DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 –6, 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 2018/0231673 A1; pub. Aug. 16, 2018) in view of Ma et al. (CN 109820530A; pub. May 31, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Yan et al. disclose: A positron emission tomography, (PET)₇ imaging system, comprising:
a bore for receiving a subject, the bore comprising an axis (see fig.10A & 10B, para. [0130]); and
a plurality of detector modules (fig.9C item 130);
wherein each detector module comprises a scintillator array coupled to a photodetector array (para. [0053]) and wherein the detector module is configured to generate event data in response to received gamma quanta (para. [0051]);
wherein the detector modules (fig.9C item 130) are arranged around the axis of the bore such that the detector modules generate the event data in response to gamma quanta received from within the bore;
Yan et al. are silent about: each detector module further comprises a cooling unit, the cooling unit including a cooling fluid inlet, a cooling fluid outlet, a heat transfer region, and a passageway arranged between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet for transferring heat from the heat transfer region via a cooling fluid inputted into the cooling fluid inlet;
wherein the heat transfer region of each cooling unit is thermally coupled to the photodetector array of the corresponding detector module for cooling the photodetector array; and
wherein the cooling units are configured to be fluidically coupled in parallel to at least one cooling fluid source; and
wherein within the heat transfer region, at least a portion of the passageway extends in a direction parallel to the axis of the bore and returns in an opposing direction such that a cooling fluid inputted to the cooling fluid inlet of the cooling unit flows in opposing directions within the heat transfer region before being outputted from the cooling fluid outlet of the cooling unit.
In a similar field of endeavor Ma et al. disclose: each detector module (fig.3 item 676, para. [0007]) further comprises a cooling unit (fig.3 item 674), the cooling unit including a cooling fluid inlet (fig.3 item 677), a cooling fluid outlet (fig.3 item 678), a heat transfer region (fig.3 item 673), and a passageway arranged between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet for transferring heat from the heat transfer region via a cooling fluid inputted into the cooling fluid inlet (fig.3 the fluid enters through 677 circulate inside 674 then exits by outlet 678);
wherein the heat transfer region (fig.3 item 673) of each cooling unit is thermally coupled to the photodetector array of the corresponding detector module for cooling the photodetector array; and
wherein the cooling units are configured to be fluidically coupled in parallel to at least one cooling fluid source (fig.2 items 61 & 62); and
wherein within the heat transfer region, at least a portion of the passageway extends in a direction parallel to the axis of the bore and returns in an opposing direction such that a cooling fluid inputted to the cooling fluid inlet of the cooling unit flows in opposing directions within the heat transfer region before being outputted from the cooling fluid outlet of the cooling unit (fig.2 items 61 & 62) motivated by the benefits for achieving better system performance (Ma et al. para. [0012]).
In light of the benefits for achieving better system performance as taught by Ma et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system of Ma et al. in the PET system of Yan et al.
Regarding claim 2, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: the at least a portion of the passageway comprises a first path and a second path, wherein the first path extends in the direction parallel to the axis of the bore and the second path returns in the opposing direction, and wherein the first path and the second path are separated in a radial direction with respect to the axis of the bore (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of the present application as shown in fig.1 – fig.6 are similar to the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of fig.1 – 3 of Ma et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: the at least a portion of the passageway comprises a first path and a second path, wherein the first path extends in the direction parallel to the axis of the bore and the second path returns in the opposing direction, and wherein the heat transfer region is configured to provide direct thermal contact between the opposing paths of the passageway continuously along their length (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of the present application as shown in fig.1 – fig.6 are similar to the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of fig.1 – 3 of Ma et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: the cooling units are located on trajectories extending radially outwards from the corresponding detector modules with respect to the axis of the bore (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of the present application as shown in fig.1 – fig.6 are similar to the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of fig.1 – 3 of Ma et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: each detector module comprises a footprint defined by a portion of a surface of a cylinder occupied by a radiation receiving surface of the detector module, the cylinder being coaxial with the axis of the bore, and wherein each cooling unit fits within the footprint of the corresponding detector module (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of the present application as shown in fig.1 – fig.6 are similar to the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of fig.1 – 3 of Ma et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: the radiation receiving surface of each detector module occupies an angular range in a rotational direction around the axis of the bore, and wherein the radiation receiving surface of each detector module occupies a longitudinal extent along the axis of the bore; and
wherein the cooling units are arranged such that each cooling unit fits within the angular range, and within the longitudinal extent, occupied by the radiation receiving surface of the corresponding detector module (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of the present application as shown in fig.1 – fig.6 are similar to the detector & cooling unit combination and arrangement of fig.1 – 3 of Ma et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: the at least one cooling fluid source comprises a re-circulating heat exchanger, and wherein the cooling fluid inlets and the cooling fluid outlets of the cooling units are configured to be fluidically coupled in parallel to the heat exchanger such that for each cooling unit, a cooling fluid outputted by the heat exchanger is inputted to the fluid inlet of the cooling unit and returned to the heat exchanger via the cooling fluid outlet of the cooling unit before being inputted to the cooling fluid inlet of another cooling unit (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see para. [0140] of Yan et al.).
