DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it appears that an arrow representing training of Mask 2 in Step 5 should extend to the dotted line representing Mask 2 in Figure 6. That is, a rightward arrow representing Step 5 should extend the same way in the opposite direction as an arrow representing Step 7 because Steps 5 to 7 are operating on Mask 2. See Specification, ¶[0056].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶[0058], “In some cases, machine learning model” should be “In some cases, a machine learning model”.
In ¶[0059], “and their features into vector space” should be “and their features into a vector space”.
In ¶[0071], “a network interface 1414” should be “and a network interface 1414”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17 to 24 and 26 to 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witchey et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,160,319).
Regarding independent claims 17, 28, and 36, Witchey et al. discloses a smart mask, method, and computer readable medium for communication based on facial movement, comprising:
“a plurality of sensors adapted to capture changes in shape of a part of a face of the wearer while producing speech” – a smart mask includes a first sensor configured to detect movement of the mouth of the person (“capture changes in shape of a part of a face of the wearer”) and generate a signal indicative of the movement of the mouth (Abstract; column 1, lines 39 to 41); the smart article includes a filter including sensors; the sensors are configured to generate signals indicative of facial movements of the person including the movement of the mouth (“a plurality of sensors adapted to capture changes in shape of a part of a face of the wearer”) (column 3, lines 35 to 38); several small sensors may be included to sense movement of the mask while a person is talking (“while producing speech”) (column 7, lines 8 to 10: Figure 2); a stretch sensor 502 may be used to detect movement of a person’s jaw as the person speaks (“changes in shape of a part of a face of the wearer while producing speech”) (column 10, lines 50 to 52: Figures 5A to 5D);
“processing circuitry configured to: receive data from the plurality of sensors, the data representing the changes in shape of the part of the face of the wearer” – a control module is configured to receive the signals (“processing circuitry configured to: receive data”) (Abstract); a smart mask further includes a second sensor configured to generate a signal indicative of movement of a second portion of the mouth (“the data representing the changes in shape of the part of the face of the wearer”); a control module is configured to display the images on the display based on the signal indicative of the movement of the second portion of the mouth (column 1, lines 56 to 59); a control module is configured to transmit a sensor signal from the first article indicating the at least one movement of the mouth of the person (column 2, lines 44 to 47); mobile device control module 302 executes a smart article application 310 for mapping collected data to facial movement images (column 7, lines 25 to 27: Figure 3); article control module 404 may be suitable for wearable implementations and be based on wearable technologies (column 8, lines 18 to 29: Figure 4);
“and classify the data received from the plurality of sensors into one or more units of speech using a machine learning model” – mapping module 311 may be referred to as a classifier, and include a face movement-to-text mapping module 314 and a sensor output-to-text mapping module 316 (column 7, lines 30 to 35: Figure 3); mapping module 415 may be referred to as a classifier and include a face movement-to-text mapping module 420 and a sensor output-to-text mapping module 422 (“classify the data received from the plurality of sensors into one or more units of speech”) (column 8, lines 41 to 48: Figure 4); a mapping function may operate as a classifier implementing a support vector machine (SVM) algorithm, a k nearest neighbor (kNN) search algorithm, etc. (column 15, lines 43 to 47); a default configuration may be compiled based on AI or machine learning training data sets compiled from many individuals (“using a machine learning model”) (column 17, lines 17 to 19); machine learning techniques could use classifiers, e.g., SVM, kNN, NNs, etc., to convert sensor data to images corresponding to phonemes (column 20, lines 52 to 58); here, text and phonemes are “one or more units of speech”.
Regarding claim 18, Witchey et al. discloses mapping module 311 may be referred to as a classifier, and includes a face movement-to-text mapping module 314 and a sensor output-to-text mapping module 316 (column 7, lines 30 to 35: Figure 3); mapping module 415 may be referred to as a classifier and includes a face movement-to-text mapping module 420 and a sensor output-to-text mapping module 422 (“classify the data received from the plurality of sensors into one or more units of speech”) (column 8, lines 41 to 48: Figure 4); artificial intelligence (AI) training is implemented to make known movements as matched with spoken words and/or known expressions (phonemes, utterances, etc.) of a person’s face at various positions and during movements (column 15, line 60 to column 16, line 22). Here, a mapping module generates text from utterances and phonemes (“wherein . . . text is generated from units of speech”).
