DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendment of June 18, 2026 overcomes the following:
Specification objections
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In Applicant's arguments filed on June 18, 2026, Applicant’s asserts that “the cited portions of Dastouri fail to disclose… determine an overlay of the features based on the amplitude and the phase” (Remarks, Pg. 8-9). Upon further review of Dastouri, examiner agrees with Applicant’s statement above. However, based on updated search results, a new ground of rejection is warranted. Therefore, Applicant's additional arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the image data comprises an image of the substrate having first features on a first layer and second features on a second layer… wherein the instructions configured to cause the computer system to determine the overlay are further configured to cause the computer system to… obtain… an estimated overlay between the first features and the second features” in lines 2-8 of the claim.
However, it is not clear if the claimed “first features on a first layer and second features on a second layer” recited in lines 2-3 of the claim encompass embodiments corresponding to any of the claimed “features” previously recited in line 4 of claim 1, or if the claimed “first features on a first layer and second features on a second layer” recited in lines 2-3 of claim 9 encompass embodiments corresponding to other “first features on a first layer and second features on a second layer” different from any of the claimed “features” previously recited in line 4 of claim 1, for example.
Additionally, it is not clear if the claimed “estimated overlay” recited in line 7 of claim 9 encompass embodiments corresponding to the claimed “overlay” previously recited in line 7 of claim 1, or if the claimed “estimated overlay” recited in line 7 of claim 9 encompass embodiments corresponding to another “estimated overlay” different from the claimed “overlay” previously recited in line 7 of claim 1, for example.
Therefore, based on above, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly set forth and the examiner cannot clearly determine which elements are encompassed by the claim language, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 10 is rejected by virtue of being dependent upon rejected claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DASTOURI et al. (US PG Publication No. 2021/233642 A1), hereafter referred to as DASTOURI, as applied to claim 1, in view of Arieli et al. (WO Patent Publication No. 2010/0002950 A1), hereafter referred to as Arieli.
Regarding claim 1, DASTOURI discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer program instructions that, when executed by a computer system, are configured to cause the computer system to (Par. [0017]: a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions thereon is provided. The instructions when executed by a computer cause the computer to) at least:
obtain image data of features on a substrate (Par. [0005]: processing a substrate (e.g., a semiconductor wafer) using a number of fabrication processes to form various features and multiple layers of the devices… Multiple devices may be fabricated on a plurality of dies on a substrate and then separated into individual devices. This device manufacturing process may be considered a patterning process. A patterning process involves a patterning step, such as optical and/or nanoimprint lithography using a patterning device in a lithographic apparatus, to transfer a pattern on the patterning device to a substrate; Par. [0084-87]: inspect a substrate or other object to measure or determine one or more properties such as alignment, overlay (which can be, for example, between structures in overlying layers or between structures in a same layer that have been provided separately to the layer… one or more measured parameters may include, for example, alignment, overlay between successive layers formed in or on the patterned substrate, critical dimension (CD) (e.g., critical linewidth) of, for example, features formed in or on the patterned substrate… This measurement may be performed on a target of the product substrate itself and/or on a dedicated metrology target provided on the substrate… techniques for making measurements of the structures formed in the patterning process, including the use of a scanning electron microscope, an image-based measurement tool… in a device fabrication process (e.g., a patterning process or a lithography process), a substrate or other objects may be subjected to various types of measurement during or after the process. The measurement may determine whether a particular substrate is defective, may establish adjustments to the process and apparatuses used in the process (e.g., aligning two layers on the substrate or aligning the patterning device to the substrate), may measure the performance of the process and the apparatuses, or may be for other purposes. Examples of measurement include optical imaging (e.g., optical microscope), non-imaging optical measurement (e.g., measurement based on diffraction such as the ASML YieldStar metrology tool, the ASML SMASH metrology system)… The SMASH (SMart Alignment Sensor Hybrid) system… employs a self-referencing interferometer that produces two overlapping and relatively rotated images of an alignment marker, detects intensities in a pupil plane where Fourier transforms of the images are caused to interfere, and extracts the positional information from the phase difference between diffraction orders of the two images which manifests as intensity variations in the interfered orders; Par. [0132]: Fig. 11 schematically depicts an exemplary lithographic projection apparatus similar to and or the same as the apparatus shown in Fig. 1… The apparatus 1000 comprises… a projection system (“lens”) PS (e.g., a refractive, catoptric or catadioptric optical system) to image an irradiated portion of the patterning device MA onto a target portion C (e.g., comprising one or more dies) of the substrate W; Par. [0147]: While the concepts disclosed herein may be used for imaging on a substrate such as a silicon wafer, it shall be understood that the disclosed concepts may be used with any type of lithographic imaging systems, e.g., those used for imaging on substrates other than silicon wafers; obtain image data of features on a substrate (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions thereon, in which the instructions when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform operations including processing a substrate using a number of fabrication processes to form various features (i.e. features on a substrate) and multiple layers of devices, such as features formed in or on a patterned substrate, for example, and performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. obtain image data of features on a substrate), such as a silicon wafer, as indicated above), for example);
