Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2024 was being considered by the examiner. The PCT international search report submitted on 06/14/2024 was being considered by the examiner as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0264156 A1) in view of Hadjadj, Yazid et al. (Insulating oil decaying assessment by FTIR and UV-Vis spectrophotometry measurements; Annual Report - Conference on Electrical Insulation & Dielectric Phenomena, CEIDP PY- 2013/10/01 SN -978-1-4799-2597-1.
With regards to claim 1, Koseoglu discloses method comprising:
preparing or obtaining a petroleum reservoir fluid sample (i.e., a Varian 660-IR (FTIR) spectrophotometer instrument equipped with a Specac's Golden Gate ATR accessory with a diamond crystal was used for the analysis of the crude oil) [0028]. Notice how the instrument was used to scan over the wavelength range from 4000-700 cm−1 [0028] [0032]. Typical Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy data for crude oils with different API gravities are shown in FIG. 1 [0028] – [0030].
FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic block diagram of modules and spectroscopy analysis system 300. Density and raw data receiving module 310 receives the density of a sample of crude oil and Fourier transform infrared fluorescence spectroscopy data derived from the crude oil. FTIR index calculation module 315 calculates the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy index from the FTIR data. Cetane number calculation module 335 derives the cetane number for the gas oil fraction of the crude oil as a function of the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy index and density of the sample [0028], [0039] – [0048]. Notice how Koseoglu teaches systems outputs and/or records results using a computer system/user interface, output/store tied to electronic display/storage [0042] (Figures 1 - 4).
Koseoglu lastly teaches processing the measured FTIR spectra (i.e., processing to FTIR data) of the petroleum reservoir fluid sample to obtain FTIR data that characterizes or accounts for surface-active species of the petroleum reservoir fluid sample [0031], [0034] – [0036].
Koseoglu fails to expressly disclose using the FTIR data as input to a predefined correlation function that calculates a value of interfacial tension of the petroleum reservoir fluid sample; and storing or outputting the calculated value of interfacial tension of the petroleum reservoir fluid sample for characterizing the petroleum reservoir fluid sample.
Hadjadj et al. relates to oil decaying assessment by FTIR and UV-Vis spectrophotometry measurements (Abstract). Hadjadj teaches that Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR) spectroscopy is considered a very powerful tool for monitoring the condition of lubricants and engine oils, since it identifies compound and sample composition. Because each bond type has a unique wave number fingerprint, it can be readily identified. Notice how the assessment of oil samples condition as a function of ageing duration by different measurement techniques are summarized in Fig. 2. By using the reduction in the Interfacial tension (IFT) while noticing other parameters (TAN, DDP, A1710) increase with ageing, the relationship was used to calculate particular values as needed to improve testing or the like (Pages 1-4) (Figures 1 – 3).
Hadjadj teaches the surface-active species (i.e., oxidation/polar contaminants spectral features, carbonyl band, corresponds to chemical species that reduce IFT) of the sample (i.e., see fitted relationship between FTIR parameter and IFT with correlation output) (Pages 1-4) (Figures 1 – 3).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj.
With regards to claim 2, Koseoglu discloses the FTIR spectrometer is configured with an Attenuated Total Reflectance (ATR) accessory [0028].
With regards to claim 3, Koseoglu discloses the processing involves obtaining a corrected FTIR spectra by subtracting a baseline FTIR spectra (i.e., the background FTIR run was taken against a clean accessory) [0028] from the measured FTIR spectra [0029] – [0035].
With regards to claim 4, Koseoglu discloses that the measured FTIR spectra covers a first wavenumber range between 3080 cm-1 to 2600 cm-1 as well as a second wavenumber range between 1750 cm-1 to 1550 cm-1 [0028], [0032].
With regards to claim 5, Koseoglu discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1 and also that the instrument was then scanned over the wavelength range from 4000-700 cm−1 [0028] – [0032] in addition to WL entries including 30080 and 2600 and 1550 – 1750 (Table 4) but fails to expressly disclose the FTIR data includes a first FTIR parameter and a second FTIR parameter, wherein the first FTIR parameter corresponds to the first wavenumber range between 3080 cm-1 to 2600 cm- 1, and wherein the second FTIR parameter corresponds to the second wavenumber range between 1750 cm-1 to 1550 cm-1.
