DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 55-69 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song (EP 4,210,297 A1, hereinafter Song) .
Regarding claim 55, Song discloses a method performed by a gateway, comprising: deciding to discover a first Edge Application Server (EAS) for a terminal device; and sending a first message comprising information about the first EAS to the terminal device (¶[0004]); wherein the information about the first EAS comprises at least one of:
an identifier of the first EAS, endpoint information of the first EAS, or an identity of an application client (AC) (¶[0004], wherein the discovery includes target EAS information ).
Regarding claim 56, Song discloses , wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a response for a registration request from the terminal device, or a write request (¶[0005], application service request).
Regarding claim 57, Song discloses , wherein the information about the first EAS further comprises a type of the first EAS and the type of the first EAS is set as source (¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 58, Song discloses 58. (New) The method according to claim 55, further comprising: receiving a registration request comprising an identifier of an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) from the terminal device; and
sending a response for the registration request to the terminal device. (¶[0005], ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 65, Song discloses all subject matter of the65. (New) A method performed by a terminal device, comprising: receiving a first message comprising information about a first Edge Application Server (EAS) from a gateway; and connecting to the first EAS; wherein the information about the first EAS comprises at least one of: an identifier of the first EAS, endpoint information of the first EAS, and an identity of an application client (AC).
Regarding claim 66, Song discloses , wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a response for a registration request from the terminal device, or a write request (par 4-par 5) .
Regarding claim 67, Song discloses wherein the information about the first EAS further comprises a type of the first EAS and the type of the first EAS is set as source (par 63) .
Regarding claim 68 Song discloses receiving target information notification from the gateway, wherein the target information notification comprises information about a second EAS (par 4-par 5); and/or wherein the target information notification is received from the gateway in a write request for writing the information about the second EAS to the terminal device; and/or wherein the information about the second EAS comprises at least one of: an identifier of the second EAS, endpoint information of the second EAS, and an identity of an application client (AC) (par4-par 5).
Regarding claim 69, Song discloses, wherein the information about the second EAS further comprises a type of the second EAS and the type of the second EAS is set as target; and/or wherein the target information notification indicates that the second EAS is not ready to serve an application client in the terminal device (par 4- par 5)
Regarding claim 74, Song discloses a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and
a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby said terminal device is operative to:
receive a first message comprising information about a first Edge Application Server (EAS) from a gateway (¶[000])4],¶[0005; and
connect to the first EAS;
wherein the information about the first EAS comprises at least onc of: an identifier of the first EAS, endpoint information of the first EAS, and an identity of an application client (AC). (¶[0004],¶[0005], ¶[0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59-61, 70, and 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (EP 4,210,297 A1, (“Song”) in view of EP (4,354,985 A2, hereinafter Gupta).
Regarding claim 59, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of further comprising: sending a second message comprising the identifier of EEC and security credentials to an Edge Configuration Server (ECS) ;
receiving a third message comprising one or more Edge Data Network (EDN) configuration information from the ECS, wherein each EDN configuration information comprises information about
one or more Edge Enabler Servers (EES); and
selecting an EES from the one or more EES. Gupta discloses further comprising: sending a second message (paragraph 5, par. 0034, par 039) comprising the identifier of EEC an (Aspect 4, par 5) d security credentials to an Edge Configuration Server (ECS);
receiving a third message comprising one or more Edge Data Network (EDN) configuration information from the ECS, wherein each EDN configuration information comprises information about
one or more Edge Enabler Servers (EES) (par 5) ; and selecting an EES from the one or more EES (paragraph 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 60 ¸ Song discloses and sending the target information notification to the terminal device; and/or wherein the target information notification is sent to the terminal device in a write request for writing the information about the second EAS to the terminal device; and/or wherein the information about the second EAS comprises at least one of: an identifier of the second EAS, endpoint information of the second EAS, or an identity of an application client (AC) (par.004-005). Song discloses
all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of: receiving target information notification from the selected EES, wherein the target information notification comprises information about a second EAS. Gupta discloses receiving target information notification from the selected EES, wherein the target information notification comprises information about a second EAS (paragraph 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 61, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the information about the second EAS further comprises a type of the second EAS and the type of the second EAS is set as target; and/or wherein the target information notification indicates that the second EAS is not ready to serve an application client in the terminal device. Gupta discloses wherein the information about the second EAS further comprises a type of the second EAS and the type of the second EAS is set as target; and/or wherein the target information notification indicates that the second EAS is not ready to serve an application client in the terminal device (paragraph 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 62, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of: receiving from the selected EES a second message for confirming that Application Context Relocation (ACR) has completed; and sending to the terminal device a third message for indicating that an application client in the terminal device can switch application data communication from the first EAS to the second EAS; and/or
wherein the third message is a write request for updating a type of the second EAS as source. Gupta discloses receiving from the selected EES a second message for confirming that Application Context Relocation (ACR) has completed; and sending to the terminal device a third message for indicating that an application client in the terminal device can switch application data communication from the first EAS to the second EAS; and/or
wherein the third message is a write request for updating a type of the second EAS as source (figure 6). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 63, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the terminal device comprises at least one of:
a resource constrained device, an Internet of thing device, or
a lightweight machine to machine (LwM2M) client. Gupta discloses the terminal device comprises at least one of:
a resource constrained device, an Internet of thing device, or
a lightweight machine to machine (LwM2M) client (par 2-4, par 6). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 64, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein a communication between the terminal device and the gateway uses at least one of: Internet of Thing (IoT) protocol, LwM2M Protocol, or Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP). Gupta discloses of wherein a communication between the terminal device and the gateway uses at least one of: Internet of Thing (IoT) protocol, LwM2M Protocol, or Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP). (par 2-par4) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 70, Song discloses 70, further comprising: receiving from the gateway a third message for indicating that an application client in the terminal device can switch application data communication from the first EAS to the second EAS; and
switching application data communication from the first EAS to the second EAS; and/or wherein the third message is a write request for updating a type of the second EAS as source (¶[0124]).
Regarding claim 72, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the terminal device comprises at least one of:a resource constrained device,
an Internet of thing device, or a lightweight machine to machine (LwM2M) client. Gupta discloses wherein the terminal device comprises at least one of:a resource constrained device,
an Internet of thing device, or a lightweight machine to machine (LwM2M) client par 2-par4) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Regarding claim 73, Song discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein a communication between the terminal device and the gateway and a communication between the terminal device and a bootstrap server use at least one of:
Internet of Thing (IoT) protocol, LwM2M Protocol, or Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP). Gupta discloses wherein a communication between the terminal device and the gateway and a communication between the terminal device and a bootstrap server use at least one of:
Internet of Thing (IoT) protocol, LwM2M Protocol, or Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP) ( par 2-par4) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the EEEC identifier and security credential as disclosed by Gupta in the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate the EEC and securely obtain configuration information.
Claim 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Gupta in view of Ocak et al (WO 2017131564 A1, hereinafter Ocak) .
Regarding claim 71, Song discloses sending a request to a server (par 5); and receiving from the server a write request to configure the terminal device with information about the gateway (par 5-6) . Song ang Gupta do not disclose a bootstrap request or a bootstrap server. .
Ocak discloses a bootstrap request and a bootstrap server (abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the bootstrap request and server and the EAS registration and discovery of Song to authenticate and obtain configuration information.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412