DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 16, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 19 are pending in the application with claims 18 and 19 being newly added. The amendment to the claims has overcome the claim objections set forth in the last Non-Final Action mailed June 17, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Long (CN 209671223U – herein after Li) in view of Jean-Claude Pelletier (FR 2676784A1 – herein after Jean).
In reference to claim 1, Li teaches a pump assembly (see fig. 1) comprising:
an electric drive motor (3) comprising at least a motor drive shaft (21, see fig. 3) and a rotor (9 or 7+9, see figs. 1 and 3), wherein the motor drive shaft extends along a rotor axis (rotor axis being in ↨ direction in view of fig. 1/3) and the rotor is mechanically coupled to the motor drive shaft (inherent feature); and
a pump housing (as seen in fig. 1) enclosing an impeller (12) that is mechanically coupled to a pump drive shaft (13, see fig. 3),
wherein the pump drive shaft extends along the rotor axis (in ↨ direction in view of fig. 1/3),
wherein the motor drive shaft (21) is releasably coupled to the pump drive shaft (13) [the disclosure in ¶32 of translation does not disclose any permanent means to join both the shafts] for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft (transfer of torque being an inherent feature),
wherein the motor drive shaft (21) is hollow (as seen in fig. 1/3) from a first axial motor drive shaft end (bottom end in view of fig. 1/3) to a second axial motor drive shaft end (top end in view of fig. 1/3) and defines a plurality of freely selectable drive shaft coupling axial positions (positions along the axial length of the hole within the motor drive shaft 21 that receives the pump drive shaft 13; for instance, the embodiment shown in fig. 1 shows the pump drive shaft having a first length such that its top end defines a first position for receiving a drive shaft coupling; however, for instance, if the pump drive shaft having a second length less than the first length is provided, then it defines a second position for receiving the drive shaft coupling; thus, the motor drive shaft defines “a plurality of freely selectable drive shaft coupling axial position”), extending along an axial length (in ↨ direction in view of fig. 1) between the first axial motor drive shaft end (bottom end) and the second axial motor drive shaft end (top end) and the motor drive shaft (21) is configured for different lengths of pump drive shafts to be coupled to the motor drive shaft at one of the drive shaft coupling axial positions along the axial length without changing the motor drive shaft (the motor drive shaft in Li is capable of having the claimed feature; it is to be noted while Li illustrates one specific insertion depth, the structure is inherently capable of receiving a shorter pump shaft at a different axial depth; the “freely selectable” nature of the position is defined by the existing physical depth of the hole),
wherein the pump drive shaft (13) protrudes into the hollow motor drive shaft at the first axial motor drive shaft end (as evident from fig. 3).
Li remains silent on the pump assembly wherein the motor drive shaft is releasably coupled to the pump drive shaft “by a drive shaft coupling” for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft; “wherein the drive shaft coupling is arranged at least partly within the hollow motor drive shaft for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft by frictional connection with a radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft and/or a radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft”; and “wherein the drive shaft coupling is accessible by an elongate tool through the second axial hollow motor drive shaft drive end for selectively tightening and releasing the drive shaft coupling”.
