DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-32 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites “receive from the one or more user equipment…”. However, this is the first time ‘the one or more user equipment’ is mentioned in the claims, which is an antecedent basis issue. Thus, the claim is indefinite, and Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim 31 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency upon claim 30.
Claim 32 also recites “receive from the one or more user equipment…”. However, this is the first time ‘the one or more user equipment’ is mentioned in the claims, which is an antecedent basis issue. Thus, the claim is indefinite, and Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim 37 recites “…cause the first apparatus to…”. However, this is the first time ‘the first apparatus’ is mentioned in the claims, which is an antecedent basis issue. Thus, the claim is indefinite, and Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claims 38-40 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency upon independent claim 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-34, and 36-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 20240015840 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Li discloses
A method, comprising ([0132] method):
configuring, by a user equipment of a communication network, a sidelink configuration ([0132]-[0135] and [Fig. 5] a resource pool is selected by a terminal for sidelink communications),
wherein the sidelink configuration is selecting a best at least one sidelink resource pool of one or more sidelink resource pools and a sidelink discontinuous reception configuration compatible for sidelink operations with another user equipment comprising at least one of a sidelink data transmission or sidelink data reception ([0132]-[0135] and [Fig. 5] terminal selects a resource pool based on if a sidelink logical channel has data to be transmitted (comprising one of a sidelink data transmission or sidelink data reception) and a sidelink discontinuous reception command is triggered (sidelink discontinuous reception configuration compatible for sidelink operations)); and
based on the configuring, communicating towards another user equipment information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility for the sidelink operations ([0137], and [0139] when the sidelink discontinuous reception command is configured as enabled, the terminal selects a resource pool that is configured with PSFCH resources, and when it is not enabled the terminal will select a different resource pool (information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility is included in the selected resource pool); [Fig. 3] terminal triggers (enabled; compatible) a sidelink discontinuous reception command when one of first conditions is satisfied, and it will cancel (disabled; not compatible) the command when a second condition is satisfied (also information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility), see also [0085] and Figure 8, teaching sending the DRX command (compatibility) to another device via sidelink resource).
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses
An apparatus comprising ([0431] terminal):
at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to ([0431] terminal comprises a memory and a processor, where the memory stores a computer program that is executable by the processor to perform functions):
configure, by a user equipment of a communication network, a sidelink configuration ([0132]-[0135] and [Fig. 5] a resource pool is selected by a terminal for sidelink communications),
wherein the sidelink configuring selects a best at least one sidelink resource pool of one or more sidelink resource pools and a sidelink discontinuous reception configuration compatible for sidelink operations with another user equipment comprising at least one of a sidelink data transmission or sidelink data reception ([0132]-[0135] and [Fig. 5] terminal selects a resource pool based on if a sidelink logical channel has data to be transmitted (comprising one of a sidelink data transmission or sidelink data reception) and a sidelink discontinuous reception command is triggered (sidelink discontinuous reception configuration compatible for sidelink operations)); and
based on the configuring, communicating towards another user equipment information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility for the sidelink operations ([0137], and [0139] when the sidelink discontinuous reception command is configured as enabled, the terminal selects a resource pool that is configured with PSFCH resources, and when it is not enabled the terminal will select a different resource pool (information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility is included in the selected resource pool); [Fig. 3] terminal triggers (enabled; compatible) a sidelink discontinuous reception command when one of first conditions is satisfied, and it will cancel (disabled; not compatible) the command when a second condition is satisfied (also information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility), see also [0085] and Figure 8, teaching sending the DRX command (compatibility) to another device via sidelink resource).
Regarding claim 26, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to at least configure based on one of ([0431] terminal comprises a memory and a processor, where the memory stores a computer program that is executable by the processor to perform functions):
receiving from a network node of the communication network a sidelink (pre)configuration message for the configuring, making the user equipment a sidelink configuration transmitting user equipment ([0136]-[0139], and [0142] terminal selects a resource pool from resource pools that are configured by the network device (receiving pre-configuration message for the configuring from a network node) to use for sidelink communications (making the UE a sidelink configuration transmitting UE)), or
receiving from the another user equipment of the communication network a sidelink configuration message for the configuring, making the user equipment a sidelink configuration receiving user equipment.
Regarding claim 27, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 26, wherein the sidelink (pre)configuration message is a radio resource control reconfiguration message using at least one of resource pools, bits, or a bitmap to indicate sidelink discontinuous reception cycle compatibility at the user equipment ([0142] the resource pools configured by the network device are for sidelink transmission configured by the network device via RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 28, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to calculate a next sidelink discontinuous reception on period ([0073] and [0080] terminal uses current service period as a condition (calculate period), where the current service period may be a cycle of a sidelink discontinuous reception SL DRX on-duration timer (on period)).
