DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, claims 1-23 are directed to a method, claim 24 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium to perform the method, and claims 25-26 are directed to using a system comprising a processor; a transmitter; a receiver to perform the method. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Regarding claim 1:
A method for identifying an issue with a radiotherapy device and outputting a next step, the radiotherapy device comprising a linear accelerator and being configured to provide therapeutic radiation to a patient, the method comprising:
obtaining data relating to an operational state of at least one of the radiotherapy device or a component thereof identifying an issue with the radiotherapy device based on the obtained data; and
outputting the next step based on the identified issue.
Step 2A Prong 1:
“obtaining data relating to an operational state of at least one of the radiotherapy device or a component thereof” is directed to mental step of data gathering.
“identifying an issue with the radiotherapy device based on the obtained data” is directed to metal step of analyzing data.
“outputting the next step based on the identified issue” is directed to metal step of displaying result of analyzing data.
Additional Elements:
Step 2A Prong 2:
“A method for identifying an issue with a radiotherapy device and outputting a next step, the radiotherapy device comprising a linear accelerator and being configured to provide therapeutic radiation to a patient” recited in the preamble does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“obtaining data relating to an operational state of at least one of the radiotherapy device or a component thereof” does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“identifying an issue with the radiotherapy device based on the obtained data” does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“outputting the next step based on the identified issue” is directed to insignificant activity and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim is merely gathrting data, manipulating or analyzing the data using mental process, and displaying the results.
This is similar to electric power: MPEP 2106.05(h) vi. Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
The claim as a whole does not meet any of the following criteria to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Step 2B:
“A method for identifying an issue with a radiotherapy device and outputting a next step, the radiotherapy device comprising a linear accelerator and being configured to provide therapeutic radiation to a patient” recited in the preamble does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“obtaining data relating to an operational state of at least one of the radiotherapy device or a component thereof” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“identifying an issue with the radiotherapy device based on the obtained data” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“outputting the next step based on the identified issue” is directed to insignificant activity and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(g) and 2106.05(d)(ii), third list, (iv).
The claim is therefore ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 24 cites a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when performed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps as in claim 1. This amounts to nothing more than instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, which fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See 2019 Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55. Additionally, using instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer “is not ‘enough’ to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.” Alice, 573 U.S. at 226. Therefore, the rejection of claim 24 for the same reason discussed above with regard to the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 26 is similar to claim 1 but recites a system comprising: a radiotherapy device comprising a linear accelerator and being configured to provide therapeutic radiation to a patient; a processor; a transmitter; a receiver; and memory, with instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the steps as in claim 1. These additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and do not add significantly more to the judicial exception. These elements are generic computing devices that perform generic functions. Using generic computer elements to perform an abstract idea does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. See 2019 Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55. Moreover, “the mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.” Alice, 573 U.S. at 223; see also FairWarninglP, LLCv. latric SysInc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (citation omitted) (“[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter”).
On the record before us, we are not persuaded that the hardware of claim 26 integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Nor are we persuaded that the additional elements are anything more than well-understood, routine, and conventional so as to impart subject matter eligibility to claim 26.
Claim 28 is similar to claim 1 but recites addition “limiting or changing the radiotherapy device functionality based on the identified issue” is directed to insignificant activity and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. It does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(g) and 2106.05(d)(ii), third list, (iv).
.
Dependent claims 2-23, 15, 17-27 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea, as detailed below: there is no additional element(s) in the dependent claims that adds a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea to make the claim significantly more than the judicial exception (abstract idea).
Hence the claims 1-28 are treated as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flint et al. (US 2021/0370098 A1, IDS record).
