DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1, claims 1-23, in the reply filed on 6-24-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph,
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“biasing means” in claims 2, 3, 14, 16, 18, 22.
“means for restraining” in claim 14
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the second locating portion 72” should read: “ the second locating portion 74”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 18 uses the phrase “can be” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the limitations following “can be” are required by the claim or are optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 14 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giudice (WO 2020/113261).
Regarding claim 1, Giudice discloses a locking assembly (1 figure 10A) for locking a ground engaging tool (2) over a base (adapter 3), the locking assembly (As shown Figures 5 and 6) including a lock (body 4) arranged to pivot (pivots on concave surface 18) between a locking position and a release position (shown for example between figures 11A and 11B), the lock being biased into the locking position (Figure 6B shows the lock in a freely movable position. ¶0067 discloses the lock may be fitted within the top of the tool instead of the sides. In the configuration of the lock being in the freely movable position and in the top surface gravity would bias the lock downward into the locking position), the lock having a first face (bottom face of lock opposite of crank 9) arranged to act against an activating surface of the base (nose surface of the adapter 3), wherein the action of the first face of the lock against the activating surface of the base causes pivoting of the lock into the release position (Sliding the tool onto the adapter when the lock able to freely move would rotate the lock upwardly into the released position before it reaches cavity 22).
Regarding claim 2, Giudice discloses wherein the lock has a second face which is arranged to act against a resilient biasing means (biasing means 14 acts against a second face of the lock).
Regarding claim 3, Giudice discloses wherein the biasing means 26 is formed of elastically deformable material (¶0087 discloses rubber).
It is noted that the claim does not positively disclose spring steel, however it would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any known resilient material such as a spring.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, Giudice discloses wherein the second face is angled at about 50 degrees relative to the first face (The second face forms an angle of greater than 45 degrees with the first face and is considered to be about 50 degrees. See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Giudice discloses wherein the lock 18 has a third face (front face portion pointed to by indicator 7) which is arranged, in use, to engage with a holding face of the base (Face portion of cavity 22 as seen for example in figure 11B).
Regarding claim 7, Giudice discloses wherein the third face is arcuate (Figure 5 and 6 show that the end of the face is curved at the bottom to form an arcuate shape).
Regarding claim 14, Giudice discloses wherein the locking assembly includes a lock supporting member (20) having means for restraining the biasing means (When protruding outwardly of the lock body 4).
Regarding claim 23, Giudice discloses ground engaging tool (2) having an internal socket arranged to locate over a base (adapter 3), and an external wear face, the ground engaging tool having a lock receiving aperture (As seen in figure 10A) in which is located a locking assembly (1) as claimed in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 and 15-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Paizes (USPN 4881331).
/ADAM J BEHRENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671