However, Jean teaches a device for joining components together, comprising:
a motor drive shaft (A; see fig. 1); and
a pump drive shaft (B; see fig. 1),
wherein the motor drive shaft (A) is releasably coupled to the pump drive shaft (B) by a drive shaft coupling (1+2, see fig. 1) for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft (inherent feature),
wherein the motor drive shaft (A) is hollow (as evident from fig. 1) from a first axial motor drive shaft end (right end in view of fig. 6) to a second axial motor drive shaft end (left end in view of fig. 6),
wherein the pump drive shaft (B) protrudes into the hollow motor drive shaft (A),
wherein the drive shaft coupling (1+2) is arranged at least partly (see fig. 6) within the hollow motor drive shaft (A) for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft by frictional connection (inherent feature in this coupling) with a radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft and/or a radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft,
wherein the drive shaft coupling (1+2) is accessible by an elongate tool (tool for tightening or loosening of a prestressing screw 8) through the second axial hollow motor drive shaft drive end (left end of shaft A) for selectively tightening and releasing the drive shaft coupling [see ¶7 of translation: “The action on the pressure agents (4) thus has the effect of pressing the outer ring (1) onto the part or element (A) to be fixed and the lower ring (2) onto the part or element (B) to be fixed. These efforts ensure the blocking in translation and in rotation of the parts (A - B) between them. It should be noted that the actions of the preload screws and the plunger needles are adjustable.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to couple the motor shaft and pump shaft in the pump assembly of Li using a drive shaft coupling as taught by Jean because it is “an improved coupling device, of simple design, with rapid assembly and disassembly, making it possible to achieve very high pressure values of the order of 15,000 bars”, as recognized by Jean (see page 2 of translation, lines 58-60) and as per Jean (see page 4 of translation, lines 135-141) “The advantages of the invention are clearly evident. First of all, it should be remembered that the coupling device based on the concept of drive by adhesion is obtained by the elastic deformation of the materials in contact. The high pressures required for maximum adhesion are obtained by compressing the pre-loaded elastomer sticks, giving them the power of a fluid without causing their drawbacks (leakage, sealing). This device according to the invention is also easily dismantled and its construction allows it to be reversible”. Thus, providing strong locking between the drive/motor and driven/pump shafts.
In reference to claim 3, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the drive shaft coupling (of Jean) comprises a radially expandable and/or radially compressible fastening element (1/2; see Jean: translation on page 3, lines 87-99 and lines 123-126) being at least partly arranged between the radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft (of Li) and the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft (of Li).
In reference to claim 5, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) is axially slotted (see axially slotted recesses 1.2, 2.2 in Jean’s fig. 1) from one or both axial ends of the fastening element.
In reference to claim 6, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) comprises n≥2 axial slots distributed in an n-fold rotational symmetry (more than two axially slotted recesses 1.2, 2.2 are seen in Jean’s fig. 1 arranged in circumferential direction) with respect to the rotor axis (of Li).
In reference to claim 7, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the drive shaft coupling (of Jean) comprises an axially screwable fastener (8; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) being directly or indirectly coupled to the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) by a form fit and/or a thread (see figs. 1-6 of Jean), wherein the fastener (8; of Jean) is screwable by an elongate tool being inserted through the second axial hollow motor drive shaft drive end (top end) into the hollow motor drive shaft (of Li).
In reference to claim 8, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) defines at least one hydraulic pressure chamber arranged between the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft (of Li or shaft A in Li’s fig. 6) and the radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft (of Li or shaft B in Li’s fig. 6), wherein the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) is expandable upon pressurizing the at least one hydraulic pressure chamber (see Jean: translation on page 3, lines 87-99 and lines 123-126) [with respect to “hydraulic pressure chamber”: elastomeric sticks 4 are provided in a space between two concentric hoops 1, 2; this space, along with plugs 6, 7, effectively functions as the “hydraulic pressure chamber” for the elastomer stick; when the stick is compresses, the pressure it generates within its confined space is what causes the expansion of the hoops 1, 2 and the subsequent locking action].
In reference to claim 9, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the fastener (8; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) is configured to directly or indirectly press hydraulic fluid into at least one hydraulic pressure chamber (4; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) upon being screwed for tightening the drive shaft coupling [Jean states (see page 4 of translation, lines 138-140) “The high pressures required for maximum adhesion are obtained by compressing the pre-loaded elastomer sticks, giving them the power of a fluid without causing their drawbacks (leakage, sealing)”; this means the elastomer stick 4, when highly compressed within the confines of two hoops 1, 2 and plugs 6, 7, generates immense internal pressure that then exerts outward force on the surrounding hoops 1, 2; thus, in essence, the elastomeric stick 4 is the solid-state equivalent of a pressurized fluid in this coupling mechanism].
In reference to claim 10, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the fastener (8; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) is directly or indirectly coupled to the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) for selectively pushing the fastening element (when fastening element is tightened) towards the first axial motor drive shaft (towards the bottom end of Li’s motor shaft) end and pulling the fastening element (when fastening element is loosened) towards the second axial motor drive shaft end (towards the top end of Li’s motor shaft).
