DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, line 2, “a contact electrode" should read “the contact electrode”.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by OH et al. (KR 20210111920 from IDS and US 20230123503 as English translation), hereinafter OH.
Regarding claim 1, OH teaches a display device (Abstract) including a semiconductor light emitting device (fig. 3, light-emitting devices 300; para. 0061) comprising:
a substrate (first substrate 101; para. 0069);
a first assembly wiring (second electrode lines 210B; para. 0094) and a second assembly wiring (first electrode lines 210A; para. 0094) spaced apart from each other on the substrate (101);
a first insulating layer (bottom portion of first insulating layer 510; para. 0069) disposed between the first assembly wiring (210B) and the second assembly wiring (210A);
a first planarization layer (the main top portion of first insulating layer 510; para. 0069) disposed on the second assembly wiring (210A) and comprising an opening (opening for 300) overlapping the second assembly wiring (210A);
a light emitting device (300) disposed inside the opening (opening for 300) and comprising a first semiconductor layer (fig. 6, first semiconductor layer 310; para. 0156) and a second semiconductor layer (second semiconductor layer 320; para. 0156) on the first semiconductor layer (310), and a contact electrode (fig. 3, first contact electrodes 261A; para. 0096) electrically connecting the second assembly wiring (210A) and the first semiconductor layer (310),
wherein the contact electrode (261A) is in contact with the second assembly wiring (210A) overlapping a side of the first semiconductor layer (left side of 310) and the first planarization layer (510).
Regarding claim 2, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting device (fig. 3, 300) is configured to overlap the first assembly wiring (210B).
Regarding claim 3, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first assembly wiring and the second assembly wiring are made of the same material.
Regarding claim 4, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein an upper portion of the second assembly wiring (fig. 9, upper portion of 210A) is in contact with the first planarization layer (510), and the side surface of the second assembly wiring (side surface of 210A) is in contact with the contact electrode (261A).
Regarding claim 5, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 4, wherein the contact electrode (fig. 9, 261A) is disposed on a side surface of the first planarization layer (side surface of 510) and a side surface of the second assembly wiring (side surface of 210A) inside the opening (opening for 300).
Regarding claim 7, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first assembly wiring (fig. 2, 210B) and the second assembly wiring (210A) comprise a stripe shape (vertical stripes), and wherein the second assembly wiring (210A) is disposed on both sides of the first assembly wiring (210B) in the center.
Regarding claim 9, OH teaches a display device (Abstract) including a semiconductor light emitting device (fig. 3, light-emitting devices 300; para. 0061) comprising:
a substrate (first substrate 101; para. 0069);
a first assembly wiring (second electrode lines 210B; para. 0094) and a second assembly wiring (first electrode lines 210A; para. 0094) alternately arranged on the substrate (101) and spaced apart from each other;
a planarization layer (first insulating layer 510; para. 0069) disposed on the second assembly wiring (210A) and having an opening (opening for 300);
a light emitting device (300) disposed inside the opening (opening for 300) and comprising a first semiconductor layer (fig. 6, first semiconductor layer 310; para. 0156) and a second semiconductor layer (second semiconductor layer 320; para. 0156) on the first semiconductor layer (310); and a contact electrode (fig. 3, first contact electrodes 261A; para. 0096) connecting the second assembly wiring (210A) and the first semiconductor layer (310) of the light emitting device (300) within the opening (opening for 300), wherein the first assembly wiring (210B) is configured to overlap the light emitting device (300), and wherein a side surface of the second assembly wiring (side surface of 210A) is disposed parallel to a side surface of the planarization layer (side surface of 510 on it).
Regarding claim 10, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 9, further comprising a contact electrode (fig. 3, 261A) disposed in contact with the side of the planarization layer (510), the second assembly wiring (210A), and the first semiconductor layer (310).
Regarding claim 11, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 9, further comprising an insulating layer (fig. 3, bottom portion 510) disposed on the first assembly wiring (210B) to insulate the first assembly wiring (210B) and the second assembly wiring (210A).
Regarding claim 12, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 9, wherein the second assembly wiring (fig. 2, 210A) is spaced apart from the first assembly wiring (210B) at a predetermined distance (predetermined width for 300).
Regarding claim 17, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising a structure (fig. 12, 310 has a structure of first, second, and third layers 310A, 310B, and 310C; para. 0205) disposed within the first planarization layer (fig. 3, 310 within 510), and wherein the second assembly electrode (210A) is disposed on the structure (310 structure).
Regarding claim 18, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 17, wherein the contact electrode (fig. 9, 261A) is configured to contact the second assembly electrode (210A on top and right side surfaces) on an upper surface and a side surface.
Regarding claim 19, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising a second insulating layer (fig. 3, encapsulation layer 550; para. 0069) disposed on the contact electrode (261A).