Regarding claim 17, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: A detector module for a PET imaging system comprising a bore for receiving a subject, the bore comprising an axis, the detector module comprising:
a scintillator array coupled to a photodetector array; and
a cooling unit, the cooling unit including a cooling fluid, a cooling fluid outlet, a heat transfer region, and a passageway arranged between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet for transferring heat from the heat transfer region via the cooling fluid;
wherein the heat transfer region of each cooling unit is thermally coupled to the photodetector array for cooling the photodetector array; and
wherein the cooling unit is arranged such that when the detector module is arranged within the PET imaging system the cooling unit is located on a trajectory extending radially outwards from the photodetector array with respect to the axis of the bore of the PET imaging system; and
wherein within the heat transfer region, at least a portion of the passageway extends in a direction parallel to the axis of the bore and returns in an opposing direction such that a cooling fluid inputted to the cooling fluid inlet of the cooling unit flows in opposing directions within the heat transfer region before being outputted from the cooling fluid outlet of the cooling unit (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 2018/0231673 A1; pub. Aug. 16, 2018) in view of Ma et al. (CN 109820530A; pub. May 31, 2019) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2017/0176607 A1; pub. Jun. 22, 2017).
Regarding claim 9, Yan et al. and Ma et al. are silent about: the at least one cooling fluid source comprises an open loop cooling system.
In a similar field of endeavor Liu et al. disclose: the at least one cooling fluid source comprises an open loop cooling system (para. [0085]-[0086]) motivated by the benefits for a cooling system that compact and cost-effective.
In light of the benefits for a cooling system that is compact and cost-effective, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system of Liu et al. in the combined PET system of Yan et al. and Ma et al.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 2018/0231673 A1; pub. Aug. 16, 2018) in view of Ma et al. (CN 109820530A; pub. May 31, 2019) and further in view of Flynn (US 2002/0011073 A1; pub. Jan. 31, 2002).
Regarding claim 10, Yan et al. and Ma et al. are silent about: each cooling unit includes a flow restrictor for generating a pressure gradient between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet of the cooling unit for equalizing a flow of the cooling fluid between the cooling units.
In a similar field of endeavor Flynn discloses: each cooling unit includes a flow restrictor for generating a pressure gradient between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet of the cooling unit for equalizing a flow of the cooling fluid between the cooling units (Abstract, para. [0016]) motivated by the benefits an effective cooling system.
In light of the benefits for an effective cooling system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system of Flynn in the combined PET system of Yan et al. and Ma et al.
Claims 11-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 2018/0231673 A1; pub. Aug. 16, 2018) in view of Ma et al. (CN 109820530A; pub. May 31, 2019) and further in view of Stanton et al. (US 6,448,544 B1; pub. Sep. 10, 2002).
Regarding claim 11, Yan et al. and Ma et al. are silent about: at least one humidity-controlled compartment; and wherein at least a portion of each detector module, and at least a portion of each corresponding cooling unit, are arranged within the at least one humidity- controlled compartment.
In a similar field of endeavor Stanton et al. disclose: at least one humidity-controlled compartment; and wherein at least a portion of each detector module (fig.3 item 166), and at least a portion of each corresponding cooling unit (fig.3 item 170), are arranged within the at least one humidity- controlled compartment (fig.3 item 190) motivated by the benefits for extending the life-span and improving the stability of the detector.
