DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauciuc US2004/0187501.
Per claim 1 Sauciuc et al. teaches a vapor chamber (100; [0014] & [0016]), comprising: a sealed enclosure ([0014]) comprising: a main portion defining a main chamber (see fig.2, “bottom portion”), the main portion having a heat input surface region (see fig.1) for contacting a heat source (108); and a duct portion (see fig.1, “top and side portions”) extending from a first margin region of the main portion (see fig.1, “left portion”) and returning to a second margin region of the main portion (see fig.1, “right portion”), wherein the heat input surface region is between the first margin region and the second margin region of the main portion (see fig.1), wherein the main portion and the duct portion form a closed loop structure ([0014], “sealed vapor chamber”).
Per claim 2 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 1, wherein at least one heat dissipation structure (106, see fig.1) is disposed on a corresponding exterior surface of the duct portion of the vapor chamber (see fig.1).
Per claim 3 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 2, wherein the at least one heat dissipation structure is spaced apart from each other (see fig.1).
Per claim 4 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 2, wherein each of the at least one the heat dissipation structure comprises a fin structure (see fig.1; [0021]).
Per claim 5 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 2, wherein heat from the heat source in contact with the heat input surface region is transferred to a working fluid within the sealed enclosure via the heat input surface region to convert the working fluid from a liquid state to a gaseous state ([0016]-[0018]); and wherein the working fluid in the gaseous state is condensed back into the liquid state along the duct portion of the vapor chamber ([0016]-[0018], see fig.1), wherein an interior surface of the duct portion, which is opposite the corresponding exterior surface of the duct portion having the at least one heat dissipation structure, serves as a condensing surface (see fig.1; [0016]-[0018]).
Per claim 6 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 5, wherein a gas path is formed in a first direction from the main portion to the duct portion and a liquid path is formed in a second direction from the duct portion to the main portion (see fig.1).
Per claim 7 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 6, wherein the liquid path and the gas path form a closed loop path (see fig.1).
Per claim 8 Sauciuc et al. teaches the vapor chamber of claim 1, wherein the closed loop structure is of a substantially rectangular annulus shape (see fig.1; [0023]), wherein the main portion defines one side of the rectangular annulus shape and the duct portion defines remaining three sides of the rectangular annulus shape (see fig.1).
Claim(s) 11-18 & 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauciuc US2006/0090882.
Per claim 11 Sauciuc teaches a heat dissipating assembly (170, see fig.4), comprising: a fan unit (108, see fig.4); and a vapor chamber (102; [0020] & [0026]) surrounding the fan unit (see fig.4), the vapor chamber comprising: a sealed enclosure (102) comprising: a main portion (see fig.4, “bottom portion”) defining a main chamber, the main portion having a heat input surface region for contacting a heat source (106, see fig.4); and a duct portion (see fig.4, “top and side portions”) extending from a first margin region of the main portion and returning to a second margin region of the main portion (see fig.4), wherein the heat input surface region is between the first margin region and the second margin region of the main portion (see fig.4), wherein the main portion and the duct portion form a closed loop structure to surround the fan unit (see fig.4).
Per claim 12 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 11, wherein at least one heat dissipation structure(128) is disposed on a corresponding exterior surface of the duct portion of the vapor chamber (see fig.4).
Per claim 13 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 12, wherein the at least one heat dissipation structure is spaced apart from each other (see fig.4).
Per claim 14 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 12, wherein each of the at least one the heat dissipation structure comprises a fin structure ([0022]).
Per claim 15 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 12, wherein heat from the heat source in contact with the heat input surface region is transferred to a working fluid within the sealed enclosure via the heat input surface region to convert the working fluid from a liquid state to a gaseous state ([0017]-[020]); and wherein the working fluid in the gaseous state is condensed back into the liquid state along the duct portion of the vapor chamber, wherein an interior surface of the duct portion ([0017]-[0020]), which is opposite the corresponding exterior surface of the duct portion having the at least one heat dissipation structure, serves as a condensing surface (see fig.4; [0017]-[0022]).
Per claim 16 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 15, wherein a gas path (114, see fig.4) is formed in a first direction from the main portion to the duct portion and a liquid path (164) is formed in a second direction from the duct portion to the main portion (see fig.4; [0026]).
Per claim 17 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 16, wherein the liquid path and the gas path form a closed loop path (see fig.4).
Per claim 18 Sauciuc et al. teaches the heat dissipating assembly of claim 11, wherein the closed loop structure is of a substantially rectangular annulus shape, wherein the main portion defines one side of the rectangular annulus shape and the duct portion defines remaining three sides of the rectangular annulus shape (see fig.4).