analyze the image data in Fourier space (Par. [0050-52]: In semiconductor device manufacturing, determining alignment includes determining the position of an alignment mark (or marks) in a layer of a semiconductor device structure… For example, alignment may be determined based on a Fourier fit of an alignment signal… the present system(s) and method(s) reduce the impact of local alignment mark dimensional deformations on an alignment determination, and thereby enhance the accuracy of the alignment determination. The present system(s) and method(s) are configured to detect local dimensional distortions of an alignment mark and weight an alignment signal based on the local dimensional distortions. The local dimensional distortions are detected based on phase and or amplitude shifts in radiation reflected from an alignment mark; Par. [0087]: in a device fabrication process (e.g., a patterning process or a lithography process), a substrate or other objects may be subjected to various types of measurement during or after the process. The measurement may determine whether a particular substrate is defective, may establish adjustments to the process and apparatuses used in the process (e.g., aligning two layers on the substrate or aligning the patterning device to the substrate), may measure the performance of the process and the apparatuses… Examples of measurement include optical imaging (e.g., optical microscope), non-imaging optical measurement (e.g., measurement based on diffraction such as the ASML YieldStar metrology tool, the ASML SMASH metrology system)… The SMASH (SMart Alignment Sensor Hybrid) system… employs a self-referencing interferometer that produces two overlapping and relatively rotated images of an alignment marker, detects intensities in a pupil plane where Fourier transforms of the images are caused to interfere, and extracts the positional information from the phase difference between diffraction orders of the two images which manifests as intensity variations in the interfered orders; Par. [0106-109]: Detecting one or more local dimensional distortions of the alignment mark comprises detecting one or more phase and/or amplitude shifts in reflected radiation from one or more geometric features of an alignment mark. The one or more phase and/or amplitude shifts correspond to one or more local dimensional distortions of a geometric feature … detecting the one or more phase and/or amplitude shifts in the reflected radiation from the geometric feature comprises measuring local phase shifts (e.g., local phase deltas) and or amplitude variations that correspond to the local dimensional distortions… To detect a local phase shift, a Fourier Transform Fit (FFT) and Hilbert transform are applied per window (each window is one period of the signal). Real and imaginary parts of the signal are generated by the FFT and Hilbert transform. The signal phase is calculated as arc tangent (arctan) of the imaginary/real ratio, where amplitude is the magnitude of imaginary/real part vector. The alignment signal has local phase /amplitude variation over the signal; analyze the image data in Fourier space (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. image data) in order to obtain measurements that are used in determining (i.e. analyzing, evaluating, etc.) a position of alignment marks in a layer of a semiconductor device structure based on local dimensional distortion of the alignment marks, for example, and performing alignment based on a Fourier fit of an alignment signal, including a self-referencing interferometer that produces two overlapping and relatively rotated images of an alignment marker (i.e. image data of features on a substrate), detects intensities in a pupil plane where Fourier transforms of the images (i.e. image data in Fourier space) are caused to interfere (i.e. analyze the image data in Fourier space), and extracts the positional information from the phase difference between diffraction orders of the two images which manifests as intensity variations in the interfered orders, as indicated above), for example);
determine an amplitude and a phase based on the analysis (Par. [0050-52]: In semiconductor device manufacturing, determining alignment includes determining the position of an alignment mark (or marks) in a layer of a semiconductor device structure… For example, alignment may be determined based on a Fourier fit of an alignment signal… the present system(s) and method(s) reduce the impact of local alignment mark dimensional deformations on an alignment determination, and thereby enhance the accuracy of the alignment determination. The present system(s) and method(s) are configured to detect local dimensional distortions of an alignment mark and weight an alignment signal based on the local dimensional distortions. The local dimensional distortions are detected based on phase and or amplitude shifts in radiation reflected from an alignment mark; Par. [0087]: in a device fabrication process (e.g., a patterning process or a lithography process), a substrate or other objects may be subjected to various types of measurement during or after the process. The measurement may determine