Regarding claims 1, 22, 26, Flint et al. disclose a computer, system and method for identifying an issue with a radiotherapy device and outputting a next step (Fig. 4), the radiotherapy device comprising a linear accelerator and being configured to provide therapeutic radiation to a patient (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
obtain data related to an operational state of at least one of a radiotherapy device or a component of the radiotherapy device (step 410 in Fig.4);
identify an issue with at least one of the radiotherapy device or the component of the radiotherapy device from the data (step 430 in Fig.4); and
output a next set based on the identified issue (step 440 in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 2, Flint et al. disclose wherein the data related to the operational state is obtained by performing a diagnostic routine on at least one of the radiotherapy device or the component thereof (para. [0006], [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Flint et al. disclose the diagnostic routine is a remote diagnostic routine controlled from a remote location or is a self-diagnostic routine performed by the radiotherapy device, or wherein the diagnostic routine is a predictive maintenance routine (para. [0006], [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Flint et al. disclose the diagnostic routine comprises: receiving data from the radiotherapy device indicative of performance of one or more components of the radiotherapy device, and outputting the diagnostic routine based on a comparison of the data indicative of the performance of the one or more components with threshold data (Fig.4, para. [0008]-[0010], para. [0102]).
Regarding claim 5, Flint et al. disclose assigning a category to the issue (para. [0102]).
Regarding claim 6, Flint et al. disclose the category is indicative of a severity of the issue (para. [0026], [0131], [0136]).
Regarding claim 8, Flint et al. disclose prior to outputting the next step, the next step is determined based on the category (para. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 9, Flint et al. disclose wherein the next step comprises fully or partially disabling operation of the radiotherapy device (para. [0089]-[0090])..
Regarding claim 10, Flint et al. disclose the next step comprises limiting or changing a functionality of the radiotherapy device (para. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 11, Flint et al. disclose the next step further comprises: changing patient scheduling by rescheduling a treatment date or time for the patient
Regarding claim 12, Flint et al. disclose the next step comprises: changing patient scheduling by changing an associated radiotherapy machine for a particular patient treatment (para. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 13, Flint et al. disclose the next step comprises: requesting an authorized engineer attend to the radiotherapy device (para. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 14, Flint et al. disclose the next step comprises: requesting at least one of a device specialist or an onsite technician attend to the radiotherapy device (e.g. para. [0042], [0072])
Regarding claim 15, Flint et al. disclose the next step comprises: recording the issue in a database (para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Flint et al. disclose resolving, at a next scheduled service of the radiotherapy device, the issue (para. [0145]).
Regarding claim 17, Flint et al. disclose the issue is resolved by implementing a maintenance or installation step at the radiotherapy device (para. [0147]).
Regarding claim 18, Flint et al. disclose the next step comprises: determining a series of steps for overcoming the issue (para. [0148]).
Regarding claim 19, Flint et al. disclose displaying the series of steps, in sequence, on at least one of a screen of a user device or a screen of the radiotherapy device (Fig.4, para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 20, Flint et al. disclose wherein displaying the series of steps, in sequence comprises, for each next step: displaying a preceding step in the sequence; receiving confirmation from a sensor associated with the radiotherapy device that the preceding step in the sequence has been successfully implemented; and displaying a subsequent step in the sequence (Fig.4, para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 21, Flint et al. disclose displaying the next step or the series of steps via an augmented reality rendering apparatus (Fig.4, para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 22, Flint et al. disclose prior to outputting the next step based on the identified issue, identifying the next step (Fig.4, para. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 23, Flint et al. disclose wherein identifying the next step comprises: sending, to a remote site, data identifying the issue with the radiotherapy device; and receiving, from the remote site, data identifying the next step for installing or maintaining the radiotherapy device, the data identifying the next step being based upon the data identifying the issue (Fig.4, para. [0089]-[0090])..
Regarding claim 25, Flint et al. disclose instructions to be executed by a plurality of processors arranged at a plurality of different physical locations (see Fig.2).
Regarding claim 27, Flint et al. disclose one or more sensors associated with the radiotherapy device, wherein each sensor is arranged to collect the data relating to the operational state of the radiotherapy device or the component of the radiotherapy device (see Fig.2).
Regarding claim 28, Flint et al. disclose obtain data related to an operational state of a radiotherapy device or a component of the radiotherapy device (step 410 in Fig.4);
identify an issue with at least one of the radiotherapy device or the component of the radiotherapy device based on the obtained data (step 430 in Fig.4); and limiting or changing the radiotherapy device functionality based on the identified issue (para. [0072], [0089]-[0090]).
Contact Information
/JOHN H LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857