DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “220” has been used to designate both the die and underfill in Fig. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2012/0126396) hereinafter “Zhao” in view of Jain et al. (US 2018/0115356) hereinafter “Jain”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 4 of Zhao teaches An electronic device (Item 300) comprising; a printed circuit board (Item 400) (PCB), the PCB (Item 400) comprising one or more thermal vias (Items 412) filled with thermally conductive material (Paragraph 0059); and a package (Combination of Items 302 and 304); the package comprising a substrate (Item 302) and a die (Item 304), the die (Item 304) having an active side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 302) with integrated circuity (Paragraph 0036), and a heat-removal side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 400); wherein, the heat-removal side of the die (Item 304) is being in thermally conductive connection with the one or more thermal vias (Items 412)) via a solder layer (Item 416).
Zhao does not teach where the solder layer comprises solder balls.
Fig. 2 of Jain teaches where a die is thermally conductively connected to a a plurality of vias (Items 28) traversing a PCB (Item 18) via solder balls (Items 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the solder layer of Zhao comprise solder balls such that the heat removal side of the die is in thermal conductive connection with the one or more thermal vias via solder balls, as taught by Jain, because solder balls are known to form a thermal connection between a die and vias such that heat can be directed to a heat sink (Jain Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 4 of Zhao teaches A package for an electronic device, the package comprising; a substrate (Item 302); and a die (Item 304), the die (Item 304) having an active side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 302) with integrated circuity (Paragraph 0036), and a heat-removal side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 400); the heat-removal side being connectable via a thermally conductive connection to one or more thermal vias (Items 412) of a printed circuitry board (Item 400) (PCB) via a solder layer (Item 416).
Zhao does not teach where the solder layer comprises solder balls.
Fig. 2 of Jain teaches where a die is thermally conductively connected to a a plurality of vias (Items 28) traversing a PCB (Item 18) via solder balls (Items 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the solder layer of Zhao comprise solder balls such that the heat removal side of the die is connectable via a thermally conductive connection to one or more thermal vias of a PCB via solder balls, as taught by Jain, because solder balls are known to form a thermal connection between a die and vias such that heat can be directed to a heat sink (Jain Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 4 of Zhao teaches a method of soldering a package to a printed circuit board (Item 400) (PCB), the PCB comprising; one or more thermal vias (Items 412) filled with thermally conductive material (Paragraph 0059), the package (Combination of Items 302 and 304) comprising a substrate (Item 302) and a die (Item 304) having an active side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 302) with integrated circuity (Paragraph 0036) and a heat-removal side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 400), the method comprising: soldering a solder layer (Item 416) to provide a thermally conductive connection of the heat removal side (Surface of Item 304 facing Item 400) of the die (Item 304) with one or more thermal vias (Item 412).
Zhao does not teach where the solder layer comprises solder balls.
Fig. 2 of Jain teaches where a die is thermally conductively connected to a plurality of vias (Items 28) traversing a PCB (Item 18) via soldering solder balls (Items 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the solder layer of Zhao comprise solder balls such that solder balls are soldered to provide a thermally conductive connection between the heat removal side of the die with the one or more thermal vias, as taught by Jain, because soldering solder balls are known to form a thermal connection between a die and vias such that heat can be directed to a heat sink (Jain Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 3 of Zhao further teaches where the heat removal side (Side of Item 304 facing Item 400) of the die (Item 304) comprises a metallic layer (Item 314; Paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 4 of Zhao further teaches where the solder layer (solder balls when combined with Jain as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above) directly contacts a metallic layer (Item 314) of the heat removal side (Side of Item 304 facing Item 400) of the die (Item 304).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device comprises antenna circuitry (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device comprises a processor arrangement (Paragraph 0047 where Item 304 is an ASIC).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device one or both comprises, and is connected to a second package (Item 1604), on a side corresponding to the active side of the die, wherein the second package is a memory (Paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao further teaches where the device is comprised in an antenna circuitry (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao further teaches where the device is comprised in a wireless device (Paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao further teaches where the heat removal side (Side of Item 304 that faces Item 400) of the die (Item 304) comprises a metallic layer (Item 314; Paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 4 of Zhao further teaches where the solder layer (solder balls when combined with Jain as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above) directly contacts a metallic layer (Item 314) of the heat removal side (Side of Item 304 facing Item 400) of the die (Item 304).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device comprises antenna circuitry (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device comprises a processor arrangement (Paragraph 0047 where Item 304 is an ASIC).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device one or both comprises, and is connected to a second package (Item 1604), on a side corresponding to the active side of the die, wherein the second package is a memory (Paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao further teaches where the device is comprised in an antenna circuitry (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao further teaches where the device is comprised in a wireless device (Paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 4 of Zhao further teaches where the solder layer (solder balls when combined with Jain as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above) directly contacts a metallic layer (Item 314) of the heat removal side (Side of Item 304 facing Item 400) of the die (Item 304).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device comprises antenna circuitry (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao further teaches where the electronic device comprises a processor arrangement (Paragraph 0047 where Item 304 is an ASIC).
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891