DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26: Claim 26 recites the limitation "the fluorocarbon resin" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21-24, 26-29, & 33-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buffard et al. (US Patent 6,596,380; hereafter ‘380).
Claims 19 & 24: ‘380, which is also directed towards non-stick coatings (title) teaches using an undercoat applied between the substrate and a fluorocarbon topcoat which comprises at least 50% by weight of PEEK (polymer oxy-1,4-phenylene-oxy-1,4-phenylene-carbonyl-1,4-phenylene; i.e. a PAEK, see abstract) which is used in combination with other polymers to improve adhesion (col. 1, lines 45-60, col. 2, lines 45-50) wherein the addition of the PEEK improves the durability of the top coat (title) and wherein the undercoat can be applied and heated to a temperature of at least 260ºC followed by application of the top coats and a single sintering at 400-420ºC (see col. 2, lines 60-70). ‘380 teaches the first heat treatment is a fusing process at a temperature of at least 340ºC followed by a final sintering of all layers at 400-420ºC (see claim 6).
Although the taught range of at least 340ºC is not explicitly the claimed range of less than 400ºC for the first heating step, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Thus, it is apparent that ‘380 teaches a single sintering step of 400-420ºC.
Although the taught range of at least 50% is not explicitly the claimed range of 20-95%, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 21: ‘380 further teaches depositing two layers of a non-stick coating comprising PTFE prior to the sintering step (see col. 3, lines 1-33).
Claim 22-23: The tie layer further comprises PES (see col. 1, lines 4-50).
Claim 26: The top coats comprise PTFE as discussed above.
Claim 27: The tie sublayer comprises inorganic reinforcing fillers (col. 1, lines 45-52).
Claim 28: The tie sublayer comprises inorganic reinforcing fillers selected from metal oxides (col. 1, lines 45-52).
Claim 29 The tie sublayer comprises inorganic reinforcing fillers selected from silica (col. 1, lines 45-52).
The Examiner notes that fumed silica is a well-known type of silica.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use fumed silica as the specific type of silica in the coating because it is a well-known type of silica which would have predictably been suitable.
Claim 33: The sublayer can comprise mica (i.e. a pigment, col. 1, line 50).
Claim 34: The tie sublayer has a thickness of 5-100 microns (col. 2, lines 5-10).
Although the taught range of 5-100 µm is not explicitly the claimed range of greater than 30µm, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 35: The tie sublayer has a thickness of 5-100 microns (col. 2, lines 5-10).
Although the taught range of 5-100 µm is not explicitly the claimed range of 40-100µm, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 36 & 37: ‘380 teaches that the coated substrate is cookware (col. 2, lines 10-25).
‘380 does not teach a specific piece of cookware.
Frying pans and lids are well known pieces of cookware of which non-stick coatings are applied.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a frying pan and lid as the particular substrates for the process of ‘798 such that the non-stick coating of ‘798 is applied to because frying pans and lids are art recognized substrates for non-stick coatings cookware and the use of a frying pan and lid would have predictably provided the desired cookware.
Claim 38: The metal support is a mono-layer support made of aluminum (col. 2, lines 15-25).
Claim 39: The tie sublayer is deposited by coating (col. 2, lines 25-30).
Claim 40: The sintering temperature is 400-420ºC as discussed above.
Although the taught range of 400-420ºC is not explicitly the claimed range of between 400 & 440ºC, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 41: ‘380, which is also directed towards non-stick coatings (title) teaches using an undercoat applied between the substrate and a fluorocarbon topcoat which comprises at least 50% by weight of PEEK (polymer oxy-1,4-phenylene-oxy-1,4-phenylene-carbonyl-1,4-phenylene; i.e. a PAEK, see abstract) which is used in combination with other polymers to improve adhesion (col. 1, lines 45-60, col. 2, lines 45-50) wherein the addition of the PEEK improves the durability of the top coat (title) and wherein the undercoat can be applied and heated to a temperature of at least 260ºC followed by application of the top coats and a single sintering at 400-420ºC (see col. 2, lines 60-70). ‘380 teaches the first heat treatment is a fusing process at a temperature of at least 340ºC followed by a final sintering of all layers at 400-420ºC (see claim 6).
Although the taught range of at least 340ºC is not explicitly the claimed range of less than 400ºC for the first heating step, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Thus, it is apparent that ‘380 teaches a single sintering step of 400-420ºC.
Although the taught range of at least 50% is not explicitly the claimed range of 20-95%, it does overlap the claimed range. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated a value within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
‘380 teaches that the coating is applied to either the internal or external surface of a metal cookware (col. 2, lines 10-20).
I.e. it is apparent that the metal cookware has two opposite faces and that it has been shaped.
‘798 does not teach a specific shape of the culinary article.
However, changes in shapes and size are prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A)&(B).
Claim 42: ‘380 teaches that the internal face of the support can be treated to improve adhesion (see col. 2, lines 20-25).
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘380 as applied above, and further in view of Perillon et al. (US PG Pub 2013/0320024; hereafter ‘024).
Claims 30-32: discloses a diluent but does not provide a specific one (col. 2, lines 30-40).
‘380 does not teach using an aprotic solvent.
However, ‘024, which is also directed towards non-stick coatings on cookware (see abstract & title) discloses a primer composition comprising PEEK (¶ 55) defoaming agents (¶ 17), NMP (an aprotic solvent suitable for dissolving PEEK; ¶s 17 & 129) and surfactants (¶ 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of ‘024 into the process of ‘380 and use NMP as the diluent and add a defoaming agent and surfactant to the composition of ‘380 because they are art recognized additives for primers which comprise PEEK in the field of applying non-stick coatings to cookware and would have predictably been suitable in the composition of ‘380.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759