Schultz et al. (hereinafter “Schultz”) in view of EP 1167202 to Hanusch (hereinafter “Hanusch”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz teaches a sorting robot for sorting target objects (see figure 1, and [0003, and 0017-0019]) comprising a manipulator [0020, 0026, 0034] moveable within a working area, a suction gripper (figure 1, #110) connected to the manipulator (see figure 1) and arranged to generate a negative pressure to selectively grip a target object in the working area (see figure 1, and [0017, and 0026]), and a cleaning mechanism (figure 4A, #481) external to the suction gripper (see figure 4A) for cleaning the suction gripper, wherein the suction gripper is configured to move from a first position remote from the cleaning mechanism to a second position wherein in which the cleaning mechanism contacts the suction gripper [0034], and that the cleaning mechanism may include a brush, cloth, sponge, wedge, blade, air jet, or other component that can mechanically clean or clear debris from the suction gripper [0034].
Schultz does not teach that the cleaning mechanism comprises a cleaning solvent supply external to the suction gripper.
Hanusch teaches a cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) for grippers of a packing machine, wherein the cleaning device comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water (reads on “cleaning solvent”), and a nozzle device for wetting the surfaces of the gripper with the liquid (English translation, [0008, 0012, and 0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz wherein the cleaning mechanism comprises a cleaning solvent supply external to the suction gripper, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Hanusch teaches that it is effective to clean grippers with a cleaning device, wherein the cleaning device comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water, and a nozzle device for wetting the surfaces of the gripper with the liquid (English translation, [0008, 0012, and 0022] of Schultz).
Regarding claim 2, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) is an open container and the suction gripper is configured to lower from the first position above the open container to a second position wherein in which at least part of the suction gripper is submerged in the cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) ([0034] of Schultz, and English translation of [0008] of Hanusch).
Regarding claim 3, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that the open container can be mounted to the sorting robot ([0034] of Schultz, and English translation of [0026] of Hanusch, which teaches that the tub can be integrated into the machine).
Regarding claim 4, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that the open container can be mounted to a frame of the sorting robot ([0034] of Schultz, and English translation of [0026] of Hanusch, which teaches that the tub can be integrated into the machine).
Regarding claim 5, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that the cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) is in fluid communication with at least one first cleaning nozzle configured to spray cleaning solvent droplets (English translation of [0008, and 0012] of Hanusch), and that the suction gripper is configured to move from the first position remote from the cleaning solvent droplets to a second position in contact with the cleaning solvent droplets ([0034] of Schultz, and English translation [0012, and 0028] of Hanusch).
Regarding claim 16, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that the cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water (reads on “cleaning solvent”) (English translation, [0008 and 0022] of Hanusch).
Regarding claim 17, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that the cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water, wherein cleaning agents (reads on “additives”) can be added to the liquid (English translation, [0022] of Hanusch).
Regarding claim 18, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the cleaning agent (reads on “additives”) one or more of a disinfectant, a surfactant, a detergent, and/or a dispersant.
However, since the apparatus of the Schultz/Hanusch teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Schultz/Hanusch teaching is fully capable of being used for the cleaning a suction gripper wherein the cleaning agent (reads on “additives”) is one or more of a disinfectant, a surfactant, a detergent, and/or a dispersant.
Regarding claim 9, Schultz teaches a sorting robot for sorting target objects (see figure 1, and [0003, and 0017-0019]) comprising a manipulator [0020, 0026, 0034] moveable within a working area, a suction gripper (figure 1, #110) connected to the manipulator (see figure 1) and arranged to generate a negative pressure to selectively grip a target object in the working area (see figure 1, and [0017, and 0026]), and a cleaning mechanism (figure 4A, #481) external to the suction gripper (see figure 4A) for cleaning the suction gripper [0034], wherein the cleaning mechanism may include a brush, cloth, sponge, wedge, blade, air jet, or other component that can mechanically clean or clear debris from the suction gripper [0034].
