DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2024 was filed considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Junichi.
Regarding claim 31, Junichi discloses a magnetic detection method comprising: applying an alternating current with a frequency ω (fig. 1c, ac current with modulation frequency f = 2πω, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) to a magnetic body (fig. 1b, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2); and detecting a three-dimensional magnetic field based on a change in voltage at the frequency ω in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 1d, monitored by
R
H
ω
via AHE, Vector rotation in xz plane for verification of θH detection, 2, col. 2) and a change in voltage at a frequency 2ω in a direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 3, monitored by
R
1
ω
via AMR, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2).
Regarding claim 32, Junichi discloses the magnetic detection method according to claim 31, Junichi discloses further comprising detecting the three-dimensional magnetic field (fig. 1c, 1d, direction of a magnetic-field vector by simultaneous measurements of AHE, AMR, and UMR in the ferromagnetic heterostructure device, pg.2, col. 2, pg. 4-5, col. 1) by also using a change in voltage at the frequency ω in a direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows (determination of ϕH was performed by the evaluation Rω1 using AMR, Experimental demonstration of 3D magnetic-field sensing, pg. 4, col. 1).
Regarding claim 33, Junichi discloses the magnetic detection method according to claim 31, Junichi discloses wherein detecting a three-dimensional magnetic field (fig. 1c, 1d, direction of a magnetic-field vector by simultaneous measurements of AHE, AMR, and UMR in the ferromagnetic heterostructure device, pg.2, col. 2, pg. 5, col. 1) based on a resistance value due to an anomalous Hall effect in the magnetic body (determination of θH was performed by the evaluation of
R
H
ω
using AHE, Experimental demonstration of 3D magnetic-field sensing, pg. 4, col. 1) and a resistance value due to a unidirectional magnetoresistance effect in the magnetic body (determination of ϕH was performed by the evaluation of
R
1
2
ω
using UMR, Experimental demonstration of 3D magnetic-field sensing, pg. 4, col. 1).
Regarding claim 34, Junichi discloses the magnetic detection method according to claim 33, Junichi discloses further comprising detecting the three-dimensional magnetic field by also using a resistance value due to an anisotropic magnetoresistance effect in the magnetic body field (fig. 1c, 1d, direction of a magnetic-field vector by simultaneous measurements of AHE, AMR, and UMR in the ferromagnetic heterostructure device, pg.2, col. 2, pg. 4-5, col. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi et al. “Three-dimensional sensing of the magnetic-field vector by a compact planar-type Hall device”, COMMUNICATIONS MATERIALS | (2021) 2:102 | https://doi.org/10.1038/s43246-021-00206-2, Pages 1-5 (hereinafter referred to as Junichi) in view of Bi et al. CN 111929625 A (hereinafter referred to as Bi) in view of Lim et al. US 2018/0210015 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lim).
Regarding claim 18, Junichi discloses magnetic sensor (fig. 1, three-dimensional magnetometer, pg. 1, abs.) comprising: a magnetic body (fig. 1b, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2); a current application means (see fig. 1c, 3a) configured to apply an alternating current with a frequency ω (fig. 1c, ac current with modulation frequency f = 2πω, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) to the magnetic body; a detection unit (lock-in amplifiers, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) configured to measure, when the alternating current is applied by the current application means, a change in voltage at the frequency ω in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 3, monitored by
R
1
ω
via AMR, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2) and a change in voltage at a frequency 2ω in a direction parallel to the direction (fig. 1c, 1d, UMR in
R
1
2
ω
, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) in which the alternating current flows (see fig. 1c, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) detect a three-dimensional magnetic field based on each change in voltage measured by the detection unit (fig. 1c, 1d, direction of a magnetic-field vector by simultaneous measurements of AHE, AMR, and UMR in the ferromagnetic heterostructure device, pg.2, col. 2, pg. 5, col. 1).
Junichi does not explicitly disclose an analysis means.
Lim discloses an analysis means (fig. 1, elm. 150, par. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide measurement and control within a harmonic Hall voltage analysis apparatus, as taught in Lim in modifying the apparatus of Junichi and Bi. The motivation would be to record and calculate the output of a sensor during operation of the system (see Lim: par. [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 18, Junichi discloses wherein the detection unit (lock-in amplifiers, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) also measures, when the alternating current is applied by the current application means (see fig. 1c, 3a), a change in voltage at the frequency ω in the direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 3, monitored by
R
1
ω
via AMR, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 18, Junichi discloses wherein the detection unit (lock-in amplifiers, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) is configured to measure a resistance value due to an anomalous Hall effect (polar angle θH (out-of-plane field direction) is monitored by
R
H
ω
via AHE, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) in the magnetic body (fig. 1b, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) and a resistance value due to a unidirectional magnetoresistance effect (fig. 1c, 1d, UMR in
R
1
2
ω
, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) in the magnetic body; and the analysis means configured to detect a three-dimensional magnetic field (fig. 1c, 1d, pg.2, col. 2, pg. 5, col. 1) based on the resistance values measured by the detection unit.