Hadjadj teaches that FTIR molecular analysis traces aging by-products and specifically teaches that absorption bands in the 1710-1730cm-1 region and correspond to C=O oxidation products and FTIR parameters tied to sub-ban within the claimed windows, i.e., see the decompositions, C=O groups, carboxylic groups and the like (page 2, left column).
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu who already collects full-spectrum data as needed to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj, the carbonyl/oxidation related parameter within 1750-1550 window in addition to hydrocarbon-region parameters to improve FTIR based correlations, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 6, Koseoglu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 5 but fails to expressly disclose that the first FTIR parameter is calculated by integrating FTIR spectra over the first wavenumber range between 3080 cm-1 to 2600 cm-1, and the second FTIR parameter is calculated by integrating FTIR spectra over the second wavenumber range between 1750 cm-1 to 1550 cm-1.
Hadjadj teaches FTIR and DDP condition monitoring are semi-quantitative procedures, in that no calibration against a primary reference method is performed. Instead, results are reported in terms of peak areas or heights (or baseline) or areas below the absorbance curve, and interpreted in relation to new oil condition or empirically established criteria (page 2, left column). As such, Hadjadj teaches the integrating FTIR spectra as claimed when considering Koseoglu teaches the instrument was used to scan over the wavelength range from 4000-700 ([0028] [0032]; Koseoglu) in combination with Hadjadj teaching monitoring the condition of the oils in the region of 1710-1730 cm-1 (Page 2; Hadjadj).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu who already collects full-spectrum data as needed to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj, who found monitoring conditions for oils related to the wavenumber window 1750-1550 cm-1 to improve FTIR based correlations as needed and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 7, Koseoglu discloses FTIR analysis workflow including arranging FTIR spectrum, calculating FTIR index (i.e., a processing pipeline after spectrum acquisition) [0030] – [0036] and a background FTIR run was taken against a clean accessory [0028].
Koseoglu fails to expressly disclose that the integration of the FTIR spectra over both the first wavenumber range and the second wavenumber range involve integration of a corrected FTIR spectra obtained by subtracting a baseline FTIR spectra from the measured FTIR spectra.
Hadjadj teaches that FTIR condition monitoring results are reported as peak areas … or areas below the absorbance curve and read relative to new oil condition or some other criteria. Notice that calculating areas under the curve for peaks is general performed on corrected spectra-background corrections precedes the extraction (II. OIL QUALITY ASSESSMENT AND CLASSIFICATION; Page 2).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj.
With regards to claim 8, Koseoglu discloses the claimed invention according to claim 5, and further teaches FTIR spectra provide peaks corresponding to bond vibrations, and that peak size indicates amount, supporting using FTIR peak-based parameters as concentration proxies in addition to scans a broad FTIR range of 4000 – 700 cm-1 and thereby includes both claim windows as claimed [0016], [0028] – [0036].
Koseoglu fails to expressly disclose that the first FTIR parameter represents concentration CH3 groups, CH2 groups and =CH double bond groups in the petroleum reservoir fluid sample; and the second FTIR parameter represents concentration of carbonyl groups and alkene groups in the petroleum reservoir fluid sample.
Hadjadj teaches oil aging, absorption bands increase in 1710-1730 cm-1 region and attributes the wavelength to vibration of C=O groups occurring in oxidation (Carbonyl formation). Hadjadj further teaches the formation exist during oxidation and C=C double bonds as well during decomposition (Alkene/unsaturation), supporting that 1750-1550 region may represent carbonyl and alkene related species ( IV. Results and Discussions).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj.
With regards to claim 10, Koseoglu modified discloses the storing 470/480 or outputting 430 involves storing the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample in electronic form (i.e., computer system 400), displaying 410 or printing the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample, or communicating the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample. Notice how FTIR index calculation module 315 calculates the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy index from the FTIR data. [0042] [0049] – [0053] (Figure 4). The interfacial tension was addressed in the rejection of claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1.
