DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an electronic component device comprising a support, an element disposed on the support, a resin material disposed around the element, and a metal film disposed around the resin material” (claims 7 and 8) and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kadowaki et al. (JP 2000-357494 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kadowaki et al. discloses a method of evaluating a resin material (Espacenet Machine Translation, ¶ [0029]), the method comprising: preparing a test piece (test specimen) comprising a resin material (polypropylene film) and a metal film (metal foil) disposed at a surface of the resin material (metal foil is disposed at a surface of polypropylene film); subjecting the test piece to pretreatment (1) and pretreatment (2), in order, wherein pretreatment (1) is maintaining the test piece in an environment of from 60° C. to 100° C. and a relative humidity of from 60% to 100% for at least 15 hours (the test specimen is maintained at a temperature of 85 °C and 90% relative humidity for 7 days; ¶ [0030]), and pretreatment (2) is heating the test piece under a condition with a maximum temperature of at least 200° C (as pretreatment 2 does not require a minimum temperature, exposing the test specimen to room temperature is heating the test specimen under a condition with a maximum temperature of at least 200 °C); and conducting a peeling test for the metal film of the test piece after the pretreatments (after pretreatment, a peel strength test is performed on the test specimen; ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Kadowaki et al. discloses wherein the resin material is a sealant for an electronic component device (heat-sealing layer 9 for a secondary battery is polypropylene film; ¶¶ [0007, 0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Kadowaki et al. discloses a method of producing a resin material (polypropylene film and metal foil; ¶ [0019]), the method comprising selecting a raw material based on information obtained from the method of evaluating a resin material (peel tests are performed on various combinations of metal foil and film layers to determine which materials are less likely to peel off in different battery environments; ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Kadowaki et al. discloses a method of producing an electronic component device (lithium-ion secondary battery; ¶ [0001]), the electronic component device comprising a support (4; fig. 1), an element (2, 3) disposed on the support (4; ¶ [0002]), a resin material (9) disposed around the element (polypropylene film 9 is disposed around collector 2 and electrode 3 of the secondary battery; ¶¶ [0002-0003]), and a metal film (8) disposed around the resin material (metal foil 8 is disposed around polypropylene film 9; ¶ [0010]),
and the method comprising selecting the resin material based on information obtained from the method of evaluating a resin material (peel tests are performed on various combinations of metal foil and film layers to determine which materials are less likely to peel off in different battery environments; ¶ [0032]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kizawa (JP H09-193288 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kizawa discloses a method of evaluating a resin material (Espacenet Machine Translation, ¶ [0004]), the method comprising: preparing a test piece comprising a resin material (epoxy resin primer and resin-based paint; ¶ [0012]) and a metal film (steel sheet; ¶ [0012]) disposed at a surface of the resin material (steel sheet 1 is disposed at a surface of epoxy resin primer 6 and resin-based paint layer 11; fig. 1); subjecting the test piece to pretreatment (1) and pretreatment (2), in order, wherein pretreatment (1) is maintaining the test piece in an environment of from 60° C. to 100° C. and a relative humidity of from 60% to 100% for at least 15 hours (a test piece is maintained at a temperature of 80 °C and 90% humidity for 168 hours; ¶ [0015]), and pretreatment (2) is heating the test piece under a condition with a maximum temperature of at least 200° C (as pretreatment 2 does not require a minimum temperature, exposing the test specimen to room temperature is heating the test specimen under a condition with a maximum temperature of at least 200 °C); and conducting a peeling test for the metal film of the test piece after the pretreatments (after pretreatment, an Eriksen grid tape peel test is performed on the test piece; ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Kizawa discloses wherein the peeling test is a crosscut test (the peel test is a grid tape peel test; ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Kizawa discloses wherein the resin material comprises an epoxy resin (primer 6 is an epoxy resin; ¶ [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Kizawa discloses a resin material (epoxy resin primer and resin-based paint; ¶ [0012]), from which a metal film (steel sheet 1) is not peeled off when a peeling test is conducted by a crosscut test in the method of evaluating a resin material (the test piece of epoxy resin primer, resin-based paint, and steel sheet is tested in an Eriksen grid tape peel test; ¶ [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadowaki et al. (JP 2000-357494 A) in view of Kizawa (JP H09-193288 A).
Regarding claim 7, Kadowaki et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1, and Kadowaki et al. further discloses an electronic component device (lithium-ion secondary battery; ¶ [0001]), comprising a support (4; fig. 1), an element (2, 3) disposed on the support (4; ¶ [0002]), a resin material (9) disposed around the element (polypropylene film 9 is disposed around collector 2 and electrode 3 of the secondary battery; ¶¶ [0002-0003]), and a metal film (8) disposed around the resin material (metal foil 8 is disposed around polypropylene film 9; ¶ [0010]).
Kadowaki et al. is silent on performing a cross-cut test.
However, cross-cut tests are well known in the art of testing adhesion of materials. Kizawa teaches wherein a resin material is a resin material from which a metal film (steel sheet) is not peeled off when a peeling test is conducted by a crosscut test (Eriksen grid tape peel test; ¶ [0016]) in the method of evaluating a resin material (the test piece of epoxy resin primer, resin-based paint, and steel sheet is tested in an Eriksen grid tape peel test; ¶ [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kadowaki et al. with the cross-cut grid test of Kizawa to more accurately determine peeling resistance by performing various peel tests.
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852