DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/14/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba et al. US 2009/0001562 in view of Al Omari US 2020/0340752 and Cader et al. US 10433458.
Re claim 17, Otremba teaches an electronics module (200, fig2, [21]), comprising:
an electronic component (13 and 16, fig2, [28]) thermally conductively connected to a heat transfer medium (26, fig2, [22]) and designed as a vertical power semiconductor (13 and 16, fig2, [28]).
Otremba does not explicitly show the detail structure of the heat sink.
Al Omari teaches a pulsating heat pipe (800, fig9, [170]) including a main body (812, fig9, [171]) and a channel structure (818, fig9, [170]) which is at least partially formed in the main body and in which a heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]) is arranged,
said main body (812, fig9, [171]) including a recess (space holding 830, fig9, [171]) and made at least partially of a dielectric material (842 around 830, fig9, [173]);
an electronic (HS, fig9, [27]) component thermally conductively connected to the heat transfer medium, and
a rib (830, fig9, [171]) secured in the recess and designed to protrude beyond a surface of the main body (top surface of 812, fig9), said rib being in direct contact with the heat transfer medium (lower part of 830 in contact with 822, fig9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba and Al Omari to replace the heat sink of Otremba 26 with Al Omari 800. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal and prevent heat flux damage to the vertical power semiconductor (Al Omari, [176]).
Otremba in view of Al Omari does not explicitly show material of the rib.
Cader teaches wherein the metal rib (106 and 108 with same material of copper or gold, fig1, col3 line 50-55 and col4 line 1-10) is made of a material which has a thermal conductivity that is higher than a thermal conductivity of a material of the main body (102, fig1, col3 line 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba, Al Omari and Cader to use a material with higher thermal conductivity for the metal rib than the main body. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal from the device (Cader, col2 line 25-35) and prevent damage of the metal rib during the formation of the heat sink (Cader, col3 line 60-65).
Re claim 18, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the metal rib (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]) protrudes orthogonally beyond the surface of the main body (Al Omari, top surface of 812, fig9, [171]).
Re claim 19, Otremba does not explicitly show the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the metal rib Is made of a material which has a thermal conductivity that is higher than a thermal conductivity of a material of the main body.
Cader teaches wherein the metal rib (106 and 108 with same material, fig1, col4 line 1-10) is made of a material which has a thermal conductivity that is higher than a thermal conductivity of a material of the main body (102, fig1, col3 line 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba, Al Omari and Cader to use a material with higher thermal conductivity for the metal rib than the main body. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal from the device (Cader, col2 line 25-35) and prevent damage of the metal rib during the formation of the heat sink (Cader, col3 line 60-65).
Re claim 20, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the metal rib is made of a metallic material (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]).
Re claim 21, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, further comprising a metal heat sink (Al Omari, 836 as Cu or Au, fig9, [172]), said metal rib (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]) being connected to the metal heat sink (Al Omari, 836 as Cu or Au, fig9, [172]).
Re claim 22, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the metal rib extends (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]) into a channel (Al Omari, space between 842, fig9, [173]) of the channel structure (Al Omari, 818, fig9, [170]).
Re claim 23, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the metal rib (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]) is designed to protrude beyond the main body (Al Omari, space 812 with space above top surface of 820, fig9) on both sides.
Re claim 24, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, further comprising a metal heat sink (Al Omari, 836 as Cu or Au, fig9, [172]), said electronic component (Al Omari, HS as 500 of Otremba, fig9, [27]) being connected to the metal heat sink in an electrically isolating (Otremba, 41, fig7F, [42]) and thermally conductive manner via the pulsating heat pipe (Al Omari, 800, fig9, [170]), said metal heat sink being formed by a plurality of said metal rib (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]) to establish a transition to a cooling fluid flow (Al Omari, 822, fig9, [172]).
Re claim 25, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 24, wherein the plurality of metal ribs are arranged parallel to one another (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]).
Re claim 26, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the recess (Al Omari, space holding 830, fig9, [171]) is arranged so as to run in the dielectric material (Al Omari, 842 around 830, fig9, [173]) of the main body.
Re claim 27, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the main body of the pulsating heat pipe is coated at least partially in a fluid-tight manner (Al Omari, 800, fig9, [170]).
Re claim 28, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the main body of the pulsating heat pipe is coated at least partially with a metallic (Al Omari, 820, fig9, [181]), ceramic material and/or vitreous material.
Re claim 29, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the main body of the pulsating heat pipe comprises a fluld-tight insulation body (Al Omari, 842, 820, fig9, [173, 181]).
Re claim 30, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 17, wherein the metal rib is secured in a force-fit manner in the recess, in particular via a press connection (A "product by process" claim is directed to the final product per se, no matter how it is actually made. In re Hirao and Sato et al., 190 USPQ 15, 17 (CCPA 1976); see also In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972); In re Luck and Gainer, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC 1983). It is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product, produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Id. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases. Id. Furthermore, "[e]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Re claim 31, Otremba teaches an electronics module (200, fig2, [21]), comprising:
an electronic component (13 and 16, fig2, [28]) thermally conductively connected to a heat transfer medium (26, fig2, [22]) and designed as a vertical power semiconductor (13 and 16, fig2, [28]).