With regards to claim 11, Koseoglu discloses the petroleum reservoir fluid sample comprises a crude oil sample at ambient conditions (See claim 8); and the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample calculated by the predefined correlation function represents interfacial tension of the crude oil sample at ambient conditions (Claim 8). Notice that FTIR index calculation module 315 calculates the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy index from the FTIR data. [0042] [0049] – [0053] (Figure 4). The interfacial tension was addressed in the rejection of claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1. Hadjadj also provides ambient testing context (II. EXPERIMENTAL INVESTIGATIONS).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0264156 A1) in view of Hadjadj and Yazid et al. (Insulating oil decaying assessment by FTIR and UV-Vis spectrophotometry measurements; Annual Report - Conference on Electrical Insulation & Dielectric Phenomena, CEIDP PY- 2013/10/01 SN -978-1-4799-2597-1 in view of Nazri (Approximation of interfacial tension for asphaltenic crude oil and C02 using parachor method, Dissertation, University Teknologi Petronas, 2011).
With regards to claim 9, Koseoglu discloses the claim invention according to claim 19 but fails to expressly disclose that the predefined first correlation function is of the form IFT= [integrated area 3080-2600 in FTIR] x [integrated area 1750 - 1550 in, where IFT is the IFT for the dead oil sample at ambient conditions, [integrated area 1750-1550 in FTIR] is the area under peaks in FTIR spectra that fall within the first wavenumber range between 1750-1550 cm-1, [integrated area 3080 - 2600 in FTIR] is the area under peaks in FTIR spectra that fall within the second wavenumber range between 3080- 2600 cm-1, and pw and po are the density of water and oil, respectively
Nazri discloses density-power relationships for surface/IFT, see equations 1 – 3 (Pages 14 – 16). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Notice where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Nazri to come up with the claimed correlation function, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to include the claimed function the for the purpose of prediction and determination of interfacial tension as needed.
Claim(s) 12 – 22, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0264156 A1) in view of Hadjadj, Yazid et al. (Insulating oil decaying assessment by FTIR and UV-Vis spectrophotometry measurements; Annual Report - Conference on Electrical Insulation & Dielectric Phenomena, CEIDP PY- 2013/10/01 SN -978-1-4799-2597-1 and Stukan et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0156939 A1).
With regards to claim 12, Koseoglu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1 but fails to discloses the petroleum reservoir fluid sample comprises a dead oil sample at ambient conditions; and the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample calculated by the predefined correlation function represents interfacial tension of the dead oil sample at ambient conditions.
Stukan teaches method for investigating live oil interfacial tension at reservoir conditions from dead oil measurements (Abstract). Stukan uses a dead-oil IFT measurement at ambient/surface conditions as the baseline input before correcting to reservoir conditions [0013], [0026] – [0030]; (Figure 3).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments and well down time as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Stukan.
With regards to claim 13, Koseoglu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 12 but fails to discloses correcting the value representing interfacial of the dead oil sample at ambient conditions to a value representing interfacial tension for live oil at reservoir conditions.
Stukan teaches method for investigating live oil interfacial tension at reservoir conditions from dead oil measurements (Abstract). Stukan also teaches determining a correction factor converting dead-oil measurement to corresponding live-oil (i.e., reservoir) measurement and computes adjusted IFT [0013], [0026] – [0030] (Figure 3).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments and well down time as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Stukan.
With regards to claims 14 and 25, Koseoglu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 13 but fails to discloses using the value of interfacial tension for live oil at reservoir conditions for evaluation of reservoir potential or reservoir performance.
Stukan teaches method for investigating live oil interfacial tension at reservoir conditions from dead oil measurements (Abstract). Stukan also teaches identifying reservoir condition IFT as needed/important for reservoir understanding and uses the corrected live-oil in the workflow [0013], [0026] – [0030]; (Figure 3).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments and well down time as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Stukan.
With regards to claim 15, Koseoglu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose live oil and dead oil samples as claimed.
Stukan teaches method for investigating live oil interfacial tension at reservoir conditions from dead oil measurements (Abstract). Stukan also teaches identifying reservoir condition IFT as needed/important for reservoir understanding and uses the corrected live-oil in the workflow [0013], [0026] – [0030]; (Figure 3).
In view of the utility, to improve testing, measurements and assessments and well down time as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Stukan.
With regards to claim 16, Koseoglu modified discloses the FTIR spectrometer is configured with an Attenuated Total Reflectance (ATR) accessory [0028].
With regards to claim 17, Koseoglu modified discloses the processing involves obtaining a corrected FTIR spectra by subtracting a baseline FTIR spectra (i.e., the background FTIR run was taken against a clean accessory) [0028] from the measured FTIR spectra [0029] – [0035].