Regarding claim 29, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 28, wherein based upon the calculating for the next sidelink discontinuous reception on period ([0073] and [0080] terminal uses current service period as a condition (calculate period), where the current service period may be a cycle of a sidelink discontinuous reception SL DRX on-duration timer (on period)):
a single bit indicates full compliancy; or
a bitmap indicates compliancy of the sidelink discontinuous reception on period for the given quality of service ([0073] the terminal may trigger the sidelink discontinuous reception command based on a logical channel to which a quality of service identifier PQI corresponds to has no data to be transmitted in a current service period (indicates compliancy of the sidelink discontinuous reception on period for the quality of service)); or
a quality of service level complies with the indication of compliant sidelink DRX period,
the at least one processor; and the at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code, are configured, to further cause the apparatus to use the next indicated slot indicated simply as a T_now + sidelink DRX period or to calculate the next sidelink DRX period as the one closest to T_now + sidelink DRX period, still fulfilling a quality of service requirement.
Regarding claim 30, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to, based on the communicating, receive from the one or more user equipment a sidelink user equipment assistance message comprising a determined or selected at least one sidelink resource pool of the one or more sidelink resource pools with a given sidelink discontinuous reception cycle for the sidelink operations ([0080], [0092], and [0133] the first terminal receives HARQ feedback transmitted by the second terminal (sidelink user equipment assistance message), where the first terminal selects the resource pool based on the HARQ feedback and a SL DRX cycle may be the current service period (given sidelink DRX cycle for the sidelink operations)).
Regarding claim 31, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 30, wherein the sidelink user equipment assistance message(s) is sent from the sidelink configuration receiving user equipment to which the sidelink data reception is intended ([0092], and [0133] the first terminal receives HARQ feedback transmitted by the second terminal (sidelink user equipment assistance message)).
Regarding claim 32, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to, based on the communicating, receive from the one or more user equipment a sidelink reconfiguration complete message comprising a determined or selected at least one sidelink resource pool of the one or more sidelink resource pools with a given sidelink discontinuous reception cycle for the sidelink operations ([0080], [0092], and [0133] the first terminal receives HARQ feedback transmitted by the second terminal (sidelink reconfiguration complete message), where the first terminal selects the resource pool based on the HARQ feedback and a SL DRX cycle may be the current service period (given sidelink DRX cycle for the sidelink operations)).
Regarding claim 33, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to ([0431] terminal comprises a memory and a processor, where the memory stores a computer program that is executable by the processor to perform functions):
determine by the sidelink configuration receiving user equipment a sidelink discontinuous reception on-duration based on the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration ([0073] and [0080] terminal uses current service period as a condition (determine on-duration), where the current service period may be a cycle of a sidelink discontinuous reception SL DRX on-duration timer; [0081] SL DRX on-duration timer may be preconfigured (determined by the receiving user equipment)),
wherein the sidelink discontinuous reception on-duration dictates that the sidelink configuration receiving user equipment should receive data on the best at least one sidelink resource pool ([0133] and [Fig. 2] on-duration timer is when the terminal is able to receive transmissions, where the transmissions are performed on the selected resource pool by the first terminal (dictates that the sidelink receiving UE should receive data on the chosen resource pool)).
Regarding claim 34, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration comprises a given discontinuous reception of the at least one given discontinuous reception should not be selected based on no suitable resource pool of at least one resource pool is present ([0085]-[0086] and [Fig. 3] the first terminal generates a sidelink discontinuous reception command only when there exists a sidelink resource, and the first terminal may otherwise cancel the sidelink discontinuous reception command).
Regarding claim 36, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration comprises an indication of at least one preferred resource pool in which the sidelink operations should be performed ([0137], and [0139] when the sidelink discontinuous reception command is configured as enabled, the terminal selects a resource pool that is configured with PSFCH resources, and when it is not enabled the terminal will select a different resource pool (an indication of selected resource pool)).
Regarding claim 37, Li discloses
An apparatus comprising ([0059] network device):
at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to at least ([0059]-[0064] and [0330]-[0331] network device may be base station, etc. and methods described can be performed by a processor executing software stored in memory):
determine, by a network node of a communication network a sidelink configuration ([0132]-[0140] and [Fig. 5] a resource pool is selected by a terminal for sidelink communications, where the resource pools are configured on the terminal by the network device),
wherein the sidelink configuration contains at least one sidelink resource pool of one or more sidelink resource pools and at least one indication for sidelink discontinuous reception configuration for sidelink operations with a user equipment comprising at least one of a sidelink data transmission or sidelink data reception ([0132]-[0135] and [Fig. 5] terminal selects a resource pool based on if a sidelink logical channel has data to be transmitted (comprising one of a sidelink data transmission or sidelink data reception) and a sidelink discontinuous reception command is triggered (sidelink discontinuous reception configuration compatible for sidelink operations)); and
based on the determining, communicate towards the user equipment information comprising an indication of a sidelink configuration message for sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility at the user equipment ([0137], and [0139] when the sidelink discontinuous reception command is configured as enabled, the terminal selects a resource pool that is configured with PSFCH resources, and when it is not enabled the terminal will select a different resource pool (information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility is included in the selected resource pool); [Fig. 3] terminal triggers (enabled; compatible) a sidelink discontinuous reception command when one of first conditions is satisfied, and it will cancel (disabled; not compatible) the command when a second condition is satisfied (also information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility) see also [0085] and Figure 8, teaching sending the DRX command (compatibility) to another device via sidelink resource).
