DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the preliminary amendment filed on June 10, 2024, having claims 33-53 (claims 1-32 were canceled) and drawing figures 1-11.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The word “therefor” recited in line 2 of claim 1 must be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 48-50 and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (EP 1 626 518 B1) (reference disclosed by applicant).
For claim 48, Jang discloses a method, comprising generating a block-acknowledgement -BA- frame (Fig 5, Block ACK frame), said generating including:
generating a first bitmap having a sequence of one-bit flags, each one of the one-bit flags of the sequence corresponding to a respective one of sections of sequence numbers of a plurality of data units (Fig 5, SN-level bitmap field is the first bitmap with N-octet sequence, b(0)-b(n) are the one-bit flags);
generating a second bitmap having encoded therein an acknowledgement status of each data unit of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, the erroneous SN bitmap field is the second bitmap); and arranging the first and second bitmaps in an information field of the block-acknowledgement frame (Fig 5, both bitmaps are included in the Block ACK frame);
wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a first binary value, the second bitmap has a corresponding segment of bits representing acknowledgement statuses of the data units of the respective one of the sections (Fig 5, first bitmap has one-bit flag indicating same ACK status for the data units in the section); and wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a second binary value, the second bitmap does not have a corresponding segment of bits (Fig 5, second bitmap depends on number m of erroneously received packets).
For claims 49 and 53, Jang discloses for the one-bit flag having the second binary value, all of the data units of the respective one of the sections have a same acknowledgement status (Fig 5, first bitmap has one-bit flag indicating same ACK status for the data units in the section).
For claim 50, Jang discloses selecting a binary value for a control bit of the information field to indicate interpretation of binary "0s" and "1s" of the second bitmap in terms of the acknowledgement status (Fig 5, bit (0) means reception failure or “not received” or bit (1) means reception success or “Received”).
For claim 52, Jang discloses decoding a received block-acknowledgement -BA- frame (Fig 5, Block ACK frame) to determine acknowledgement statuses of a transmitted plurality of data units, said decoding including:
reading a first bitmap of an information field of the block-acknowledgement frame, the first bitmap having a sequence of one-bit flags (Fig 5, the one-bit flags correspond to number of ACK-able sequences representing data units that are correctly received), each one of the one-bit flags of the sequence corresponding to a respective one of sections of sequence numbers of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, SN-level bitmap field is the first bitmap with N-octet sequence, b(0)-b(n) are the one-bit flags); and
decoding a second bitmap of the information field, the second bitmap having encoded therein an acknowledgement status of each one of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, the erroneous SN bitmap field is the second bitmap);
wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a first binary value (Fig 5, the one-bit flags correspond to number of ACK-able sequences representing data units that are correctly received), the second bitmap has a corresponding segment of bits representing the acknowledgement statuses of the data units of the respective one of the sections (Fig 5, first bitmap has one-bit flag indicating same ACK status for the data units in the section); and wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a second binary value, the second bitmap does not have a corresponding segment of bits (Fig 5, second bitmap depends on number m of erroneously received packets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-47 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US 2016/0100421 A1) in view of Jang et al. (EP 1 626 518 B1) (reference disclosed by applicant).
For claim 33, Ding discloses an apparatus (Fig 13, wireless device 1300), comprising a wireless transceiver (Fig 13, transceiver 1346) and a processor (Fig 13, processor 1310) connected to the wireless transceiver to generate therefor a block-acknowledgement -BA- frame in response to a plurality of data units [0093] externally wirelessly transmitted to the wireless transceiver, the block-acknowledgement frame (Fig 6, BA frame 600), including a block-acknowledgement information field (Fig 6, BA information field 612).
For claim 33, Ding does not expressly disclose the block-acknowledgement information field comprises: a first bitmap having a sequence of one-bit flags, each one of the one-bit flags of the sequence corresponding to a respective one of sections of sequence numbers of the plurality of data units; and a second bitmap having encoded therein an acknowledgement status of each data unit of the plurality of data units; wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a first binary value, the second bitmap has a corresponding segment of bits representing acknowledgement statuses of the data units of the respective one of the sections; and wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a second binary value, the second bitmap does not have a corresponding segment of bits.
