DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein a peripheral portion of the tapered portion of the wide portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the tapered portion of the wide portion” in the claim. It appears the issue is the result of a typo. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the claim as reciting: “wherein a peripheral portion of
Correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: PROBE HEAD AND PROBE SUPPORTED BY TAPERED THROUGH HOLE
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/571,734 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of reference application 18/571,734 anticipates all elements recited in claims 1 and 2 in the manner shown in the table below. It’s noted that the examiner interprets the recitation “to receive” as equivalent to “to support” in the context of claim 1 of the reference application.
Instant application: 18/721,869
Reference application: 18/571,734
Claim 1: A probe head comprising:
a probe; and
an insulating support provided with a tapered hole to support a plurality of portions of the probe.
Claim 2: The probe head according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of portions of the probe includes a tapered portion having a tapered angle less than a tapered angle of the tapered hole.
Claim 1: A socket comprising:
A probe having a first tapered portion; and
and insulating support provided with a through-hole having a second tapered portion to receive the first tapered portion,
wherein a tapered angle of the first tapered portion is less than a tapered angle of the second tapered portion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2021/0175658 A1 by Nakamura et al., (Nakamura hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches in Figure 19, a probe head comprising:
a probe (80a); and
an insulating support (40 + 50. It’s noted that portion 50 includes an insulating layer on the inner surface of the through holes 50c as explained in paragraph 0108, lines 8-11, thus insulating adjacent probes from making electrical contact) provided with a tapered hole (formed between the top and bottom surfaces of 50) to support a plurality of portions of the probe (the inner surface of the tapered portion contacts and thus supports multiple portions around the circumference of the probe in the manner illustrated for example, in Figure 11).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches in Figure 19, the probe head according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of portions of the probe includes a tapered portion (tapered portion pressing against the insulating support tapered portion, in the manner illustrated for example, in Figure 11) having a tapered angle less than a tapered angle of the tapered hole (the tapered angle “A” in annotated Figure below is lower/less than the tapered angle “B”).
Annotated Figure 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of the Japanese publication JP-2006300581-A by Todoroki Takeshi, (Todoroki hereafter). A copy of the foreign document and partial translation are provided with this Office Action.
In terms of claim(s) 3, Nakamura substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for the plurality of portions of the probe including a wide portion having a width wider than the tapered portion.
Todoroki teaches in Figure 9, a probe (18+20) supported by a support (10), the support provided with a tapered hole (formed by inner surface 16 and 30) to support a plurality of portions of the probe (first shoulder 20c and second shoulder 20d). Todoroki further teaches the plurality of portions includes a wide portion (20d) having a width wider than the first portion (20c). By doing so, Todoroki effectively creates separate points of support within the inner surface of the tapered hole, increasing stability.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of using multiple points of support within a tapered hole as taught by Todoroki, and add a second portion wider than the tapered portion of Nakamura’s probe, in order to gain the advantage of add another point of contact between the probe and the insulating support, thus increasing stability and ensuring alignment.
Regarding claim 4, Todoroki teaches in Figure 19, a peripheral portion of the wide portion (surface adjacent to shoulder 20d parallel to the horizontal x-axis) is substantially parallel to a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the probe (extension direction being the y-axis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- The US Patent US 8,493,085 by Barabi et al., directed to spring loaded contacts including probes held within tapered holes. See figure below:
- The Chinese publication CN 118159850A by Yamamoto et al. directed to contacts including probes held within tapered holes, where the tapered angle in the support is different from that of the probe.
- The US Patent US 11,821,915 by Nakashima et al., directed to spring loaded contacts held within tapered holed of a support, where the tapered angle in the support is different from that of the probe. See figure below:
/RICHARD ISLA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 January 5, 2026