DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 06/09/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-19 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/09/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 06/09/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2,
The recitation “the receptacle” in line 3 is considered indefinite because it does not have and antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 16,
The recitation “the shielding of the connector” in lines 5-6 is considered indefinite because it does not have and antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
The recitation “a shielding” in line 12 is considered vague because it’s confused with “the shielding” in line 5. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 18,
The recitation “the top side” in line 3 is considered indefinite because it does not have and antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 19,
The recitation “the shielding of the connector” in line 5 is considered indefinite because it does not have and antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9,15-16 and 18-19, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 20170125917), hereinafter Lin, in view of Schuss et al (US 4924236), hereinafter Schuss.
Regarding claim 1,
Lin discloses a connection assembly (a connecting structure CSTDE, Fig 6) for a radiator head (a radiator head RH, Fig 6) of an antenna (an antenna device 70, Fig 1), comprising a connector (a connector includes a connecting ring 51 and a carrier plate 50, Fig 6) and a feeding structure (a balun 60, Fig 6),
the feeding structure comprising a substrate (a dielectric 10B, Fig 6), and at least one signal conductor (a signal conductor SC60, Fig 6), wherein the substrate comprises at least one mating section (a mating part MAT10B, Fig 6), and
the connector comprising at least one receptacle (a connecting ring 51, Fig 6) for receiving the at least one mating section of the substrate, and at least one source connection region (a source connecting region REG51 inside the connecting ring 51, Fig 6).
Lin does not teach the feeding structure comprising at least one ground conductor, and in the source connection region a conductor and a shielding for the conductor are provided, the conductor being the signal conductor of the feeding structure or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure.
However, Schuss teaches a connection assembly (a connecting structure CST10, Fig 2) for a radiator (a patch element 12, Fig 2) of an antenna (a patch radiator 10, Fig 2) comprising a connector (a connector 22, Fig 2) and a feed structure (a feed structure FS, Fig 2), the feeding structure comprising a substrate (a dielectric sheet 18, Fig 2), at least one ground conductor (a conductor 28, Fig 2; col 4, lines 9-11), and at least one signal conductor (a conductor 24, Fig 2), and wherein in a source connection region (a region REG22 of the connector 22, Fig 2) a conductor (a center conductor female jack 36, Fig 2) and a shielding (a shielding conductor 38, Fig 2) for the conductor are provided, the conductor being the signal conductor of the feeding structure (Fig 2) or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a feeding structure comprising at least one ground conductor, and in a source connection region a conductor and a shielding for the conductor are provided, the conductor being a signal conductor of the feeding structure in Lin, as taught by Schuss, in order to provide an increased bandwidth of the antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Lin (US 20170125917))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CP10B)][AltContent: textbox (CP10B)][AltContent: textbox (RH)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (REG51)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (MAT10B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SC60)][AltContent: textbox (CSTDE)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Lin (US 20170125917))]
[AltContent: textbox (FS)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (REG22)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CST10)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Schuss (US 4924236))]
Regarding claim 2,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lin teaches the at least one mating section is formed complimentary to the receptacle (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 3,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lin teaches the substrate comprises at least one connection protrusion (CP10B, Fig 6) extending from the at least one mating section, wherein the connection protrusion extends into the source connection region without physical contact to the connector.
Regarding claim 5,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Schuss teaches the connector comprises at least one hollow cylindrical section (a wall of the shielding conductor 38, Fig 2) defining the source connection region, or wherein the source connection region is configured as a coaxial cable or as a mount for a coaxial cable or for a socket for such a cable.
Regarding claim 6,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Schuss teaches the connector has a body made of conducting material (the shielding conductor 28 is a body of the connector 22, Fig 2) or comprising a conductive coating, wherein the body provides the shielding for the conductor in the source connection region, in particular wherein the connector is made of a single piece.
Regarding claim 8,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lin as modified does not teach the signal conductor is provided on one of the surfaces of the substrate and the ground conductor is provided on the other surface of the substrate, wherein the ground conductor and the signal conductor form a microstrip transmission line.
However, it’s well known in the art that a balun comprises a signal conductor is on one side of a substrate and a ground conductor is on the opposite side of the substrate, and the signal conductor and the ground conductor are microstrip lines (McCorkle, US 5523728, Fig 7, col 7, lines 5-15)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a signal conductor being provided on one of surfaces of a substrate and a ground conductor being provided on the other surface of the substrate, wherein the ground conductor and the signal conductor forming a microstrip transmission line in Lin as modified, in order to provide an improved antenna structure that can significantly improve the efficacy.
Regarding claim 9,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lin teaches the receptacle has the form of a slot with two opposing sidewalls (Fig 6), wherein the width of the slot corresponds to the thickness of the substrate or the shape of the slot corresponds to the cross section of the substrate (Fig 5).
[AltContent: textbox (Lin (US 20170125917))]
Regarding claim 15,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lin teaches the connector comprises at least one connection element comprising a hook or a screw hole (four holes, Fig 6) for attaching the connector to a reflector (a reflector plate 71, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16,
Lin discloses an antenna (an antenna device 70, Fig 1), in particular for a mobile communication cell site, comprising a reflector (a reflector plate 71, Fig 1), a radiator head (a radiator head RH, Fig 6) and a connection assembly (a connecting structure CSTDE, Fig 6) comprising a connector (a connector includes a connecting ring 51 and a carrier plate 50, Fig 6) and a feeding structure (a balun 60, Fig 6), wherein the radiator head is attached to the feeding structure (Fig 6) and the connector is attached to the reflector (Fig 1),
wherein the feeding structure comprises a substrate (a dielectric 10B, Fig 6), and at least one signal conductor (a signal conductor SC60, Fig 6), wherein the substrate comprises at least one mating section (a mating part MAT10B, Fig 6),
wherein the connector comprises at least one receptacle (a connecting ring 51, Fig 6) for receiving the at least one mating section of the substrate, and at least one source connection region (a source connecting region REG51 inside the connecting ring 51, Fig 6).
