DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under examination on the merits in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they contain Figures that are not in black colored font, thereby rendering the non-black color texts not clearly legible. See for instance Figure 1B and 2A. Note that the patent application content should be in black font for legibility. That is, all application papers must be clearly legible using black colored font text and black lines. See MPEP §608.01. In addition to the illegibility issues, some of the Figures contain undisguisable legends. That is, different legends are not clearly distinguishable from each other thus the different bars in the graph are not clearly identifiable. See for instance Figures 4B and 5B. Applicant is required to review all Figures and make appropriate corrections for clear legibility and clear distinction for different legends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moulton et al. (WO 2021/226485 A2, applicant’s citation).
Moulton teaches making a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier such as liposomes and an antisense oligonucleotide of SEQ ID NO:2 (5’-CCTGGGAAGGTATAAACCTTTAAT) that is administered to a subject for treatment of SARS-CoV-2 infection, wherein the oligonucleotide can be modified with “phosphorodiamidate morpholino (PMO)”, “2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate (2’-OMePS)”, or “locked nucleic acid (LNA)”. See claims 1-10, 23, and 33-36; pages 15-18 and 21-23.
Since Moulton’s antisense oligonucleotide sequence is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:2 claimed in the instant case that is encompassed by claim 1, it necessarily follows that Moulton’s oligonucleotide would necessarily and inherently result in reduced SARS-CoV-2 RNA translation and increased SARS-CoV-2 RNA degradation in cells of the subject administered with Moulton’s oligonucleotide, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are described by Moulton et al.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vora et al. (bioRxiv, 10.1101/2021.09.09.459641, posted on September 9, 2021).
Vora discloses “locked nucleic acid antisense oligonucleotides (ASOs)” targeting “SARS-CoV-2 5’ UTR”, wherein the ASOs, in particular “ASO7”. can be used as a therapeutic agent for treating a subject having COVID-19 infection by suppressing viral translation, wherein “ASO7” has the nucleotide sequence of 5’-GTTACCTGGGAAGGTATAAACCTTTAAT. See pages 1-5; Figure 4A.
Since Vora’s ASO7 sequence is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:4 claimed in the instant case that is encompassed by claim 1, it necessarily follows that Vora’s oligonucleotide would necessarily and inherently result in reduced SARS-CoV-2 RNA translation and increased SARS-CoV-2 RNA degradation in cells of the COVID-19-infected subject when treated with Vora’s oligonucleotide, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are described by Vora et al.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freier et al. (US 2023/0151366 A1).
Freier discloses a fully phosphorothioate and 2’-MOE modified antisense oligonucleotide of SEQ ID NO:511 (5’-TGGTTTGTTACCTGGGAAGG) targeting SARS-CoV-2. See paragraph 0141; Table 3.
It is noted that Freier’s SEQ ID NO:511 comprises the entire sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 claimed in the instant case.
Freier teaches that the antisense oligonucleotide can comprise LNA modifications. See paragraph 0289.
Freier teaches that the antisense oligonucleotide is formulated as a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered to a subject for treating SARS-CoV-2 infection. See paragraphs 0002 and 0347-0350.
Since Freier’s antisense oligonucleotide sequence fully satisfies the structural limitations set forth in claim 1, it necessarily follows that Freier’s oligonucleotide would necessarily and inherently result in reduced SARS-CoV-2 RNA translation and increased SARS-CoV-2 RNA degradation in cells of the COVID-19-infected subject when treated with Freier’s oligonucleotide, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are described by Freier et al.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Naar et al. (US 2024/0102015 A1).
Naar discloses LNA mixmer antisense oligonucleotides targeting the 5’-leader (5’ UTR) of SARS-CoV-2, for instance, “anti-5’ leader LNA” “ASO#29” (or “CRM0533”), which significantly inhibited the expression level of the virus, wherein “ASO#29” (or “CRM0533”) targets 5’-UUCCCAGGUAACAAAC (SEQ ID NO:153) and has the sequence of 5’-GTtTgTtACcTgggAA, wherein the upper case letters represent LNA and the lower case letters represent DNA, wherein the ASO comprises phosphorothioate linkages. See Figure 1b; Extended Data Table 1; Table 4.
It is noted that the target sequence of Naar’s “ASO#29” (or “CRM0533”) corresponds to the RNA counterpart of positions 17-32 of SEQ ID NO:1 claimed in the instant case.
Naar teaches that “the LNA modification” comprises “a methylene bridge connecting 2’-oxygen and 4’-carbon of ribose” and the disclosed LNA ASOs can be formulated as a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier/excipient, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered to a subject having COVID-19 infection “for the method of treating COVID-19”. See paragraphs 0005 and 0027.
Since Naar’s “ASO#29” (or “CRM0533”) sequence fully satisfies the structural limitations set forth in claim 1, it necessarily follows that Naar’s oligonucleotide would necessarily and inherently result in reduced SARS-CoV-2 RNA translation and increased SARS-CoV-2 RNA degradation in cells of the COVID-19-infected subject when treated with Naar’s oligonucleotide, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, claims 1, 3-12, 15-16, and 18-20 are described by Naar et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulton et al. (WO 2021/226485 A2, applicant’s citation) in view of van Rooij et al. (US 2013/0344135 A1).
Moulton teaches making a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier such as liposomes and an antisense oligonucleotide of SEQ ID NO:2 (5’-CCTGGGAAGGTATAAACCTTTAAT) that is administered to a subject for treatment of SARS-CoV-2 infection, wherein the oligonucleotide can be modified with “phosphorodiamidate morpholino (PMO)”, “2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate (2’-OMePS)”, or “locked nucleic acid (LNA)”. See claims 1-10, 23, and 33-36; pages 15-18 and 21-23.
Moulton does not expressly teach that the LNA-containing oligonucleotide has at least 40% LNA, at least 40% DNA, or at least 40% RNA.
van Rooij teaches that LNA(L)-DNA(D) mixmer antisense oligonucleotides can have various modification patterns such as the following disclosed in Figure 1A:
LDLDLLDLDLDLDLLD (M-10679)
LDDLLDLDLLDLDLDL (M-10683)
LDLLDDLLDLDLDLDL (M-11184)
LDLDLDLLDLDLDLDL (M-11298)
LDDLLDLLDLDLDLDL (M-11299)
LLDDLDLDLLDLDLDL (M-11300)
van Rooij teaches that the “fully phosphorothioate-linked” LNA mixmer modification motifs/patterns “provide advantages in one or more of potency, efficiency of delivery, target specificity, toxicity, and/or stability.” See abstract; paragraph 0013.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the art-recognized mixmer modification motifs/patterns of van Rooij and incorporate the motifs/patterns into the 24-mer antisense oligonucleotide sequence of Moulton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the potency, efficiency of delivery, target specificity, toxicity, and/or stability of Moulton’s SARS-CoV-2-targeting antisense oligonucleotide, thereby improving the therapeutic efficacy of the oligonucleotide because the “fully phosphorothioate-linked” LNA-DNA mixmer motifs/patterns of van Rooij were taught to “provide advantages in one or more of potency, efficiency of delivery, target specificity, toxicity, and/or stability.”
Accordingly, claims 1-12 and 14-20 taken as a whole would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected.
Claim 13 is objected to.
/DANA H SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635