In light of the benefits for extending the life-span and improving the stability of the detector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the enclosure of Stanton et al. in the combined PET system of Yan et al. and Ma et al.
Regarding claim 12, Yan et al. and Ma et al. disclose: a tube;
wherein the tube is arranged coaxially with the axis of the bore; wherein the radiation receiving surfaces of the detector modules are arranged around an outer surface of the tube (see rejection of claim 1). Stanton et al. disclose: the outer surface of the tube defines an inner surface of the at least one humidity-controlled compartment (fig.3 items 170 & 190, col.12 L55-67 – col.13 L1-17) motivated by the benefits for extending the life-span and improving the stability of the detector.
Regarding claim 14, Yan et al. disclose: the detector modules are arranged around the axis of the bore in one or more rings, the rings being coaxial with the axis of the bore (para. [0127]);
wherein the PET imaging system includes a plate disposed at each axial end of the one or more rings (para. [0096]). Stanton et al. disclose: a humidity-controlled compartment (fig.3 item 190) for the cooling module (fig.3 item 170) and the detector (fig.3 item 166) motivated by the benefits for extending the life-span and improving the stability of the detector. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the combined teachings of Yan et al., Ma et al. and Stanton et al. to have: a surface of each plate provides an inner surface of the at least one humidity-controlled compartment.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US 2018/0231673 A1; pub. Aug. 16, 2018) in view of Ma et al. (CN 109820530A; pub. May 31, 2019) in view of Stanton et al. (US 6,448,544 B1; pub. Sep. 10, 2002) and further in view of Morich et al. (US 2010/0188082 A1; pub. Jul. 29, 2010).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references are silent about: the radiation receiving surfaces of the detector modules are separated from the outer surface of the tube by a thermal insulation layer.
In a similar field of endeavor Morich et al. disclose: the radiation receiving surfaces of the detector modules are separated from the outer surface of the tube by a thermal insulation layer (para. [0047]) motivated by the benefits for improved thermal isolation (Morich et al. para. [0047]).
In light of the benefits for improved thermal isolation as taught by Morich et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thermal insulator of Morich et al. in the combined PET system of Yan et al., Ma et al. and Stanton et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: each detector module further comprises at least one printed circuit board, (PCB); wherein the at least one PCB comprises electronic processing circuitry; and wherein each cooling unit further comprises one or more cooling fins and a fan; wherein the one or more cooling are thermally coupled to the cooling unit, and wherein the fan is configured to transfer heat generated by the at least one PCB to the cooling fins for cooling the at least one PCB via the cooling fluid inputted into the cooling fluid inlet of the cooling unit.
In a similar field of endeavor Kawaguchi et al. disclose: each detector module further comprises at least one printed circuit board, (PCB); wherein the at least one PCB comprises electronic processing circuitry; and wherein each cooling unit further comprises one or more cooling fins and a fan (para. [0047]) motivated by the benefits for suppressing a change in the temperature of the detecting element and stabilizing detection characteristics (Kawaguchi et al. para. [0006]).
The prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: the one or more cooling are thermally coupled to the cooling unit, and wherein the fan is configured to transfer heat generated by the at least one PCB to the cooling fins for cooling the at least one PCB via the cooling fluid inputted into the cooling fluid inlet of the cooling unit.
Regarding claim 15, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: an outer cover, and at least one baffle; wherein the at least one baffle is disposed within the cover such that a radially innermost surface of the at least one baffle provides a radially outermost surface of the at least one humidity-controlled compartment, and such that an outer volume is defined between the radially outermost surface of the at least one baffle and an inner surface of the cover; wherein the fluid inlets of the cooling units are disposed within the outer volume; and wherein the at least one humidity-controlled compartment comprises at least one channel configured to communicate air between the at least one humidity- controlled compartment and the outer volume.
Regarding claim 16, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: a fan, or a pump, or a compressor, and wherein the fan, or the pump, or the compressor, is configured to supply dry air to the at least one humidity-controlled compartment (220) for controlling the humidity in the humidity-controlled compartment.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884