DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (JP2015153694 as cited in 6/17/24 IDS (see attached Machine Translation)).
Considering Claim 1, Tanaka discloses a method for manufacturing a pouch case for a secondary battery (laminate film casing for electrochemical cell [0002] such as a secondary battery [0002, 0031] and a method of making [0036, Figures 1 a-b]), the method comprising the steps of:
(S1) preparing a pouch exterior for the secondary battery (outer casing 21 houses battery in pouch shape [0026, Figure 1], overlapped and laminated [0022, 0017]) comprising a structure in which a substrate layer, a barrier layer, and a sealant layer are sequentially stacked (resin layer, metal foil, and protective layer formed in laminate [0023]);
(S2) molding the pouch exterior for the secondary battery to form a cup part (heating performed for sealing heat fusion, then folded portions formed to form cup part for accommodating battery [0036, Figures 5 and 6]); and
(S3) reducing an at least one cracks of the sealant layer of the pouch exterior for the secondary battery (second heating performed to remelt by reheat fusion at the folded portions to eliminate minute cracks [0036]).
Considering Claim 2, Tanaka discloses that in step (S3), the sealant layer is heated to reduce the at least one crack of the sealant layer (second heating performed to remelt by reheat fusion at the folded portions to eliminate minute cracks [0036]).
Considering Claim 6, Tanaka discloses that in step S3, a region to which the heating is applied is an edge of the cup part extending in a horizontal direction of the sealant layer (heating applied to whole folded portion [0036], region extends in horizontal direction [Figures 1 and 5]).
Considering Claim 9, Tanaka discloses that the sealant layer comprises at least one of polyethylene, polypropylene (resin layer formed of polyethylene or polypropylene [0023]).
Considering Claim 13, Tanaka discloses that the substrate layer comprises at least one of polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, or nylon (protective layer may comprise polyethylene terephthalate, or nylon [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 , 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP2015153694 as cited in 6/17/24 IDS (see attached Machine Translation)).
Considering Claim 3, Tanaka discloses that in step S3, a surface temperature of the sealant layer is in a range of 40-110 °C (second heating performed to remelt by reheat fusion at the folded portions to eliminate minute cracks [0036], resin material choice may include polyethylene as a choice [0023], so selecting polyethylene for predicted function and reading on such a temperature range in the remelting step would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Considering Claim 10, Tanaka discloses that the thickness of the folded portion is reduced so as to provide a thin electrochemical cell [0010]. A resin layer, a metal foil, and a protective layer are formed in laminate [0023]. Because the sheet provides a highly durable cell with reduced likelihood of short circuits [0010, 0011, 0041], and wherein the layers are kept thin to provide a thin cell [0010], routinely experimenting with and coming up with a sealant layer thickness of 60-100 µm would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 12, Tanaka discloses that the thickness of the folded portion is reduced so as to provide a thin electrochemical cell [0010]. A resin layer, a metal foil, and a protective layer are formed in laminate [0023]. Because the sheet provides a highly durable cell with reduced likelihood of short circuits [0010, 0011, 0041], and the metal foil blocks moisture and oxygen [0023], routinely experimenting with and coming up with a barrier layer thickness in a range of 20-80 µm would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP2015153694 as cited in 6/17/24 IDS (see attached Machine Translation)) and further in view of Tamaru et al. (PGPub 2022/0094000).
Considering Claims 4 and 5, Tanaka is silent to infrared heating with a wavelength and emitting time.
Tamaru discloses a power storage module with sealing in a lamination direction [Abstract]. By controlling the wavelength of the infrared rays in the case of infrared fusion, it is possible to selectively heat only the resin of a sealing portion with high quality and in a short time [0066]. Therefore, routinely experimenting with and coming up with a wavelength of 1-100 µm and an emitting time of 1-60 seconds to achieve the high quality and quick sealing and reheating needed in Tanaka would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP2015153694 as cited in 6/17/24 IDS (see attached Machine Translation)) and further in view of Yasuda et al. (JP2016-195113 as cited in 6/17/24 IDS (see attached Machine Translation)).
Considering Claim 7, Tanaka discloses assembling a storage area for the electrode body [0008] and a housing portion with various dimensions [0012, 0013]. However, Tanaka is silent to a depth of the cup part being in a range of 4-10 mm.
Yasuda discloses a mold for suitably forming a laminated battery packaging material [0001]. The molding depth for the corresponding packaging material has a depth of 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less [0036] such as 3 mm to 5 mm for the final packaging material [0040] so as to suppress the occurrence of pinholes and other defects caused by molding [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the housing method of Tanaka with the depth teaching of Yasuda in order to suppress the occurrence of pinholes and other defects caused by molding [0036].
Considering Claim 8, Tanaka is silent to a molding speed.
Yasuda discloses a mold for suitably forming a laminated battery packaging material [0001]. It is preferably to mold the battery packaging material under conditions where the molding speed may include 1.0 mm/second in order to more effectively suppress the occurrence of pinholes and the like even more effectively [0034].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the housing method of Tanaka with the molding speed of Yasuda in order to more effectively suppress the occurrence of pinholes and the like even more effectively [0034].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP2015153694 as cited in 6/17/24 IDS (see attached Machine Translation)) and further in view of Ise et al. (PGPub 2019/0296327).
Considering Claim 11, Tanaka discloses that the metal foil is formed using aluminum [0023]. However, Tanaka does not specifically disclose an aluminum alloy foil.
Ise discloses a secondary battery and battery pack [0002]. A laminate film is used for the container [0201], and a metal film is sandwiched between resin layers [0203]. The metal layer is preferably made of aluminum foil or an aluminum alloy foil so as to reduce weight [0203]. Because both aluminum and aluminum alloy foil are light-weight and can be used to form the container member by heat-sealing [0203], substituting aluminum alloy foil for aluminum foil to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725