In reference to claim 11, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, further comprising a releasing sleeve (7; see fig. 4 of Jean) axially clasping a head of the fastener (right end of set screw 8; see fig. 4 of Jean) and being coupled to the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) by a form fit (“form fit” = mechanical connected in a way that the relative movement is prevented).
In reference to claim 12, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the electric drive motor (of Li) comprises a motor housing (3; of Li), wherein the motor housing comprises an access opening (opening that is closed by cover 18 in fig. 1 of Li) arranged coaxially with the rotor axis (rotor axis being in ↨ direction in view of Li’s fig. 1) for accessing the drive shaft coupling (of Jean) by an elongate tool through the second axial motor drive shaft end (top end of the motor shaft).
In reference to claim 13, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the pump drive shaft (of Li) and/or the motor drive shaft (of Li) comprises engaging surfaces for a form fit coupling with a tool applied to prevent rotation upon tightening or releasing the drive shaft coupling (see fig. A below: engaging surface labeled “e1” corresponds to Li’s motor shaft 8 and engaging surface labeled “e2” corresponds to Li’s pump shaft 13; both of these surfaces can be hold by a tool such as wrench to prevent rotation of the shafts while tightening set screw in the coupling of Jean).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 3 of Lin to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 14, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the pump assembly is a dry runner centrifugal pump assembly (the modified pump assembly of Li is viewed as “dry runner” centrifugal assembly; the phrase “dry runner” implies that electric motor is protected from pumped fluid; this is achieved by use of mechanical seal 17 in Li). Further, the specific type of pump is immaterial to the invention being claimed as this type of mechanical connection between two rotating shafts is not exclusive to dry runner centrifugal pump assemblies.
In reference to claim 15, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, further comprising a pump drive shaft seal element (mechanical seal 17; in fig. 1 of Li) for sealing the pump housing around the pump drive shaft (13; of Li), wherein the pump drive shaft seal (17; of Li) is arranged axially between the impeller (12; of Li) and the drive shaft coupling (of Jean).
In reference to claim 18, Li teaches a pump assembly (see fig. 1) comprising:
an electric drive motor (3) comprising at least a motor drive shaft (21, see fig. 3) and a rotor (9 or 7+9, see figs. 1 and 3), wherein the motor drive shaft extends along a rotor axis (rotor axis being in ↨ direction in view of fig. 1/3) and the rotor is mechanically coupled to the motor drive shaft (inherent feature); and
a pump housing (as seen in fig. 1) enclosing an impeller (12) that is mechanically coupled to a pump drive shaft (13, see fig. 3),
wherein the pump drive shaft extends along the rotor axis (in ↨ direction in view of fig. 1/3),
wherein the motor drive shaft (21) is releasably coupled to the pump drive shaft (13) [the disclosure in ¶32 of translation does not disclose any permanent means to join both the shafts] for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft (transfer of torque being an inherent feature),
wherein the motor drive shaft (21) is hollow (as seen in fig. 1/3) from a first axial motor drive shaft end (bottom end in view of fig. 1/3) to a second axial motor drive shaft end (top end in view of fig. 1/3),
wherein the pump drive shaft (13 protrudes into the hollow motor drive shaft at the first axial motor drive shaft end (as evident from fig. 3).
Li remains silent on the pump assembly wherein the motor drive shaft is releasably coupled to the pump drive shaft “by a drive shaft coupling” for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft; “wherein the drive shaft coupling is arranged at least partly within the hollow motor drive shaft for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft by frictional connection with a radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft and/or a radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft”; and “wherein the drive shaft coupling is accessible by an elongate tool through the second axial hollow motor drive shaft drive end for selectively tightening and releasing the drive shaft coupling”.