Schultz does not teach that the cleaning mechanism comprises a cleaning solvent supply in fluid communication with a cleaning solvent outlet, wherein the cleaning solvent outlet is mounted external to the suction gripper.
Hanusch teaches a cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) for grippers of a packing machine, wherein the cleaning device comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water (reads on “cleaning solvent”), and a nozzle device (reads on “cleaning solvent outlet”) for wetting the surfaces of the gripper with the liquid, wherein the nozzle device is mounted external to the gripper (English translation, [0008, 0012, and 0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz wherein the cleaning mechanism comprises a cleaning solvent supply in fluid communication with a cleaning solvent outlet, wherein the cleaning solvent outlet is mounted external to the suction gripper, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Hanusch teaches that it is effective to clean grippers with a cleaning device, wherein the cleaning device comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water, and a nozzle device for wetting the surfaces of the gripper with the liquid, wherein the nozzle device is mounted external to the gripper (English translation, [0008, 0012, and 0022] of Schultz).
Regarding claim 10, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the cleaning solvent outlet is remote from an airflow flow path inside the suction gripper.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the cleaning solvent outlet is rearranged at a position remote from an airflow flow path inside the suction gripper, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate the maintenance of different areas of the suction gripper. In addition, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Regarding claim 11, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the cleaning solvent outlet is configured to deliver cleaning solvent to more of the manipulator, the suction gripper, and/or a conveyor.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the cleaning solvent outlet is rearranged to deliver cleaning solvent to more of the manipulator, the suction gripper, and/or a conveyor, with a reasonable expectation to success, for the purpose of cleaning different areas of the sorting robot. In addition, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Regarding claim 14, Schultz/Hanusch further teaches that the cleaning solvent supply is a cleaning solvent tank (English translation [0008] of Hanusch).
Regarding claim 15, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the moveable manipulator is mounted on a frame, and that the cleaning solvent tank is mounted above the suction gripper on the sorting robot frame.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the moveable manipulator is mounted on a frame, and the cleaning solvent tank is mounted above the suction gripper on the sorting robot frame, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing support to the moveable manipulator, and the cleaning solvent tank.
Moreover, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Regarding claim 19, Schultz teaches a method of controlling a waste sorting robot (see figure 1, and [0003, and 0017-0019]) comprising moving a manipulator within a working area (see figure 1, [0026, 0034]), controlling a suction gripper (figure 1, #110) connected to the manipulator (see figure 1) to generate a negative pressure to selectively grip a waste object in the working area (see figure 1, and [0026]), and moving the suction gripper from a first position remote from a cleaning mechanism (figure 4A, #481) to a second position [0034], and cleaning the suction gripper when the suction gripper is in the second position [0034].
Schultz does not teach that the cleaning mechanism comprises a cleaning solvent supply, and the step of supplying the suction gripper with the cleaning solvent supply when the suction gripper is in the second position such that the cleaning solvent supply contacts the suction gripper.
However, Hanusch teaches a method and a cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) for cleaning grippers, wherein the cleaning device comprises a tank filled with a liquid such as water (reads on “cleaning solvent”), and a nozzle device for wetting the surfaces of the gripper with the liquid (English translation, [0008, 0012, and 0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Schultz wherein the cleaning mechanism comprises a cleaning solvent supply, and the step of supplying the suction gripper with the cleaning solvent supply when the suction gripper is in the second position such that the cleaning solvent supply contacts the suction gripper, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Schultz teaches moving the suction gripper from a first position remote from a cleaning mechanism (figure 4A, #481 of Schultz) to a second position, and cleaning the suction gripper when the suction gripper is in the second position, wherein the cleaning mechanism may include a brush, cloth, sponge, wedge, blade, air jet, or other component that can mechanically clean or clear debris from the suction gripper ([0034] of Schultz), and Hanusch teaches that it is effective to clean a gripper by supplying the gripper with a cleaning solvent such as water such that the cleaning solvent contacts the gripper (English translation, [0008, 0012, and 0022] of Hanusch).
