CTNF 18/721,838 CTNF 99664 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority The instant application claims PCT/EP2021/087025, Filing Date: 12/21/2021. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 11/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07 AIA 07-07-aia The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 21, 23-29, 31-37 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by HAN et al. (US-20180191477-A1) hereinafter “HAN” . Regarding Claim 21, HAN discloses, ‘A method comprising: performing channel encoding on a plurality of information bits to obtain a codeword that includes a plurality of code bits’ (In Fig. 29A illustrates the channel encoding is performed on a the plurality of information bits. To generate encoded bits (coding bits/code word) [0160-0161]. ); And HAN discloses, ‘segmenting the codeword into a plurality of segments of code bits, wherein each segment of code bits includes a subset of code bits of the codeword’ (In Fig. 9 illustrates the segmentation of a code-block performed channel coding ; code-block-segmentation [Wingdings font/0xE0] chunk-segments[Wingdings font/0xE0] channel coding[Wingdings font/0xE0] each segments of codes [Wingdings font/0xE0] sub-carrier [Wingdings font/0xE0] subset of code bits ; In Fig. 9, SC-FDMA divides DFT process output samples into sub-groups in a subcarrier mapping process and discretely maps the sub-groups to the frequency/subcarrier domain [0068] . K subsets/segments segmented SC-FDMA that is Nx SC-FDMA or N x DFT spread OFDMA (NxDFT-s-OFDMA). A RS conversion into a frequency domain signal through a DFT precoder, frequency-mapped, and then transmitted through IFF; And HAN discloses, ‘communicating a signal for each of the plurality of segments of code bits of the codeword based on a set of channel resources selected for each segment of code bits’ (transmits RS into the frequency domain through the DFT precoder in Fig. 11.); And HAN discloses, ‘and for each of the plurality of segments of code bits of the codeword: selecting, based on the segment of code bits, a set of channel resources, wherein each set of channel resources is selected among a plurality of sets of channel resources, wherein each of the sets of channel resources includes a unique combination of channel resources including one or more of a selected base sequence, a cyclic shift and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements’ ( In Fig. 29A the channel-code-block to generate encoded-bits can be rate-matched to available sub-carriers . Also, RS-sequence generation into frequency-domain and in Fig. 11. RS sequence r u,v (α) (n) is defined by cyclic shift α of a base sequence and may be represented by Equation 1 [0075]. r u,v (α) ( n )= e jαn r u,v ( n ),0≤ n<M sc RS In Fig. 17 illustrates resource allocation of the channel-resources . And, in Fig. 18 illustrates PUCCH format CS hopping and orthogonal-cover-remapped at slot level [0123-0126]. The Resource n r for PUCCH formats 1/1a/1b [Wingdings font/0xE0] the combination [Wingdings font/0xE0] CS (a DFT orthogonal code at a symbol level) n cs ), slot level [0129-0131]. In Fig. 19 illustrates PRBs used for PUCCH format and the resource n r for PUCCH formats 1/1a/1b; And discloses, ‘mapping the selected base sequence onto the selected set of frequency domain resource elements’ (A RS sequence generated in the frequency domain of the RS sequence r u,v (α) (n) is defined by cyclic shift α of a base sequence [0075]. The RS-sequence of CS of the base-sequence , [Wingdings font/0xE0] r u,v [Wingdings font/0xE0] M (sub-carriers/SCS) [Wingdings font/0xE0] m N (sub-carriers of RBs) [Wingdings font/0xE0] transmitted to UL-BW [0076-0078]. In Fig. 2 resource-element-mapper to SC-FDMA generation and in Fig. 13 to 14. And, in Table 10 illustrates base-sequence [0135-0136]. ); And HAN discloses, ‘and transmitting the selected and frequency mapped base sequence via an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol.’ (In Fig. 4, a terminal transmits uses N-point-DFT module [0066] and mapping-scheme in a frequency domain [0067] SC-FDMA/OFDMA symbol [0068]. And, output [0162] and table 14 [0168]. ) Regarding Claim 23, ‘The method of claim 21 (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘further comprising: performing, for each of the plurality of segments of code bits of the codeword, a selected cyclic shift on the selected base sequence, based on the selected set of channel resources for the segment of code bits.’ ( In Fig. 29A channel-coding-block to generate encoded-bits (code-bits/codeword) [0160] and ACK/NACK resource composed of CS, OC and PRB illustrated in Fig. 17 to 19. And, selected base-sequence [0075-0079, 0135-0136] and combination [0129-0131]. And, performed channel-coding and circularly shifted [0161-0163, 0165]. ) Regarding Claim 24, ‘The method of claim 21’ (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘wherein the transmitting comprises: performing an inverse fast Fourier transform operation on the selected and frequency mapped base sequence’ (In FIG. 7 illustrates a case in which a signal is generated through a single IFFT-block [0069]. And, in FIG. 8 shows a case in which a signal is generated through a plurality of IFFT-blocks when component carriers in the frequency domain [0069] and Fig. 9. The SC-FDMA divides DFT process output samples into sub-groups in a subcarrier mapping process and discretely maps the sub-groups to the frequency domain (or subcarrier domain) [0068].); And HAN discloses, ‘inserting a cyclic prefix to generate an output signal’ (In Fig. 4 illustrates the CP-adder module 406 [0066] and Fig. 9.); And HAN discloses, ‘and transmitting the output signal.’ (After CP added, the generated SC-FDMA symbol to the RF-module [0170] and in Fig. 31 and 32.) Regarding Claim 25, ‘ The method of claim 21’ (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘wherein each set of channel resources may include an orthogonal or unique selection of at least one of: a base sequence selection, and a cyclic shift selection; a base sequence selection and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements or subcarriers’ (channel encoding and the base sequence [0161-0162] and in Table 14); ‘a cyclic shift selection’ ( RS-sequence of cyclic-shift of the base-sequence [0075-78 and in Fig. 18 to 19. ); ‘a cyclic shift selection and a physical resource block selection that includes adjacent physical resource blocks’ (the PUCCH format in Fig. 13 to 14 [0030] and Fig. 18 to 19 [0032-0033] includes the cyclic shift, the orthogonal cover and the PRB [0117-0118].); a cyclic shift selection and a physical resource block selection that includes frequency hopping or non-adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection, a base sequence selection, and a frequency hopping physical resource block selection that uses non-adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection, and a comb or interleaved subcarrier selection; or a cyclic shift selection, a comb or interleaved subcarrier selection, and a physical resource block selection that includes frequency hopping or non-adjacent physical resource blocks.’ ( the combination of resources in Fig. 17 to 19 [0121-0123] includes CS+OC+RBs [0129-0133] and non-contiguous [0213]). Regarding Claim 26, ‘The method of claim 21’ (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘wherein the selecting, based on the segment of code bits, a set of channel resources, comprises: determining, based on the segment of code bits, a channel resource set index for the segment of code bits, and wherein the transmitting comprises: transmitting a signal based on a set of channel resources associated with the channel resource set index, and via either one orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbol or one discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbol.’ (In Fig. 3 includes OFDMA generator and in Fig. 4 includes SC-FDMA and OFDMA. In Fig. 6 to 9 includes DFT-s-OFDM samples into sub-groups in a subcarrier and discretely maps the sub-groups to the frequency domain (or subcarrier domain) [0068] and multiple carrier [0069-0071]. The orthogonal sequences [0120-0121] and a plurality of resource-index [0197].) Regarding Claim 27, ‘The method of claim 21’ (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘wherein: a number of the segments of the codeword is equal to a number of discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbols per transmission (K)’ (The segmented SC-FDMA is a simple extension of the DFT-spreading and called NxSC-FDMA or Nx DFT-spread OFDMA (NxDFT-s-OFDMA) [0071]. In Fig. 13 to 14 slot level structures [0030-0031] and in Fig. 17 to 19 includes channel structures [0032-0034]. That is slot-based access for mapping between the channels and resources (k) [0128]. In table 7 to 9 the orthogonal-sequences are indexed ); And HAN discloses, ‘the number of bits per segment equals to N’ (In Table 7 to 9 the sequence generation and the sequence-index for the orthogonal-sequence. Perform channel-coding to generate encoded bits and the base sequence [0160-0162]; schemes symbols into slots sequentially and permutation [0167]. ); HAN discloses, ’and the number of bits in the codeword is K*N.’ (the encoded bits, code word at bit-level and bit-sequence to coded-bit-sequence [0160, 0180-0183].) Regarding Claim 28, ‘The method of claim 21’ (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘wherein performing the channel encoding comprises: performing Reed-Muller encoding on a plurality of information bits to obtain a codeword that includes a plurality of code bits.’ (In Fig. 29A illustrates to generate encoded bits and code words includes the Reed-Muller coding [0160] and performed RM-coding [0161-0162, 0165] and Table 14 [0167].) Regarding Claim 29, Identical to Claim 21 disclosed above and apparatus in Fig. 59 [0363], ‘An apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: perform channel encoding on a plurality of information bits to obtain a codeword that includes a plurality of code bits; segment the codeword into a plurality of segments of code bits, wherein each segment of code bits includes a subset of code bits of the codeword; communicate a signal for each of the plurality of segments of code bits of the codeword based on a set of channel resources selected for each segment of code bits; and for each of the plurality of segments of code bits of the codeword: select, based on the segment of code bits, a set of channel resources, wherein each set of channel resources is selected among a plurality of sets of channel resources, wherein each of the sets of channel resources includes a unique combination of channel resources including one or more of a selected base sequence, a cyclic shift and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements; map the selected base sequence onto the selected set of frequency domain resource elements; and transmit the selected and frequency mapped base sequence via an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol.’ Regarding Claim 31, ‘The apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 23 disclosed above, ‘further comprising: performing, for each of the plurality of segments of code bits of the codeword, a selected cyclic shift on the selected base sequence, based on the selected set of channel resources for the segment of code bits.’ Regarding Claim 32, ‘The apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 24 disclosed above, ‘wherein the transmitting comprises: performing an inverse fast Fourier transform operation on the selected and frequency mapped base sequence; inserting a cyclic prefix to generate an output signal; and transmitting the output signal.’ Regarding Claim 33, ‘The apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 25 disclosed above, ‘wherein each set of channel resources may include an orthogonal or unique selection of at least one of: a base sequence selection, and a cyclic shift selection; a base sequence selection and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements or subcarriers; a cyclic shift selection; a cyclic shift selection and a physical resource block selection that includes adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection and a physical resource block selection that includes frequency hopping or non-adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection, a base sequence selection, and a frequency hopping physical resource block selection that uses non-adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection, and a comb or interleaved subcarrier selection; or a cyclic shift selection, a comb or interleaved subcarrier selection, and a physical resource block selection that includes frequency hopping or non-adjacent physical resource blocks.’ Regarding Claim 34, ‘he apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 26 disclosed above, ‘wherein the selecting, based on the segment of code bits, a set of channel resources, comprises: determining, based on the segment of code bits, a channel resource set index for the segment of code bits, and wherein the transmitting comprises: transmitting a signal based on a set of channel resources associated with the channel resource set index, and via either one orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbol or one discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbol.’ Regarding Claim 35, ‘The apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 27 disclosed above, ‘wherein: a number of the segments of the codeword is equal to a number of discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbols per transmission (K); the number of bits per segment equals to N; and the number of bits in the codeword is K*N.’ Regarding Claim 36, ‘The apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 28 disclosed above, ‘wherein the channel encoding comprises: performing Reed-Muller encoding on a plurality of information bits to obtain a codeword that includes a plurality of code bits.’ Regarding Claim 37, Identical to Claim 21 and 29 to include Fig. 59 for NW/BS configuration [0199, 0363-0364], ‘An apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: configure a plurality of sets of channel resources, wherein each of the sets of channel resources includes a unique combination of channel resources including one or more of a selected base sequence, a cyclic shift and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements; receive a plurality of signals via orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols, wherein each signal of the plurality of signals is associated with a unique combination of channel resources including one or more of a selected base sequence, a cyclic shift and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements; and for each received signal and for each of the sets of channel resources: correlate the received signal on the set of frequency domain resource elements with the base sequence of the set of channel resources; associate an output of the correlating with a block of code bit values that is associated with a set of the channel resources, wherein each block of code bit values forms a segment of a codeword among a set of codewords, wherein each codeword corresponds to a plurality of information bits via channel encoding; and detect a plurality of information bits based on outputs of the correlating, for the received plurality of signals.’ Regarding Claim 39, ‘The apparatus of claim 37, wherein each set of channel resources may include an orthogonal or unique selection of at least one of: a base sequence selection, and a cyclic shift selection; a base sequence selection and a selected set of frequency domain resource elements or subcarriers; a cyclic shift selection; a cyclic shift selection and a physical resource block selection that includes adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection and a physical resource block selection that includes frequency hopping or non-adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection, a base sequence selection, and a frequency hopping physical resource block selection that uses non-adjacent physical resource blocks; a cyclic shift selection, and a comb or interleaved subcarrier selection; or a cyclic shift selection, a comb or interleaved subcarrier selection, and a physical resource block selection that includes frequency hopping or non-adjacent physical resource blocks.’ Regarding Claim 40, ‘The apparatus of claim 37’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 28 disclosed above, ‘wherein the channel encoding comprises Reed-Muller encoding on a plurality of information bits to the codeword that includes a plurality of code bits.’ Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: • Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. • Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. • Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. • Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating • obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 22, 30 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et al. in view of KIM et al. (US-20210392679-A1) hereinafter “KIM” . Regarding Claim 22, ‘The method of claim 21’ (disclosed above), And HAN discloses, ‘wherein the transmitting comprises: transmitting, as part of a physical uplink control channel transmission the selected and frequency mapped base sequence via at least one of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol.’ (In Fig. 43 transmit-PUCCH [0047] and the terminal transmits OFDMA schemes [0065-066] in Fig. 4, the DFT OFDM in Fig. 6 to 9 and the base sequence [0075-0078].) And didn’t disclose, ‘without transmitting a demodulation reference signal’, KIM in the relevant art discloses, without the DM-RS in the PUCCH [0331]. Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of HAN and to include with that of KIM to come up with the claim invention, HAN motive to design the sequence based PUCCH also consider the performance [0226-228] and rate matching that can significantly improve performance to accomplish channel encoding [0160]. And, motive of HAN is complemented by KIM , the rate matching operation in channel coding [0353]. Regarding Claim 30, ‘The apparatus of claim 29’ (disclosed above), Identical to Claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the transmitting comprises: transmitting, as part of a physical uplink control channel transmission without transmitting a demodulation reference signal, the selected and frequency mapped base sequence via at least one of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol.’ Regarding Claim 38, ‘The apparatus of claim 37, wherein the receiving comprises: receiving, as part of a physical uplink control channel transmission without receiving a demodulation reference signal, a plurality of signals via at least one of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol.’ Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: HWANG et al. (US10277270B2) “Method for transmitting uplink signal in a wireless communication system and apparatus for the same”;” In Fig. 12 CRC+TB [Wingdings font/0xE0] [b 0 , b 1 , b 2 , b 3 , . . . , b B-1 is segmented into multiple code blocks (CBs) according to the size of the TB ] segmented CB +CRC [Wingdings font/0xE0] Channel coding [Wingdings font/0xE0] rate match Combined CB [Wingdings font/0xE0] Multiplexing [Wingdings font/0xE0] Channel interleaved to generate o/p Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466 /CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 8 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 9 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 10 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 11 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 12 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 13 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 14 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 15 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 16 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/721,838 Page 17 Art Unit: 2466