DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s communication filed 17 June 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olson (US 20110050381 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olson.
Regarding claim 1, Olson teaches a printed wiring board comprising:
a base film (110) having a first main surface and a second main surface (Fig. 1C, paragraph 36: flexible circuit board 110 with a top and bottom surface);
a first wire (120, 125) disposed on the first main surface (Fig. 1C and paragraph 25: inwardly and outwardly spiraling coils 120, 125 disposed on the top surface of the board 110); and
a second wire (120, 125) disposed on the second main surface (Fig. 1C and paragraph 25: inwardly and outwardly spiraling coils 120, 125 disposed on the bottom surface of the board 110), wherein
the base film (110) has a first portion and a second portion (Fig. 1A, paragraph 32: board 110 is divided by folding lines 140),
the first portion and the second portion are arranged along a first direction, the first direction being a longitudinal direction of the base film (110) in a plan view (Fig. 1A: the lines 140 divide the board in a direction parallel to the surface of the board 110),
a first boundary (140) is along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in a plan view, the first boundary (140) being a boundary between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: the folding lines 140 run perpendicular to the direction in which the coils 120, 125 are arranged),
the first wire (120, 125) has a first coil portion located in the first portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and a second coil portion located in the second portion and wound spirally in a plan view (Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: the coils 120, 125 are arranged on either side of the boundary 140), and
the first portion is disposed to partially overlap with the second portion in a plan view when the base film is folded along the first boundary such that the first coil portion overlaps with the second coil portion in a plan view (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 37: the board 110 is folded in an accordion-like shape such that all of the coils 120, 125 overlap).
Regarding claim 2, Olson teaches the printed wiring board according to claim 1, wherein
the second wire (120, 125) has a third coil portion located in the first portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and a fourth coil portion located in the second portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and the third coil portion and the fourth coil portion overlap with the first coil portion and the second coil portion in a plan view, respectively (see Fig. 1A and paragraph 26: the coils 120, 125 on the bottom of the board 110 are shown by dotted lines that overlap with the solid lines of the coils 120, 125 on the top portion of the board).
Regarding claim 3, Olson teaches the printed wiring board according to claim 2, wherein
the base film (110) further has a third portion (see Fig. 1A: there are four sections divided by three folding lines 140),
[AltContent: textbox (1st)][AltContent: textbox (3rd)][AltContent: textbox (2nd)][AltContent: textbox (1st)]
the first portion is sandwiched between the second portion and the third portion in the first direction (see the annotated Fig. 1A, above),
a second boundary (140) is along the second direction in a plan view, the second boundary (140) being a boundary between the first portion and the third portion (see annotated Fig. 1A, above),
the first wire (120, 125) has a fifth coil portion located in the first portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and a sixth coil portion located in the third portion and wound spirally in a plan view (see annotated Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: each section defined by a fold line 140 has a coil 120 or 125),
the second wire has a seventh coil portion located in the first portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and an eighth coil portion located in the third portion and wound spirally in a plan view (see annotated Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: each section defined by a fold line 140 has a coil 120 or 125, where the second wire’s coils are shown as dashed lines),
the seventh coil portion and the eighth coil portion overlap with the fifth coil portion and the sixth coil portion in a plan view (see Fig. 1A and paragraph 26: the coils of the first and second wire overlap), respectively, and
and the second portion is disposed to be spaced apart from the third portion when the base film (110) is folded along the first boundary (140) such that the first coil portion overlaps with the second coil portion in a plan view and the base film (110) is folded along the second boundary (140) such that the fifth coil portion overlaps with the sixth coil portion in a plan view (Fig. 2, paragraph 37: the base film 110 is folded such that each coil overlaps every other coil).
Regarding claim 4, Olson teaches a coil device comprising:
a base film (110) having a first main surface and a second main surface (Fig. 1C, paragraph 36: flexible circuit board 110 with a top and bottom surface);
a first wire (120, 125) disposed on the first main surface (Fig. 1C and paragraph 25: inwardly and outwardly spiraling coils 120, 125 disposed on the top surface of the board 110); and
a second wire (120, 125) disposed on the second main surface (Fig. 1C and paragraph 25: inwardly and outwardly spiraling coils 120, 125 disposed on the bottom surface of the board 110), wherein
the base film (110) has a first portion and a second portion, the first portion and the second portion are arranged along a first direction before the base film is folded (Fig. 1A, paragraph 32: board 110 is divided by folding lines 140 before folding), the first direction being a longitudinal direction of the base film (110) in a plan view (Fig. 1A: the lines 140 divide the board in a direction parallel to the surface of the board 110),
a first boundary (140) is along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in a plan view, the first boundary (140) being a boundary between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: the folding lines 140 run perpendicular to the direction in which the coils 120, 125 are arranged),
the first wire (120, 125) has a first coil portion located in the first portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and a second coil portion located in the second portion and wound spirally in a plan view (Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: the coils 120, 125 are arranged on either side of the boundary 140),
the base film is folded along the first boundary (140) such that the first coil portion overlaps with the second coil portion in a plan view (Fig. 2, paragraph 37: the board 110 is folded such that the first coil in the first portion overlaps the first coil in the second portion), and
the first portion partially overlaps with the second portion in a plan view in a state where the base film is folded (Fig. 2, paragraph 37: the board 110 is folded such that the first portion overlaps the second portion).