However, Jean teaches a device for joining components together, comprising:
a motor drive shaft (A; see fig. 1); and
a pump drive shaft (B; see fig. 1),
wherein the motor drive shaft (A) is releasably coupled to the pump drive shaft (B) by a drive shaft coupling (1+2, see fig. 1) for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft (inherent feature),
wherein the motor drive shaft (A) is hollow (as evident from fig. 1) from a first axial motor drive shaft end (right end in view of fig. 6) to a second axial motor drive shaft end (left end in view of fig. 6),
wherein the pump drive shaft (B) protrudes into the hollow motor drive shaft (A),
wherein the drive shaft coupling (1+2) is arranged at least partly (see fig. 6) within the hollow motor drive shaft (A) for transferring torque from the motor drive shaft to the pump drive shaft by frictional connection (inherent feature in this coupling) with a radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft and/or a radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft,
wherein the drive shaft coupling (1+2) is accessible by an elongate tool (tool for tightening or loosening of a prestressing screw 8) through the second axial hollow motor drive shaft drive end (left end of shaft A) for selectively tightening and releasing the drive shaft coupling [see ¶7 of translation: “The action on the pressure agents (4) thus has the effect of pressing the outer ring (1) onto the part or element (A) to be fixed and the lower ring (2) onto the part or element (B) to be fixed. These efforts ensure the blocking in translation and in rotation of the parts (A - B) between them. It should be noted that the actions of the preload screws and the plunger needles are adjustable.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to couple the motor shaft and pump shaft in the pump assembly of Li using a drive shaft coupling as taught by Jean because it is “an improved coupling device, of simple design, with rapid assembly and disassembly, making it possible to achieve very high pressure values of the order of 15,000 bars”, as recognized by Jean (see page 2 of translation, lines 58-60) and as per Jean (see page 4 of translation, lines 135-141) “The advantages of the invention are clearly evident. First of all, it should be remembered that the coupling device based on the concept of drive by adhesion is obtained by the elastic deformation of the materials in contact. The high pressures required for maximum adhesion are obtained by compressing the pre-loaded elastomer sticks, giving them the power of a fluid without causing their drawbacks (leakage, sealing). This device according to the invention is also easily dismantled and its construction allows it to be reversible”. Thus, providing strong locking between the drive/motor and driven/pump shafts.
Thus, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly,
wherein the drive shaft coupling (of Jean) comprises a radially expandable and/or radially compressible fastening element (1/2; see Jean: translation on page 3, lines 87-99 and lines 123-126) that is at least partly arranged between the radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft (of Li) and the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft (of Li),
wherein the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) defines at least one hydraulic pressure chamber arranged between the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft (of Li or shaft A in Li’s fig. 6) and the radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft (of Li or shaft B in Li’s fig. 6), wherein the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) is expandable upon pressurizing the at least one hydraulic pressure chamber (see Jean: translation on page 3, lines 87-99 and lines 123-126) [with respect to “hydraulic pressure chamber”: elastomeric sticks 4 are provided in a space between two concentric hoops 1, 2; this space, along with plugs 6, 7, effectively functions as the “hydraulic pressure chamber” for the elastomer stick; when the stick is compresses, the pressure it generates within its confined space is what causes the expansion of the hoops 1, 2 and the subsequent locking action],
wherein the drive shaft coupling (of Jean) comprises an axially screwable fastener (8; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) that is directly or indirectly coupled to the fastening element (1/2; of Jean) by a form fit and/or a thread (see figs. 1-6 of Jean), wherein the fastener (8; of Jean) is screwable by an elongate tool that is inserted through the second axial hollow motor drive shaft drive end (top end) into the hollow motor drive shaft (of Li),
wherein the fastener (8; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) is configured to directly or indirectly press hydraulic fluid into at least one hydraulic pressure chamber (4; in figs. 1-3 of Jean) upon being screwed for tightening the drive shaft coupling [Jean states (see page 4 of translation, lines 138-140) “The high pressures required for maximum adhesion are obtained by compressing the pre-loaded elastomer sticks, giving them the power of a fluid without causing their drawbacks (leakage, sealing)”; this means the elastomer stick 4, when highly compressed within the confines of two hoops 1, 2 and plugs 6, 7, generates immense internal pressure that then exerts outward force on the surrounding hoops 1, 2; thus, in essence, the elastomeric stick 4 is the solid-state equivalent of a pressurized fluid in this coupling mechanism].