Regarding claim 38, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 37, wherein the information comprises an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception operation cycle availability of one or more sidelink resource pools for use at the user equipment for sidelink operations comprising at least one of a sidelink transmission or reception ([0137], and [0139] when the sidelink discontinuous reception command is configured as enabled, the terminal selects a resource pool that is configured with PSFCH resources, and when it is not enabled the terminal will select a different resource pool (information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility is included in the selected resource pool); [0083] the SL DRX cycle and/or the SL DRX on-duration timer is configured by the network device; [Fig. 3] terminal triggers (enabled; available) a sidelink discontinuous reception command when one of first conditions is satisfied, and it will cancel (disabled; not available) the command when a second condition is satisfied (also information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility)).
Regarding claim 39, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 37, wherein the indication comprises one or more sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility bits or bitmaps each associated with a resource pool of the one or more sidelink resource pools with at least one given discontinuous reception ([0073] and [0080] terminal uses current service period as a condition, where the current service period may be a cycle of a sidelink discontinuous reception SL DRX on-duration timer, and the terminal may trigger the sidelink discontinuous reception command based on a logical channel to which a quality of service identifier PQI corresponds to has no data to be transmitted in a current service period (indicates compatibility bitmap); [0083] the SL DRX cycle and/or the SL DRX on-duration timer is configured by the network device; [0132]-[0140] and [Fig. 5] the resource pools are configured on the terminal by the network device, which are used to transmit the data that is to be transmitted (associated with a resource pool)).
Regarding claim 40, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the one or more sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility bits or bitmaps are superseded by an indication of the information being a network preference or suggestion ([0132]-[0140] and [Fig. 5] the resource pools are configured on the terminal by the network device, which are used to transmit the data that is to be transmitted (superseded compatibility bits or bitmaps by the network device’s preferences for resource pool)).
Regarding claim 41, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the indication indicates that a given pool of the one or more sidelink resource pools may only be used for an indicated discontinuous reception cycle, thus disabling further selection of resource pools or selecting resources as legacy resources for a shorter discontinuous reception cycle ([0137], and [0139] when the sidelink discontinuous reception command is configured as enabled, the terminal selects a resource pool that is configured with PSFCH resources, and when it is not enabled the terminal will select a different resource pool (information comprising an indication of sidelink discontinuous reception compatibility is included in the selected resource pool); [0132]-[0140] and [Fig. 5] the resource pools are configured on the terminal by the network device; [Fig. 3] terminal will cancel (disabled) the command when a second condition is satisfied (disabling further selection of resource pools)).
Regarding claim 42, Li discloses
The apparatus of claim 41, wherein the legacy resources are based on legacy calculations taking into account a bitmap associated with a sidelink resource pool, a subframe number being based on a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle and sidelink start offset ([0073], [0080], and [0132]-[0140] and [Fig. 5] a sidelink discontinuous reception command is triggered based on a condition which may be that a logical channel has no data to be transmitted in a past period of time/when a timer expires, where the timer may be SL DRX cycle (subframe number being based on sidelink start offset and SL DRX cycle) and the sidelink discontinuous reception command is used by the terminal to sidelink the sidelink resource pool (legacy resources based on legacy calculations)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20240015840 A1), and further in view of Li et al (US 20220070779 A1)(herein after Li Q).
Regarding claim 35, Li teaches The apparatus of claim 25, as is described above.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration uses an information element for enabling at the user equipment determination of a preferred resource block for the sidelink operations.
However, Li Q does teach wherein the sidelink discontinuous reception configuration uses an information element for enabling at the user equipment determination of a preferred resource block for the sidelink operations ([0114] RRC message from base station may comprise DRX configuration, and include an information element that contains resource blocks for sidelink communications).
Li and Li Q are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications for a UE. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to include the teachings of Li Q where IEs are used to configure DRX and indicate resource blocks. The rationale behind this would be to improve the efficiency and utility of wireless devices ([0021] Li Q).
Conclusion
The following is prior art made of record and not relied upon but is considered to be pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240414808 A1 to Ganesan et al teaches a method for a UE to determine an event triggering a resource reselection to perform candidate resource selection from a resource pool according to a DRX timer ([0006] Ganesan).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478