Regarding claims 19 and 29, Witchey et al. discloses a smart mask 104 and mobile device 106; central control module 110 communicates with smart mask 104 and mobile device 106 via transceiver 112 (column 5, line 63 to column 6, line 10: Figure 1); mobile device 200 with mobile device control unit 302 executes smart article application 310 for mapping collected data to facial movement images (column 7, lines 19 to 27: Figure 3); mobile device control module 302 executes a smart article application 110 for mapping collected data to facial movement images; mapping module 311 may include a face movement-to-text mapping module 314 and sensor output-to-text mapping module 316 (“wherein . . . text is generated by a communication device”) (column 7, lines 19 to 35: Figure 3); transceiver 308 may be used to communicate with any of the devices in the ecosystem 100 (column 8, lines 10 to 12: Figure 3). Generally, Figures 1 to 4 disclose that smart mask 104 and mobile device 106 are separate devices that communicate via transceivers (“a communication device connected to the face mask”) and mobile device 106 generates text by mapping sensor output and facial movements to text (“wherein . . . the text is generated by a communication device”).
Regarding claims 20 and 29, Witchey et al. discloses an embodiment of a central control station 102, a smart mask 104, and a mobile device 106; central control station 102 may communicate with smart mask 104 and mobile device 106; central control station 102 may include a control module 110 that may collect sensor data and map the data to facial movement, and provide results to any of devices 104, 106, and 108 via transceiver 108 (column 5, line 63 to column 6, line 10: Figure 1); functionality of any given module may be distributed among multiple modules connected via interface circuits, and a server, known as a remote or cloud module (“a cloud computing system”) may accomplish functionality on behalf of a client module (column 28, lines 35 to 41). Here, central control station 102 mapping facial movement to text can be implemented as a server in a cloud (“wherein . . . the text is generated by a cloud computing system”).
Regarding claims 21 and 30, Witchey et al. discloses an embodiment of central control station 102, a smart mask 104, and mobile device 106; central control module 110 communicates with smart mask 104 and mobile device 106 via transceiver 112; central control station 102 includes central control module 110 that collects sensor data and maps the data to facial movements (column 5, line 63 to column 6, line 16: Figure 1); mapping module 311 may include a face movement-to-text mapping module 314 and sensor output-to-text mapping module 316 (column 7, lines 19 to 35: Figure 3); transceiver 308 may be used to communicate with any of the devices in the ecosystem 100 (column 8, lines 10 to 12: Figure 3). Here, Figure 1 includes an embodiment of central control station 102 that includes “the processing circuitry” in central control module 110 that performs functionality of mapping module 311 of Figure 3 to generate text as “data representing the units of speech” that are transmitted via transceiver 112 to mobile device 300 having transceiver 308 that is “a communication device associated with a receiver.” That is, mobile device 106 of Figure 1 is “a communication device associated with a receiver” of Figure 3.
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Witchey et al. discloses that known movements are mapped to spoken words and/or known expressions that include phonemes and utterances (“wherein the units of speech comprise one or more of: phonemes . . . utterances”); training data provides for matching sensor data to corresponding spoken words and corresponding images of the person’s face at various positions and/or during movements (column 16, lines 4 to 21); images may be generated corresponding to mouth arrangements for known phonemes in English (column 16, lines 43 to 45).
Regarding claims 23 and 32, Witchey et al. discloses a personalized or customized mapping function based on artificial intelligence or machine learning training data sets; a training data set may be compiled on a person-by-person basis to ensure that training data is highly personalized (column 17, lines 10 to 33). Here, personalized training by machine learning provides “wherein the machine learning is trained for the wearer.”
Regarding claims 24 and 33, Witchey et al. discloses that a default configuration may be compiled from artificial intelligence or machine learning training data sets compiled from many individuals; a training data set may be built from hundreds, thousands, or more users thus representing a default or base configuration; data from a specific user may be captured by a neural network trained on the default data set being refined based on the user’s data set (column 17, lines 10 to 46). Here, a default or base configuration built from training data of many users provides “machine learning models trained for a plurality of wearers”. Broadly, combining training data from many users for a default or base configuration is “collating machine learning models”. Here, “collating” can be defined as ‘collecting and combining in a proper order’. Compare Applicants’ Specification, ¶[0051] and ¶[0057], which are the only occurrences of ‘collate’.
