DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species A, figures 1-11, represented by claims 1-4 and 10-11 in the reply filed on September 1, 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2-3 are withdrawn from consideration as they are not directed to Species A. Claims 2-3 require “a phosphor-dispersed resin that is filled between the micro LEDs and the reflective barrier layer.” This limitation is shown in figure 13-14, where 28R, 28G, and 29B are on the sides of 22 and below 26. In the elected Species A there is no phosphor-dispersed resin between 22, 24, and 26. Therefore, these claims are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from consideration as they are dependent upon claims 2-3.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, and 5-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-3, and 5-13 are using the wrong status identifiers. These claims should have the status identifier of “withdrawn”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 17, 2026; December 29, 2025; and June 17, 2024 were considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because:
In figure 2A, element 22 needs to be labeled.
In figure 2A, element 20 needs to be labeled.
Applicant uses element 30 for two different structures. In ¶ 0040, Applicant uses 30 for the sapphire substrate in figure 4. Then in ¶ 0046, Applicant uses element 30 for barrier member 30. And, in ¶ 0030, Applicant uses 30 for barrier member in figure 2A. Each element must have their own element number.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Element 30 in figure 2A is not discussed in the with the rest of figure 2A in ¶¶ 0026-
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 2019/0267357 A1) (“Iguchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi teaches at least in figure 1:
a first conductive-type electrode (51);
a plurality of micro LEDs (100) that are separately formed on the first conductive-type electrode (51) and each configured to emit ultraviolet light with a wavelength of 405 nm or less (¶ 0002, where it is known to use UV leds to light up the wavelength conversion material to produce RBG light; ¶ 0060, where UV light is used. While the exact wavelength is not taught UV light is well-known to include the 405nm wavelengths);
second conductive-type electrodes (56) formed on the plurality of micro LEDs (100), respectively;
a reflective barrier member (15) erected between the plurality of micro LEDs (100) to reflect light from side surfaces (¶ 0085, where 15 can be reflective) of the micro LEDs (100);
Regarding,
a film-like wiring substrate having a wiring structure that is connected with the second conductive-type electrodes of three micro LEDs that are adjacent to each other, out of the plurality of micro LEDs, so as to constitute one pixel.
(there is no functional difference between the second conductive-type electrode and the film-like wiring substrate. Applicant uses element 20 as the second conductive-type electrode, and element 26 as the film-like wiring structure. These are two different elements. However, the function of these elements to be the n-electrode of each LED, and to tie all the n-electrodes of all the LEDs together. Under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), a single integral element would be a matter of obvious engineering choice versus using two elements to accomplish the same function. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968 (CCPA 1965). The Prior art here teaches an integral second conductive-type electrode which also functions as the film-like wiring substrate. The prior art shows that these individual elements can be integral together and retail the function of each of the separate elements. As such, this limitation would have been obvious as an obvious engineering choice.).
a film-like wavelength conversion layer (21-23) provided on the wiring substrate (56), and
including phosphors that perform wavelength conversion of respective light from the three micro LEDs into red, green, and blue colors (21-23 are the wavelength conversion layers),
wherein the side surfaces of the micro LEDs (sides of 100) are formed into inclined surfaces such that widths of the micro LEDs gradually decrease from the first conductive-type electrode toward the second conductive-type electrodes (this is shown in figure 1), and
wherein the reflective barrier member (15) is erected parallel to a stacking direction of the plurality of micro LEDs (100) and up to a height equal to the micro LEDs (100s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
wherein the first conductive-type electrode is a conductive substrate made of tungsten copper.
The prior art, Iguchi, teaches that the substrate 50 is made of silicon, and it is not being used as the first conductive-type electrode.
The prior art, Wu et al. (US 2011/0076791 A1) (“Wu”), teaches in ¶ 0016, that the substrate for an LED can be either Si or WCu, and appears to teach a similar method of forming the device as Applicant.
However, one could not simply replace the substrate of Iguchi with Wu. This is because the second conductive-type electrode 56 of Iguchi is tied to the a drive electrode 52 which is also on the surface of the substrate 50. Therefore, the replacement of Iguchi 50 with a WCu substrate would short the top and bottom of the LED causing it to not function.
For the reason above, claim 4 is allowable.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898