Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 12-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in further view of Alstrup (PGPub No. 20110088747) and Okandan (PGPub No. 20180166598).
Regarding claim 1, Alstrup teaches a method for manufacturing at least one photovoltaic cell element, comprising: providing a photovoltaic cell substrate configured to generate electrons upon reception of a light radiation (Fig. 1 points to a photovoltaic cell module comprising a substrate 90.); forming an outer trench over a surface of the substrate to form a closed outer boundary delimiting a first portion of the substrate outside the outer boundary; forming an inner trench over the surface of the substrate to form a closed inner boundary delimiting a second portion of the substrate inside the inner boundary and a third portion of the substrate between the outer and inner boundaries (Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of cells 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60, wherein each cell is formed into concentric circles (third portion) defined by a clear outer boundary (outer trench) and an inner boundary (inner trench). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundaries to include and separate the underlying substrate 90 into multiple pieces in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Alstrup fails to teach forming a primer trench over the surface of the substrate, the primer trench being formed, at least partially in at least one portion of the substrate from among the second and third portions of the substrate to facilitate a mechanical separation of the second and third portions; and producing an inner separation comprising a mechanical separation resulting in a physical separation of the second portion from the third portion so as to obtain at least one photovoltaic cell element from the third portion of the substrate, wherein the primer trench opens into a main area of the inner trench and the inner separation comprises a generation of a crack which propagates along the primer trench and along the inner trench.
Okandan teaches forming a primer trench over the surface of the substrate, the primer trench being formed, at least partially in at least one portion of the substrate from among the second and third portions of the substrate to facilitate a mechanical separation of the second and third portions; and producing an inner separation comprising a mechanical separation resulting in a physical separation of the second portion from the third portion so as to obtain at least one photovoltaic cell element from the third portion of the substrate, wherein the primer trench opens into a main area of the inner trench and the inner separation comprises a generation of a crack which propagates along the primer trench and along the inner trench ([0021] points to the separation of high performance solar cells by forming a crack initiation region (primer trench) with subsequent mechanical separation of the silicon regions by mechanical loading. [0022] further points out that the cells can be cut in arbitrary shapes, sizes, and orientations. It is considered obvious that a cell comprising a removed third portion (e.g., a hollowed-out center) would considered one such shape.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alstrup and Okandan, such that the cell is formed using mechanical separation initiated by a primer trench/crack initiation region in order to form a shape and mechanical features that enhance mechanical and electrical resilience.
Regarding claim 3, Alstrup teaches wherein the primer trench extends in the third portion of the substrate while opening into the outer trench (Fig. 4 points to a photovoltaic module comprising an opening (primer trench) that extends from the outer boundary (outer trench) of at least one cell and through said cell (third portion). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundaries to include and separate the underlying substrate into multiple pieces in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Regarding claim 4, Alstrup teaches wherein the primer trench is partially formed in the second and third portions of the substrate (Fig. 4 points to a photovoltaic module comprising an opening (primer trench) that extends from the inner boundary (inner trench) of at least one cell and through said cell (third portion). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundaries to include and separate the underlying substrate into multiple pieces in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Regarding claim 5, Alstrup teaches wherein the primer trench extends in the second portion of the substrate from the main area towards a secondary area of the inner trench, the primer trench further opening into the secondary area (Fig. 4 points to a photovoltaic module comprising an opening (primer trench) that extends across the entirety (main area; secondary area) of the inner boundary (inner trench) of at least one cell. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundaries to include and separate the underlying substrate into multiple pieces in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Regarding claim 6, Alstrup teaches wherein the primer trench extends in the second and third portions of the substrate from a first area of the outer trench towards a second area of the outer trench, the primer trench further opening into the first and second areas (Fig. 4 points to an alternative structure where an additional opening (primer trench) is formed in the cell(s) resulting in a horseshoe shape. [0082] further points to alternative shapes for each cell, including a part circular loop. In light of this, it is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art could alternatively shape each cell into two concentric half-circles, such that the opening (primer trench) as previously described in Fig. 4 extended through to the inner and outer boundaries on the opposite side in order to, for example, provide further electrical isolation.).
Regarding claim 7, Alstrup teaches wherein the inner separation comprises a mechanical separation resulting in a physical separation of the third portion of the substrate into at least two distinct parts of the substrate so as to obtain at least two photovoltaic cell elements respectively from the at least two distinct parts of the substrate (Fig. 4 points to an alternative structure where an additional opening (primer trench) is formed in the cell(s) resulting in a horseshoe shape. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said opening to include and separate the underlying substrate 90 (as seen in Fig. 1) into separate parts in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Regarding claim 8, Alstrup teaches forming a connection between the at least two distinct parts of the substrate to provide the same photovoltaic cell element (Fig. 4 points to an alternative structure where an additional opening (primer trench) is formed in the cell(s) resulting in a horseshoe shape. [0082] further points to alternative shapes for each cell, including a part circular loop. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art could alternatively form this shape by first cutting the cell into part circular pieces and then reconnecting them (e.g., by applying a conductive adhesive) in order to create a single, more flexible cell.).
Regarding claim 10, Alstrup teaches wherein at least one trench from among the outer, inner and primer trenches is a trench made in a non-through manner within the substrate Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of cells 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60, wherein each cell is formed into concentric circles defined by a clear outer boundary (outer trench) and an inner boundary (inner trench). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundaries at least partially into the underlying substrate 90 in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage while still maintaining a level of physical stability.)
