DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/721,729 filed on June 19, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Photodetection Device Comprising Pixel Region Includes Plurality of Pixels Arranged in Matrix Form and Electronic Device”.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1, 7-12, 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: In the following, the claims should be recited to avoid indefiniteness due to lack of antecedent basis, and/or smooth flow of claim languages/phrases:
1. (Currently Amended) A photodetection device comprising:
a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels is arranged in a matrix, the plurality of pixels being capable of generating electric signals in accordance with infrared light and visible light incident from outside, wherein
the pixel region includes:
a light transmitting layer including a first compound semiconductor and transmitting incident infrared light; and
a photoelectric conversion layer configured to photoelectrically convert infrared light transmitted through the light transmitting layer, the photoelectric conversion layer being laminated on a surface of the light transmitting layer on a side opposite to a light incident surface and including a second compound semiconductor different from the first compound semiconductor,
the light transmitting layer includes:
a first semiconductor layer provided on the light incident surface side and having a thickness allowing transmission of the visible light; and
a second semiconductor layer configured to photoelectrically convert visible light transmitted through the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer being laminated on a surface of the first semiconductor layer opposite to the light incident surface, and
the second semiconductor layer has a lower impurity concentration than an impurity concentration of the first semiconductor layer and a higher impurity concentration than an impurity concentration of the photoelectric conversion layer.
7. (Currently Amended) The photodetection device according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor layer has a different thickness for each of the plurality of pixels.
8. (Currently Amended) The photodetection device according to claim 7, wherein the first semiconductor layer has a thickness allowing transmission of the visible light in a first pixel among the plurality of pixels, and has a thickness that prevents transmission of the visible light in a second pixel.
9. (Currently Amended) The photodetection device according to claim 1, wherein the light transmitting layer includes one of InP, InGaAsP, InGaAlAs, InAlAs, InAlAsSb, and AlAsSb.
10. (Currently Amended) The photodetection device according to claim 1, wherein the photoelectric conversion layer contains one of InGaAs and InGaAs/ GaAsSb.
11. (Currently Amended) The photodetection device according to claim 1, wherein the light transmitting layer and the photoelectric conversion layer are n-type, and contain one of Si and S as an impurity.
12. (Currently Amended) The photodetection device according to claim 1, wherein the light transmitting layer and the photoelectric conversion layer are p-type, and contain one of Mg, Cd, Al, and Zn as an impurity.
14. (Currently Amended) An electronic device comprising
a photodetection device, the photodetection device comprising:
a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels is arranged in a matrix, the plurality of pixels being capable of generating electric signals in accordance with infrared light and visible light incident from outside, wherein
the pixel region includes:
a light transmitting layer including a first compound semiconductor and transmitting incident infrared light; and
a photoelectric conversion layer configured to photoelectrically convert infrared light transmitted through the light transmitting layer, the photoelectric conversion layer being laminated on a surface of the light transmitting layer on a side opposite to a light incident surface and including a second compound semiconductor different from the first compound semiconductor,
the light transmitting layer includes:
a first semiconductor layer provided on the light incident surface side and having a thickness allowing transmission of the visible light; and
a second semiconductor layer configured to photoelectrically convert visible light transmitted through the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer being laminated on a surface of the first semiconductor layer opposite to the light incident surface, and
the second semiconductor layer has a lower impurity concentration than an impurity concentration of the first semiconductor layer and a higher impurity concentration than an impurity concentration of the photoelectric conversion layer.
Appropriate corrections are needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-4. 9-10, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uchida et al. (US 2015/0228685 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Uchida et al. teaches a photodetection device comprising (Figs. 8A-8B):
a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels (11A….11A called image capturing elements, para [0137]) is arranged in a matrix (2D matrix, para [0138]), the plurality of pixels (11A….11A) being capable of generating electric signals in accordance with infrared light and visible light incident from outside (this is a functional limitation/an intended use), wherein
the pixel region includes:
a light transmitting layer (21, para [0121]) including a first compound semiconductor (21, para [0121]) and transmitting incident infrared light; and
a photoelectric conversion layer (22, para [0122]) configured to photoelectrically convert infrared light transmitted through the light transmitting layer (this is a functional limitation/an intended use), the photoelectric conversion layer (22) being laminated on a surface of the light transmitting layer (21) on a side opposite to a light incident surface and including a second compound semiconductor (22, para [0122]) different from the first compound semiconductor (21),
the light transmitting layer (21) includes:
a first semiconductor layer (24, para [0124]) provided on the light incident surface side and having a thickness allowing transmission of the visible light; and
a second semiconductor layer (21) configured to photoelectrically convert visible light transmitted through the first semiconductor layer (24) (this is a functional limitation/an intended use), the second semiconductor layer (21) being laminated on a surface of the first semiconductor layer (24) opposite to the light incident surface, and
the second semiconductor layer (21) has a lower impurity concentration (n-type, para [0095]) than an impurity concentration (n+type, para [0125]) of the first semiconductor layer (24) and a higher impurity concentration than an impurity concentration (i-type, para [0095]) of the photoelectric conversion layer (22).