Per claim 21 Sauciuc teaches a electronic device, comprising: a heat generating electronic component (106, see fig.4); a fan unit (108); and a vapor chamber (102; [0020] & [0026]) surrounding the fan unit (fig.4), wherein the heat generating electronic component is in contact with a heat input surface region of the vapor chamber (see fig.4), the vapor chamber comprising: a sealed enclosure (102; [0020]) comprising: a main portion (see fig.4, “bottom portion”) defining a main chamber, the main portion having the heat input surface region in contact with the heat source (see fig.4); and a duct portion (see fig.4, “top and side portions”) extending from a first margin region of the main portion and returning to a second margin region of the main portion (see fig.4), wherein the heat input surface region is between the first margin region and the second margin region of the main portion (see fig.4), wherein the main portion and the duct portion form a closed loop structure to surround the fan unit (see fig.4).
Per claim 22 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 21, wherein at least one heat dissipation structure (128) is disposed on a corresponding exterior surface of the duct portion of the vapor chamber (see fig.4).
Per claim 23 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 22, wherein the at least one heat dissipation structure is spaced apart from each other (see fig.4).
Per claim 24 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 22, wherein each of the at least one the heat dissipation structure comprises a fin structure ([0022]).
Per claim 25 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 22, wherein heat from the heat source (106) in contact with the heat input surface region is transferred to a working fluid within the sealed enclosure via the heat input surface region to convert the working fluid from a liquid state to a gaseous state ([0017]-[0020]); and wherein the working fluid in the gaseous state is condensed back into the liquid state along the duct portion of the vapor chamber, wherein an interior surface of the duct portion, which is opposite the corresponding exterior surface of the duct portion having the at least one heat dissipation structure, serves as a condensing surface (see fig.4; [0017]-[0022]).
Per claim 26 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 25, wherein a gas path (114, see fig.4) is formed in a first direction from the main portion to the duct portion and a liquid path (164) is formed in a second direction from the duct portion to the main portion (see fig.4; [0026]).
Per claim 27 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 26, wherein the liquid path and the gas path form a closed loop path (see fig.4).
Per claim 28 Sauciuc et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the closed loop structure is of a substantially rectangular annulus shape, wherein the main portion defines one side of the rectangular annulus shape and the duct portion defines remaining three sides of the rectangular annulus shape (see fig.4).
Allowable Subject matter
2. Claims 9-10, 19-20 & 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9, includes allowable subject matter because of the vapor chamber of claim 1, wherein the main portion comprises: a further heat input surface region adjacent to the heat input surface region on a side of the heat input surface region opposite the duct portion; and a further duct portion extending from the first margin region of the main portion and returning to the second margin region of the main portion, wherein the further duct portion is at a side of the main portion opposite the duct portion, wherein the further heat input surface region is between the first margin region and the second margin region of the main portion, wherein the main portion and the further duct portion form a further closed loop structure.
Claim 10 depends on claim 9, therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Claim 19, includes allowable subject matter because of the heat dissipating assembly of claim 11, wherein the main portion comprises: a further heat input surface region adjacent to the heat input surface region on a side of the heat input surface region opposite the duct portion; and a further duct portion extending from the first margin region of the main portion and returning to the second margin region of the main portion, wherein the further duct portion is at a side of the main portion opposite the duct portion, wherein the further heat input surface region is between the first margin region and the second margin region of the main portion, wherein the main portion and the further duct portion form a further closed loop structure.
Claim 20 depends on claim 19, therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Claim 29, includes allowable subject matter because of the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the main portion comprises: a further heat input surface region adjacent to the heat input surface region on a side of the heat input surface region opposite the duct portion; and a further duct portion extending from the first margin region of the main portion and returning to the second margin region of the main portion, wherein the further duct portion is at a side of the main portion opposite the duct portion, wherein the further heat input surface region is between the first margin region and the second margin region of the main portion, wherein the main portion and the further duct portion form a further closed loop structure.
Claim 30 depends on claim 29, therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Email Communication
3. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salim Shirazy et al. US20180320985 discloses a working fluid chamber, a porous structure extending in the working fluid chamber from at least one of the housing walls, and a plurality of housing wall spacers extending between two opposed ones of the housing walls.
Yang US2013/0092353 discloses A vapor chamber structure comprising a main body formed from a first plate and a second plate; the first plate and the second plate being correspondingly closed to each other to thereby together define at least one open area on the main body and a chamber in the main body; the chamber being internally provided with at least one wick structure, a support structure, and a working fluid; and the open area correspondingly extending through the first plate, the second plate, and the chamber.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841