Regarding claim 12, Alstrup teaches after forming the outer trench and before forming the primer trench, producing an outer separation comprising a mechanical separation resulting in a physical separation of the first portion from the third portion (Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of cells 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60, wherein each cell is formed into concentric circles (third portion) defined by a clear outer boundary (outer trench) and an inner boundary. It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundary/boundaries to include and separate the underlying substrate 90 into multiple pieces in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Regarding claim 13, Alstrup teaches after producing the inner separation, producing an outer separation comprising a mechanical separation resulting in a physical separation of the first portion from the third portion (Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of cells 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60, wherein each cell is formed into concentric circles (third portion) defined by a clear outer boundary (outer separation) and an inner boundary (inner separation). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to producing the inner separation prior to producing the outer separation and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).).
Regarding claim 14, Alstrup teaches before producing the outer separation, forming an initial trench over the surface of the substrate in the first portion of the substrate and opening into the outer trench (Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of an outermost cell 60 on an underlying substrate 90, which is formed into a concentric circle defined by a clear outer boundary (outer trench) and an inner boundary. It is considered obvious the one of ordinary skill in the art would perform a pre-cracking/scribing step via the formation of an initial trench prior to separation in order to better control the separation process and avoid any random cracks and/or undue damage.).
Regarding claim 15, Alstrup teaches after providing the substrate and before producing the inner separation, forming an additional trench over the surface of the substrate and in the second portion of the substrate to form an additional boundary delimiting a fourth portion of the substrate inside the additional boundary, and a mechanical separation resulting in a physical separation of the fourth portion from the second portion (Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of cells 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60, wherein each cell is formed into concentric circles (third portion) surrounding a central circular area (fourth portion), with both the cells and said area being each defined by a clear outer boundary (outer trench; additional trench) and an inner boundary (inner trench). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would extend said boundaries to include and separate the underlying substrate 90 into multiple pieces in order to increase electrical isolation, increase flexibility, and/or reduce current leakage.).
Regarding claim 18, Alstrup teaches a photovoltaic cell element, comprising: a photovoltaic cell substrate configured to generate electrons upon reception of a light radiation (Fig. 1 points to a photovoltaic cell module comprising a substrate 90.); and an outer boundary and an inner boundary delimiting a surface of the substrate (Figs. 1-2C point to the formation of cells 20, 30, 40, 50, and 60, wherein each cell is formed into concentric circles (third portion) defined by a clear outer boundary (outer trench) and an inner boundary (inner trench).).
Alstrup fails to teach wherein the element has no material outside the outer boundary and inside the inner boundary, and the substrate comprises a primer trench formed at least partially over the surface of the substrate, and wherein the primer trench opens into the inner boundary, and is configured to facilitate mechanical separation of a portion of the substrate located within the inner boundary from the substrate delimited by the outer boundary and the inner boundary.
Okandan teaches wherein the element has no material outside the outer boundary and inside the inner boundary, and the substrate comprises a primer trench formed at least partially over the surface of the substrate, and wherein the primer trench opens into the inner boundary, and is configured to facilitate mechanical separation of a portion of the substrate located within the inner boundary from the substrate delimited by the outer boundary and the inner boundary ([0021] points to the separation of high performance solar cells by forming a crack initiation region (primer trench) with subsequent mechanical separation of the silicon regions by mechanical loading. [0022] further points out that the cells can be cut in arbitrary shapes, sizes, and orientations. It is considered obvious that an element with no material outside the outer boundary and inside the inner boundary would be considered one such shape.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alstrup and Okandan, such that the cell is formed using mechanical separation initiated by a primer trench/crack initiation region in order to form a shape and mechanical features that enhance mechanical and electrical resilience.
Claim(s) 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alstrup et al. in further view of Damiani (PGPub No. 20190371950).
Regarding claim 17, Damiani teaches a method for manufacturing a photovoltaic cell, comprising manufacturing at least one photovoltaic cell element according to claim 1 (see analysis of claim 1) and at least one metallization before or after producing the inner separation, the metallization comprising forming a first electrically-conductive structure over a first surface of the substrate and a second electrically-conductive structure over a second surface of the substrate opposite to the first surface ([0048] points to the formation of a PV cell comprising a front screen printed silver step (first electrically-conductive structure) and a back screen printed silver step (first electrically-conductive structure).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alstrup et al. and Damiani, such that the photovoltaic cell includes two electrically-conductive structures on either side of the substrate in order to allow flexibility in the interconnection by creating front-to-back series wiring.
Regarding claim 19, Damiani teaches a photovoltaic cell, comprising a photovoltaic cell element according to claim 18 (see analysis of claim 18) and a first electrically-conductive structure located over a first surface of the substrate and a second electrically-conductive structure located over a second surface of the substrate opposite to the first surface ([0048] points to the formation of a PV cell comprising a front screen printed silver step (first electrically-conductive structure) and a back screen printed silver step (first electrically-conductive structure).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alstrup et al. and Damiani, such that the photovoltaic cell includes two electrically-conductive structures on either side of the substrate in order to allow flexibility in the interconnection by creating front-to-back series wiring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 18 (and by extension any dependent claims) under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alstrup (PGPub No. 20110088747) and Okandan (PGPub No. 20180166598).
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899