Regarding claim 2, Uchida et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 8A-8B), further comprising:
a transparent electrode (25) disposed on the light incident surface side of the light transmitting layer (21) and transmitting the infrared light and the visible light.
Regarding claim 3, Uchida et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 8A-8B), further comprising:
a passivation layer (28 SiO2, para [0101]) disposed on the light incident surface side of the light transmitting layer (21) and transmitting the infrared light and the visible light.
Regarding claim 4, Uchida et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 8A-8B), further comprising:
a transparent electrode (25) and a passivation layer (28) that are disposed on the light incident surface side of the light transmitting layer (21) and transmit the infrared light and the visible light.
Regarding claim 9, Uchida et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 8A-8B), the light transmitting layer (21) includes one of InP (para [0125]), InGaAsP, InGaAlAs, InAlAs, InAlAsSb, and AlAsSb.
Regarding claim 10, Uchida et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 8A-8B), the photoelectric conversion layer (22) contains one of InGaAs (para [0095]) and InGaAs/GaAsSb.
Regarding claim 13, Uchida et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 8A-8B), the first semiconductor layer (24) has a thickness of 5 x 1017cm-3 or more and 30 nm or less (20nm, para [0133]).
Regarding independent claim 14, Uchida et al. teaches an electronic device comprising a photodetection device (Figs. 8A-8B), the photodetection device comprising:
a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels (11A….11A called image capturing elements, para [0137]) is arranged in a matrix (2D matrix, para [0138]), the plurality of pixels (11A….11A) being capable of generating electric signals in accordance with infrared light and visible light incident from outside (this is a functional limitation/an intended use), wherein
the pixel region includes:
a light transmitting layer (21, para [0121]) including a first compound semiconductor (21, para [0121]) and transmitting incident infrared light; and
a photoelectric conversion layer (22, para [0122]) configured to photoelectrically convert infrared light transmitted through the light transmitting layer (this is a functional limitation/an intended use), the photoelectric conversion layer (22) being laminated on a surface of the light transmitting layer (21) on a side opposite to a light incident surface and including a second compound semiconductor (22) different from the first compound semiconductor (21),
the light transmitting layer (21) includes:
a first semiconductor layer (24, para [0124]) provided on the light incident surface side and having a thickness allowing transmission of the visible light; and
a second semiconductor layer (21) configured to photoelectrically convert visible light transmitted through the first semiconductor layer (this is a functional limitation/an intended use), the second semiconductor layer (21) being laminated on a surface of the first semiconductor layer (24) opposite to the light incident surface, and
the second semiconductor layer (21) has a lower impurity concentration (n-type, para [0095]) than an impurity concentration (n+type, para [0125]) of the first semiconductor layer (24) and a higher impurity concentration than an impurity concentration (i-type, para [0095]) of the photoelectric conversion layer (22).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5, 6, 7-8, 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious a photodetection device comprising:
…. wherein the second semiconductor layer is formed by laminating layers of a plurality of stages, and
an impurity concentration of a first stage located on the photoelectric conversion layer side among the plurality of stages is lower than an impurity concentration of a second stage laminated on the light incident surface side of the first stage.
Claim 6: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious a photodetection device comprising:
…. wherein the second semiconductor layer has an impurity concentration becoming lower in gradation toward the photoelectric conversion layer side.
Claim 7: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious a photodetection device comprising:
…. wherein the first semiconductor layer has a different thickness for each of the pixels.
Claim 11: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious a photodetection device comprising:
…. wherein the light transmitting layer and the photoelectric conversion layer are n-type, and contain one of Si and S as an impurity.
Claim 12: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious a photodetection device comprising:
…. wherein the light transmitting layer and the photoelectric conversion layer are p-type, and contain one of Mg, Cd, Al, and Zn as an impurity.
The prior art, Uchida et al. (US 2015/0228685 A1) does not disclose the second semiconductor layer is laminating layers in the form of multiple stages, and an impurity concentration of the first stage located on the photoelectric conversion layer side among the multiple stages is lower than an impurity concentration of the second stage laminated on the light incident surface side of the first stage.
Examiner’s Note
10. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812