whether a particular substrate is defective, may establish adjustments to the process and apparatuses used in the process (e.g., aligning two layers on the substrate or aligning the patterning device to the substrate), may measure the performance of the process and the apparatuses… Examples of measurement include optical imaging (e.g., optical microscope), non-imaging optical measurement (e.g., measurement based on diffraction such as the ASML YieldStar metrology tool, the ASML SMASH metrology system)… The SMASH (SMart Alignment Sensor Hybrid) system… employs a self-referencing interferometer that produces two overlapping and relatively rotated images of an alignment marker, detects intensities in a pupil plane where Fourier transforms of the images are caused to interfere, and extracts the positional information from the phase difference between diffraction orders of the two images which manifests as intensity variations in the interfered orders; Par. [0106-109]: Detecting one or more local dimensional distortions of the alignment mark comprises detecting one or more phase and/or amplitude shifts in reflected radiation from one or more geometric features of an alignment mark. The one or more phase and/or amplitude shifts correspond to one or more local dimensional distortions of a geometric feature … detecting the one or more phase and/or amplitude shifts in the reflected radiation from the geometric feature comprises measuring local phase shifts (e.g., local phase deltas) and or amplitude variations that correspond to the local dimensional distortions… To detect a local phase shift, a Fourier Transform Fit (FFT) and Hilbert transform are applied per window (each window is one period of the signal). Real and imaginary parts of the signal are generated by the FFT and Hilbert transform. The signal phase is calculated as arc tangent (arctan) of the imaginary/real ratio, where amplitude is the magnitude of imaginary/real part vector. The alignment signal has local phase /amplitude variation over the signal; determine an amplitude and a phase based on the analysis (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. image data) in order to obtain measurements that are used in determining (i.e. analyzing, evaluating, etc.) a position of alignment marks in a layer of a semiconductor device structure based on local dimensional distortion of the alignment marks, for example, which are detected based on phase and or amplitude shifts in radiation reflected from the alignment marks, for example, and performing alignment based on a Fourier fit of an alignment signal that has local phase /amplitude variation over the signal (i.e. determine an amplitude and a phase based on the analysis), for example, including a self-referencing interferometer that produces two overlapping and relatively rotated images of an alignment marker, detects intensities in a pupil plane where Fourier transforms of the images are caused to interfere, and extracts the positional information from the phase difference between diffraction orders of the two images which manifests as intensity variations in the interfered orders, as indicated above), for example); and
determine an overlay of the features ( Par. [0084-87]: In order that a substrate that is exposed by the lithographic apparatus is exposed correctly and consistently and/or in order to monitor a part of the patterning process (e.g., a device manufacturing process) that includes at least one pattern transfer step (e.g., an optical lithography step), it is desirable to inspect a substrate or other object to measure or determine one or more properties such as alignment, overlay (which can be, for example, between structures in overlying layers or between structures in a same layer that have been provided separately to the layer by, for example, a double patterning process)… The one or more measured parameters may include, for example, alignment, overlay between successive layers formed in or on the patterned substrate, critical dimension (CD) (e.g., critical linewidth) of, for example, features formed in or on the patterned substrate… in a device fabrication process (e.g., a patterning process or a lithography process), a substrate or other objects may be subjected to various types of measurement during or after the process. The measurement may determine whether a particular substrate is defective, may establish adjustments to the process and apparatuses used in the process (e.g., aligning two layers on the substrate or aligning the patterning device to the substrate), may measure the performance of the process and the apparatuses… Examples of measurement include optical imaging (e.g., optical optical microscope), non-imaging optical measurement (e.g., measurement based on diffraction such as the ASML YieldStar metrology tool, the ASML SMASH metrology system)… The SMASH (SMart Alignment Sensor Hybrid) system… employs a self-referencing interferometer that produces two overlapping and relatively rotated images of an alignment marker, detects intensities in a pupil plane where Fourier transforms of the images are caused to interfere, and extracts the positional information from the phase difference between diffraction orders of the two images which manifests as intensity variations in the interfered orders; and determine an overlay of the features (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes processing a substrate using a number of fabrication processes to form various features (i.e. features on a substrate) and multiple layers of devices, such as features formed in or on a patterned substrate, for example, and performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. image data of features on a substrate) to obtain measurements, for example, including measurements used to determine one or more properties such as alignment or overlay (i.e. determine an overlay of the features), as indicated above), for example), but fails to disclose that the claimed “overlay of the features” is determined “based on the amplitude and the phase”, as further recited in the claim.