In reference to claim 19, Li, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the hollow motor drive shaft (21; of Li) defines drive shaft coupling axial positions (positions along the axial length of the hole within the motor drive shaft 21 that receives the pump drive shaft 13; for instance, the embodiment shown in fig. 1 shows the pump drive shaft having a first length such that its top end defines a first position for receiving a drive shaft coupling; however, for instance, if the pump drive shaft having a second length less than the first length is provided, then it defines a second position for receiving the drive shaft coupling; thus, the motor drive shaft defines “drive shaft coupling axial position”), along an axial length between the first axial motor drive shaft end (bottom end) and the second axial motor drive shaft end (top end), wherein the pump drive shaft protrudes into the hollow motor drive shaft at the first axial motor driveshaft end (as evident from fig. 3) based on a length of the pump drive shaft so as to occupy one of the drive shaft coupling axial positions depending on the length of the pump drive shaft [while Li illustrates one specific insertion depth, the structure is inherently capable of receiving a shorter pump shaft at a different axial depth; the nature of the position is defined by the existing physical depth of the hole].
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jean and further in view of Elektra Beckum AG (DE 9416348U1 – herein after Elektra).
Regarding claim 2,
Li, as modified, remains silent on the pump assembly, wherein the radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft and/or the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft have a frusto-conical shape.
However, Elektra teaches (see fig. 1/5) a drive shaft (6) coupled to a driven shaft (5) using a coupling (15), wherein a radial inner surface (17) of the drive shaft has a frusto-conical shape that mates with corresponding frusto-conical shaped radial outer surface (18) of the coupling.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft and its corresponding mating outer surface of the coupling in the modified pump of Li to have a frusto-conical shape as taught by Elektra for the purpose of enhancing the frictional connection between the motor shaft and its corresponding coupling element, as recognized by Elektra (see ¶39 of translation).
Regarding claim 4,
Stepnica, as modified, teaches the pump assembly, wherein the fastening element (52; of Tsuboi) has a wedged shape corresponding to a frusto-conical shape of the radial outer surface of the pump drive shaft and/or to a frusto-conical shape of the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft.
However, Elektra teaches (see fig. 1/4) a drive shaft (6) coupled to a driven shaft (5) using a coupling (15+19), wherein the coupling comprises a fastening element (for instance, 15) and wherein the fastening element (15) has a wedged shape corresponding to a frusto-conical shape of a radial inner surface (17) of the drive shaft (6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radial inner surface of the hollow motor drive shaft and its corresponding mating outer surface on the fastening element of the drive shaft coupling in the modified pump of Li to have a frusto-conical shape as taught by Elektra for the purpose of enhancing the frictional connection between the motor shaft and its corresponding coupling element, as recognized by Elektra (see ¶39 of translation).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jean and evidenced by Van Steenburg et al. (US 2019/0128267 – herein after Van).
Li, as modified, remains silent on the pump assembly, wherein the electric drive motor (of Li) is configured to run at speeds of at least 500 rpm, as in claim 16; and wherein the electric drive motor (of Li) is configured to run at speeds of at least 6000 rpm.
As evidenced by Van (see ¶6), “Presently in the industry, pumps are typically operated at the synchronous speeds of the AC induction motor that is driving the pump. The specific speed of those pumps depends on the number of poles in the AC induction motor, with those typically being 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 pole motors. The speeds for these number of pole motors, utilizing a 60 Hz electrical frequency, are 3600, 1800, 1200, 900, 720, and 600 RPM, respectively. The speed of the electrical induction motor is determined by the power supply frequency and the number of poles in the motor winding,…”. Thus, “speed” is a result effective variable since it is determined by power supply frequency and number of poles in the motor winding.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the electric drive motor configured “to run at speeds of at least 500 rpm or of at least 6000 rpm” in the modified pump assembly of Li since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further, applicant places no criticality on the claimed speed values, indicating simply (see ¶26 of pg. pub of the instant application) “Optionally, the electric drive motor may be configured to run at speeds above 500 rpm, preferably above 6000 rpm”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see page 9), with respect to rejection of claims 16 and 17 under 35 USC 112, filed September 16, 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments (see pages 9-14), with respect to rejection of independent claim 1 over Stepnica and Tsuboi, filed September 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot. The new grounds of rejection do not rely upon these references in view of change in scope to amended claim 1.
Applicant's arguments (see pages 14-16), with respect to rejection of independent claim 1 over Li and Jean, filed September 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Although the amendment to claim 1 changed the scope of the claim, Li and Jean teaches in combination teaches this amended claim 1.