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Witchey et al. discloses that a mask may include four sensors that generate values; at any given sensed time, e.g., every millisecond or every 5 ms, a control module of the mask may generate an input vector of four bytes with each byte representing a value of a corresponding sensor (column 15, lines 20 to 26); a mapping function for four landmarks may comprise Rc= right corner of mouth, Lc=left corner of mouth, UL=upper lip portion of mouth, LL=lower lip position of mouth (column 15, lines 43 to 54); as a person speaks, landmarks move in space; a facial feature detection algorithm tracks the movement of the landmarks and calculates the new positions in real-time or near real-time relative to the origin or relative to the landmark’s previous positions (column 19, lines 8 to 13). Here, capturing movement of landmarks in facial features with sensors in real-time or every five milliseconds as a person speaks is “wherein the plurality of sensors is configured to continuously capture the changes in shape of the part of the face of the wearer while producing speech.” That is, a change in position of corners of the mouth and lip position of the mouth are “changes in shape of the part of the face of the wearer”.
Regarding claims 27 and 35, Witchey et al. discloses four byte sensor data is converted to a set of positions of the four landmarks coordinates (e.g., (x,y)) for each landmark to a single relative distance value from an origin (“wherein the data representing the changes in shape of the part of the face comprises one or more of: distances between the plurality of sensors; and positions of the plurality of sensors”) (column 15, lines 26 to 33); a mapping function for four landmarks may comprise Rc= right corner of mouth, Lc=left corner of mouth, UL=upper lip portion of mouth, LL=lower lip position of mouth (“wherein the data representing the changes in shape of the part of the face comprises one or more of: . . . positions of the plurality of sensors”) (column 15, lines 43 to 54); an origin point may be found based on landmarks as a center point of lips and/or a fixed distance from the nose; data is a set of coordinate values (X,Y) relative to the origin, a difference in X and Y relative to the origin, or a difference in X and Y relative to previous positions (column 19, lines 3 to 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witchey et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,160,319) in view of Stoppa et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0092331).
Witchey et al. discloses “a machine learning model is produced for a plurality of wearers”, but does not disclose producing a machine learning models for users “in a demographic group through federated averaging.” That is, Witchey et al. discloses producing a machine learning model for a plurality of wearers because a default configuration may be compiled from artificial intelligence or machine learning training data sets compiled from many individuals. A training data set may be built from hundreds, thousands, or more users thus representing a default or base configuration. Data from a specific user may be captured by a neural network trained on the default data set being refined based on the user’s data set. (Column 17, Lines 10 to 46) Witchey et al., then, discloses modifying a base machine learning model with data from a specific user to generate a machine learning model refined for the specific user, but does not provide details that performing this modification is by federated averaging.
However, Stoppa et al. teaches providing personalized saliency models. (Abstract) Models may be modified at a server by performing an averaging operation on at least some of the at least a portion of an updated version of a first saliency model. (¶[0050]) A global saliency model may be trained using a different subsets of collected information tailored for a specific demographic group, e.g., females over the age of 65, certain professions, e.g., dentists, certain activities, e.g., attending a tennis match, and certain geographic regions, e.g., European users. A user could then switch between different global saliency models 534 as desired which would be relevant or salient to someone of a different demographic group. (¶[0057]: Figure 5) Specifically, network devices 550 may utilize training/federated learning module 556 to perform a process known as federate learning in order to continue to train and improve its global saliency models 554 over time. The process of federated learning may comprise multiple devices working together to collaboratively learn a shared model while keeping each user’s individual training data on their individual electronic device 500, thereby obviating the need for users to send their personal data to network 550 in order to obtain the benefits of machine learning. A federated learning process generates an updated personalized saliency model by summarizing changes and updates in the form of a small update file. In order to protect a user’s privacy, while simultaneously reducing latency and power consumption, only the small update file may be sent to network device 550, wherein the small update file may be averaged with other user updates received at network device 550 to improve the global saliency models 554 (“federated averaging”). (¶[0059] - ¶[0062]) Consequently, Stoppa et al. teaches generating a machine learning model for “a demographic group through federated averaging” has advantages of protecting a user’s privacy by not requiring a user to send their personal data for training. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to perform federated averaging to generate a machine learning model for a demographic group as taught by Stoppa et al. in a machine learning model refined for a specific user from a model with a training data set from hundreds or thousands of individuals in Witchey et al. for a purpose of protecting a user’s privacy by not requiring a user to send their personal data for training.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Taylor (EP ‘409), Kihlberg, and LaCombe represent similar prior art with face masks having sensors.
Malik et al. and Gilbertson et al. represent similar prior art with federated learning and demographics.
/MARTIN LERNER/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2658 March 25, 2026