However, Arieli teaches determine an overlay of the features based on the amplitude and the phase (Par. [0001]: present invention relates to the field of the use of complex optical wavefront measurements in metrologic applications, especially in the fields of the measurement of integrated circuits incorporating thin films, and in image processing applications; Par. [0012-14]: system for surface mapping … a beam of radiation, such as light or acoustic energy, is supplied from a radiation source 200 optionally via a beam expander 202, onto a beam splitter 204, which reflects at least part of the radiation onto a surface 206 to be inspected. The radiation reflected from the inspected surface 206, is a surface mapping wavefront, which has an amplitude and a phase, and which contains information about the surface 206… data storage and processing circuitry 216, which preferably carries out functionality “C” described hereinabove with reference to FIG. 1, providing an output indicating at least one and possibly both of the phase and the amplitude of the surface mapping wavefront This output is preferably further processed to obtain information about the surface 206, such as geometrical variations and reflectivity of the surface. The phase manipulator 210 is described as applying a plurality of different spatial phase changes to the radiation wavefront reflected from surface 206 and Fourier transformed… the transform applied to the wavefront being analyzed is a Fourier transform, at least three different spatial phase changes are applied to the thus transformed wavefront, and at least three intensity maps are employed to obtain indications of at least one of the phase and the amplitude of the wavefront. As seen in FIG. 4, and designated as sub-functionality "C" hereinabove with reference in FIG. 1, the intensity maps are employed to obtain an output indication of at least one and possibly both of the phase and the amplitude of the wavefront being analyzed… the wavefront being analyzed is expressed as a first complex function… The complex function has an amplitude distribution A(x) and a phase distribution… identical to the amplitude and phase of the wavefront being analyzed; Par. [0136-140]: method of performing an overlay measurement in a multilayered structure, comprising the steps of… (i) illuminating the multilayer structure and generating amplitude and phase information of a first complex wavefront map representing the image of a plane in a first layer of the multilayered structure… (ii) calculating by means of mathematical solutions of the propagation properties of the wavefront, amplitude and phase information of a second complex wavefront map representing the image of a plane in a second layer of the multilayered structure, and… (iii) comparing the first and the second complex wavefront maps to provide information about the overlay of the first and second layers… by this method, the use of the amplitude and phase information in the overlay measurement preferably enables increased contrast measurements to be made; Par. [0244-245]: Manufacturing IC's at such minute dimensions adds more complexity to circuits and increases the demand for improved methods to inspect integrated circuits in various stages of their manufacture. An IC is constructed of many layers that create the devices and the conductors of the circuit. Overlay is a misregistration between the layers generated during the lithography process, and overlay measurements are used for monitoring the lithography process… There are now described preferred methods to perform improved overlay measurements, based on the use of methods of utilizing using phase data for thin film alignment and measurement. The methods have several potential usages and advantages over existing methods, for overlay-targets measurements. By propagating the measured wavefront's complex amplitude from the top surface of an overlay material to any other desired plane, as per the methods of the present invention, a focused image of different layers can be obtained. These images of different planes are derived by software manipulation of one single wavefront; determine an overlay of the features based on the amplitude and the phase (e.g. methods and apparatus to perform measurement of integrated circuits by using complex optical wavefront measurements in metrologic applications include performing an overlay measurement (i.e. determine an overlay) in a multilayered structure (i.e. of the features) by illuminating the multilayer structure and generating amplitude and phase information (i.e. based on the amplitude and the phase) of a first complex wavefront map representing the image of a plane in a first layer of the multilayered structure, calculating by means of mathematical solutions of the propagation properties of the wavefront, amplitude and phase information of a second complex wavefront map representing the image of a plane in a second layer of the multilayered structure, and comparing the first and the second complex wavefront maps to provide information about the overlay of the first and second layers (i.e. determine an overlay based on the amplitude and the phase), as indicated a above), for example).
