DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Claims 6 and 8-9 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A1, drawn to Fig. 1 and claims 1-5, 7, and 10-14, in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden between the remaining groups. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a national stage entry filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 and is therefore not subject to US restriction practice but rather subject to lack of unity practice, see MPEP 1893.03(d). It is noted that undue search burden is not a criterion in lack of unity analysis. The test is whether or not special technical features can be established. It is noted that inventions listed as the species do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features as set forth in the previous Office Action. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6 and 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/30/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrases in the preamble of “The plate” in each claim and the phrases “into the plate” in line 2 of claim 2 and in lines 3 and 4 of claim 7 are recommended to be amended to read “The liner plate” and “into the liner plate”, respectively to improve antecedent clarity of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10,
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first edge protection" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no previous recitation of “a first edge” in the claim or in claim 1, from which this claim depends. It is unclear if “the first edge” is an additional edge protection separate from the “at least one edge” of the liner plate recited in claim 1 or is part of said “at least one edge”. For examination purposes, “the first edge protection” of claim 10 will be considered to be “a first edge” of the “at least one edge” of the liner plate.
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the metal matrix material" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no previous recitation of “a metal matrix material” in the claim or in claim 11, from which this claim depends. For examination purposes, “the metal matrix material” of claim 12 will be considered to further comprise a metal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Esbelani et al. (US 2023/0173575 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Esbelani teaches a composite product (1, a liner plate) for use in equipment for mining and/or rock excavation (arranged in connection to a material processing handling system) (Esbelani: abstract; Fig. 9; par. 0044, 0045, and 0054). The liner plate comprising edge protection in the form of ceramic carbide tiles embedded along the edges of a metal plate of the composite product (liner plate) (Esbelani: abstract).
The edge protection including a plurality of primary wear tiles (2, a primary wear tile may correspond to a column of connected ceramic carbide tiles (2) as detailed in annotated Fig. 9 below) arranged side by side along at least one edge of the liner plate (Esbelani: Fig. 9; par. 0054). Wherein each of the plurality of primary wear tiles have a frontside and a backside, the backside having at least one backward protrusion protruding into the plate as the tiles are embedded into said liner plate (Esbelani: abstract; Fig. 9; par. 0054; see annotated Fig. 9 below).
Alternatively, the edge protection including a plurality of primary wear tiles (2, a primary wear tile) arranged side by side along at least one edge of the liner plate (Esbelani: Fig. 9; par. 0054). Wherein each of the plurality of primary wear tiles have a frontside and a backside, the backside having at least one backward protrusion protruding into the plate as the tiles are embedded into said liner plate (Esbelani: abstract; Fig. 9; par. 0054; see annotated Fig. 9 below).
Regarding claim 2,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches, in the first interpretation of a primary wear tile detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the backward protrusion may have a length protruding into the plate by a specific backward oriented protruding length that is more than the claimed at least 1/20 of a width of the frontside as each tile segment (2) may be a square (length = width) and the backside protrusion in Fig. 9 details 3 tile lengths compared to one frontside width, which is within the claimed range (Esbelani: Fig. 9).
Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range does not substantially deviate from the claimed range. Perricone v. Medicis Pharmaceutical Corp., 77 USPQ 1321, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2005)(anticipation found even where prior art range was not identical to claimed ranges); see also MPEP 2131.03 and Ex parte Lee, 31 USPQ2d 1105 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993).
Regarding claim 3,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches, in the second interpretation of a primary wear tile detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the liner plate further comprises an upper layer and a lower layer that is a wear protection layer (as the tiles are used in wear parts) comprising cemented carbides (Esbelani: Fig. 9; par. 0045-0054).
Regarding claim 4,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches the plurality of primary wear tiles are cemented carbides (Esbelani: abstract).
Regarding claim 5,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches the frontside has a n outer flat surface as shown in Fig. 9 (Esbelani: Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches, in the first interpretation of a primary wear tile detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the backward protrusion includes upper protrusions (the outlined/circled topside in adapted Fig. 9 above) an protruding into the plate and lower protrusions (the outlined/circled bottomside in adapted Fig. 9 above) protruding into the plate as said tiles are shown and explained to be embedded (Esbelani: abstract; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches the at least one edge may further comprise a first edge and a further edge protection opposite of the first edge protection, wherein the further edge protection includes a row of primary wear tiles (Esbelani: see adapted Fig. 9 below).
Regarding claims 11 and 12,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 1. Esbelani further teaches the liner plate (1) is a metal such as iron, manganese steel, aluminum, magnesium or an alloy of such metals (may correspond to a matrix material) that is bonded with the ceramic carbide primary wear tiles via casting molten metal (metallurgically bonded as Applicant’s specification details the casting of the ceramic carbide tiles with the liner plate matrix material forms metallurgical bonds) that solidifies to form the resulting composite (Esbelani: abstract; par. 0007-0008 and 0054-0055 and Applicant’s specification: pg. 4, lin. 11-12).
Regarding claim 13,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 11. Esbelani further teaches the matrix material may comprise iron (Esbelani: par. 0055).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esbelani in view of Esbelani et al. (US 2016/0288131 A1; herein referred to as Esbelani2016).
Regarding claim 14,
Esbelani teaches the liner plate required by claim 13. Esbelani does not explicitly teach the iron matrix material comprising nodular iron.
Esbelani2016 further teaches a wear resistant crusher distributor plate (a liner plate arranged in connection to a material processing handling system) comprising a cast base matrix material alloy comprising ductile iron that incorporates nodular (spheroidal) graphite (a nodular iron) in conjunction with carbide granules to provide improved wear properties (Esbelani2016: abstract; par. 0006-0008).
Esbelani and Esbelani2016 are in the corresponding field of cast iron liner plates for use in crushing systems. Therefore, it would be obvious to utilize the nodular iron matrix material of Esbelani2016 as the matrix material of Esbelani to provide improved wear properties.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783