Regarding claim 20, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 19, wherein the contact electrode (fig. 3, 261A) and the second insulating layer (250) are configured to surround (from side and top) the light emitting device (300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH in view of KIM et al. (KR 20200026845 from IDS and US 20230110862 as English translation).
Regarding claim 6, OH teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 5, wherein the light emitting device (fig. 3, 300) further comprises an auxiliary electrode (second contact electrode 262; para. 0070) connected to the second semiconductor layer (320).
OH fails to teach a second planarization layer disposed on the first planarization layer, and
wherein the auxiliary electrode exposed by the second planarization layer.
However, KIM teaches a second planarization layer (KIM: fig. 18, planarization layer 2160; para. 0153) disposed on the first planarization layer (KIM: organic layer 2180; para. 0154, similar to 510 of OH), and
wherein the auxiliary electrode (KIM: upper wiring electrode 2172; para. 0153, similar to 262 of OH) exposed by the second planarization layer (KIM: 2160).
KIM and OH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second planarization layer as taught by KIM.
Doing so would realize an insulator structure to separate wiring electrodes to prevent short (KIM: para. 0158).
Claims 8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH in view of CHO et al. (US 20210327954 from IDS).
Regarding claim 8, OH further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first assembly wiring (fig. 2, 210B) comprises a first part in the shape of a stripe (vertical stripe part), and wherein the second assembly wiring (210A) comprises a stripe-shaped third part (vertical stripe part).
OH fails to teach the first assembly wiring comprises a second part branched from the first part and comprising the shape of a circle and the second assembly wiring comprises a donut-shaped fourth part branched from the third part and surrounding a portion of the second part.
However, CHO teaches the first assembly wiring (CHO: fig. 16, second electrode branch 320B_4; para. 0207, similar to 210B of OH) comprises a second part (CHO: second electrode counter portion 320B2_4; para. 0208) branched from the first part (CHO: second electrode stem portion 320S_4; para. 0208, similar to vertical stripe part of OH) and comprising the shape of a circle (circular shape) and the second assembly wiring (CHO: first electrode branch 310B_4; para. 0207, similar to 210A of OH) comprises a donut-shaped fourth part (CHO: first electrode counter portion 310B2_4 with donut shape; para. 0210) branched from the third part (CHO: first electrode stem portion 310S_4; para. 0210, similar to vertical stripe part of OH) and surrounding a portion of the second part (CHO: 320B2_4).
CHO and OH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second part comprising the shape of a circle and a donut-shaped fourth part as taught by CHO.
Doing so would realize an electrode structure to improve the alignment effect of the light emitting elements (CHO: para. 0203).
Regarding claim 13, OH teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 9 including the first assembly wiring (fig. 2, 210B stripe shape) and the second assembly wiring (210A stripe shape).
OH fails to teach the first assembly wiring comprises a first part and a second part of different shapes, and wherein the second assembly wiring comprises a third part and a fourth part of different shapes.
However, CHO teaches the first assembly wiring (CHO: fig. 16, electrode 320; para. 0051, similar to 210B of OH) comprises a first part (CHO: second electrode stem portion 320S_4 with stripe shape; para. 0208) and a second part (CHO: second electrode counter portion 320B2_4 with circle shape; para. 0208) of different shapes, and wherein the second assembly wiring (CHO: electrode 310; para. 0051) comprises a third part (CHO: first electrode stem portion 310S_4 with stripe shape; para. 0210) and a fourth part (CHO: first electrode counter portion 310B2_4 with donut shape; para. 0210) of different shapes.
CHO and OH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the first assembly wiring comprises a first part and a second part of different shapes, and wherein the second assembly wiring comprises a third part and a fourth part of different shapes as taught by CHO.
Doing so would realize an electrode structure to improve the alignment effect of the light emitting elements (CHO: para. 0203).
Regarding claim 14, OH in view of CHO further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 13, wherein the first part (CHO: fig. 16, 320S_4) and the third part (CHO: 310S_4) comprise the same shape (stripe shape), and the second part (CHO: 320B2_4 with circle shape) and the fourth part (CHO: 310B2_4 with donut shape) comprise different shapes.
Regarding claim 15, OH in view of CHO further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 14, wherein the fourth part (CHO: fig. 16, 310B2_4 with donut shape) is configured to surround a portion of the second part (CHO: 320B2_4 with circle shape).
Regarding claim 16, OH in view of CHO further teaches the display device including the semiconductor light emitting device according to claim 13, wherein the first part and the third part (CHO: fig. 16, in an alternative consideration, switch 1st with 2nd and 3rd with 4th parts, 320B2_4 with circle shape and 310B2_4 with donut shape) are configured to overlap with the opening (OH: opening for LED 300), and the second part and the fourth part (CHO: 320S_4 and 310S_4 with stripe shape, similar to 210B and 210A) are configured to overlap with the planarization layer (OH: 510).
Conclusion
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/EVA Y MONTALVO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818