DASTOURI and Arieli are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to image processing applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lithographic apparatus including a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions thereon, in which the instructions when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform operations including processing a substrate using a number of fabrication processes (as disclosed by DASTOURI) with determine an overlay of the features based on the amplitude and the phase (as taught by Arieli, Abstract, Par. [00 1, 12-14, 136-140, 244-245]) to improve overlay measurement techniques, to improve capability of detection and measurement of multi-layered objects, to enable three dimensional information to be obtained about a multilayered structure, to provide improved methods to inspect integrated circuits in various stages of their manufacture including overlay measurements used for monitoring the lithography process, and to perform improved overlay measurements (Arieli, Abstract, Par. [0001-21, 140, 244-245]).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of DASTOURI and Arieli , as a whole, teaches the computer-readable medium (DASTOURI, Par. [0017]), wherein the features comprise first features on a first layer of the substrate and second features on a second layer of the substrate, the second layer being formed over the first layer (DASTOURI, Par. [0084-94]: In order that a substrate that is exposed by the lithographic apparatus is exposed correctly and consistently and/or in order to monitor a part of the patterning process (e.g., a device manufacturing process) that includes at least one pattern transfer step (e.g., an optical lithography step), it is desirable to inspect a substrate or other object to measure or determine one or more properties such as alignment, overlay (which can be, for example, between structures in overlying layers or between structures in a same layer that have been provided separately to the layer by, for example, a double patterning process)… one or more measured parameters may include, for example, alignment, overlay between successive layers formed in or on the patterned substrate… There are various techniques for making measurements of the structures formed in the patterning process, including the use of a scanning electron microscope, an image-based measurement tool and/or various specialized tools… in a device fabrication process (e.g., a patterning process or a lithography process), a substrate or other objects may be subjected to various types of measurement during or after the process. The measurement may determine whether a particular substrate is defective, may establish adjustments to the process and apparatuses used in the process (e.g., aligning two layers on the substrate or aligning the patterning device to the substrate)… A metrology system may be used to determine one or more properties of the substrate structure, and in particular, how one or more properties of different substrate structures vary, or different layers of the same substrate structure vary from layer to layer… A target may include an alignment mark, for example, and/or other targets… the target is specially designed and may comprise a periodic structure… the target is a part of a device pattern, e.g., a periodic structure of the device pattern… the target on a substrate may comprise one or more 1-D periodic structures (e.g., geometric features such as gratings), which are printed such that after development, the periodic structural features are formed of solid resist lines… the target may comprise one or more 2-D periodic structures (e.g., gratings), which are printed such that after development, the one or more periodic structures are formed of solid resist pillars or vias in the resist. The bars, pillars, or vias may alternatively be etched into the substrate (e.g., into one or more layers on the substrate)… features may be etched into or on the substrate (e.g., into one or more layers on the substrate), deposited on a substrate; wherein the features comprise first features on a first layer of the substrate and second features on a second layer of the substrate, the second layer being formed over the first layer (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes processing a substrate using a number of fabrication processes to form various features (i.e. first, second… Nth features of a substrate) and multiple layers (i.e. first, second… Nth layers) of devices, such as features formed in or on a patterned (i.e. masked) substrate, for example, including structures in overlying layers (i.e. wherein the features comprise first features on a first layer of the substrate and second features on a second layer of the substrate, the second layer being formed over the first layer), as indicated above), for example).
