DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the Claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-11 recite an image output apparatus. Thus, these claims are to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 12 recites an image output method. Thus, this claim is to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Thus, this claim is to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong One: Does the Claim Recite an Abstract Idea?
Claim 1 recites:
1. An image output apparatus, comprising:
a signal source specifying section arranged to receive measurement results from a plurality of sensors that receive, from a plurality of signal sources, signals represented by vectors each having a predetermined direction and measure triaxial components orthogonal to each other to specify positions of the signal sources and the directions of the vectors; and
a signal source image adding section arranged to add images showing the signal sources to portions of an imaging result from an imaging section arranged to image the signal sources, the portions corresponding to the positions of the signal sources that are specified by the signal source specifying section. [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; see PgPub 20250044377 ¶ [0094].]
Step 2A: Prong Two: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Integrate The Abstract Idea Into a Practical Application?
The elements that are not underlined above are the additional elements.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea:
“a signal source specifying section arranged to receive measurement results from a plurality of sensors that receive, from a plurality of signal sources, signals represented by vectors each having a predetermined direction and measure triaxial components orthogonal to each other to specify positions of the signal sources and the directions of the vectors” [the examiner finds this element to be data gathering]
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Amount to Significantly More Than the Abstract Idea?
The examiner finds that the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The same analysis applies mutatis mutandis to claims 12 and 14 because they contain the same limitations directed to a method and an NTCRM, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the additional element “the signal source image adding section is arranged to further add a coordinate axis to the imaging result” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because it is insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 3, the additional element “the images showing the signal sources indicate the directions of the vectors” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because it is insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 4, the additional element “the signal source image adding section is arranged to add images showing the signal sources at a plurality of time points” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because it is insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 5, the additional element “the signal source image adding section is arranged to output, based on the coordinates of the positions of the signal sources and the coordinate of a viewpoint of imaging by the imaging section, an additional result when the viewpoint is changed” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because it is insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 6, the additional element “the measurement results from the sensors are each proportional to a sum of the triaxial components of each vector multiplied by a first coefficient,” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “a spectrum deriving section arranged to derive a spectrum obtained based on a sum of the measurement results from the sensors and a value obtained by multiplying the first coefficient by a second coefficient, the spectrum having local maximum values in voxels in which the signal sources that output the signals exist” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “an direction deriving section arranged to derive the directions of the vectors based on the second coefficient that is used to obtain the spectrum” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations]; and
the additional element “a position deriving section arranged to derive the positions of the voxels in which the signal sources exist based on the spectrum” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because it is insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element “the position deriving section is arranged to derive the positions of the voxels in which the signal sources exist based on the maximum of a value that the spectrum has in each voxel” does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because it is insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element “a relational matrix recording section arranged to record a relational matrix that represents a relationship between the measurement results summarized per axis by a number of the sensors and the vectors” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “a position/vector deriving section arranged to derive the positions of the signal sources and the vectors that offer a minimum cost function based on the measurement results and the relational matrix” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “the components of the vectors are summarized per the axis by a number of grid points in a space at which the signal sources are positioned” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “the cost function is a sum of an error function and a normalization term” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “the error function represents the positions of the signal sources and an error between a true value of each vector and a candidate value for the true value” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations];
the additional element “the normalization term is a function of a normalization parameter and an L1 norm of each vector” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations]; and
“the positions of the signal sources and the vectors are specified based on a result of derivation by the position/vector deriving section” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations].
Regarding claim 9, the additional element “the result of derivation by the position/vector deriving section is specified as the positions of the signal sources and the vectors” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations].
Regarding claim 10, the additional elements “a clustering section arranged to classify the positions of the signal sources that are derived by the position/vector deriving section into clusters of a number of the signal sources; a weighted center deriving section arranged to derive a weighted center of the signal sources for each of the clusters; and a weighted averaging section arranged to average, for each of the clusters, the vectors that are derived by the position/vector deriving section in inverse proportion to distances between the signal sources and the weighted center, wherein the positions of the signal sources are each specified as the weighted center, and the vectors are each specified as a result of derivation by the weighted averaging section” further expand on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations].
Regarding claim 11, the additional element “the classification into the clusters is performed according to a K-means method” further expands on the abstract idea [Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Document No. JP2021087756A to Miyano et al.
Regarding claim 1, Miyano teaches an image output apparatus, comprising:
a signal source specifying section arranged to receive measurement results from a plurality of sensors that receive (20), from a plurality of signal sources (“The SQUID unit 10 has, for example, a plurality of SQUID sensors installed facing the measurement site of the magnetic field of the subject lying on the bed.”), signals represented by vectors each having a predetermined direction and measure triaxial components orthogonal to each other to specify positions of the signal sources and the directions of the vectors (“For example, each SQUID sensor is a three-axis sensor having an X-axis, a Y-axis, and a Z-axis, and can measure a magnetic field signal as a three-dimensional vector quantity.”); and
a signal source image adding section arranged to add images showing the signal sources to portions of an imaging result from an imaging section arranged to image the signal sources, the portions corresponding to the positions of the signal sources that are specified by the signal source specifying section (“The image shown in FIG. 6 is a superimposition of a current component (direction and intensity) reconstructed for each voxel from the measured magnetic field on a morphological image (MR image) of the heart whose magnetic field is measured by a magnetocardiograph.”; “Further, the current calculation direction DIR may be set in the entire circumferential direction by combining the Z directions.”).
