DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "3" and "4" have both been used to designate the horizontal grooves. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show teeth and the pipe as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Reference number “6”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2 – it is unclear what is meant by the phrase “an insert into the pipeline”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radke et al. 7,080,486.
In regard to claim 1, Radke et al. discloses a limit stop 2 installed in a protective wall 44, characterized in that the stop is made in the form of an anchor 38 and an insert 4 into the pipeline, the anchor 38 is mounted on a protective wall 46, the insert 4 is installed on the pipeline (bore 10 is for receiving pipes and cables) from the outer side of the protective wall 46, the anchor and insert are made with the possibility of locking the teeth in the grooves during torsion, the insert 4 is provided with a postulated break site 20a. Radke et al. discloses the anchor as having the horizontal teeth 39 and the insert as having the horizontal grooves 41, but not the reverse. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the insert with the teeth and the anchor with the grooves because the reversal of components in a prior art reference, where there is no disclosed significance to such reversal, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. 10,975,567 in view of Radke et al. 7,080,486.
In regard to claim 1, Brown et al. discloses a limit stop installed in a protective wall (see fig. 19B), characterized in that the stop is made in the form of an anchor 36 with horizontal grooves (grooves 96 that accept teeth 94, as shown in fig. 12c) and an insert 60 into the pipeline with horizontal teeth 94, the anchor 36 is mounted on a protective wall 26, the insert 60 is installed on the pipeline (the insert 60 has a bore for allowing pipes to pass through the concrete slab) from the outer side of the protective wall 26, the anchor 36 and insert are made with the possibility of locking the teeth in the grooves during torsion. Brown et al. discloses an insert for insertion into a concrete wall, but does not disclose the insert as having a break site. Radke et al. teaches that providing inserts, for use in concrete walls, with break sites 20a, in order to adjust the axial length of the insert to match the thickness of the wall, is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insert of Brown et al. to include a break site, in order to allow the insert to be adjusted to the thickness of the wall in which it is placed, as taught by Radke et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dykstra, Dennis, Wivagg, Bilstad, Luo and Cosley disclose similar couplings that are common and well known in the art.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679