DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/12/2024 and 9/2/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract and title are consistent with the requirements set forth in the MPEP 608.01(b) and 606, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the manufactured carrier substrate" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no previous mention of a manufactured carrier substrate in the claim. For proper antecedence and for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as "the carrier substrate." Appropriate correction is required. Claims 15-25 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for further limiting and depending on indefinite claim 14. Claim 19 recites the limitations "the manufactured carrier substrate" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no previous mention of a manufactured carrier substrate in the claim. For proper antecedence and for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as "the carrier substrate." Appropriate correction is required. Claim 20 recites the limitations "the stacking direction" in line 2 and “the main extension plane” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no previous mention of a stacking direction and a main extension plane in the claim. For proper antecedence and for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as "a stacking direction" and “a main extension plane,” respectively. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 21 recites the limitation "The method of manufacturing a carrier substrate (1) according to claim 14.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no previous mention of a manufacturing method and a carrier substrate was already introduced in claim 14 of which claim 21 is dependent on. For proper antecedence and for examination purposes, the limitation is being interpreted as "A method of manufacturing [[a]] the carrier substrate (1) according to claim 14." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Terasaki US PGPub. 2024/0203819 as evidenced by Iyer US Pat. 6,046,098. Regarding claim 14, Terasaki teaches a carrier substrate (10, fig. 1-2B) [0041] for electrical components (3, fig. 1)[0042],[0104], comprising: a heat sink (5, fig. 1)[0045], and a ceramic element (11, fig. 1)[0048], wherein the ceramic element (11) is bonded to the heat sink (5) at least in sections, wherein a bonding layer (31, fig. 2B) [0057]-[0058] free of solder material (Titanium silicide, [0058]) is formed in the manufactured carrier substrate (10) between the heat sink (5) and the ceramic element (11), and wherein an adhesion agent layer (31, fig. 2B) [0057]-[0058] of the bonding layer (31) has a sheet resistance which is greater than 5 ohm/sq (Titanium silicide, [0058]), characterized in that the heat sink (5) is bonded to the ceramic element (11) via a backside metallization (13, fig. 1 and 2B)[0042] and the adhesion agent layer (31) is formed between the backside metallization (13) and the ceramic element (11) (Terasaki, fig. 1-2B). The adhesion agent layer (31) of the bonding layer (31) is considered to have a sheet resistance which is greater than 5 ohm/sq because the adhesion layer is made of Titanium silicide, [0058] and Iyer US Pat. 6,046,098 (col. 3, lines 25-31) provides evidence that the sheet resistance of titanium silicide is greater than 5 ohms/sq. (less than 12 ohm/sq, col. 3, lines 25-31).
Regarding claim 15, Terasaki teaches the carrier substrate (10) according to claim 14, wherein the ceramic element (11) comprises a material composition (silicon nitride, [0048]) which cannot be bonded via a direct bonding method (Terasaki, [0048]). The ceramic element (11) is considered to comprise a material composition which cannot be bonded via direct bonding method because the carrier element (11) is Terasaki is made of silicon nitride which is the same material as that of the invention (see [0028] of the publication of the instant application) that cannot be bonded to a metal using direct bonding.
Regarding claim 16, Terasaki teaches the carrier substrate (10) according to claim 14, wherein the ceramic element comprises Si3N4 (Terasaki, [0048])
Regarding claim 18, Terasaki teaches the carrier substrate (10) according to claim 14, wherein the ceramic element (11) has a thickness which is less than 300 μm (0.2mm = 200µm, [0048]) (Terasaki, [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, Terasaki teaches the carrier substrate (1) according to claim 14, a thickness of the bonding layer or adhesion agent layer (31), measured in the stacking (Z direction, fig. 2B) direction (S), averaged over a plurality of measuring points within a predetermined area or in a plurality of areas which course or run parallel to the main extension plane (from left to right of fig. 2B), has a value which is less than 1000 nm (0.8mm = 800µm or less, [0060]) (Terasaki, [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terasaki US PGPub. 2024/0203819 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Terasaki et al. US PGPub. 2015/0282379 (Terasaki et al.). Regarding claim 17, Terasaki does not teach the carrier substrate (10) according to claim 14, wherein a grain size in the backside metallization (13) is different from a grain size in the heat sink (5). However, Terasaki et al. teaches a carrier substrate (30, fig. 1) [0055] wherein a grain size in the backside metallization (13, fig. 1) [0087] is different from a grain size in the heat sink (31, fig. 1) [0087] (Terasaki et al., fig. 1, [0087]). At the time before the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the grain sizes of the metallization and heat sink of Terasaki with that taught by Terasaki et al. in order to prevent unnecessary distortions accumulation in the metallization layer and heat sink as well as achieving good fatigue characteristics (Terasaki et al., [0087]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terasaki US PGPub. 2024/0203819 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yamagishi et al. US PGPub. 2023/0130647. Regarding claim 19, Terasaki teaches wherein the heat sink (5) has recesses which form a cooling channel in the manufactured carrier substrate (10) (Terasaki, fig. 1, [0045]). But Terasaki does not teach the carrier substrate (10) according to claim 14, wherein the heat sink (5) is formed from at least a first metal layer and a second metal layer which are joined on top of one another by means of a direct bonding method, wherein the first metal layer and/or the second metal layer have recesses which form a cooling channel in the manufactured carrier substrate (10). However, Yamagishi teaches a carrier substrate (fig. 4) wherein the heat sink (40L, 40H, fig. 4) [0051] is formed from at least a first metal layer and a second metal layer (laminating a plurality of different metal layers, [0051]) which are joined on top of one another by means of a direct bonding method [0051] (Yamagishi et al., fig., 4, [0051]). At the time before the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the simple substitute of the heat sink of Terasaki for the direct bonded plurality of metal layer heat sink of Yamagishi because such heat sink structure is well known in the art and such substitution is art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (for heat dissipation, Yamagishi et al., [0050]) to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2144.06).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious a method of manufacturing the carrier substrate according to claim 14, comprising “bonding the backside metallization (74) to the ceramic element (71) by means of hot isostatic pressing for forming a metal-ceramic substrate” in combination with “bonding the heat sink (20) to the backside metallization (74) by means of a direct bonding method” as recited in claim 21.
Claims 22-25 are also objected to as allowable for further limiting and depending upon allowable claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Terasaki US PGPub. 2020/0243409 (fig. 1-2) also teaches a carrier substrate with bonding layer between a backside metallization and the aceramic element.
/NDUKA E OJEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892