Regarding claim 2, Miyano teaches the image output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the signal source image adding section is arranged to further add a coordinate axis to the imaging result (“Further, the current calculation direction DIR may be set in the entire circumferential direction by combining the Z directions.”).
Regarding claim 3, Miyano teaches the image output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the images showing the signal sources indicate the directions of the vectors (“At this time, since the magnetic field signal or the current signal which is a vector quantity is used, the current calculation direction DIR can be set according to the evaluation target site (the traveling direction of the muscle fiber or the nerve), and the current waveform can be calculated.”).
Regarding claim 4, Miyano teaches the image output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the signal source image adding section is arranged to add images showing the signal sources at a plurality of time points (“The highlighting determination unit 64 highlights the current waveform for each voxel and each measurement time based on the threshold value VT (described in FIG. 2) input from the input device 80 via the input control unit 40.”).
Regarding claim 5, Miyano teaches the image output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the signal source image adding section is arranged to output, based on the coordinates of the positions of the signal sources and the coordinate of a viewpoint of imaging by the imaging section, an additional result when the viewpoint is changed (“The current calculation direction input field DIR sets the direction of the component of interest, which is the direction in which the current (measured value) is calculated, by an angle. For example, the current calculation direction DIR is "0 degrees" in the right direction of the UI screen, "90 degrees" in the downward direction, "180 degrees" in the left direction, and "270 degrees" in the upward direction. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the current calculation direction DIR is set to "0 degree (X direction)".”).
Regarding claim 12, Miyano teaches an image output method, comprising:
receiving measurement results from a plurality of sensors that receive, from a plurality of signal sources (“The SQUID unit 10 has, for example, a plurality of SQUID sensors installed facing the measurement site of the magnetic field of the subject lying on the bed.”), signals represented by vectors each having a predetermined direction and measure triaxial components orthogonal to each other to specify positions of the signal sources and the directions of the vectors (“For example, each SQUID sensor is a three-axis sensor having an X-axis, a Y-axis, and a Z-axis, and can measure a magnetic field signal as a three-dimensional vector quantity.”); and
adding images showing the signal sources to portions of an imaging result from an imaging section arranged to image the signal sources, the portions corresponding to the positions of the signal sources that are specified by the receiving of the measurement results (“The image shown in FIG. 6 is a superimposition of a current component (direction and intensity) reconstructed for each voxel from the measured magnetic field on a morphological image (MR image) of the heart whose magnetic field is measured by a magnetocardiograph.”; “Further, the current calculation direction DIR may be set in the entire circumferential direction by combining the Z directions.”).
Regarding claim 14, Miyano teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as indicated above. The only difference between claims 12 and 14 is that the method is implemented on a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Implementing a known function on a computer has been deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if the automation of the known function on a general purpose computer is nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007); see also MPEP § 2143, Exemplary Rationales D and F and MPEP § 2114(IV)4. As such, claim 14 stands rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 would be allowable if § 101 rejections above were resolved favorably and their limitations were incorporated into the independent claims on which they depend. The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest:
in claim 6, “wherein the measurement results from the sensors are each proportional to a sum of the triaxial components of each vector multiplied by a first coefficient, and the signal source specifying section comprises: a spectrum deriving section arranged to derive a spectrum obtained based on a sum of the measurement results from the sensors and a value obtained by multiplying the first coefficient by a second coefficient, the spectrum having local maximum values in voxels in which the signal sources that output the signals exist; an direction deriving section arranged to derive the directions of the vectors based on the second coefficient that is used to obtain the spectrum; and a position deriving section arranged to derive the positions of the voxels in which the signal sources exist based on the spectrum,” and
in claim 8, “wherein the signal source specifying section comprises: a relational matrix recording section arranged to record a relational matrix that represents a relationship between the measurement results summarized per axis by a number of the sensors and the vectors; and a position/vector deriving section arranged to derive the positions of the signal sources and the vectors that offer a minimum cost function based on the measurement results and the relational matrix, wherein the components of the vectors are summarized per the axis by a number of grid points in a space at which the signal sources are positioned, the cost function is a sum of an error function and a normalization term, the error function represents the positions of the signal sources and an error between a true value of each vector and a candidate value for the true value, the normalization term is a function of a normalization parameter and an L1 norm of each vector, and the positions of the signal sources and the vectors are specified based on a result of derivation by the position/vector deriving section,”
in combination with all other limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chinese Patent Document No. CN111158055A to Wu et al. discloses a three-dimensional dynamic magnetic source detecting system having a Hall effect magnetic field sensor sensing a dynamic magnetic field, a signal conditioning module, and an A/D conversion module.
Japanese Patent Document No. JP2007187656A to Sherman et al. discloses a magnetic sensor array having a first three-dimensional magnetic sensor which is fixed at a center part of a substrate and plurality of the second three-dimensional magnetic sensors a distance away from the first sensor.
Japanese Patent Document No. JP2003222664A to Sumi discloses contactless magnetic field vector measurement.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20200149862 to Luo et al. discloses a method for localization and attitude estimation using magnetic fields.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20180284310 to Kawano et al. discloses a minute magnetic body detecting sensor including a magnetic impedance element with two magneto-sensitive bodies disposed in substantially two-dimensional directions.
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857