DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Pre-Amendment filed on Jun. 14, 2024.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17, 19-21 and 23-26 have been amended.
Claims 6, 12, 18, 22 and 27-28 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17, 21 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (20180176710).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a method performed by a serving network node of a wireless communication network, the serving network node serving a UE, the serving network node handling a serving cell (see abstract, fig.4I, fig.5F, elements 5f-02, 5f-01, paragraphs [0066], [0072] and its description), the method comprising: determining, based on capabilities of the UE, on configuration parameters of neighboring cells and the serving cell as well as on channel quality of signals received by the UE from network nodes handling the neighboring cells as well as on channel quality of signals received by the UE from the serving network node, a primary cell and at least one secondary cell for the UE (see abstract, fig.5F, elements 5f-02, 5f-01, 5f-03, Step 5f-05, paragraphs [0072], [0423] and its description), and when the determined primary cell is handled by a target network node, which is different from the serving network node, sending a handover message towards the target network node, the handover message comprising an ID of the determined primary cell characterized in that the handover message further comprises ID of the at least one secondary cell (see abstract, fig.5F, elements 5f-02, 5f-01, 5f-03, Steps 5f-05-5f-10, paragraphs [0072], [0423] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Jang further discloses wherein the determining further comprises determining a secondary cell group, SCG, comprising a Primary Secondary Cell, PSCell, of the SCG as well as at least one Secondary Cell, SCell, of the SCG, and wherein the handover message further comprises an ID of the PSCell and ID(s) of the at least one SCell of the SCG SCG (see fig.4A, 4a-30, 4a-10, paragraph [0102] and its description).
Regarding claim 3, Jang further discloses wherein the handover message further comprises MIMO configuration parameters such as number of MIMO layers, or Layer 1 configuration parameters for the UE (see paragraphs [0004], [0342], [0347-0349]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang further discloses wherein the handover message further comprises information on channel quality of signals received by the UE from the target network node handling the primary cell and on channel quality of signals received by the UE from the network node handling the at least one secondary cell (see abstract, fig.5, elements 5f-01, 5f-02, 5e-03, step 5f-05 - 5f-10, paragraphs [0072], [0158], [0296], [0327], [0419-0420], [0421-0423] and its description).
Regarding claim 5, Jang further discloses wherein the handover message further comprises information on which frequencies that were considered for the channel quality when the primary cell and the at least one secondary cell was determined (see abstract, fig.5, elements 5f-01, 5f-02, 5e-03, step 5f-05 - 5f-10, paragraphs [0072], [0421-0423] and its description).
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses a method performed by a target network node of a wireless communication network, the target network node handling a target cell (see abstract, fig.4I, element 4I-50, 4I-40, fig.5f, element 5f-03, paragraphs [0031], [0034], [0066], [0072], [0423] and its description), the method comprising: receiving a handover message from a serving network node serving a UE, the handover message comprising an ID of a determined primary cell for the UE, the primary cell being the target cell, and ID(s) of determined at least one secondary cell for the UE, and determining whether to set up the determined target cell as primary cell for the UE and whether to set up the determined at least one secondary cell as secondary cell for the UE (see abstract, fig.5F, elements 5f-02, 5f-01, 5f-03, Steps 5f-05-5f-10, paragraphs [0072], [0421-423] and its description).
Regarding claim 8, Jang further discloses wherein the received handover message further comprises ID of a determined PSCell of an SCG for the UE and ID of a determined at least one SCell of the SCG (see, fig. 4A, 4a-15, 4a-20, paragraph [0102] and its description).
Regarding claim 9, Jang further discloses wherein the received handover message further comprises MIMO configuration parameters such as number of MIMO layers, or Layer 1 configuration parameters for the UE (see paragraphs [0004], [0342], [0347-0349]).
Regarding claim 10, Jang further discloses wherein the received handover message further comprises information on channel quality of signals received by the UE from the target network node handling the determined primary cell and on channel quality of signals received by the UE from the network node handling the determined at least one secondary cell (see abstract, fig.5F, elements 5f-02, 5f-01, 5f-03, Steps 5f-05-5f-10, paragraphs [0072], [0421-423] and its description).
Regarding claim 11, Jang further discloses wherein the received handover message further comprises information on which frequencies the serving network node considered when it determined the primary cell and the at least one secondary cell for the UE (see abstract, fig.5, elements 5f-01, 5f-02, 5e-03, step 5f-05 - 5f-10, paragraphs [0072], [0421-0423] and its description).
Regarding claims 19-21 and 23-26 recite limitations substantially similar to claims 1-5 and 7-11. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647