Regarding claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated and the combination of DASTOURI and Arieli , as a whole, teaches the computer-readable medium (DASTOURI, Par. [0017]), wherein the image data comprises an image of the substrate formed by scanning an electron beam in one or more directions (DASTOURI, Par. [0003]: a projection beam scans over the patterning device in a given reference direction (the “scanning” direction) while synchronously moving the substrate parallel or anti-parallel to this reference direction. Different portions of the pattern on the patterning device are transferred to one target portion progressively; Par. [0061-72]: illuminator IL may be operable to vary the angular distribution of the beam… The illuminator IL may be operable to alter the polarization of the beam and may be operable to adjust the polarization using adjuster AD. The polarization state of the radiation beam across a pupil plane of the illuminator IL may be referred to as a polarization mode. The use of different polarization modes may allow greater contrast to be achieved in the image formed on the substrate W… The polarization direction of the radiation beam may vary across a pupil plane of the illuminator IL. The polarization direction of radiation may be different in different regions in the pupil plane of the illuminator IL… the radiation may be linearly polarized in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to a line that bisects the two opposing sectors of the dipole. The radiation beam may be polarized in one of two different orthogonal directions, which may be referred to as X-polarized and Y-polarized states…Stepping may be performed in the plane of the diffraction grating and in a direction perpendicular to the scanning direction of the measurement. The stepping range may be one grating period, and at least three (uniformly distributed) phase steps may be used. Thus, for example, three scanning measurements may be performed in the y- direction, each scanning measurement being performed for a different position in the x-direction. This stepping of the diffraction grating effectively transforms phase variations into intensity variations, allowing phase information to be determined. The grating may be stepped in a direction perpendicular to the diffraction grating (z direction) to calibrate the detector… The diffraction grating may be sequentially scanned in two perpendicular directions, which may coincide with axes of a co-ordinate system of the projection system PS (x and y) or may be at an angle such as 45 degrees to these axes. Scanning may be performed over an integer number of grating periods, for example one grating period. The scanning averages out phase variation in one direction, allowing phase variation in the other direction to be reconstructed. This allows the wavefront to be determined as a function of both directions; Par. [0081-87]: terms “radiation” and “beam” used herein with respect to lithography encompass all types of electromagnetic radiation… as well as particle beams, such as ion beams or electron beams… There are various techniques for making measurements of the structures formed in the patterning process, including the use of a scanning electron microscope… Examples of measurement include… non- optical imaging (e.g., scanning electron microscopy (SEM); wherein the image data comprises an image of the substrate formed by scanning an electron beam in one or more directions (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. image data) in order to obtain measurements based on optical imaging, for example, including obtaining projection beam scans over a patterning device (i.e. mask) of a substrate in a given reference direction while synchronously moving the substrate parallel or anti-parallel to this reference direction (i.e. wherein the image data comprises an image of the substrate formed by scanning an electron beam in one or more directions), for example, including the use electron beams of a scanning electron microscope, as indicated above), for example).
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of DASTOURI and Arieli , as a whole, teaches the computer-readable medium (DASTOURI, Par. [0017]), wherein the image data is captured via electron microscopy (DASTOURI, Par. [0061-62]: illuminator IL may be operable to vary the angular distribution of the beam… The illuminator IL may be operable to alter the polarization of the beam and may be operable to adjust the polarization using adjuster AD. The polarization state of the radiation beam across a pupil plane of the illuminator IL may be referred to as a polarization mode. The use of different polarization modes may allow greater contrast to be achieved in the image formed on the substrate W; Par. [0081-87]: terms “radiation” and “beam” used herein with respect to lithography encompass all types of electromagnetic radiation… as well as particle beams, such as ion beams or electron beams… There are various techniques for making measurements of the structures formed in the patterning process, including the use of a scanning electron microscope… Examples of measurement include… non- optical imaging (e.g., scanning electron microscopy (SEM); wherein the image data is captured via electron microscopy (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. image data) in order to obtain measurements based on optical imaging, for example, including obtaining projection beam scans over a patterning device (i.e. mask) of a substrate, including the use electron beams of a scanning electron microscope (i.e. wherein the image data is captured via electron microscopy), as indicated above), for example).
Regarding claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and the combination of DASTOURI and Arieli , as a whole, teaches the computer-readable medium (DASTOURI, Par. [0017]), wherein a scanning electron microscope (SEM) is used to perform the electron microscopy to capture a SEM image, wherein the image data comprises SEM image data representing the SEM image (DASTOURI, Par. [0061-62]: illuminator IL may be operable to vary the angular distribution of the beam… The illuminator IL may be operable to alter the polarization of the beam and may be operable to adjust the polarization using adjuster AD. The polarization state of the radiation beam across a pupil plane of the illuminator IL may be referred to as a polarization mode. The use of different polarization modes may allow greater contrast to be achieved in the image formed on the substrate W; Par. [0081-87]: terms “radiation” and “beam” used herein with respect to lithography encompass all types of electromagnetic radiation… as well as particle beams, such as ion beams or electron beams… There are various techniques for making measurements of the structures formed in the patterning process, including the use of a scanning electron microscope… Examples of measurement include… non- optical imaging (e.g., scanning electron microscopy (SEM); wherein a scanning electron microscope (SEM) is used to perform the electron microscopy to capture a SEM image, wherein the image data comprises SEM image data representing the SEM image (e.g. lithographic apparatus includes performing imaging on a substrate (i.e. image data) in order to obtain measurements based on optical imaging, for example, including obtaining projection beam scans over a patterning device (i.e. mask) of a substrate, including the use electron beams of a scanning electron microscope (i.e. wherein a scanning electron microscope (SEM) is used to perform the electron microscopy to capture a SEM image, wherein the image data comprises SEM image data representing the SEM image), as indicated above), for example).