Regarding claim 5, Olson teaches the coil device according to claim 4, wherein the second wire (120, 125) has a third coil portion located in the first portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and a fourth coil portion located in the second portion and wound spirally in a plan view, and the third coil portion and the fourth coil portion overlap with the first coil portion and the second coil portion in a plan view, respectively (see Fig. 1A and paragraph 26: the coils 120, 125 on the bottom of the board 110 are shown by dotted lines that overlap with solid lines of the coils 120, 125 on the top portion of board 110).
Regarding claim 6, Olson teaches the coil device according to claim 5, wherein the first main surface located in the first portion partially faces the first main surface located in the second portion, in the state where the base film (110) is folded (Fig. 2 and paragraph 37: the first fold of Fig. 2 shows coils 125 of the first wire in the first portion facing each other),
the first wire (120, 125) further has a first connection portion (124) that connects the first coil portion and the second coil portion (paragraph 32: electrical conductors 124 connect adjacent pairs of coils 125), and
the first connection portion (124) extends to intersect with the first boundary (Fig. 2 and paragraph 32: the connection portions 124 extend across the folding lines 140).
Regarding claim 8, Olson teaches the coil device according to claim 5, wherein
the base film (110) further has a third portion (see Fig. 1A: there are four sections divided by three folding lines 140),
the first portion is sandwiched between the second portion and the third portion in the first direction before the base film is folded (see the annotated Fig. 1A, above – the 1st portion is between the 2nd and 3rd portion in the plan view shown before folding),
a second boundary (140) is along the second direction in a plan view, the second boundary (140) being a boundary between the first portion and the third portion (see annotated Fig. 1A, above),
the first wire has a fifth coil portion located in the first portion and a sixth coil portion located in the third portion and wound spirally in a plan view (see Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: each section defined by a fold line 140 has a coil 120 or 125),
the second wire has a seventh coil portion located in the first portion and an eighth coil portion located in the third portion and wound spirally in a plan view (see Fig. 1A and paragraph 32: each section defined by a fold line 140 has a coil 120 or 125, where the second wire’s coils are shown as dashed lines),
the seventh coil portion and the eighth coil portion overlap with the fifth coil portion and the sixth coil portion in a plan view (see Fig. 1A and paragraph 26: the coils of the first and second wire overlap), respectively,
the base film (110) is folded along the first boundary (140) such that the first coil portion overlaps with the second coil portion in a plan view, and is folded along the second boundary (140) such that the fifth coil portion overlaps with the sixth coil portion in a plan view (Fig. 2, paragraph 37: the base film 110 is folded such that each coil overlaps every other coil), and
the second portion is spaced apart from the third portion in the state where the base film (110) is folded (see Fig. 2 of Olson).
Regarding claim 9, Olson in view of Govari teaches the coil device according to claim 8, wherein
the first main surface located in the first portion partially faces the first main surface located in the third portion, in the state where the base film (Olson 110) is folded (see Fig. 2 of Olson),
the first wire (Olson 120, 125) further has a second connection (Olson 122) portion that connects the fifth coil portion and the sixth coil portion (see Fig. 1B, above, which shows each coil connected in series by wiring 122), and
the second connection portion (122) extends to intersect with the second boundary (140) (Fig. 1B: the connector 122 traverses each boundary 140).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson in view of Morita et al. (US 20180374630 A1), hereinafter referred to as Morita et al.
Regarding claim 7, Olson teaches the coil device according to claim 4, wherein the second main surface located in the first portion partially faces the second main surface in the second portion, in the state where the base film is folded (see Fig. 2), the second portion is spaced apart from the first portion in the state where the base film (110) is folded (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 37: spacer 280), but does not teach that the coil device further comprises an electronic component disposed between the first portion and the second portion in the state where the base film is folded, and connected to the second wire.
Morita et al. does teach that the coil device further comprises an electronic component disposed between the first portion and the second portion in the state where the base film is folded, and connected to the second wire (Morita et al. Fig. 1 and paragraph 15: IC chip 24 disposed on the first surface of the board such that it would be between the first and second portion when folded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the coil device of Olson with an electronic component as taught by Morita et al. because providing control circuitry as taught by Morita et al. would increase the functionality of the coil device taught by Olson.
Regarding claim 10, Olson teaches the coil device according to claim 8, but does not teach an electronic component disposed between the second portion and the third portion in the state where the base film is folded.
Morita et al. does teach an electronic component disposed between the second portion and the third portion in the state where the base film is folded (Morita et al. Fig. 1 and paragraph 15: IC chip 24 disposed on the first surface of the board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the coil device of Olson with an electronic component as taught by Morita et al. because providing control circuitry as taught by Morita et al. would increase the functionality of the coil device taught by Olson.
Conclusion
/JOHN B FREAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847