Otremba does not explicitly show the detail structure of the heat sink.
Al Omari teaches a pulsating heat pipe (800, fig9, [170]) including a main body (812, fig9, [171]) and a channel structure (818, fig9, [170]) which is formed at least partially in the main body and in which a heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]) is arranged,
said main body including a recess (space holding 830, fig9, [171]);
an electronic component (HS, fig9, [27]) thermally conductively connected to the heat transfer medium;
a rib (830, fig9, [171]) secured in the recess and designed to protrude beyond a surface of the main body (top surface of 812, fig9, [171]); and
a metal foam (820, fig9, [170]) via which the electronic component (HS, fig9, [27]) is in contact with the heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]),
said rib (830, fig9, [171]) being designed to run through the metal foam (820, fig9, [170]) and being in direct contact with the heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba and Al Omari to replace the heat sink of Otremba 26 with Al Omari 800. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal and prevent heat flux damage to the vertical power semiconductor (Al Omari, [176]).
Otremba in view of Al Omari does not explicitly show material of the rib.
Cader teaches wherein the metal rib (106 and 108 with same material of copper or gold, fig1, col3 line 50-55 and col4 line 1-10) is made of a material which has a thermal conductivity that is higher than a thermal conductivity of a material of the main body (102, fig1, col3 line 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba, Al Omari and Cader to use a material with higher thermal conductivity for the metal rib than the main body. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal from the device (Cader, col2 line 25-35) and prevent damage of the metal rib during the formation of the heat sink (Cader, col3 line 60-65).
Re claim 32, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 31, wherein the metal rib (Al Omari, 830 as Cu or Au, fig9, [171]) protrudes orthogonally beyond the surface of the main body (Al Omari, top surface of 812 and bottom surface of 822, fig9, [171]).
Re claim 33, Otremba modified above teaches the electronics module of claim 31, wherein the metal rib is secured in a force-fit manner in the recess, in particular via a press connection. (A "product by process" claim is directed to the final product per se, no matter how it is actually made. In re Hirao and Sato et al., 190 USPQ 15, 17 (CCPA 1976); see also In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972); In re Luck and Gainer, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC 1983). It is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product, produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Id. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases. Id. Furthermore, "[e]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Re claim 34, Otremba modified above teaches a power converter, comprising the electronics module as set forth in claim 17 (Otremba, 200 with 26 replaced by Al Omari 800, fig2, [21, 28, 44]).
Re claim 35, Otremba modified above teaches a power converter, comprising the electronics module as set forth in claim 31 (Otremba, 200 with 26 replaced by Al Omari 800, fig2, [21, 28, 44]).
Re claim 36, Otremba modified above teaches a method for producing an electronics module (200, fig2, [21]), comprising:
an electronic component (13 and 16, fig2, [28]) thermally conductively connected to a heat transfer medium (26, fig2, [22]) and designed as a vertical power semiconductor (13 and 16, fig2, [28]).
Otremba does not explicitly show the detail structure of the heat sink.
Al Omari teaches at least partially forming a channel structure (818, fig9, [170]) in a main body (812, fig9, [171]) of a pulsating heat pipe (800, fig9, [170]), with the main body (812, fig9, [171]) of the pulsating heat pipe being made at least partially of a dielectric material (842 around 830, fig9, [173]);
arranging a heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]) in the channel structure of the main body of the pulsating heat pipe;
designing an electronic component (HS, fig9, [27]);
thermally conductively connecting the electronic component (HS, fig9, [27]) to the heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]);
introducing a recess (space holding 830, fig9, [171]) into the main body of the pulsating heat pipe;
securing a rib (830, fig9, [171]) in the recess such as to protrude, in particular orthogonally, beyond a surface of the main body (top surface of 812, fig9, [171]); and
directly contacting the rib (830, fig9, [171]) with the heat transfer medium (822, fig9, [172]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba and Al Omari to replace the heat sink of Otremba 26 with Al Omari 800. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal and prevent heat flux damage to the vertical power semiconductor (Al Omari, [176]).
Otremba in view of Al Omari does not explicitly show material of the rib.
Cader teaches wherein the metal rib (106 and 108 with same material of copper or gold, fig1, col3 line 50-55 and col4 line 1-10) is made of a material which has a thermal conductivity that is higher than a thermal conductivity of a material of the main body (102, fig1, col3 line 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Otremba, Al Omari and Cader to use a material with higher thermal conductivity for the metal rib than the main body. The motivation to do so is to enhance heat removal from the device (Cader, col2 line 25-35) and prevent damage of the metal rib during the formation of the heat sink (Cader, col3 line 60-65).
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812