Lin does not teach the shielding of the connector is galvanically connected to the reflector, the feeding structure comprising at least one ground conductor, and in the source connection region a conductor and a shielding for the conductor are provided, the conductor being the signal conductor of the feeding structure or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure.
However, Schuss teaches an antenna (a patch radiator 10, Fig 2) comprises a reflector (a ground plane conductor 20, Fig 2), a radiator head (a patch element 12, Fig 2) and a connection assembly (a connecting structure CST10, Fig 2) comprising a connector (a connector 22, Fig 2) and a feed structure (a feed structure FS, Fig 2),wherein a shielding (an outer shell 38, Fig 2) of the connector is galvanically connected to the reflector, wherein the feeding structure comprising a substrate (a dielectric sheet 18, Fig 2), at least one ground conductor (a conductor 28, Fig 2; col 4, lines 9-11), and at least one signal conductor (a conductor 24, Fig 2), and in a source connection region (a region REG22 of the connector 22, Fig 2) a conductor (a center conductor female jack 36, Fig 2) and a shielding for the conductor (the outer shell 38 is a shielding for the conductor) are provided, the conductor being the signal conductor of the feeding structure (Fig 2) or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a shielding of a connector being galvanically connected to a reflector, a feeding structure comprising at least one ground conductor, and in a source connection region a conductor and a shielding for a conductor being provided, the conductor being a signal conductor of the feeding structure or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure in Lin, as taught by Schuss, in order to provide an increased bandwidth of the antenna.
Regarding claim 18,
Lin in view of Schuss discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 16.
Schuss teaches the antenna comprises a non-conductive layer (an insulating sleeve 26, Fig 2) located between the top side of the reflector and parts of the connector (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 19,
Lin discloses an antenna (an antenna device 70, Fig 1) comprising a reflector (a reflector plate 71, Fig 1), a radiator head (a radiator head RH, Fig 6), and a connection assembly (a connecting structure CSTDE, Fig 6) comprising a connector (a connector includes a connecting ring 51 and a carrier plate 50, Fig 6) and a feeding structure (a balun 60, Fig 6),
wherein the radiator head is attached to the feeding structure (Fig 6) and the connector is attached to the reflector (Fig 1),
wherein the feeding structure comprises a substrate (a dielectric 10B, Fig 6), and at least one signal conductor (a signal conductor SC60, Fig 6), wherein the substrate comprises at least one mating section (a mating part MAT10B, Fig 6),
wherein the connector comprises at least one receptacle (a connecting ring 51, Fig 6) for receiving the at least one mating section of the substrate, and at least one source connection region (a source connecting region REG51 inside the connecting ring 51, Fig 6).
Lin does not disclose a mobile communication cell site comprising an antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that a mobile communication cell site comprising an antenna (Behairy, US 20120244874, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mobile communication cell site comprising an antenna in Lin, in order to provide an apparatus to control mobile communications in a sensitive environment.
Lin as modified does not teach the shielding of the connector is galvanically connected to the reflector, the feeding structure comprising at least one ground conductor, and in the source connection region a conductor and a shielding for the conductor are provided, the conductor being the signal conductor of the feeding structure or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure.
However, Schuss teaches an antenna (a patch radiator 10, Fig 2) comprises a reflector (a ground plane conductor 20, Fig 2), a radiator head (a patch element 12, Fig 2) and a connection assembly (a connecting structure CST10, Fig 2) comprising a connector (a connector 22, Fig 2) and a feed structure (a feed structure FS, Fig 2), wherein a shielding (an outer shell 38, Fig 2) of the connector is galvanically connected to the reflector, wherein the feeding structure comprising a substrate (a dielectric sheet 18, Fig 2), at least one ground conductor (a conductor 28, Fig 2; col 4, lines 9-11), and at least one signal conductor (a conductor 24, Fig 2), and in a source connection region (a region REG22 of the connector 22, Fig 2) a conductor (a center conductor female jack 36, Fig 2) and a shielding for the conductor (the outer shell 38 is a shielding for the conductor) are provided, the conductor being the signal conductor of the feeding structure (Fig 2) or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a shielding of a connector being galvanically connected to a reflector, a feeding structure comprising at least one ground conductor, and in a source connection region a conductor and a shielding for a conductor being provided, the conductor being a signal conductor of the feeding structure or a conductor galvanically connected to the signal conductor of the feeding structure in Lin as modified, as taught by Schuss, in order to provide an increased bandwidth of the antenna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 10-14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the signal conductor extends onto the connection protrusion a or the ground conductor ends before reaching the lower end of the signal conductor before reaching the connection protrusion”.
Regarding claim 7, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the connector comprises a cavity connecting the receptacle and the source connection region, wherein the receptacle and the source connection region are located on different sides of the connector”.
Regarding claim 10, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “one of the sidewalls is associated with the signal conductor, the sidewall associated with the signal conductor comprising a groove at the location of the signal conductor”.
Regarding claim 11, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “one of the sidewalls is associated with the ground conductor, the sidewall associated with the ground conductor being electrically connected with the shielding galvanically or capacitively”.
Regarding claim 12, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the connector comprises four receptacles and the feeding structure comprises two substrates forming a cross shaped cross section, wherein the two substrates are perpendicular to one another”.
Dependent claims 13-14 are considered to be allowable by virtue of their dependencies on claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the receptacles are arranged above the reflector or the source connection region is arranged below the reflector”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845