DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Plasma processing member in claim 1, disclosed as a plasma generator 250 in Fig 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20200185680).
As to claims 1 and 12, Kim discloses a plasma processing apparatus/system (Abstract). Kim discloses that the apparatus comprises of a discharge roller; the discharge roller has a pattern portion on its outer surface comprising a stepped portion 254; said discharge roller having an inner space with a metal member 252 located therein; a plasma processing member 250 configured to generate plasma through a mutual reaction with the metal member (Fig. 4 below).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of Kim contains all of the structural limitations of claims 1 and 12.
As to claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Kim discloses that the pattern comprises of upper12b and lower portions 12a with a height difference relative to one another on the surface of the discharge roller (Fig. 5).
As to claim 3, the apparatus of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Claim 3 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 above since the claim is drawn to method and materials worked upon limitations.
As to claim 4, the apparatus of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Kim discloses that a connection portion 12c connect the upper and lower portions (Id.).
As to claims 5 and 6, the apparatus of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Kim discloses that the upper and lower sections and are alternately arranged in a horizontal direction of the discharge roller on the outer surface of the discharge roller (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200185680) in view of Yoshino (JPH 10309749).
As to claim 7, the apparatus of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Kim fails to specifically teach or disclose that the lower portions are recessed relative to the outer surface of the discharge roller. Yoshino discloses a method for bonding materials with an apparatus that has discharge electrodes (Abstract). Yoshino discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use a discharge roller with recesses in the surface of the roll so as to form intermittent bonding portions in the material processed (Fig. 5(a); pages 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the discharge roller surface of Yoshino in the apparatus taught by Kim because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional discharge roller surface for intermittent bonding in an apparatus with a discharge electrode. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 8, the apparatus of claim 7 is taught as seen above. The recitation that the height difference between the upper and lower portions amounts to a size recitation which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
As to claims 9-11, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. The recited various patterns sizes, depths and mosaic shape would amount to amount a size recitation and shape recitation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention. Id.; In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745