With regards to claim 18, Koseoglu modified discloses that the measured FTIR spectra covers a first wavenumber range between 3080 cm-1 to 2600 cm-1 as well as a second wavenumber range between 1750 cm-1 to 1550 cm-1 [0028], [0032].
With regards to claim 19, Koseoglu discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1 and also that the instrument was then scanned over the wavelength range from 4000-700 cm−1 [0028] – [0032] in addition to WL entries including 30080 and 2600 and 1550 – 1750 (Table 4) but fails to expressly disclose the FTIR data includes a first FTIR parameter and a second FTIR parameter, wherein the first FTIR parameter corresponds to the first wavenumber range between 3080 cm-1 to 2600 cm- 1, and wherein the second FTIR parameter corresponds to the second wavenumber range between 1750 cm-1 to 1550 cm-1.
Hadjadj teaches that FTIR molecular analysis traces aging by-products and specifically teaches that absorption bands in the 1710-1730cm-1 region and correspond to C=O oxidation products and FTIR parameters tied to sub-ban within the claimed windows, i.e., see the decompositions, C=O groups, carboxylic groups and the like (page 2, left column).
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu who already collects full-spectrum data as needed to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj, the carbonyl/oxidation related parameter within 1750-1550 window in addition to hydrocarbon-region parameters to improve FTIR based correlations, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 20, Koseoglu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 5 but fails to expressly disclose that the first FTIR parameter is calculated by integrating FTIR spectra over the first wavenumber range between 3080 cm-1 to 2600 cm-1, and the second FTIR parameter is calculated by integrating FTIR spectra over the second wavenumber range between 1750 cm-1 to 1550 cm-1.
Hadjadj teaches FTIR and DDP condition monitoring are semi-quantitative procedures, in that no calibration against a primary reference method is performed. Instead, results are reported in terms of peak areas or heights (or baseline) or areas below the absorbance curve, and interpreted in relation to new oil condition or empirically established criteria (page 2, left column). As such, Hadjadj teaches the integrating FTIR spectra as claimed when considering Koseoglu teaches the instrument was used to scan over the wavelength range from 4000-700 in combination with Hadjadj teaching monitoring the condition of the oils in the region of 1710-1730 cm-1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu who already collects full-spectrum data as needed to include the teachings such as that taught by Hadjadj, who found monitoring conditions for oils related to the wavenumber window 1750-1550 cm-1 to improve FTIR based correlations as needed and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With regards to claim 21, see the rejection of claim 7.
With regards to claim 22, see the rejection of claim 8.
With regards to claim 24, Koseoglu modified discloses the storing 470/480 or outputting 430 involves storing the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample in electronic form (i.e., computer system 400), displaying 410 or printing the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample, or communicating the value of interfacial tension for the petroleum reservoir fluid sample. Notice how FTIR index calculation module 315 calculates the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy index from the FTIR data. [0042] [0049] – [0053] (Figure 4). The interfacial tension was addressed in the rejection of claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1 and regarding the live oil and dead oil samples, see the rejection of claim 15, up above.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0264156 A1), Hadjadj, Yazid et al. (Insulating oil decaying assessment by FTIR and UV-Vis spectrophotometry measurements; Annual Report - Conference on Electrical Insulation & Dielectric Phenomena, CEIDP PY- 2013/10/01 SN -978-1-4799-2597-1 and Stukan et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0156939 A1) in view of Nazri (Approximation of interfacial tension for asphaltenic crude oil and C02 using parachor method, Dissertation, University Teknologi Petronas, 2011).
With regards to claim 23, Koseoglu discloses the claim invention according to claim 19 but fails to expressly disclose that the predefined first correlation function is of the form IFT= [integrated area 3080-2600 in FTIR] x [integrated area 1750 - 1550 in, where IFT is the IFT for the dead oil sample at ambient conditions, [integrated area 1750-1550 in FTIR] is the area under peaks in FTIR spectra that fall within the first wavenumber range between 1750-1550 cm-1, [integrated area 3080 - 2600 in FTIR] is the area under peaks in FTIR spectra that fall within the second wavenumber range between 3080- 2600 cm-1, and pw and po are the density of water and oil, respectively
Nazri discloses density-power relationships for surface/IFT, see equations 1 – 3 (Pages 14 – 16). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Notice where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koseoglu to include the teachings such as that taught by Nazri to come up with the claimed correlation function, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to include the claimed function the for the purpose of prediction and determination of interfacial tension as needed.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884