Regarding claim 21, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 20, Junichi discloses wherein the detection unit (lock-in amplifiers, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) is also configured to measure a resistance value due to an anisotropic magnetoresistance effect (fig. 1c, 1d, AMR values azimuthal angle ϕH (in-plane field direction) is measured by the values of
R
1
ω
and
R
2
ω
, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) in the magnetic body.
Regarding claim 22, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 21, Junichi discloses wherein the detection unit (lock-in amplifiers, Results and discussion, pg. 2, col. 2) finds the resistance value due to the anomalous Hall effect change in voltage at the frequency ω in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 1d, monitored by
R
H
ω
via AHE, Vector rotation in xz plane for verification of θH detection, 2, col. 2) from the, finds the resistance value due to the anisotropic magnetoresistance effect from the change in voltage at the frequency ω in a direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 3, monitored by
R
1
ω
via AMR, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2), and finds the resistance value due to the unidirectional magnetoresistance effect from the change in voltage at a frequency 2ω in the direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 3e, monitored by
R
1
2
ω
via UMR, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 22, Junichi discloses wherein the magnetic body (fig. 1b, 1c, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) includes a first section (fig. 1c, oriented along x-axis (channel 1), Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2 ) in which the alternating current flows in a predetermined direction when the alternating current is applied by the current application means, and a second section (fig. 1c, oriented along −45
°
from x-axis (channel 2), Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2 ) connected to the first section (series connected channel 1 and 2) such that the alternating current flows at an angle other than 90 degrees, 180 degrees, 270 degrees and 360 degrees relative to the predetermined direction, and the detection unit (lock-in amplifiers, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) as the change in voltage at the frequency ω in the direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows (fig. 3, monitored by
R
1
ω
via AMR, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2), a change in voltage at the frequency ω in the direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows in the first section and a change in voltage at the frequency ω in the direction parallel to the direction in which the alternating current flows in the second section (fig. 3, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 3, col. 2).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 24, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 20, Junichi discloses wherein the analysis means determines a zenith angle (fig. 4, θH , Experimental demonstration of 3D magnetic-field sensing, pg. 4, col. 1).
of the three-dimensional magnetic field sensor (fig. 1, three-dimensional magnetometer, pg. 1, abs.) based on the resistance value due to the anomalous Hall effect (fig. 4, magnetic-field vector consisting of θH ,Experimental demonstration of 3D magnetic-field sensing, pg. 4, col. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 20, Junichi discloses wherein the analysis means determines an azimuth angle of the three-dimensional magnetic field based on the resistance value due to the unidirectional magnetoresistance effect or a polarity of the resistance value due to the unidirectional magnetoresistance effect (fig. 4, ϕH ,Experimental demonstration of 3D magnetic-field sensing, pg. 4-5).
Regarding claim 26, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 18, Junichi discloses wherein the magnetic body (fig. 1b, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) is a material that produces an anomalous Hall effect, an anisotropic magnetoresistance effect, and a unidirectional magnetoresistance effect (AHE, AMR, and UMR, pg. 2, col. 2, Conclusion, pg. 5).
Regarding claim 27, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 18, Junichi discloses wherein the magnetic body (fig. 1b, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) is a ferromagnetic body comprising any of Fe-Sn (fig. 1b, ferromagnetic Fe–Sn heterostructure, pg. 2, col. 2), Co2MnGa, Co2MnAl, Fe3Sn2, Fe3Sn, Co3Sn2S2, (Bi,Sb)2Te3 doped with Cr or V, and GaMnAs.
Regarding claim 28, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 18, Junichi discloses further comprising: a substrate fig. 1b, Al2O3 substrate, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 4, col. 1) supporting the magnetic body (fig. 1b, two Hall-bar channels, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2); and a cap layer (fig. 1b, SiOx cap, Results and discussion. pg. 2, col. 2) for preventing deterioration of the magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body is made of a thin film and is disposed sandwiched between the substrate and the cap layer (see fig. 1b, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 4, col. 1).
Regarding claim 29, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 28, Junichi discloses wherein the substrate (fig. 1b, Al2O3 substrate, Vector rotation in xy plane for verification of ϕH detection, pg. 4, col. 1) is made of any of A1203, MgO, and MgAl2O4.
Regarding claim 30, Junichi and Lim discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 18, Junichi discloses (3D magnetometer, pg. 2, col. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (He WO 2020125622 A1).
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/20/2026