Jang, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the block-acknowledgement information field comprises: a first bitmap having a sequence of one-bit flags (Fig 5, SN-level bitmap field is the first bitmap with N-octet sequence, b(0)-b(n) are the one-bit flags), each one of the one-bit flags of the sequence corresponding to a respective one of sections of sequence numbers of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, the one-bit flags correspond to number of ACK-able sequences representing data units that are correctly received); and
a second bitmap having encoded therein an acknowledgement status of each data unit of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, the erroneous SN bitmap field is the second bitmap); wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a first binary value, the second bitmap has a corresponding segment of bits representing acknowledgement statuses of the data units of the respective one of the sections (Fig 5, first bitmap has one-bit flag indicating same ACK status for the data units in the section); and wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a second binary value, the second bitmap does not have a corresponding segment of bits (Fig 5, second bitmap depends on number m of erroneously received packets).
For claims 34 and 42, Jang discloses for the one-bit flag having the second binary value, all of the data units of the respective one of the sections have a same acknowledgement status (Fig 5, first bitmap has one-bit flag indicating same ACK status for the data units in the section).
For claims 35 and 43, Jang discloses the same acknowledgement status is "received" or is "not received” (Fig 5, bit (0) means reception failure or “not received” or bit (1) means reception success or “Received”).
For claim 36, Jang discloses the second bitmap has a variable length (Fig 5, the second bitmap for erroneous SN packet has a variable length based on the value of m).
For claim 37, Jang discloses the BA information field further comprises a first segment-control subfield having encoded therein a maximum length of the data units ([0111] BAR control field indicates the number (m) of MSDUs and maximum number of Frag. packets Field).
For claims 38 and 45, Jang discloses the BA information field comprises a control bit whose binary value determines interpretation of binary "0s" and "1s" of the second bitmap in terms of the acknowledgement status (Fig 5, bit (0) means reception failure or “not received” or bit (1) means reception success or “Received”).
For claims 39 and 46, Ding discloses the apparatus is an access point ([0091] the BA frame is transmitted by a wireless access point to one or more wireless devices).
For claims 40 and 47, Ding discloses the apparatus is a non-access-point station ([0089] the apparatus may be a wireless device (STA) which is a non-access point).
For claim 41, Ding discloses an apparatus (Fig 13, wireless device 1300), comprising a wireless transceiver (Fig 13, transceiver 1346) and a processor (Fig 13, processor 1310) connected to the wireless transceiver to determine acknowledgement statuses of a transmitted plurality of data units [0093] based on a received block-acknowledgement -BA- frame (Fig 6, BA frame 600), which includes a block-acknowledgement information field (Fig 6, BA information field 612).
For claim 41, Ding does not expressly disclose the block-acknowledgement information field comprises: a first bitmap having a sequence of one-bit flags, each one of the one-bit flags of the sequence corresponding to a respective one of sections of sequence numbers of the plurality of data units; and a second bitmap having encoded therein an acknowledgement status of each data unit of the plurality of data units; wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a first binary value, the second bitmap has a corresponding segment of bits representing acknowledgement statuses of the data units of the respective one of the sections; and wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a second binary value, the second bitmap does not have a corresponding segment of bits.
Jang, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the block-acknowledgement information field comprises: a first bitmap having a sequence of one-bit flags (Fig 5, SN-level bitmap field is the first bitmap with N-octet sequence, b(0)-b(n) are the one-bit flags), each one of the one-bit flags of the sequence corresponding to a respective one of sections of sequence numbers of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, the one-bit flags correspond to number of ACK-able sequences representing data units that are correctly received); and
a second bitmap having encoded therein an acknowledgement status of each data unit of the plurality of data units (Fig 5, the erroneous SN bitmap field is the second bitmap); wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a first binary value, the second bitmap has a corresponding segment of bits representing acknowledgement statuses of the data units of the respective one of the sections (Fig 5, first bitmap has one-bit flag indicating same ACK status for the data units in the section); and wherein, for a one-bit flag of the sequence having a second binary value, the second bitmap does not have a corresponding segment of bits (Fig 5, second bitmap depends on number m of erroneously received packets).
For claim 44, Jang discloses the second bitmap has a variable length, and wherein the BA information field further comprises a first segment-control subfield having encoded therein a maximum length of the data units ([0111] BAR control field indicates the number (m) of MSDUs and maximum number of Frag. Field).
For claim 51, Ding discloses transmitting the BA frame using a wireless transmitter ([0091] the BA frame is transmitted by a wireless access point to one or more wireless devices).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471