The Applicant contends that Li and Jean rely on fixed-position coupling arrangements that are incompatible with modular interchangeability.
While Li illustrates a specific insertion depth, the motor shaft (21) is explicitly described as “hollow shaft sleeve structure” with a “through hole (20)”. The through hole possesses a specific physical axial length. This physical length inherently defines the range in which a pump shaft can be received. If the Applicant’s structure can accommodate different lengths without modification, so can Li’s, provided the shorter shaft is within the physical dimensions of the existing hole. Choosing a specific insertion depth is a matter of assembly preference, not a structural transformation.
The Applicant argues that incorporating Jean into Li would still result in a coupling at a “predetermined axial seat” defined by interacting numbers.
Unlike positive engagement structures (keys/splines) which require precise axial registration, Jean’s coupling utilizes elastic deformation and high pressure for “drive by adhesion”. Frictional connections depend on smooth radial surfaces, not pre-machined stops. A PHOSITA would recognize that Jean’s rings (1-2) can be compressed onto any corresponding portion of Li’s pump shaft (13) within the axial extend of the motor shaft’s through hole. Furthermore, selecting where to lock a frictional clamp along a continuous inner surface is dependent on where top end of the pump drive shaft is within the hole.
The Applicant asserts that Li’s coupling presupposes a defined shaft geometry that is incompatible with their claimed interchangeability.
While Li mentions fixing with a “pin”, it provides no structural disclosure of a fixed radial hole or matching geometric feature for that pin. Regardless of the “pin” recitation, the primary structural feature is the hollow sleeve and nothing inhibits that hollow sleeve from receiving shafts of different lengths at different axial positions along that sleeve. The claims do not recite any structure that would differentiate them from the structure of Li. Replacing a mere recitation of a “pin” with a well-known frictional expansion coupling, such as the one taught by Jean, remains an obvious modification to achieve modularity.
Applicant's arguments (see pages 16-17), with respect to rejection of claims 8 and 9 over Li and Jean, filed September 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that an elastomeric stick is not a “chamber filled with pressurized fluid” and represents a fundamentally different mode of operation.
Jean explicitly teaches that the elastomer sticks provide “the power of a fluid without causing their drawbacks (leakage, sealing)” which points to the fact that similar hydraulic-type connection parts were known and it is a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. The fact that the two types of connections represent fundamentally different modes of operations does not negate the fact that they were both known and are equivalent structures that fulfill the same function. In the context of a frictional coupling, the “fluid-like” behavior of highly compressed elastomers (achieving up to 15,000 bars) serves the identical function as a hydraulic system: uniform radial expansion to create a frictional lock. Claim 8 recites a fastening element defining “at least one hydraulic pressure chamber”. It does not specify that the chamber must be exclusively for a liquid or gas. Jean describes recesses (1.2-2.2) that, when brought together, define a blind hole (5) capable of receiving elastomer sticks (4). This blind hole constitutes a confined space or “chamber” within the fastening element. Because the elastomer is used to transmit pressure to expand the rings, this confined space functions as a “hydraulic pressure chamber” in the context of the invention’s purpose – creating a frictional lock through expansion.
The Applicant maintains that the mechanical compression of a solid is distinct from “fluid-driven” hydraulic expansion.
Claim 9 recites a fastener configured to “directly or indirectly press hydraulic fluid into …[the] chamber”. Jean explicitly teaches that compressing the elastomer sticks gives them “the power of a fluid”. Under high pressure (upto 15,000 bars), elastomers behave like non-compressible fluids, exerting uniform radial force. By using a screw (8) to compress the elastomer stick (4) within the confined blind hole (5), Jean “presses” the pressure agent into the active area of the chamber to cause expansion. This precisely matches the functional requirement of “pressing fluid” into a chamber to expand a fastening element.
Applicant's arguments (see page 18), with respect to newly added claims 18 and 19, filed September 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for same reasons as discussed above. These claims combine the subject matter of amended claim 1 with additional features of claims 3 and 7 – 9.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to other dependent claims, filed September 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for same reasons as discussed above in view of their dependency on independent claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746