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of DASTOURI and Arieli , as a whole, teaches the computer-readable medium (DASTOURI, Par. [0017]), wherein the image data is obtained by imaging the substrate using a metrology system (DASTOURI, Par. [0084-89]: it is desirable to inspect a substrate or other object to measure or determine one or more properties such as alignment, overlay (which can be, for example, between structures in overlying layers or between structures in a same layer that have been provided separately to the layer by, for example, a double patterning process)… Accordingly, a manufacturing facility… also typically includes a metrology system that measures some or all of the substrates W… one or more measured parameters may include, for example, alignment, overlay between successive layers formed in or on the patterned substrate, critical dimension (CD) (e.g., critical linewidth) of, for example, features formed in or on the patterned substrate…This measurement may be performed on a target of the product substrate itself and/or on a dedicated metrology target provided on the substrate… Examples of measurement include… non-imaging optical measurement (e.g., measurement based on diffraction such as… the ASML SMASH metrology system… A metrology system may be used to determine one or more properties of the substrate structure, and in particular, how one or more properties of different substrate structures vary, or different layers of the same substrate structure vary from layer to layer).
Regarding claim 13, DASTOURI discloses a metrology system (Par. [0080-89]: substrate referred to herein may be processed, before or after exposure, in for example a track (a tool that typically applies a layer of resist to a substrate and develops the exposed resist) or a metrology or inspection tool… A metrology system may be used to determine one or more properties of the substrate structure). The feature limitations further recited in apparatus claim 13 are rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated and is a corresponding apparatus claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15, is a corresponding method claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, claim 15 is incorporated and is a corresponding method claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated and is a corresponding method claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 18, claim 15 is incorporated and is a corresponding method claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19, claim 18 is incorporated and is a corresponding method claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 5 above.
Claim 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DASTOURI, in view of Arieli, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Nyyssonen et al. (US Patent Publication No. 5633714 A), hereafter referred to as Nyyssonen, and in further review of NIENHUYS et al. (WO Publication No. 2021121906 A1), hereafter referred to as NIENHUYS.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of DASTOURI and Arieli , as a whole, teaches the computer-readable medium (DASTOURI, Par. [0017]), but fails to teach the following as further recited in claim 6.
However, Nyyssonen teaches wherein the instructions configured to cause the computer system to analyze the image data in Fourier space are further configured to cause the computer system to generate, responsive to application of a Fourier Transform to the image data, an amplitude image and a phase image (Col. 2; an imaging system for a pattern on a substrate, comprises the following. Means for amplitude and phase imaging… an interferometric microscope system; the microscope system including a microprocessor providing signals derived from the amplitude and phase imaging, means for deriving raw interferometer fringe data from the microprocessor, means for converting the fringe data into amplitude and phase data, means for deriving the fourier transform of the amplitude and phase data… and processing to provide amplitude and phase image data as a first image output… method comprises deriving raw interferometer fringe amplitude and phase data from the microprocessor, converting the fringe amplitude and phase data into amplitude and phase data, deriving a fourier transform of the amplitude and phase data… and processing to provide amplitude and phase image data as a first image output… method provides for using an optical measuring system for measuring critical dimension or overlay of a pattern on a substrate, the system comprising an optical imaging system, with amplitude and phase imaging… in a coherence probe type of interferometric microscope system, the microscope system including a microprocessor providing signals derived from the amplitude and phase imaging, the method comprising selecting image type and then phase image processing to provide a first image output; Col. 6: FIG. 1C is a flow chart of the sequence of operations of microscope microprocessors 44 and 48 in FIG. 1A… raw data processor 44 converts raw interferometer data to the intermediate data f(x,y). In FIG. 1C, the input data from line 46 in FIG. 1A is supplied to conversion processor 54 which converts f(x,z) to amplitude and phase data a(x, z) and p(x,z). The converted data passes from processor 54 on line 56 to fourier transform processor 58 which takes the fourier transform… Then the output of fourier transform processor 58 is passed on line 60 to correction processor 62 which applies corrections… which supplies an output on line 96 from the correction processor 62 in FIG. 1C to the image selector 64 in FIG. 1C… The microprocessor 48 operates on the data on line 96 which is supplied to the select image selector 64 which selects the image type to be processed by microprocessor 