Claims 6-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0338753 to Schultz et al. (hereinafter “Schultz”) in view of EP 1167202 to Hanusch (hereinafter “Hanusch”, see attached English translation), and in further view of CN 110479645 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the at least one first cleaning nozzle is configured to spray at least part of the working area.
However, Chen teaches an automatic garbage sorting processing system comprising automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto at least part of the working area, and the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the at least one first cleaning nozzle is configured to spray at least part of the working area, with a reasonable expectation of success, for cleaning at least part of the working area, since Chen teaches that it was known in the art that an automatic garbage sorting processing system can comprise automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto at least part of the working area, and the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen).
Regarding claim 7, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the at least one first cleaning nozzle is configured to spray one or more objects before the one or more objects enter the working area.
However, Chen teaches an automatic garbage sorting processing system comprising automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the at least one first cleaning nozzle is configured to spray one or more objects, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Chen teaches that it was known in the art that an automatic garbage sorting processing system can comprise automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch/Chen wherein the nozzle is rearranged to spray one or more objects before the one or more objects enter the working area, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage as disclosed by Chen (English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen). Furthermore, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Regarding claim 8, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) is in fluid communication with at least one second cleaning nozzle configured to spray cleaning solvent droplets on one or more waste object outside the working area, and that the suction gripper is configured to move from the first position remote from the cleaning solvent droplets to a second position in contact with the waste object, and cleaning solvent droplets.
Chen teaches an automatic garbage sorting processing system comprising automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the cleaning device (reads on “cleaning solvent supply”) is in fluid communication with at least one second cleaning nozzle configured to spray cleaning solvent droplets on one or more waste object, and that the suction gripper is configured to move from the first position remote from the cleaning solvent droplets to a second position in contact with the waste object, and cleaning solvent droplets, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Schultz teaches that the suction gripper is configured to move from a first position remote from the cleaning mechanism to a second position wherein in which the cleaning mechanism contacts the suction gripper ([0034] of Schultz), and Chen teaches that it was known in the art that an automatic garbage sorting processing system can comprise automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch/Chen wherein the nozzle is arranged to spray outside the working area, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage as disclosed by Chen (English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen). Furthermore, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Regarding claim 12, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the cleaning solvent outlet is configured to deliver cleaning solvent to the waste object before the waste object enters the working area.
However, Chen teaches an automatic garbage sorting processing system comprising automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the cleaning solvent outlet is configured to deliver cleaning solvent to the waste object, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Chen teaches that it was known in the art that an automatic garbage sorting processing system can comprise automizing nozzles (figure 1, #34) for spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage (see figure 1, and English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch/Chen wherein the nozzle is arranged to spray the waste object before the waste object enters the working area, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of spraying a disinfectant liquid onto the garbage as disclosed by Chen (English translation abstract, and page 3, lines 15-31 of Chen). Furthermore, the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0338753 to Schultz et al. (hereinafter “Schultz”) in view of EP 1167202 to Hanusch (hereinafter “Hanusch”, see attached English translation), and in further view of CN210160054 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 13, Schultz/Hanusch does not teach that the cleaning solvent outlet is in fluid connection with a supply valve configured to selectively supply a cleaning solvent.
However, it was known in the art that a cleaning solvent outlet can be in fluid connection with a supply valve configured to selectively supply a cleaning solvent. For example, Zhang teaches a liquid supply unit for cleaning a manipulator, wherein the device comprises valves for controlling the input and output of the cleaning liquid (see figure 1, and English translation, abstract and page 3, lines 29-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Schultz/Hanusch wherein the cleaning solvent outlet is in fluid connection with a supply valve configured to selectively supply a cleaning solvent, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Zhang teaches that it was known in the art to incorporate a valve in a liquid supply unit, for the purpose of controlling the input or output of the cleaning liquid through a supply pipe (see figure 1, and English translation, abstract and page 3, lines 29-35 of Zhang).
Conclusion
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714