48 and supplied on output line 88; wherein the instructions configured to cause the computer system to analyze the image data in Fourier space are further configured to cause the computer system to generate, responsive to application of a Fourier Transform to the image data, an amplitude image and a phase image (e.g. imaging system for a pattern on a substrate, comprises an interferometric microscope system including a microprocessor providing signals derived from amplitude and phase imaging by deriving a fourier transform (i.e. mage data in Fourier space) of amplitude and phase data from converted raw interferometer fringe data, for example, and processing to provide amplitude and phase image data as a an image output (i.e. wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the computer system to generate, responsive to application of a Fourier Transform to the image data, an amplitude image and a phase image), wherein the amplitude is determined based on the amplitude image and the phase is determined based on the phase image (Col. 6-7: When one obtains image amplitude and phase data from a phase image metrology tool such as the above coherence probe type of interferometric microscope system, it is desirable to produce improved CD and OL measurements using the data… amplitude and phase data files have been taken from the modified coherence probe system corresponding to the amplitude and phase images; wherein the amplitude is determined based on the amplitude image and the phase is determined based on the phase image (e.g. imaging system for a pattern on a substrate, comprises an interferometric microscope system including a microprocessor providing signals derived from amplitude and phase imaging by deriving a fourier transform of amplitude and phase data from converted raw interferometer fringe data, for example, and processing to provide amplitude and phase image data as a an image output and to obtain amplitude and phase data from microprocessor provided signals derived from amplitude and phase imaging (i.e. wherein the amplitude is determined based on the amplitude image and the phase is determined based on the phase image), as indicated above), for example).
DASTOURI, Arieli, and Nyyssonen are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to image processing applications. Therefore, the combined teachings of DASTOURI, Arieli, and Nyyssonen, as a whole, would have rendered obvious the invention recited in claim 6 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to modify the lithographic apparatus including a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions thereon, in which the instructions when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform operations including processing a substrate using a number of fabrication processes (as disclosed by DASTOURI) with wherein the instructions configured to cause the computer system to analyze the image data in Fourier space are further configured to cause the computer system to generate, responsive to application of a Fourier Transform to the image data, an amplitude image and a phase image, wherein the amplitude is determined based on the amplitude image and the phase is determined based on the phase image (as taught by Nyyssonen, Abstract, Col. 2, 6-7) to improve imaging, as well as CD and OL measurements by improving image quality and preprocessing image amplitude and phase data to improve CD and OL measurements (Nyyssonen, Abstract, Col. 1, 6-7, 9).
DASTOURI, Arieli, and Nyyssonen, as a whole, teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, as indicated above, including a microprocessor providing signals derived from amplitude and phase imaging by deriving a fourier transform of amplitude and phase data from converted raw interferometer fringe data, for example, but fails to disclose a fast Fourier Transform (FFT).
However, NIENHUYS teaches a fast Fourier Transform (FFT) (Par. [0035]: capture diffraction orders coming from the metrology targets… the diffracted signal may be used to determine shifts between two layers (also referred to ‘overlay’); Par. [0147-149]: diffraction signal… is obtained from the image sensors… the signal is Fourier-transformed… The Fourier transform… may be approximated using fast Fourier transform (FFT) methods).
DASTOURI, Arieli, Nyyssonen, and NIENHUYS are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to image processing applications. Therefore, the combined teachings of DASTOURI, Arieli, Nyyssonen, and NIENHUYS, would have rendered obvious the invention recited in claim 6 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to modify the lithographic apparatus including a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions thereon, in which the instructions when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform operations including processing a substrate using a number of fabrication processes (as disclosed by DASTOURI) with a fast Fourier Transform (FFT) (as taught by NIENHUYS, Abstract, Par. [0035, 147-149]) to measure overlay, the accuracy of alignment of two layers in a device, to determine shifts between two layers (also referred to ‘overlay’), to reconstruct at least part of the original grating as produced by the lithographic process, to improve accuracy of overlay measurements and to get accurate measurement results of a lithographic processing parameters e.g. overlay, structure dimension, structure optical properties, critical dimension or focus (NIENHUYS, Abstract, Par. [003-12, 35, 138, 269]).
Regarding claim 20, claim 15 is incorporated and is a corresponding method claim rejected as applied to the computer readable medium claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/GUILLERMO M RIVERA-MARTINEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677